Rent Alone in the Dark for PS2
view large frontback

Alone in the Dark

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.2

463 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

a game with potentiall.. but that's about it..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Jun 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

beside decent graphic (not comparing it to xbox360 or ps3 games.. it's a no brainer!), and potential of a good survival horror game.. this game is flooded with many problems.

the good??

story??.. if you have the will to struggle through the whole game for it..?? worth it? not sure..

free camera control and first person view.. can be both good and bad (discuss below)

the bad??

unskippable cutscene
camera a little close (in third person view)
loading.. loading..
no helpful tips during game
enemies looks the same
control for gun use is a little floppy and unstable.

the ugly?

the character moving to fast for the camera to follow, which tend to create problems as you constantly try to change the camera according the character's location. You can switch your view to first person mode..which really helps with camera problem.. but still will not change the overall experience by much.

Alone in the dark is a game with potential, but with controls and camera problems not to mention no helpful tips (expect to stuck often in this game)..kind of ruined the gaming experience...

not really worth a rental, unless you don't have any other games on your queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Game That Tries Hard, But Falls Short.

posted by Demoni (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I went into this game wanting to like it, and coming out feeling vaguely disappointed and wanting more. This game tries hard - it has a lot of new and interesting ideas that just fall short of actually doing good. One of the largest problems you will run into are controls - for most of the game, you are able to choose either first person or third person, though it won't matter because you will still die far too fast if monsters are about and you can't find the right weapon or fire to use, or run about aimlessly if there are not. Certain areas are timed, so even though you've, say, either killed every monster or done everything in that room that there is to do, you will still end up just sitting around and twiddling your thumbs, waiting for the game to pick up again.
Certain elements struck me as, while somewhat interesting, wholly unnecessary and mildly annoying. Take for instance the forced rail shooter areas, or the driving. The car handles badly even at slow speeds, and the developers made the mistake of putting reverse and brake as the same button. There are also some problems with the general physics of the car, and areas where you need to use the car once more not making much sense, but having bad handling killed the whole experience from the start.
The puzzles are also often at times obscure while not being all that difficult. There will be obstacles that you are unable to get around, only to discover that you actually need to do three or for things, and the end result makes you feel slightly dumber and much more bewildered as to why anyone would make something so needlessly complicated.
Overall, the game had a lot of good concepts that were brought down heavily by bad execution, and the adjustment of graphics from next-gen to last-gen makes the background beautiful, and the character models lacking something. As I said, it tries very hard to do well, but falls short of really being a worthwhile game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horribly disappointing.

posted by OMGmyFACE (BEAVERTON, OR) Jun 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Uwe Boll's movie was worse than the original, understandably, but this game is worse than that. I mean, why has it become so hard to make actual good games anymore? When they give up on the camera and controls, you know they're gonna skimp on the rest - that's the case with the newest Hulk game, which is far inferior to the older Ps2/Xbox one, and that's the case with this. Poor controls, abhorrent voice acting, mediocre graphics, and the music drove me Steamboat Willie loco. After an hour, I just sealed it up and sent it off same day. Rent only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Only good on next-gen systems, NOT FOR PS2!

posted by XOVsquare (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Initially, this game caught my eye because of it's interesting title, but once I played it... disappointing, to say the least. After seeing the same game played on the next-gen systems, however, I realized that it in fact IS a great game, but the PS2 just makes it suck so bad!

On other systems the graphics are flawless, everything looks so real and natural, and even the controls are adequate. But the PS2 just sinks Alone in the Dark to a whole 'nother level. The character is hard to control, it is annoyingly and unnecessarily difficult to progress simply because the horrible graphics don't allow you to properly see the things you need to see!

In conclusion, don't rent this game for the PS2. If you have one of the new systems, GO FOR IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Game, Looks Great on PS2, Prefer 360

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I picked up my copy of this game just this week. I got it a little earlier than some may have had to wait. I also have it in my Game Q, just switch it for another game once I get it. I was anticipating for the game to play with the feel of around the mixture of Darkness, meets Condemned, with the intensity of Silent Hill. I’m glad that the game wasn’t a spin off of huge successful titles such as those listed.

The story is relatively short, but not long either. Moderately long, which was a nice change up to the previous version I’ve played on other consoles. It’s a strategic shooter game, involving different puzzles to solve throughout the story. Graphics engine is incredibly articulate & smooth in texture. That’s not enough to say, when any of those who haven’t played it as of yet, definitely watch the loads in between. I have a special edition, so I don’t know for sure if it will be the same mini movie sequences, still be patience & watch them in between movie clips.

One of the issues I came across, was that the response to the controls. It’s smooth & then suddenly shaky, making it difficult to control your character. I’ve never had any issues with my 360, I know this much. The problem may lay with the programming in itself. Same similar issue I’ve had with both God of War & God of War II for PS2. Otherwise, that’s my main concern with the game. Enjoy readers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

For some reason the review I saw on this was on PS2 as well but the copy I got looked a lot different. Not sure what the deal was but the graphics and even characters were night and day different. I grew up on Resident Evil but this just wasn't my game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Alone in The Dark is right!

posted by anomaly9 (ALAMOGORDO, NM) May 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

The controls were bad, very bad, didn't enjoy this game at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible.

posted by jukey23 (MARICOPA, AZ) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

This game was so bad, it actually made me mad.

Its unplayable as far as I'm concerned. The gameplay and controls were so terrible that I felt like throwing a small tantrum. Think Resident Evil 1 on the PS2. But worse. There are way too many moments in the game that require precise controls.

The graphics made me physically sick. I got a headache and a bit of nausea just trying to look at the ridiculously horrible graphics. And past that, why am I seeing 10 of the same exact bad guy?

So the PS2 is old. That is no excuse to just be lazy.

I don't know what the story is anymore. I put this game far out of my mind. I'm only reviewing it so I can tell any would-be renters to stay away and rent something else instead.

I guess I'm so upset at this product because whoever made this game just didn't give a hill of beans. They said, "You don't have a next gen system. We spit on you. And the spit is in the form of this game."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

One Eyed Jack got his revenge.

posted by Soulshroud (NEW ORLEANS, LA) May 20, 2009

Member since May 2009

Not the best game I have ever played, but better then the original Alone In The Dark. Best game of the franchise though. While the controls were pretty good, the graphics were very remeniscent of the Silent Hill series. Choppy, dark and foreboding. The voice overs were pretty good. Dont play this game if you want graphic stimulation.

Gameplay 3.0
Controls 4.0
Graphics 2.5
Sound 4.5

Thats the best you got? Wheres One-Eyed Jack aleady?

All in all, 3.5 out of 5.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ALONE IN THE DARK

posted by XXXXXX (Madison, WI) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

VERY VERY VERY SHORT IT ONLY TAKES HALF A DAY TO FINISH AND THATS IF YOU GET STUCK THE SHORT GAME COMBINED WITH NEVER ENDING ANOYING PUZZLES WILL END UP LEAVING A BAD TASTE IN YOUR MOUTH AND WONDERING IS THAT ALL THERE IS? YOU GET A PISTOL AND THATS IT FOR WEAPONS BESIDES THE MELEE ITEMS WITCH ARENT STORABLE AND YOU CANT ALWAYS PICK BETWEEN FIRST AND THIRD PERSON SO IT CAN BE HARD TO NAVIGATE SOMETIMES THERES NO MAP AND NO OBJECTIVE SO WITHOUT A GUIDE YOU REALLY ARE ALONE IN THE DARK THE CONTROLS REFUSE TO RESPOND SOMETIMES WHEN JUMPING FROM ONE SPOT TO THE NEXT SO YOUR INEVITABLY DOOMED TO FALL AND DIE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TOO MANY Glitches

posted by sillygoose (EULESS, TX) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Game sucks! had too many glitches, either i was stuck in a wall or under a city. Or even standing in mid air. autosave took me back to replay the scene and the sequence was off, couldnt get any further. I stopped trying to, so I wouldnt scream!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do not get this game

posted by 4ghost20 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

The view sux the game is sloppy, slow and hard to control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Big disappointment.

posted by AlucardNox (MADISON HEIGHTS, VA) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

This game was an utter disappointment to me. I read the description and hoped for something great, but it never came. In between the confusing and non-engaging storyline to the awkward controls to the less-than-terrifying enemies, the only thing I liked about this game was the attempt(and it was an ATTEMPT) at a new level of realism. The inventory system, although flawed, was unique and I could appreciate that. However, the controls themselves need a huge overhaul before I'll think about playing this game again. Most of the time, enemies posed no threat at all. It was the puzzles and rope swinging that left me dead. I spent an hour just trying to get climb up a rope and swing across to a platform. I would not recommend this game to anyone who enjoys survival-horror.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE is a good word for this game

posted by headshot77 (CASAR, NC) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Judging by the title and previews of the game, i thought it would be ok. I was wrong. this was one of the worst games i've ever played. The camera wasn't good, the game controls suck, and the storyline was pitiful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, some glitches, great tv show wannabe!

posted by vidgamlov (ANDOVER, MA) Aug 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game is very good, while there are some graphical glitches and most of the scenes are in the dark (so you should play it in the dark if you dare!), this game plays like a tv show where if you get past a chapter, it will automatically save to your memory card so that if you fall or die or suicide by running into flames,it does not work, already tried for fun, this is fun, addictive, and truly scary at times!!!!! Always play ALONE IN THE DARK IN THE DARK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SUCKS

posted by GREGG77 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

THIS GAME REALLY SUCKS....THE DREAMCAST VERSION WAS THE BEST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TURN THE LIGHT ON!!!

posted by Jariah (HAYWARD, CA) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I made the monumental mistake of purchasing this piece of junk for 30 bucks. RUN from this game. It's absolutely horrible. God, where to begin. The cut scenes look like something from one of the early GTA's. There's just no excuse for bad animation anymore. Obscure: The Aftermath came out around the same time and it's cut scenes are cinematic, beautiful and a far cry from what was offered here. There were better graphics in the developer/designer logos before the game even started. As for the game itself, well, first it needs to decide what it wants to be. Survival, searching for clues, trying to find an answer to the mystery? Driving, speeding around central park avoiding garbage cans and flying demons? Fighting, being attacked by hordes of monsters, laughable bosses and using only your fists or a gun that has three bullets? I mean, come ON??!! DECIDE! I was hoping for glossy, high end update to a classic, I got the complete opposite. What makes horror/survival so fun is you never know when you're going to get hit. Not in this game, it's constant to the point of being boring. The driving is horrible too, can we say SPY HUNTER 1985? Hit another car in the rear, die. Hit a curb, die. Hit a garbage can weighing 5 lbs, die. Seriously, what the french, toast? And I realize the game is called Alone in the Dark but has anyone over there ever heard of SHADING?? Having to adjust my tv every 15 minutes cuz everything keeps getting more and more saturated in black was not cool. BTW, what the spam was with the whole stupid "blinking" deal at the beginning of the game? Was that supposed to be fun? "keep hitting R3 to blink through a ten minute cut scene so you can see" BITE ME!!! I want my 30 bucks back and the last year I spent anticipating a slick update on a classic game. Thank Niko it didn't hit PS3 first or I'd have had to call Mikey up for a favor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't get it only good for toilet paper

posted by cates35 (DENTON, TX) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

it is horrible there is no reason to buy this game it is full of glitches that would make even the most casual or gamers cringe doooonnnntt geeeeeeeeet iiiiiiiiiit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Alone in the Dark: Was it worth renting/buying?

posted by theFalling (SPRINGVILLE, UT) Jul 27, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Frankly no. it can be fun at some points in the game but for the most part no.

Reason 3. it has awful graphics and glitches that the makers really skipped over. i've played it on the Xbox 360 as well and it had much less glitches on that console.

Reason 2. bad controls. the controlling set up is more complicated than it should be, like when fighting with an object such as a chair. you have to pull back on the right analog stick while holding R1. you cant see where you're hitting because of the lack of camera. you just blindly swing away hoping you will hit something.

Reason 1. Frankly pointless car driving scenes. sometimes i think that edward would be better off on foot but thats not how to go about it. you must meaninglessly drive around the city while avoiding fissures.

in the end its playable but not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOOD

posted by MIMAS19 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 25, 2008

Member since May 2006

IT WAS GOOD BUT WASN'T PERFECT AND THE GRAPHIC WERE OK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Alone In the Dark

posted by NLadz76 (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

Having heard that when this game first came out it was a hit I thought I would give the new version a try. I usually give games quite a chance before I judge them, and tend to even like games others seem to hate. That being said, this was the most horrific game I have ever played on the PS2, so bad that it had inspired me to write a review which I never do. The control system has to be the weakest and most frustrating I have ever come across, makes me wonder if the developers even cared about the casual gamer. Not only will you die a lot, but the checkpoints are so far off that you are often stuck watching the same cut scenes over and over, and they tend to be overly long and become plain annoying. I wish I could get back the time I wasted on giving this a try, so fair warning. Be prepared to feel the need to throw your controller though your tv set. If the beginning sequence isn't a clue where you are required to continuously press the R3 button to blink just to make it through the cut scene, then maybe you'll make it through the rest of the game. I didn't nor do I feel any loss for returning this game the next day after receiving it, take it out of your que now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very weak

posted by ranger9520 (CLEWISTON, FL) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game has very little action in it. You definitely have to think more than anything. And the ending sucks big time. It leaves you hanging in mid air.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hello?

posted by ma2566 (SAN YSIDRO, CA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

awful gameplay. did atari lay off their game testers?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not very good

posted by dianad (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

the gameplay is very clunky not to mention akward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Flow

posted by radrogers (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Though the premise was intriguing, and the characters pretty interesting, the game play fell flat for me. It was so choppy and the action was not smooth. I like to be able to freely run about and explore my surroundings in a game and this was not the case. You can't do anything unless cued to do so and this sucked all the fun right out for me. Also trying to get to your equipment out of your coat pockets is often awkward. Good attempt at something different but it just didn't do it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse