Rent Alone in the Dark for Wii
view large frontback

Alone in the Dark

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
3.2

767 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wii Got Shafted In the Dark

posted by Kyogissun (ROCHESTER, NY) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The title says it all folks, once again, the wii was improperly compared to the PS2 and the results left us with a terrible excuse of a game.

Disclaimer: It has been realized that the Wii and 360 versions of Alone in the Dark 5 are not the same, please treat this STRICTLY as a review for the Wii only.

Story: I could get into this but by the time you get to any story development, it won't have been enough because you'll want to return the game.

Game play: The mechanics introduced ARE great... But the lack of care for this particular version of the game makes that meaningless. That amazing interactivity and flame mechanics you saw in the 360? Non-existent here. Don't expect to have any ACTUAL fun picking up various items to use as beating and/or bludgeoning type weaponry because most is just pre-rendered, nailed/glued to the floor statues.

Controls: And here is what kills it for me. The game (Again, STRICTLY on the Wii) is UNPLAYABLE. Aiming is super sensitive, the enemies can be downed very easily (Granted, this doesn't mean their AI is terrible, but it's safe to say they weren't a challenge) and overall, the motion controls feel tacked on and the sensitivity you see in other games like Metroid Prime 3 or No More Heroes are gone.

Graphics: Again, this is another game killer for me. These graphics TRULY are an example of a PS2 copied version. In fact, if you have an HDTV, you will notice the game is run in 480i, instead of the DEFAULT 480p one gets when playing on a high res television set with a Wii.

Let's face it, I've said enough. Do NOT play this game if you ONLY have a Wii or PS2. For the love of god, DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME IF YOU HAVE STRICTLY A PS2 OR WII.

I have heard that only the challenging controls appear to be the true problem with the 360, which mind you, if you're a decent gamer, can be worked with.

Ultimately, this is just a prime example of the third party developers underestimating the Wii once more, a VERY significant example.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Atari Made Better Consoles (2600) Then Games Today

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

They had good intentions but the execution is off. First the begining is annoying where you half to press the button constantly to keep your eyes open. You walk very slowly and the textures are washed out. Worst of all is the driving in the game and putting fire on the bullet which has no effect does not make much sense. Story is ok but this game you felt like you want to rent but DONT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I have ever played

posted by mikennikki (GREENSBORO, NC) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Maybe it's just a matter of taste though, so if you like games where your character dies instantly from falling into small holes and then you have to start over from a save point ten minutes back and watch the same stupid scripted scenes that can't be skipped for the 5th time, then you should definitely rent this game. I sent mine back after a half hour, so it'll probably have high availability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Was this even playtested?

posted by megumegu (Lakewood, WA) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Ok, I've been a video gamer for a long, long time. I got my first NES back in the 80s when I was 6. I love challenging games. I love shmups, where the FAQ pretty much consists of "shoot the bad guys and don't die". But I have to call "horrid game design" when the first actual interaction in an adventure game, which ostensibly should be a tutorial on moving about, kills you for 30 minutes, after which your hope for the game beyond that point is destroyed completely by the ridiculous difficulty of this first action. Maybe I'm just missing something, but the early part of the game shouldn't have anything that's this hard to miss. It should be really obvious, hold-your-hand kind of stuff to get you used to the control scheme. If I could at least grab back onto the hose when knocked off it, I'd be less annoyed, but this is ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

VERY Hard, Pretty Good, Spoilt By Iffy Controls

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

AitD is getting a bad rep mainly, I believe, because people are expecting something else when they play. It's easily mistaken for an action game (even FPS) BUT IT ISN'T.

It's an RPG with medium to tough puzzles and ALMOST ZERO CLUES about what to do or how to do it. This alone makes it one of the most frustrating games you may possibly ever play. Add in some dodgy save handling and sloppy controls and it's almost guaranteed it's going to tick you off a lot especially in the first few hours of play.

If you don't like a tough game bordering on impossible at times then go and pick another game. YOU ARE GOING TO DIE A LOT IN THIS ONE.

BUT it does have a storyline that keeps you in the dark (sic!) a lot and rewards persistence with a little more info at each story milestone. It also has a variety of 'modes' - climbing/jumping, fps fighting, searching/solving puzzles, driving and these are often intermixed pretty well.

The sound is highly atmospheric as are the graphics - yes they are washed out, read the title - it's in the DARK and I can't believe what was heralded as realistic in Splinter Cell and MGS is being trashed so much. I aint saying the graphics are brilliant but let's get real about this.

It is really unfortunate that the controls are sloppy and difficult to be precise with in many parts, as the game itself is totally unforgiving about being not quite far enough onto the ledge you are trying to jump to and other similar things. The game is tough enough without having a vague control system with pixel perfection required on positioning.

Despite its faults I still find myself going back to this to just get a bit further. If you too have that level of persistence then you may think this game isn't so bad after all. The satisfaction on getting out of a situation or solving a puzzle without the hints given in other games is a great bonus.

If you have the patience it is better than many and will take a while to finish.
If not - run away from it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It feels like a Silent Hill PSP port...but FUNNER?

posted by Syco1316 (ANNISTON, AL) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has its fair share of low points which have been pointed out by many people already. Low points such as invisible walls, linear gameplay, blocky movements, short story, ect ect. BUT most complaints are just picky nonsense by GTA lovers that wants everygame to be as great as Zelda or Grand Theft Auto. This game is fairly fun. It has a good story (better than the movie anyways), it looks decent visually, Wii controls work fairly well, and its fairly fun to play. In a gamefly reveiw you shouldnt hold anything against a game for being a solid rental, which this game is. Rent it. Beat it. Send it back. Rent a big budget nintendo game. Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

excellent!

posted by riderdlux (ZIMMERMAN, MN) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is not getting the time and/ or thought it deserves. It is not a simple 'shoot 'em up' game that I think many expected. For what its trying to accomplish, Atari did it brillantly. This is the type of RPG puzzler that I've been waiting for, a first of it's kind for the Wii. Have some patience and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awesomely Horrible

posted by gameteller (BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 36 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

This game does not deserve to be be on the market!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not so bad once you master the controls...sigh...

posted by 2ton20one (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

OK, so alone in the dark, not the best game in the world but decent for what it is. According to the walk-through (which is defiantly required because the game like's to withhold hints and I was left stumped on multiple occasions (check out gamefaqs or gamespot)) I'm about 45% through the game. The game itself inst "hard" as in the enemies aren't extremely challenging or difficult to kill (not to say there aren't a few boss battles and enemies that F-d me up royally), however a lot of puzzles and things like jumping from cliff to cliff are. This is primarily due to the confusing ever changing control scheme's which made me want to throw my Wii-mote through my television on more then thirty occasions. The game itself is enjoyable once you master the controls and a sense of accomplishment is achieved with the completion of certain tasks (especially when said tasks take like fifteen G.D. tries to complete). Overall I'm having fun with it and should have it completed within the next day or two (I also powerhouse through games so the experience might not be as quick for you). I found myself cursing at this game and hating everything about Atari five minutes into playing but once I relaxed, learned the controls, gave it a chance and had the will to say, "I'm not going to let a game frustrate me!" it started to grow on me and now I'm having fun. Overall the story is compelling, its not graphically hideous for a Wii game released in 2008 and the game play (even with the wonky controls) is spot on. Overall I give the game a 7 out of 10 because it is enjoyable once you master the controls and a walk through was required on multiple occasions (you will get stuck, trust me, you'll need a walk through).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sucks!

posted by Kevin815 (FREEPORT, IL) May 9, 2009

Member since May 2009

Its Way Better On The Xbox 360!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Shortest Game rental ever!

posted by GamerGirl0 (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

If you have issues with Motion sickness don't play this game. and the controls where annoying to boot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by Haltom77 (HALTOM CITY, TX) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game was extremely boring. Took too long to get to start playing and when you finally get to play, it wasn't worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game gives zombie games a bad name

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game was probably the worst game i ever played. there arent even any good things about this game. i couldnt even finish the game cuz i got stuck on the same place everytime (no

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Alone playing it

posted by castarr24 (SEMINOLE, FL) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I have to admit that this is the first game I cringe at when people bring the name up. The game/story is so dull and lifeless. Sure there's violence/action but if you are a true RPG fan this is not what I would go for.

You spend the first ten minutes just trying to keep your eyes open and it's very annoying pressing the buttong repeatedly. I got tired of jumping from rope to rope and dying almost instantaneously each time. I measured my accuracy at about 40%. The controls for driving didn't even make sense and for many it's annoying to have to start over continuously. I thought this game was annoying, dull, and too depressing for my eyes to keep open for. Enjoy it if you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wow

posted by WiKK3D6iX (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I had VERY high hopes for this game, being that I previously played it on the 360. Do yourself a favor and keep this off your wishlist. The 360 version was immersive, unique, and fun. The Wii version was an uneventful counterpart. The story was completely different, which in this case, is not a good thing. The sound design for the Wii is also as uneventful as the rest of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring!!

posted by MondayFly (DENVER, CO) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Should've paid more attention to the reviews...thought I should see for myself. I'll be the first to admit, I was wrong!! If you like to be extremely bored, this game is for you! Games like this make me want to trade in my Wii and buy a XBox 360!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOT NOT NOT an R.P.G....

posted by Hemack123 (WEST COVINA, CA) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The game has very good graphics......but I wanted an RPG and this is definitely an action / adventure type, NOT an RPG. Not my cup of tea at all. Wish the WII system had more RPG's like Xenosaga and Legend of Legaia and Legaia 2. Those are GREAT games!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

don't rent

posted by vash122 (DENTON, TX) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

all i have to say is ....omg! horrible.bad game play ,bad controls,and very bad graphics.If you don't trust me rent it...if you dare too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game ever played

posted by Acsbillw (DELTONA, FL) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game has no help at all. I couldn't even get past the first problem. After dieing 100 times I'm done trying. I know it's called in the dark but maybe there should be a setting that gives you some light. I'm very disappointed in this game. What a waste of time. I even looked up how to get past the first problem and couldn't see what it was talking about. So if you don't want to waste any time, don't get this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More Bad Than Good

posted by antimatter (LAVEEN, AZ) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

So much more bad than good. If you value your time avoid this game like the plague.
Graphics: Disappointing
Controls: Dreadful
Sound: Okay
Gameplay: Frustrating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pass

posted by Olderplaye (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

My first Gamefly game... looked OKAY, annoying blinking intro, then I died 4 times in the elevator shaft on the firehose... game story was not interesting enough to make me want to try a 5th time.

I was hoping for an Eternal Darkenss type game, but I can tell the controls were going to make this one tedious. I sent it back less then an hour after it got here.

I am not a typical game player, so I need to feel I want to play it, and for me, this game didn't accomplish that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

do not get this game

posted by kaibaz (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

When the first level of a game is insanely difficult for absolutely no reason that's when you know that Atari just sent this on its way without any testing. The biggest problems are the camera controls, difficulty and lack of direction. Alot of the time i had no idea what to do when i got stuck in some random corner. the camera is wanky and jumps all over the place when you need it the most. But my biggest problem of them all is the first stage. In all the popular games the first stage is suppose to grab your attention and excite you, not the case in Alone in the Dark. In this game the first level drags on...forcing you to do random actions with no guidance on how to even survive the task at hand. I died so many time in the first ten minutes of the game that i literally gave up and sent this game back. After about 40 minutes of watching myself die I decided to hit eject.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

iam340hero's review

posted by iam340hero (CHATSWORTH, CA) Aug 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game is a cool game i did not play it long enough to say that it sucked. from what i did see i think it would be better on ps2 next time i'll rent it for the ps2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Attempts to do too much

posted by Pacificlaw (CARMICHAEL, CA) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game attempts to be a jack of all trades. Fighting, shooting, puzzle solving, racing and fails miserably at all of them. Also if you die you have to watch 5 min long cut scenes over and over again as there is no way to skip them.

AVOID THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awkward but unique

posted by slimz0rz (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Aug 21, 2008

Member since May 2007

I'm about 2/3's of the way through the game at the moment (the Wii version). The game feels like it should be a resident evil like shooter, but it plays more like platformer and adventure games (which probably comes as no surprise to anyone who played the originals)

It feels odd to say I like it. Taken individually, any portion of the game feels "off", but as a whole the game plays like your reading a Lovecraft'ian novella. I was expecting a frustrating dash against zombies and keeping an anxious watch on my ammunition. There are still some of these clich├ęs, but on the whole it plays more like a classic adventure game, which is different from what I was expecting but refreshing.

My only big complaint is the total disorder you feel through the entire game. It may just be the Wii version, but I only just realized there was an "inventory" (just the main character's jacket pockets), with a PDA that has some really helpful side story. Also, Characters will act totally human at times and then just disappear into thin air. Maybe it's part of the plot, but it feels more like buggy AI or design flaws.

Either way, if adventure games or horror games are your cup of tea, then this game comes highly recommended. My advice though it to treat it like a book where you read a chapter or two a night (which is, from what I've read, how the game is supposed to be presented - but I haven't seen that option in my play through yet).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse