Rent Alone in the Dark for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Alone in the Dark

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.8

6419 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not As Alone As You Might Think

posted by wadeinwate (DISTRICT HEIGHTS, MD) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

125 out of 139 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this game is currently getting unfair reviews. If your a fan of great action sequences, strategy puzzles, and new game play elements then this is a game you should try. I Give it 7.5-8.

THE BAD:
The only huge flaw in this game is the controls. Players new to gaming or new to games of this nature (i.e- Resident Evil type) will more than likely not like this game. The buttons feel out of place and do not flow naturally. Every time you shoot you have to zoom in to first person and then back out again when you are done. The whole first and most of the second episode are basically the tutorial phase of the game and are the most difficult to get through. Most of the negative reviews for this game come from people who have not made it past the first two episodes. The control scheme is that complex that it takes about two episodes to see and try everything. There are also different controls from when you go from third person to first person. The game also has a few glitches, mainly in the driving sequences, but no more than most other games.
The storyline is nothing spectacular or epic but it drives the game along fairly smooth.

THE GOOD:
This game is visual gorgeous to look at. Enemies are very detailed and drawn out. There AI is well above par and at time will have you running looking for ammo and weapons because they out smarted you.
The game also plays and feels like an action / horror film. Even the load screens play like you are watching a episode of 24 or Lost. The game has more than a few moments where you will be like WTH just happen (in a good way). AITD offers so many new and intriguing game play element that if you stick it out, you can't help but be entertained. The combination of weapons you can create based on your inventory is amazing.

BOTTOM LINE:
If your a fan of survival horror and are not intimidated by a complex control scheme and glitched driving sequences then this game is for you. Also RENT over Buy (no replay val

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not for everyone

posted by templarkin (new york, NY) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this is possibly one of the best games I have played. With a very creepy feel, brilliant story and
enviroment that as a NY'er I can attest to is flawless. I remember playing it when you are running/driving through Central Park, and saying I've been there, and I know that spot.
The controls are a bit sticky though and that I believe is the reason why so many reviewers have not been too kind. But, if you want a good challenge DO rent this masterpiece

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alone in the Dark- a lesson to be learned

posted by 21stCDB (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

106 out of 128 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

While I play all genres of games, survival horror is probably my favorite. I, like everyone else, have been anxiously looking forward to this game's release.

AitD sets new standards and is intrepid in many ways, but is virtually unplayable. It is gorgeous visually and in essentially every other way, and the possibilities in game play are vast. However, there are two major flaws that virtually butcher the game.

First, the controls have an awful lag, so quick reactions are inaccurate and unreliable. No, it is not my system or TV, both function perfectly with every other game. Second, the camera angles force the player to randomly switch between first and third person mode just to move properly or get a decent view/angle. The second problem could be tolerated if the first were not so detrimental.

IGN, gamespot, etc. have often criticized the controller setup of the game. I think this criticism is unmerited, the design seems perfectly reasonable for its purpose. The real problem with the controls is the lag, and this muddy movement essentially destroys the game. It is difficult to fight or move appropriately with such a slow response time, making game play far more challenging for no good reason.

This game is a stunning example of what could be created for next-gen systems. At the same time, it is a tragedy, because the game could have been a masterpiece had minor flaws been corrected. What a waste. The lesson to be learned is USE GAME TESTERS APPROPRIATELY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent!

posted by jbonez21 (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I have no idea what problems people are having, I have had none. The story is exceptional and the game puts you into the story to feel as if you are the character...better than alot of TV shows and movies these days. The camera is fine and gives you the ability to switch easily from third-person to first person.

The driving is action-esque, this game is not a car simulation. The whole game is scripted, so if you fail on the first try through, you have a better idea of how to handle what is coming up.

The Monsters are scary and fun to fight. The game does not pause when you look into your inventory which is realistically kept inside the characters jacket... real life would not pause either. This puts the pressure on you while fighting and needing certain elements, and I have not found it extremely hard nor frustrating at all in order to fight the bad guys.

This game is lots of fun, great graphics, 10/10 story, atmospheric, and very creepy. I am on chapter 6/8 and have had a lot more fun playing this than any other game in awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Most Innovative Game of the Year

posted by IndianaK (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Alone in the Dark is an ambitious game where the creators tried doing a lot of new things and tried to give the player a lot to do. I think this is also Alone in the Dark's downfall as it does so much of everything, it is unable to do any of it perfectly.

The game is a tad glitchy at points (objects jumping when dropped, car knocked around by a slight curb) and that kills a bit of the realism but it's not bad.

The story is decent and builds well along. It's not difficult to follow and works well on it's own. My only issue is the ending is not quite clear and it took a bit of outside explanation for me to understand where it went.

Control setup are very well done. The jacket is a wonderful way to use inventory and I have not had a problem in the game of diving into it during a fight. A favorites option also allows quick combinations at your fingertips (Though one issue with that is the favorites doesn't work well with which type of item in the same group you're working with. A couple of times my favorite menu brought up a First Aid Spray and a lighter to use as a flame thrower instead of Rust Spray...rather not waste healing like that.)

Visually, this game is fantastic. The graphics, scenes, environments, and catastrophes are well done and completely immerse you in the game. Especially the driving scenes (if you liked stuntman, you'll LOVE the driving scenes here).

Overall, I thought that this game is very well done for being what it is. It's different and a step in the right direction for gaming. It's far from perfect, but with some polish, future games like this can see 10/10s.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrated in the Dark

posted by vierrasilv (ELK GROVE, CA) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is super good if you like non stop game glithes and an annoying physics system that makes you feel like your in the geriatric fight club. You'll also like this game if you want guns that have no effect on your enemies because you can only kill them by picking up a chair lighting it on fire and then gently tapping the chair against the enemy instantly turning him/her into a magical mist. It feels like the creators had a deadline and pushed this title without polishing it. It has some potential but the cons outweigh. If you have a physical attraction to Don Johnson you mike like the main character. Also one of the only games that lets you actually skip passed any of the levels/ episodes if they are too hard. I bet that was a last minute add on when the creators found out this game was a piece. Sorry, I just didn't like it. Nevermind I hated it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Less Fun Than Just Being Alone

posted by Headrush (PORTLAND, ME) Jul 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Here's the TL;DR to save you time and anger: avoid this game like a steak salesman outside an animal shelter.

Let's tackle the good before delving into the pit of despair that some call "gameplay". First, the story was fairly interesting throughout the game, and most of the cutscenes were well done (this is coming from someone that skips them whenever possible in other games). You encounter several individuals throughout your quest, adding depth and a bit of humor to the plot, as well as numerous complications. Outside of the ridiculous swearing quota, dialogue was decent.

But hey, who plays a game for the story? Let's discuss why I found Alone in the Dark to be the most frustrating and unplayable title on the 360.

The first issue I had was the horrible control in third person; to describe it as sluggish would be an understatement. The melee combat system is painstaking and inefficient -hey developers, how about binding attacks to a button instead of RS?

Second, the pop-in is truly in a league of its own with this game. Take the end of Chapter 2, for example. After driving your vehicle through the glass at the end of 59th St., it takes several seconds for the ground to even appear, so you have no idea if you've "made" the jump or not. At one point in Chapter 8, I literally hit a car and heard the smash before I could SEE it. Wow.

Third, the inventory system is a mess, for various reasons that don't need explaining.

Fourth, (spoiler) the need to hunt roots in Chapters 7 and 8 added some creativity and fun to the game, but it completely kills the immersion. Don't make me run around for an hour to find and kill roots, while having to scrounge for seemingly scarce items across an enormous, barren map. Let the player proceed after a few root kills; there's no need to find so many in order to advance the plot.

This is really the tip of the iceberg, but I'm out of space, so rent something else and save yourself the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak Opening, Wonky Camera=back in the envelope

posted by dohsetsu (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This was on its way back to Gamefly within an hour of playing. The camera and real lack of camera controls made the first level not unplayable, but totally not fun (escaping a possessed building that is collapsing around you), as I felt like any success I had was accidental, but mostly I had just embarrassing failures. I would miss the only ledge available to escape and have to do it all over again, or fall down on the "border" where camera angles switch back and forth. It just made it really non immersive and sucky to have to fight with the camera and try to guess which broken table was a part of the rendering and which one was "the object I must interact with". Note to developers: high tension immersive scenes should not be so linear; there should be many solutions/ways out to keep the tension flowing, anyway, though I was excited about a next gen AitD title, this really missed the mark for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken Game.

posted by Sychopath (ELIZAVILLE, NY) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This was an ambitious project that was failed in its development. Camera angles are horrid, Controls are horrid, the game is a buggy mess, gameplay is poor. Voice acting is annoying and poor at best. This developer should never be allowed to make another game ever again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun with a catch

posted by Crowing334 (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

30 out of 42 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

ok, this game has grown to be a great survival horror franchise, much to the standards of resident evil. but this remake/revival of the game is where that standard is dropped. this game has a great story, amazing graphics, beautiful environments, and great cinematic. the downfall? the game play. you cant actually play the game. switching from 1st to 3rd person view is a hassle all on its own. the inventory system is one of a kind and works out fantastically...except when the menu isn't a menu but a break in the game and you can still be attacked and/or killed when your trying to combine that aerosol can with the lighter to take out that one last baddie. enemies are cool, but repetitive, yet seldom. killing them however is a pain, when you cant kill them without fire. yes, filling them with the 22 shots you have in stock for half the game may be fulfilling, but they wont actually stay down till you set them ablaze. also, what makes this game a true survival game? its more of a puzzle game then a horror game with 10% fighting the undead and 90% trying to find the fire extinguisher to break open that hotel room door. the controls take some time to get used to but with so much your able to do it becomes trouble just to run and jump, taking three button combo to accomplish it instead of the regular one. yes the puzzles can be fun and entertaining, but there is only so much you can take before you begin to repeat yourself. the actual movement in the game is fluid, but making it fluid is difficult. the makers of this game planned to have a new genre breaking game to amaze the masses, but what they have is a overshot, overfilled heap of a game that came out 12 months to early. give it another chance next time around because this game is great in its own right, you just need to give the team another shot to rework the gameplay. even though it didn't live up to what it was built up to be, Alone in the Dark sticks true to a great story for a horror game, and earns a 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I can't control the anger!

posted by smartywoot (CAMPBELL, CA) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game takes you into the steps of Edward Carnby, a supernatural detective. I played the original on the dreamcast and I completely loved it. However this one I had to pass on. The elements that they decided to use for gameplay began to get very annoying. I feel they tried to make it too realistic. And while they were doing this they made it immpossible to play. The controls were horrible. I found myslef spinning my arms uncontrollably while trying to light a chair on fire. The controls werent the only bad thing. I found that there was a glitch every 10 minbutes. I kept dying randomly. I would be walking and all of sudden something from somewhere would hit me. And the car episode. That was incredibly frustrating. I found that I kept hitting random cracks, and things would kill me that were really stupid, such as a car bumper, or hitting scaffolding. What was realy annoying was the fact that at the end of the car scene you had to jump out of the window. Well when I did this I kept falling into oblivion, and dying. Eventually I firgured out I had to slow down and wiat for the game to load.... That should not happen. Anyway I am so glad I got gamefly because if I had spent 60 bucks on this I would be very very very angry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Innovative? Yes. Painful to Play? Definitely.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Alone in the Dark (2008) is Atari's take on a classic that effectively birthed the survival horror genre of gaming. The parent company of our beloved video games attempted to implement so many new ideas that they utterly failed to deliver on any front. A dozen uncooked steaks doesn't equal a filet mignon.

The graphics are amazing at times and atrocious at others. The fire is hands down the best I've seen in any video game to date. Everything else is mediocre. Characters, setting, and explosions aren't amazing, but they are certainly next-gen.

Alone in the Dark features a soundtrack that has been called amazing by quite a few. I didn't find anything phenomenal in the game. The sound effects sometimes were non-existent due to bad programming. The music failed several times, especially during the driving sequences.

The story is VERY short, with very little replay value (10 hours is a reasonable estimate). Aside from that, it isn't a very good one. I can't say I ever felt a part of the story. It was overall a disappointing endeavour.

Atari's new game earns points in my book for being a boon to my achievement standing. It's INSANELY easy to get the achievements for this game by simply playing the campaign. Even if you miss one, the game allows you to play a single "episode" as opposed to the entire game.

Alone in the Dark is a pile of excrement by all standards. It's worth a rent for the achievement points and subtle hints of a AAA title that isn't present. If you're looking for something incredibly fun, do yourself a favor and look anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It could have been a great game

posted by Euclid (SHOW LOW, AZ) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Alone in the Dark is really a terrible game.

What I liked about the game:

1. Great graphics
2. Great in-game physics

What I didn't like about the game:

1. Avatar controls - The controls for the game are not standard and rather clunky for a third person styled game like this one. It was very frustrating.

2. No in-game help, hints or clues to what your objectives are. It would have been helpful as most games have this and due to prevalent darkness it is not always apparent what you should do next.

3. Camera controls are not intuitive and again work contrary to the standard 3rd person camera controls that one would expect.

4. Due to the controls being "strange" it is very difficult to position the avatar and camera where you want in the virtual environment. It is very difficult to see what is around the avatar because of the controls and camera positioning issues.

Over all the game sucks. My advice is don't waste your time with it unless you're a masochist and like to torture your self with learning completely new game control schema's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best Games on Current Consoles

posted by EKGProductions (MANALAPAN, NJ) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Alone in the Dark is a game that will frustrate many people. It is a revolutionary game. A game that pushes the boundaries in more ways than one. And when you push boundaries and try to revolutionize, you're bound to upset a few people. That is Alone in the Dark in a nutshell. It's a game that tries to to so many new things, and in the process, ends up a marvelous game with a lot of faults.

Whether or not you will enjoy this game depends on one thing and only one thing. Can you look past faults? That's the only question you need to ask yourself. Many gamers can't. They demand perfection, and when they don't get it, they throw their hands in the air and give up. Other gamers, like myself, can easily look past a games faults in order to enjoy its pleasures.

I was easily able to look past some incredibly frustrating driving sequences. I was able to look past a wonky camera. I was able to look past some unpolished edges in order to enjoy the game as a whole. By ignoring those things, I was able to appreciate what this game was trying to do.

It does so much. It isn't just a standard shooter or survival horror game. It is an action game. It is an adventure game. It is a shooter, an RPG, and even an open world game. It's about resource management, conserving ammo, and keeping your wits about you.

One minute you are hanging from a building trying to climb back up to the top of the collapsing structure, and the next you are racing through central park running down all the bad guys. One minute you are solving a puzzle to figure out how to open a door, the next you are using a fire extinguisher to put out a fire that is blocking your exit.

There is so much variety in this game, and THAT is why I love it. You are always seeing and doing something new. And since there is so much stuff packed into this game, you are going to have to deal with a lack of polish throughout. However, like I said, if you can look past that, you will be rewarded with a fantastic gam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Even Uwe Boll Would Hate It

posted by SirDresden (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When the main words you use to describe a game to friends consist fully of "lame, "crud"tastic, frustrating, and a load of tripe" you know you've got a game worthy of the trash can. Though the game catches you in the beginning with its awesome first chapter, the rest of the game does a full 180 and beats you in the face telling you that it hates you. Though the visuals are amazing, the storytelling is sub-par at best and all out cruddy at worst. The one thing you will love is that you can skip levels, because you'll definitely need it. Some levels are so fantastically difficult, that after you get done cursing the game, and restraining yourself from snapping the bugger in half, you'll wonder why you ever picked this game to put in your Q in the first place. And another thing, no matter how far you get in a sequence, if you dare have the gall to screw up, its back to the beginning with you. Its like the developers of the game just KNEW how much gamers LOVE repetition! After 3 plays, I was ready to slam this game back in the mailbox, unfortunately it was Sunday, and I had already beaten my other game. So in order to write a fully comprehensive review, I turned the object of my hate back on. Twenty minutes later, I pulled it out of my Xbox, Shoved Unreal Tournament back in, and mindlessly blew people away to my hearts content. I'm a huge fan of Survival Horror, Silent Hill being my all time favorite series, but I would NEVER classify this as Survival Horror, the game isn't even Scary! I would classify it as a load of tripe dressed up as Survival Horror. In one word, Don't, In two, well, I can't add another word, I'd get banned.

Story: 0/10 Totally Crudtastic and incoherent
Gameplay: 2/10 It was fun... every so often.
Controls: 1/10 At least they added first person so that you could see what you are doing now and again.
Fun: 2/10 The first chapter is fun, the rest is either boring or frustrating
Overall: -1/10 A game that makes you hate it with all your being.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game Should Remain Alone in the Dark

posted by MagicNinja (THEODORE, AL) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game was one I was looking forward too.

From the videos I have seen it was supposed to be perfect, but it has fallen shorted than "Half-Decent".

The controls feel like a complete idiot programmed them. You're character is controlled by just the left stick (Unless you're in First Person) which is very irritating. Think back to Resident Evil and you know how bad the controls are.

Killing enemies is an absolute chore. Your gun is useless and killing an enemy with fire bullets doesn't take skill. It take pure luck.

The vehicle scenes are just an outright abomination. You may bump into a pothole and you're dead. There is no room for mistake on vehicle scenes. Meaning you'll have to memorize the whole track and play it over 40 times just to beat it. An example is that I received the achievement for driving ten miles only because I had to keep trying the same car scene over and over.

The game looks beautiful which is the only good part about this game.

Avoid this one at all costs unless you enjoy playing extremely bad games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad control and level design = BAD GAME

posted by BurnsIV (Lawrenceville, GA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2003

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I'm sad to say I could not play this game that I was really looking forward to based on some of the innovations it looked like it would have. Bottom line, the control was so bad, and level design not much better, that I stopped about an hour in.
About the control: In 3rd person, forget it, terrible camera made it hard to move. In first, just felt flat. First baddie I had to kill was a nightmare. The right-stick to swing was very poorly done, but god once you knock them out and have to drag them to fire to finish them off, just awful.
The level design: First "puzzle" was the last for me. You get to a stage where the building is falling apart and you climb into a room from the outside. You have to get a fire extinguisher to a second level. You end up putting it on a platform and jumping to a rope the pulls the platform up, which in turn hits the floor and tilts the extinguisher off just right. may not sound bad, but once you see it (if you rent this trash game) you will know what I mean.
Dont waste you time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Bother

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Camera is horrible !! Controls are horrible !! I can not tell you how many times I would finish a puzzle then fall off an edge cus of the camera then have to start all over. It was the exact same thing with the controls. This game was VERY frustration due to both of them.

Only good thing about this game was the graphics.

If your into horror and have ALOT of patience then this game is worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by SoraFan (THORNTON, CO) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Im not kidding you this is possibly the worst game i have ever played in my life! I just started the game and im returning it the day i got it. I got so frustrated with this game for a lot of reasons. First the gliches in the game happen a lot. When i would jump on ledges or hang on walls my body would constantly blend in with the graphics that i could only see parts of my body in and out of walls. This happened a lot. Also I would die very randomly and not know what just happened. I would walk into a room and then the walls would collapse and i would take a step forward and boom id be dead not knowing why i just died. This would happen about 15 times before i could figure out where to go. There are a lot more reasons why the gliches made this such a bad game but the worst of the worst is the combat system. This has to be the worst combat system in a game i've seen. You have to constantly swing the right analog stick to hit your enemies but the controls are so far off it's almost impossible to land a swing. Plus you can't just kill your enemies with an axe or a gun, no you have to knock them out and drag them into a fire where they finally lay to rest. This made me so mad cause a lot of the times i would be the one to die cause i would burn to death, and have to start all over. I hate this game and do not recommend this to anyone!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Back to the PC!

posted by rosenquist (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After playing through a few hours of missions and "fun," I have to say, this game is a "Must Haven't." Aside from the choppy game play, choppy cut scenes, and horrible control scheme, this game clips through walls and putts around underdeveloped cities. After the 5 seconds it took to render a building, I must say... Install the ORIGINAL and play that! It's much better!!

::Pick up Game
::Throw away game
::End

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is terrible.

posted by ThePower (PENSACOLA, FL) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Sorry, but if you are giving this game a higher grade than a 3 your high. The player controls, camera angles and driving scenes are horrendous. I played it for about an hour and realized this game was going to drive me crazy. Life is too short to bother with this garbage. Atari please go out of business and stop ripping people off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a good game to sleep through

posted by spawnpoet (ROSELLE, IL) Sep 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

wow this game is boring. there is so much about this game that is bad and i'm sure it's all been listed already, but lets go over a few of them. first of all it should have been called alone in the glitch. i played through the 59th st scene so many times before i figured out the glitch problem. the inventory system sucks. healing is stupid. targeting is weak. putting different combinations together is pretty cool but not good enough to make this game playable. a very lame game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible controls...

posted by erevan (BELLEVUE, WA) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game might as well be called annoyed in the dark. Any game that uses the right thumbstick to attack basicly fails.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

People are to hard on this game

posted by mwjster (palatine, IL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This is a solid game, all these other reviews your reading, people bashing the controls and the camera angles but there forgetting to mention this game is really fun, the controls are a little troublesome at first but once you get the hang of it, they are actually kinda needed for the amount of stuff you can do with your inventory. And i admit it sucks to be a good ways into the episode part and to die and have to start from the beginning of the part but the game is very in depth. If you like survival horror and you have some mild intelligence and problem solving skills, and a little bit of patience I am sure you will enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Alone in the Dark: Undercooked Game Development

posted by NormalC (LINCOLN, CA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll list off the pros here first and then follow that with the cons:

PROS:

Visuals - The game engine in use is very impressive; it adds a visual flair to the game that is quite exciting to see.

Physics-based level design - The environment puzzle design was done quite well and helps to immerse the player into a world that seems to exist independent of him.

Interactive inventory - The player can peruse inventory in real time; very immersive game play.

CONS:

Quirky Game play/cinemas - There are several times throughout the game that the player can suffer an untimely death simply because of not really knowing what to do/where to go. While confusion is normal for this genre, it's multiplied in this game by the confusing level design and unexpected cinema situations that can unexpectedly pull the player from one view to another without warning (ie. 1st to 3rd person view).

3rd person camera control - In third person view, the camera control (right thumb stick by default) is limited to a 75 degree range of movement; you can never fully rotate the camera about the player as you can in many other 3rd person games. This handicaps the player's ability at times to see what's going on around him. While it has already been argued that earlier fixed-view games had similar drawbacks like this, the issue here is that the game is not consistent.

Analog versus Digital control - The player must awkwardly wrench the thumb stick about in 3rd person so as to swing an item he's holding. This often means being pulled from 1st person to accomplish the task. Similar control design has been implemented with better results in games like "Silent Hill"; where much less effort is needed on the player's part for the same effect. Also, player movement is not true analog since the "A" button must be held in order to run. Doing this during a fight or action sequence is frustrating. This, coupled with the aforementioned camera/control issue, make enemy fights all the more annoying at time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse