Rent Alone in the Dark - Inferno for PS3
view large frontback

Alone in the Dark - Inferno

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.8

1334 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fairly Surprising

posted by Ravenx (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Dec 8, 2008

Member since May 2008

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Before I picked this game up I had already heard enough negative feedback on it that I was hesitant of even picking it up. Being the survival horror fan that I am, I felt obligated to give it a shot.

THE NEGATIVES

First, this is no survival horror game. It felt more like a disaster movie with monsters. Central Park gets cut-off but great chasms from the rest of New York City. You play the unfortunate Edward Carnby, who has no idea who he is. The character build-up is poor to say the best. You don't get to know any of the characters by the time the game ends.

Second, the game is buggy as can be. When your driving around, the game will get choppy at times. It does this especially when you are traveling at high speeds. The combat system is bad too. You have to ready your action before you can attack with melee weapons and in first person mode you move at half-speed.

THE POSITIVES

The story overall wasn't bad if it didn't feel rushed or so rusty. A little bit more fine-tuning and it could have panned out pretty well. At least it wasn't a generic monster or evil corporation story type.

The inventory system, though a little slow to work with is pretty cool. I liked the whole combining standard items into useful ones. Sticky molotov cocktails are a clear favorite. Flashlight was handy in parts but overall not necessary to the game. You rarely ever were truly walking around in the dark.

I give this game a 5/10 because it was a fair game. It was better than my initial expectations and entertained me at moments. Like I said earlier it is buggy even after the few months in between the early release on the XBox 360 and other consoles to this one. You would think that they would be able to clean it up a little bit. If they did, then wow this game was really bad before the PS3 release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Alone in The Dark is interesting

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

27 out of 36 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Alone in The Dark is a very interesting game, you would like this game if you enjoy games like Resident Evil by Capcom or the game Siren from the PSN network.

The Atari Studio, eden has made a very complex game that revolved a whole lot into the games ambient elements, physics, and many other realistic attributes. The graphics are stunning and physics of fire is very realistic. The Player's motion and damage which has made this game very difficult, until you get use to it, is very realistic as well. Alone in The Dark really takes time to adjust to it, and you might not like it at all if you are not a very patient gamer. The entire world of Alone in The Dark has various obstacles that will leave you running back an forth in belief you forgot to do something and leaving you hoping the game displays a tip for you.

Several cool aspects is being able to taper things together to make various sorts of explosive, weapon modifications, being able to hot wire cars, able to blow up locked doors, being able to bait and lure demons to you, very Intelligent A.I., and/or using the ambient world elements of like fire, electricity, and light to get rid of any demons that are baring a obstacle around you.

This is a top notch game if you like very difficult games that you have to pay attention to the world around you and love to encounter a ton of different obstacles. Other then just needing to get use to the difficult motion of the character, this game is worth a try, because the story is riveting, the world detail is awesome, and you never really do much of the same thing over and over. Watching the fire move and turn what ever it touches to hot ambers is very amazing game detail.

Alone in The Dark, will not be for everyone, but is great fun, interesting story, amazing detail, Brilliant A.I., and keeps the player busy with almost always something new to endeavor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't judge it by its controls or demo...

posted by hangman806 (BRONX, NY) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

because that's what I did, and I wasn't even going to rent this game at first but I did anyway. Turns out once you get passed the beginning the controls don't matter much because you mostly use firearms and other (creative) items.

BUT what made this game so enjoyable was its story, sure everything else is mediocre but the story kept me up and the ending..well you'll find out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dude, seriously?

posted by Oblivius11 (MCDONOUGH, GA) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Controlls are frustrating, the driving is extremely weak, You start out putting out fires in the dark and knocking down doors with a fire extinguisher<--lame. the characters are robotically animated and irritating. When you kill an enemy you have to drag them into the fire which is insanely frustrating--you may have to play it to understand..you can only turn a half inch to the left or right with the body in your hand so you have to reposition yourself over and over untill you burn the dawgone body and it takes too long. When you go in a car you can look in the visor of the drivers side and have to get completely out and walk around to be in the passenger seat to look in the glove box! I tried to give this game a chance but it just drove me crazy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A INFERNO worth going through!!!!!!!!!

posted by PRFAN1013 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Funny how this game was the starter for all things horror when it came to video games. And now it struggled oh so much to get back on that perch. The multi platform release was disastrous with many bugs. The PS3 version is the elite version with most bugs taken care of,. Story is driven and the setting as a dvd where you could see what happened before like in chapters is actually amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Gothic Feel

posted by NaztyNate (NASHVILLE, TN) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Alone in the dark is pretty much just another horror genre game. The story of this game I must say is rather gripping and will leave you on the edge of your seat from the beginning till the very end. One of the features about this game which rather annoys me is the ability to "Fast Forward" through chapters. You can literally put the game in and beat this game in less than 5 minutes. As a hardcore gamer this rather annoys me. Why do I want to play this game all the way through(Which I did in less than 6 hours game play) with some of the most annoying controls ever (EXAMPLE-To attack you have to lock on to the target with L1, move the right thumb stick down to up or left to right, repeat) when I can just skip to the ending. I must say that I am glad I did not give up on this one and played it out even though at times I just wanted 2 scream due to the horror of the controls. The darkness of the graphics bring out the feel of the game. Graphics=8, Controls/Movement=2, Story=8, Sounds/Music=7, Fun Factor=3, Replay Value=2 . OVERALL=5(Worth a play if you do not have something better in your game Q.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Much better than expected

posted by Glacier928 (THIELLS, NY) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ok, first things first...this version is much more playable than any of the other versions. Alone in the Dark was a surprisingly fun game that I enjoyed a lot. The graphics were pretty well done despite some technical issues and the controls are much more fluid than the 360 version. The story was intriguing but I felt that by the end of the game, the writer(s) didn't know how to end it and just ended it (despite there being 2 different endings). However, the gameplay is actually very unique in that there is a good amount of variety. Each chapter of the game felt fresh and never really felt repetitive which is really good. The game does have a lot of memorable moments and it was pretty cinematic. The audio is pretty well done as well as voice acting...well, for the most part at least. The voice acting is decent but there are some pretty dumb lines the main character says that were laughable. All in all, the game is really good and definitely worth playing because there was a good amount of ideas put into the game and it shows. Any fan of survival horror or just plain action adventure games should definitely give it a rental by all means.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

:.(

posted by yhaoooooo (FRANKFORT, KY) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game toke 20 mins away from my life.i want it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All better now!

posted by buckykat11 (North hollywood, CA) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent game. All the problems that plagued the 360 release (at least the ones that made me return it) have been fixed. Driving is now much easier, and the whole system seems a little more forgiving than before.

Believe me; this is as good as the 360 version was awful. A must for all survival horror fans. Only problem I had was that items are pretty scarce when in the open world segments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A cool mess

posted by bjmensz (FAIRFAX, VA) May 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Alone in the Dark is basically an adventure game with a survival horror atmosphere. Unfortunately, it's not really scary - it's more horror in the goofy sci-fi channel B-movie sense than in the Silent Hill sense.

Gameplay is 3rd person action-adventure with some of the weirdest controls ever. There's a lot of "puzzle" solving, but the problem is the solution to every puzzle basically is either shooting something or blowing something up. The melee controls are absolutely awful - you essentially pick up stuff and "swing" your control stick. The end results are not visceral or intuitive, just awkward, particularly since your controls and the protagonist can get out of sync since Carnby get his weapon deflected or his attack repelled, but you can move your joystick anyway.

Shooting is awkward. Melee is awkward. Puzzles are awkward. Camera is awkward. Graphics and sound are okay, with some real weird moments: one that sticks in my mind is the building collapsing and bursting into flame around the protagonist during a cutscene, but the animators didn't bother to actually animate a reaction to this, so Carnby just kind of stands around staring in one direction as everything around him blows up.

The story and atmosphere are ambitious, but that doesn't mean they're good. The dialog is god-awful, even by videogame standards - this game was made by a French studio and it has the same quality in games like Silent Hill where you feel like something was lost (or made a lot more awkward) in translation. The main character comes across as a dull jerk - not an anti-hero, as they obviously intended, but just kind of an awkward, impulsive jerk.

Too much ambition, not enough polish leads to a pretty shallow, awkward game with some really cool moments and ideas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ugh what a waste

posted by Milpool (QUINCY, MA) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I loaded this up, like the graphics, the storyline seems like it could be really good, controls would even be ok IF it didn't take 45 attempts to do a single action as well as random events of complete loss of camera control making it impossible to see where you need to go and silly stupid falls during these times that set you back to square 1 of doind whatever it is you need to do

This game looks like it had vast potential and would have been great but looks like after they made the storyline and got the graphics done they then took a nap and sent in a game without checking for bugs and/or problems with character-enviornment interaction

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Alone In The Dark Review

posted by Danson94 (BRAINTREE, MA) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that the trailers of this game completely throw you off from the blockbuster experience. I was surprised when that when i started this game up, the first thing I thought was that the camera angles were the worst i have ever seen. Second of all, the controls are so confusing, one button seems to do twelve things. You'll end up going throughout the game clicking buttons and moving the camera trying to see whats happening. Third of all, what is the point of giving you swords and fun weapons when that all that can kill the creatures is fire. Although there are some good things about this game. The rewind/fast forward selection gives you a lot of time to go back and forth in the game without getting stuck. Another good part in this game is the graphics are by far some of the best I've seen. I would say that this would be a renter game but NEVER buy it because there is no replay value when you are complete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blaze's Review

posted by Leo_the_Lion25 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Boring freaking game. The trophies are boring to get too and it's not a 10 hour platinum like others say it is. Puzzles are hard to figure out and needs youtube to pass them. The controls even freaking suck and are worst than Iron Man 2's controls. Stay away from this game because it's not worthy of to even platinum it. I sent this game right back at only 43/50 trophies earned and I wasted about 30 hours of gameplay for the last few trophies which I didn't get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

storyline saves the day again

posted by Jmac1928 (WHITTIER, CA) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

Don't let my 5 rateing discredit this game too much, "Alone in the dark, inferno" does come at you with a very compeling storyline. In fact the story is what kept me going through all the horrible combat. Word to all the video game developers out there having the right joy stick be the control for swinging weapons is just a disaster please if your thinking of useing that as a combat mechanic just have a small case of amnesia and forget it. Good things about the game include the combining of different items to make new/stronger weapons, a well explained and displayed objective menu/map, and overall creepy factor which gives it that horror movie type feel which if your like me totaly keeps you on the edge of your seat especially while playing at night with the light off :). Overall the strong storyline and creepy factor is what saves this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TRASH!

posted by sause (NORTH BERGEN, NJ) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

played it for 4 hours and returned it the same night
-plays like a tech demo (not even a finished game)
+easy trophies
-atrocious voice acting
-boring game
This game belongs alone in the dark where no one can play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ridiculous and Frustrating!

posted by Zeldax73 (LITTLE FALLS, MN) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Dec 2002

Atari you suck! I mean what were thinking! Horrible A.I. and cheesy cheap puzzles I didn't like this game and trust me gamer's this will bug you a lot the the game is not as easy as everyone is saying all due in part to the stupid darkness! At times it will be a sinch and at times you will throw your controller! But don't do that as there is youtube if your stuck! But Atari could've made this game way better
then it is stupid controls means an angry gamer! This game is to me a 3.5! Shame on you Atari!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Epic.........

posted by skeet_skeet (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

.......... FAIL!
I rented this game for the platinum. I couldn't do it, not that it was hard, but it was easily the worst game I have ever played. The mechanics/movement of character were way off(barely touch the joystick and the character moves over 5 steps and hits the wall that is on fire). The button layout is one of the worst I have ever tried using. Graphics were bad and voice acting was about as good as a talking parrot. I wish there was SOMETHING good I could say about this game, but there isn't. Wait, on a positive note, the disc was shiny and very reflective. It did help me notice that there was something stuck in my teeth before my girl came over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good horror game, some flaws though

posted by SethAtkins (DALLAS, TX) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

I played this on PS3 so while some of the major playability issues were resolved, it still had a few gameplay flaws.

First the good. As a horror game that raises the hair on your neck, it joins the likes of Doom 2 and Doom 3 on my shelves. It's the kind of game that you fear what may be ready to jump out of a dark corner at you. In that respect it was a good game, and worth renting if you like that sort of thing.

Now the bad. While they attempted to make an inventory system that didn't take you out of the context of the game (you look down into your trench coat pockets), it still felt clunky to use it. From an experience perspective it seemed realistic, but from a play perspective, I'd rather just have had a popup inventory because while you are looking at your pockets and flipping through the items, you aren't seeing what is happening around you and to you. So in that perspective it was also unrealistic at the same time.

Things like putting out fires with an extinguisher were a little frustrating and also felt clunky. The car driving was pretty bad compared to other games that incorporate vehicles. It was almost like the developers added it as an afterthought: "Hey we have to have a car driving scene because all the games do it these days."

Also on the positive side, if you like playing for trophies, this isn't a particularly difficult platinum. Pretty easy in fact. Except for one driving related trophy in particular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game. Do not waste your time.

posted by CognacRhino800 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Worst story line ever.
Broken game mechanics.
Horrible voice acting and embarrassing dialogue.
Low quality graphics and sound.

Couldn't stomach this horrible game even for the easy trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

alone in the dark and how you can be awsome in it.

posted by mgoody (WASHINGTON, IL) May 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

In this game the mechanics for aiming and the ability to combine almost anything that you can carry is a good addition to the fact taht anyone that may have missed the series if there was one this fresh start from an amnesiac is what has allowed a good portion oof possible new gamers to make themselves familiar with the game but at a faster pace tahn you would think. The combat controls and by that I mean the use of the lock position the free movment of your arms and adding the use of anything that may or may not be nailed down. A lot of the things that people can do and probably will commonly do is they will use things to blow things up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow....in a bad way

posted by CherryPie (BRONX, NY) May 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

Ok I decided to give this game a shot and let it impress me by playing for 1 hour. Why one hour you may ask well I decided to do what Sony does with the 1 hour demos to see if the game can grasp my attention, sadly this game failed to entertain me so I sent it back to Gamefly immediately. Alone in the Dark restricts you to only a few slots in your jacket. And each side can only hold a certain category of items such as your gun, ammo, health spray, bandages, etc. This becomes troublesome when you are being attacked by enemies and need to open your coat just to pull out a item is just plain stupid. The graphics are good but nothing to go crazy about. The controls are weak and very clunky. Even breaking down doors by holding a chair than tilt the stick left and swing right was just bad what ever happened to the simple press the square button. Also when you shoot your gun it has to switch to first person which sucks when your being attacked by "humanz" which are the main enemies in the game and you have the camera switching back and forth. All in all not even worth the rent and definitely not the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak Game

posted by djbeatzzz (WEST NEW YORK, NJ) May 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Weak Game, that could had a chance to being decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Epic Fail

posted by Omegazero44 (DELAVAN, WI) May 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Alone in the Dark can be explained in one word, bad. To begin its suppose to be a third and first-person survival horror game, but it barely is.

Most of the time you'll fight with your control to do what you want to. The combat is passable. trying to orginize inventory space is a chore. driving is bad. It's just a chore getting around.

Mostly the only good thing is the music and story. the music adds to the experiance. I only played this game because i heard it was easy to get the platinum trophy, but i was wrong. its hard enough to even tell yourself you can beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good Graphics but too Hard

posted by CaptainLon (OIL CITY, PA) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Good Graphics But, its Too Hard to Aim When Shooting at Enemies and too much of An RPG Style Inventory System and No Enough Programed in Cheats to Overcome the Hard Elements Makes Me Give This Game a Rating of only 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I beat it, so it must have been good

posted by Frogface (APO, AP) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This is another game that I've beat, and liked a lot. I actually didn't like the demo, but decided to get it since it was a good cheap price. This "Episodes" are excellent to remind you of what your doing and what has happened. There are numerous games that I've stopped playing, because I've just forgotten what I was going. This game isn't perfect by no means, but if you like horror games, and story based games, you'll going to like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse