Rent All-Pro Football 2K8 for PS3
view large frontback

All-Pro Football 2K8

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.0

835 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible gameplay dissapointment

posted by cameron15 (GREENSBORO, NC) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

good graphics bad gameplay did not rent this played the demo from psn id say this could compete with MADDEN 99 playbook isnt set up well after recieving the ball wrs arent in very much of a hurry they walk not very realistic at ALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rice, Elway, and Smith on One Team! Salary Cap!!!

posted by usmrja (PENA BLANCA, NM) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I've been a 2k fan, kept my old xbox just for that so i can use my own soundtracks for arena music. I waited for this game since spring, Got it popped it in and assembled a great team and got bored after halftime. Game play is great! But falls a bit short of Madden. Don't get me wrong i liked the game but just didn't feel real the crowd and field didn't look real. Sound effects from the tackles were a bit loud. Loved the soundtrack on it the game disc. But since graphics were kinda of last generation i'll stick with Madden for NOW. I'll wait another year for improvement. Great alternative for Madden haters. I would rent it first and check it out! Real 2k fans this game is for you! Madden fans you'll laugh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why would u want this game?

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is a joke. Not much you can really say about a game like this.. except, STAY AWAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Real Deal- Watch Out EA, 2k Is Coming

posted by ps3stheman (LEXINGTON, MA) Sep 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I know what you're thinking. "He must be insane!" you say. Well you're wrong. All-Pro 2k8 is an EXTREMELY refreshing alternative to EA Sports and its horrible gameplay and I will explain why.

The area where 2k8 excels is definitely the gameplay. This is hands-down the best football gameplay ever. Every tackle feels like the ballcarrier is desperately fighting for more yards, while the defenders are putting all their effort into bringing him down. The animations are amazing, and don't even look like animations, but more like real football tackles that would actually happen. The quarterbacks have to wind up and gun the ball for longer throws, while they can just guide the ball in on shorter throws. The blocking AI is flawless and the defensive AI never misses a beat, as each player covers the field like they actually would in real life. There are some odd moments where players dive on the field, only to spring up again to enter an animation, but they are rare and happen away from the play.

The visuals of this game are much better than they get credit for. Although the textures are not as nice as EA's, the player faces are dead on, a feat EA can't seem to get. How is it possible that 2k Sports gets Johnny Unitas' face perfect, but EA can't even get Peyton Manning's face near right? The running animation actually looks like running, unlike the zombie motion of EA Sports where the players look like they are 95-year-old retirees in jockstraps. The players look like they are actually people wearing pads, as opposed to EA's gigantic Michelin Man body type. Don't sleep on these visuals.

The sound of this game is also great. The croud actually cheers or boos loudly; none of the dead EA stadiums in this game. The players talk on the field and grunt and yell during the play.

Bottomline: this game plays like real football. The players throw, run, and tackle like real football players. If you like football, you should pick this up and dump Madden or NCAA in the toile

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not horrible, not great

posted by JayDiggle (bountiful, UT) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't know why the game has gotten such lousy reviews. I don't think it was all that bad. It's fun to experiment and find the perfect combination team for your style and run with it.
I will agree that the game is not very deep. You finish the season and you feel like you have not accomplished much. With that said, I still enjoyed the ride. You get to play different teams with different numbers of stars on them. You can't play all the teams the same way.

This game is not madden, not even close, but if you are looking for a filler, a football fix if you will, then it is worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst football game ever

posted by gogocats (OWENSBORO, KY) Dec 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Got this for Christmas. Absolutely the worst football and maybe the worst sports game ever. Very complicated. YUK!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All-Pro Football 2K8

posted by DolfanDon (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I honestly can't believe the scores are so low for this game...

It's a good game. Not as great as ESPN 2K5 (my personal favorite football game ever), but it follows in the same vein. If you liked that game then give this a try.

The game is intended for multi-person play, however. The single player aspect is very limited. (play through one season, the end) But the multiplayer aspect is awesome. You can create your own team (from NFL legends). Think fantasy football of the greatest players of the NFL's past. I 1 point off for the weakness of single player, FYI. It still plays good, and has multiple difficulty levels, but it was obviously created with multiplayer in mind.

The other aspect that came off with some minor problems was in control. The control is good, and in my opinion compares to Madden 07 (haven't played 08 yet). The difference is that instead of feeling like stiff cardboard cut outs (in Madden) you feel like loose overly flexible gymnasts. The controls could be tightened. They aren't horrible, but a they are a little loose.

Some people complained that the QB won't throw the ball when they want him to. It's a nuisance of the game. The QB doesn't throw it when you hit the button, but when you let go. And if you tap the receiver button twice, the QB pump fakes. It works perfectly when you understand this, but does feel weird at first.

Overall this was a really fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS!!!

posted by MATTROCKS (SOUTHGATE, MI) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME SUCKS... GO RENT MADDEN!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DISSAPOINTMENT!!!

posted by maxnick812 (NEWTOWN, CT) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

From the beginning people said this game was bad, well they were right. The description of the game sounded good, but it was the most DISSAPOINTING game I have ever played. The game itself was bad, the graphics stunk, game play was really difficult and it was just plain a waste of MONEY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What were they thinking

posted by mrtnztrio (MIDLAND, TX) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is not a true football game! Who ever made this needs some major schooling in making a great football game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

all pro footbal 2k8

posted by bobster22 (LA GRANGE, IL) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game looked very good but turned out to be one of the worst games I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I thought it was a ps one game

posted by mswiss76 (WILMINGTON, DE) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok so the concept of the game is interesting, pick from hall-of-famers and create your own team. After you have done that the game is pretty much over with as far as I'm concerned. The game play is terrible to be polite and the graphics are you serious. If you bought a PS3 and rented this game first you would think there was something wrong with your system. I just realized the game was probably made in someones garage by far the worst football game ever created. Thanks but no thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average game

posted by PhoBuCu (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Overall this game is just above average. I hear the comparisons to NFL 2k5, but NFL 2k5 is still the better game. Controls are a little bit more loose and controlling the players feel too 'uncontrollable' at times, especially on defense. Trying to make a play on the ball as a FS or LB and you will see.

Could use alot more in-depth stuff, like a Franchise mode of some sort. Good game, but more of a scaled down version of NFL 2k5 without the modes and names.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

All-Pro Football 2k8

posted by redsman (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the sorriest excuse for a game I have every seen. The whole setup is terrible. You can tell that the design team put too much work into who to put in the game and way too little effort into the important aspects. You should be able to play as current NFL teams along with your so called "Dream Team". What a joke! I wouldn't even waste my money renting this waste of a game. You would get more enjoyment from playing 10-yard fight on NES!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No license, no character

posted by GarKeith (CLARKSBURG, WV) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I found this game very Blah. The controls are a little forien to me because I have been playing so much NCAA 08 for the past week, but still they feel spongey to me. The turbo has very little effect on you runners speed, I could not break around the corners, or get any seperation running down field using Barry Sanders. Its an ok game, but this game will be about 32.99 by christmas so I would not go out and drop 60 on it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHY?

posted by aaustinite (HIGHLAND, IL) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

2k bombed this game. Horrible all around no replay value whatsoever. very buggy officals [refs] players might as well be completely cpu controlled. PLEASE DON'T RENT!!! Gamefly, get rid of this game!!! no redeeming values at all. Zer0 is the lowest score on my list. This game needs a big fat 0 next to it. 2K no more sport games please, u r baseball game was even worse. Stay away from this game y'all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but less than expected

posted by bazooka13 (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Although the game is good it is just a little too basic. Maybe we are spoiled with Trophies, mini-games, franchise modes, and other options but there wasn't a whole lot to do in this game. It was just straight football. This might seem ok but there are a lot of little things that were left out. For instance upon booting the game up I had to create a team. There were no other options. Now I might have been able to skip this but I would think that this would be asked when you start season mode for example. Another example os that unlike NFL 2k5 the trophy room is lackluster. You just scroll through the trophies you have received due to your accomplishments. It seemed kind of tacked on as a nod to achievements but it didn't make me want to go out of my way to earn the trophies.

Now I've played a few football games - a couple of Maddens, NFL 2k5 and even the original football on the dreamcast but as far as gameplay goes it seemed easy. I had John Elway for quarterback and Christian Okoye for a running back. I could run for days even against tough defense and Okoye was only a bronze star runner I believe. The running game just seemed too easy. I did bump up the level of difficulty to adjust but I think the level of difficulty is overall less than other current football games of the last few years.

I think it is a good start but 2k sports have taken a step back from 2k5. In many ways it is like their first dreamcast attempt at football. Next years will be better I am sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad

posted by pureplaya (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

game is aiiiite...i give it a c+...need to get used to it,I used to play 2k5 way back in the day. Graphics looks great on my hdtv. I'd rather play Madden 07 to be honest.....cant wait for Madden 08!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is terrible

posted by football28 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jul 26, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. If you try to throw a pass, half the time your quarterback ducks, and spins and twists, usually right into a lineman for a sack instead of throwing the ball. It doesnt matter how good from Joe Montana to some nobody, they all can't throw. Running however is way too easy.

Another gripe I have is controlling your defender. If he is crashing left for the play call, but you read that they are running right. Don't bother trying to go right at the ball snap. Your defender will do what he pleases.

All-in-all this game felt very rushed and needs a serious make-over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game i ever played

posted by 1football (CARSON CITY, NV) Jul 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

this game was a waste of my time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One word?

posted by Nick1979 (EAST WEYMOUTH, MA) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

AWFUL!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All Around Excellent

posted by GoGreen (PERKASIE, PA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Intro- All Pro Football 2k8 takes you into an exciting, different, football idea. Mixing hall of famers with
rookie player that you construct it makes a whole new sport-gaming experience. You decide what you want for your team. Logos, uniforms, soundtrack. Everything! It takes you to another level of gaming by mixing in hall of famers such as joe montana, jerry rice, and many, many more.

Ratings.

Graphics-8

It gives you the feeling of being on the field.
The only flaw were the jerseys and outfits. Stretched numbers and unequal body ratios make the football experience unreal and dull.

Soundtrack-10

All i can say is....MAKE YOUR OWN!

OVerALL- 9

In conclusion APF2K8 is a great gaming experience that will bring life and enjoyment into boring days for years to come.

-Mike Williams

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RUN AWAY FROM THIS GAME.

posted by bigsam90 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) May 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game is terrible from the graphics to actual gameplay. You have limited customization the game controls are not fluid so you find your self being sacked as soon as you hike the ball. Really bad game a waste of time money and memory space.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really BAD Game!

posted by Devin1996 (LOUISVILLE, KY) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

In my opinion, the game was so original that it had no exictement whatsoever. Though, it was nice to see some of my favorite former superstars such as Dan Marino back on the field. But, the game did not have the old school teams, just created teams. This game is nothing like Madden. I would not recommend this game to anyone. I am just going to take the game back to the store, or trade it in for a more exciting and fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Needs some polish

posted by austin71 (SEAFORD, NY) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

The old 2K Sports Football titles were always my favorite - I preferred them over Madden. But somehow, this game hasn't really changed since the last incarnation of NFL 2K5. Although the gameplay is still the same as I remember, unfortunately so is the commentary. Couldn't they have at least recorded some new broadcast commentary for this game. The broadcast team still spews out the same lines that I was tired of 2 years ago. And some of the commentary is choppy in spots. The gameplay is still enjoyable, but the presentation of menus can be a little confusing and not really pleasing to the eye. There are no real changes since the last game and maybe there needs to be. For those of you that enjoyed the old NFL 2K games, you'll still find this enjoyable. But with no NFL license, you might as well go back and play the last 2K game. I know that's what I'm going to do. (I still play it to this day)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse