Rent All-Pro Football 2K8 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

All-Pro Football 2K8

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.6

2884 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

most realstic best football game

posted by Jmaannx (CHESTER, VA) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

better than madden 08 more realstic broken tackles realistic and tackling

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bare Bones Solid Gameplay

posted by DaGamDaGee (WASHINGTON, DC) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While EA has taken the advantage of having the NFL license to crush the competition with its Madden franchise, 2K Sports and Visual Concepts have stepped up to release a very solid effort. All-Pro Football 2k8 is a very solid football game when it comes to game play. The players move realistically as if their cleats are actually digging into the turf. Players don't slide across the field and can not stop on a dime and go from one direction to the other without having to make some type of adjustment. The game runs smoothly with some frame rate issues here and there, but they never happen during game play.

The graphics are nothing less than spectacular and this game is bursting with high production values. The menu system is convenient and the music is better than any EA title can offer.

While the game play and graphics have every right to be gawked over and held in high regard, the game suffers from the simple fact that it is a bare bones football experience. There is a single season mode, meaning no franchise, no draft, no trades, just football. While this is good in a sense, the arm chair GMs won't get their chance to establish a power house franchise.

The online mode is solid, although it is a craps shoot to find players these days or decent, good sports at that. For what it's worth, it's a very good game, not a 60 dollar purchase, but it is definitely worth your while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FOOTBALL!!

posted by three2six (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you love football, you can't beat this game. The gameplay is light years ahead of Madden. The players actually cut and juke instead of sliding and spinning like an arcade game. If you want to play football, get this. If you want to spend all your time in the front office, get Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow. great game.

posted by macsmiff (ENDICOTT, NY) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is great. it'd be even better if it had nfl teams, but unfortunately 2k doesnt have the nfl license :( overall this game is an absolute 10!! this is REAL football!!!!!!! madden is terrible and 2k football kicks azz.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All-Pro Start for 2K football on Next Gen Systems!

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

30 out of 41 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Even Madden fanatics such as myself cannot ignore this one! Having grown up watching Payton, E. Smith, Rice, Elway and especially Joe Montana, what's better than being able to play as them. The game plays great with an excellent playbook running on the staple NFL 2K engine many have loved for years. The league is small but doesn't deter from the enjoyment of the football games played. You begin by selecting 11 (all-pro) players while the rest of the team will be selected for you. After that, select your team name, logo, stadium, and uniforms then it's on to the first game of the season. The lack of an NFL license does not take away from the fun and feel of true football and playing as the past legends of the game can be more fun in many ways than with current players. This game is a blast to play and all fans of the Madden or 2k series shouldn't miss it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good for being MIA for 3 years

posted by oneman (HAMPTON, VA) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

First and foremost...i read a couple reviews of some of the lower ratings and i must honestly say, you people have it all wrong. Granted the graphics aren't spectacular but they are nice. I'll compare this game to madden since thats what everyone really wants anyway. This game is not about bringing a team 30 years dwn the line seeing how it lacks the franchise mode. 2K made it quite clear though that where would they get the draftees from since they cannot take from the college level neither since EA has snatched up those rosters exclusively as well. Anyway, you start the game making up your own team of legends choosing only so many, the game randomly fills the rest of your roster but remember this, your random players ARE NOT scrubs.They are very useful as a matter of fact. There was someone on here saying the CPU gets 3 gold star players that is not true they probably mistook it for bronze. Or they may be madden fanboys which is probably true to most of the low rating people trying to make this game sound bad...is far, very far from that. Moving on the online play is superb and thats something EA cannot get down for some reason. Lets get into gameplay...If you are looking (as i) for playing a game of football (via console) as realistiically as possible you've got to pick this up. The animations are picture perfect, very realistic tackling and in air hits. Not too many cheesy plays to exploit, quarterbacking is very very realistic, you have celebrations, real-time injuries, very good halftime show where they re-cap the whole first half with highlights of the plays you actually did. I can't put everything this game has (all the cool stuff very realistic things) in this review as i tried and i ran out of space. Email me if you want to hear about all the outstanding gameplay. The biggest con is the lack of franchise though. the biggest pro is realism...something madden does have but no where near this much...i love it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gotta do this

posted by heroporter (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

17 out of 25 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

To make up for all those idiotic ratings for this game I had to give it a 10 just to bring it up where it should be and thats about a high 8 or low 9. I don't see why the biggest complaints of this game are the graphics they are good actually they are phenominal way beyond what ps2 or xbox could ever do the sidelines are extremely detailed right along with the stadiums and the faces of most the legends are dead on its scary maybe these people just need full 1080p HD tv's I dunno?

All I can say is if this game had the dumb license it would blow madden away in every category This is 2k's first time out on next gen The presentation and commentary is light years beyond Madden it's really disgusting. Madden just can't get it right. Just all the little details like. Turf flying up the air, sideline catches, strong AI, Just everything, Everything that you hate about madden is fixed on this A shame they really can't compete since they just don't have current real players oh well by the time that dumb exclusive contract is up This will be the football game for all to be playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2k Is Back

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

22 out of 34 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Finally what we have all been anxiously waiting for has finally come and is the game we all wanted.You first start off the game by picking your legends you pick 2 gold star players(Walter Payton,Dan Marino,Jon elway) 3 silver star players(Mike Ditka,Ickey Woods,Randal Cunningham)and 6 bronze stars(Andre Ware,Bernie Kosar,Bill Wade, Bobby Herbert,Bubby Brister,Dave Krieg)Ok so I picked only 11 stars what about the other 11 players? Well 2k using there heads didn't want an entire team stacked with legends so the other 11 are generated names with no great abilities. Well Im not much of a football guy, how do i no which legends are better that others? In this game 2k has dropped the rating system and put in an ability system. Like a QB could have pocket presence, gunner on the run. well if they have more abilities the more likely they will help your team. Ok so ive picked my team im just wondering about the other 11 players the no names can they do anything? Well on defense you can choose players to be good pass defense or rush defense,same with the offensive line,But try not have no names for wr especially QB because those players are gonna put up numbers like Rex Grossman and Randy Moss did this year. Your done with you players now it is onto the stadium,logo,and uniforms. When creating your logo no need to worry you have a least 100 different logos to chose from so you will have no problem finding one. Thats the easy part now for the fun and creative part. You control whether your team looks absolutely ridiculous or shockingly scary.With tons of colors to choose from you can make your team look exactly like your nfl team. Dont worry about the stadiums which ever one you like pick. Finally the gameplay to get the most out of this game Get xbox live Single player is one season no franchise. in xbox live the team you chose in the beginning is the team going out on the field in live. season is not horrible but it will get boring after awhile.Buy it its that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great start up franchise for 2k

posted by quint27 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is a great game. i can't wait for the that stupid agreement with madden expires!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good first step.....would reccomend.

posted by Morkoc (HENRICO, VA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I was going to rent this, but I wanted to support 2K so I bought it. I would say the graphics are sorta lacking.....but the game play is where it is at. Mainly the online is where this game shines though. The premise is rather odd. You choose your core players and put them on a team....the local play is nice..but you have to create your own teams. In the end it is a good game with some core features missing. I could certinly be better...but any thing different from madden is a PLUS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Man...Wow

posted by khujo78 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game gets a 10 to try to offset the ridiculous low scores given...Are you serious? It seems that most of the reviewers didn't even know who these legends were. The graphics??? Get and HDTV if that's your main gripe...I have one, and I had no problem seeing anything. The gameplay is awesome, and you have a bunch of bonuses based on the hall of famer you have selected. Is it really a shame that you can't have jerry rice, dan marino, walter payton, reggie white and ronnie lott on the same team??? How much sense would that make? Why would you play any football game thats that easy? You get to choose a bunch of hall of famers who are at different levels, but nonetheless hall of famers. What game lets you do that? And how bad do you have to be to not win games with player you KNOW to be good? Good lord...screw the whiners on here. This game is awesome, I still play it.... Rent it...buy it...enjoy it.Peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't let the Madden fan boys deter you

posted by fng421 (MESQUITE, TX) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful


Overall 8
Presentation 9
Graphics 7
Gameplay 8
Create-a-modes 8

Alright first off too many of the bad reviews are bad simply because its not madden or the NFL.. never claimed to be so if your looking for that then Madden is your game.

As far as APF2k8 itself goes it's in my opinion the better game this year despite the lack of an NFL license. The graphics aren't the best, but they seemed to have focused more on animations rather then is Aikman's hair perfect.

Presentation has always been what 2k is good at and if you played 2k5 you will hear many of the same lines with new names. The halftime show is still here minus the ESPN guys of course.

Gameplay itself is fun and surprisingly addictive takes a few games to get back into the 2k way of football but once you get back into it it feels much more fluid like your players are aware of where they are on the field from toe drags to fighting for that extra yard for the 1st down.
This doesn't just apply to offense on defense it seems your players are aware of the first down markers or the endzone and attempt to drag the guy the other way rather then just making a hit that will pull them over the line, though on occasion it does happen but usually it feels like they are genuinely trying to stop the play short.

Creation modes are by far the best in any football game to date the sheer number of options for your teams logo and uniform can create a near infinite amount of combinations for your teams look I haven't seen any two teams exactly alike online yet. The stadiums and team names do leave a bit to be desired it is nice to have your options and they will say all of them but no custom team name or editing your choice stadium in any way, at the very least I would have liked to make the sideline walls match my team colors.

thanks for reading my extremely long review :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just got the game played 2 Hours

posted by EJtheEORE (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is great. So they dont got nfl rosters but they do have legends. Yes just like my team the niners there legends dominate. Anyways before i started my season i edited my teams uniform and got the closed thing to the niners. When i was looking threw the logos (which you can combine alot into one) i notice it will be very easy to create the lions. Anyway gameplay is PERFECT huge step ahead from 2k5 in gameplay. If you loved 2k5 and just love real football and is tired of madden giving out the same DOOKIE every FRUCKEN year then buy this game or at least rent it from here gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

People complaining about graphics dont have HDTV.

posted by authentic (BILOXI, MS) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The graphics are beautiful in this game. At least on par or better than NCAA08. Gameplay is awesome, customization is top notch. Great game, support these guys cause when they get the NFL license you'll appreciate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The birth of a legend?

posted by 123321 (LERNA, IL) Aug 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Finally, as All pro football 2K8 has came out after hree years, it has been worth it's waiting, because APF 2K8 is whooping butt! The graphics are pretty sweet looking', and if there is a legend that your looking for that isn't in there, you can create him with the create-a-player system. Also, Dan and Peter are back with some new lines, however, there are still some old lines that are from 2K8, and using the strafe button on defense, can get you stuck sometimes, and requires some extra button pressing. But still, this is a must-play for football fans who have been waiting for 2K8's arrival.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This football game rocks

posted by Horsepower (LA MESA, CA) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Those who complain about the graphics must not have a good high def TV because I think the graphics are just fine. The presentation, gameplay and music are all better then the Madden game. If you don't believe it then rent it and see for yourself. What I don't like is the the announcers are basically using the same exact verbage they used in 2K5. The creators could have at least recorded new stuff but that is the only problem for me. Otherwise this game is one of the best football games ever put on a gaming machine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOOD BUT FAILED AT TWO THINGS

posted by GMAN08 (Monterey, CA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

They failed at graphics in this game definitely. And they did not include every hall of fame player or legend in the game. Game play is good which was to be expected from 2k but overall they did not really reach every ones extreme hype of there comeback... GOOD RENT WOULDNT BUY!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

brings me back to 2005

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

well 2k8 is a lot of fun, tough defence smart calls in the game, the game does some thinking, playing the old players is a great idea, and all the mixing up you can do in the game, but the graphics are weak i would say like ps2, dont know why 2k sports would not beef this up maybe they are just cheap, it feels like they took 2k5 added the old players to the game and made some changes here and there, other words a updated 2k5 game, not all new from the ground up, still a fun game its worth buying, but next time lets get them graphics up to 2007 standers 360 ps3 standers, not ps2, good game enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

all pro-football

posted by meechc (SAN RAFAEL, CA) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i'm the biggest fan of 2k football, but this one didn't live up to my expectations at all. it's exactly like the x-box 2k5. the graphics didn't change even though it's on the 360 but the gameplay is good. i was a die-hard 2k fan but i think i'm going to have to wait for madden now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What Is SOOO Bad about it

posted by DannyBoy92 (PLANO, TX) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

my friend came over and i played this game and i loved it. i rented then off of gamefly and realized how much more i liked it.
the graphics in this game arent as bad as people say they are. if you have at least a decent tv then they are great.
the gameplay in this game is about the gameplay of madden 2035, if you know what i mean. everything just flows and you cant throw a perfect pass off your back foot (like in madden and NCAA)
the fact that you can use the legends is such a great idea. and then not only can you customize the players, the uniforms are so cuztomizable it is unbelievable.
I TIP MY HAT TO ALL PRO FOOTBALL 2K8. GREAT JOB!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

2K took a big step backwards

posted by Lordcledus (ANDERSON, IN) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

8 out of 27 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

First of all I had high hopes for this game since I have been a 2k football player since the dreamcast days. The graphics were always some of the best and the gameplay was second to none. Sadly APF 2K8 was none of this. This game gas a few positives. First off the customization is full of options. Want a certain color or type of uniform? It can be made. Want to make your player celebrate after a TD. Yep there too. Even better, you can customize a celebration just for a player. Like multiple camera angles to play the game in? There, even a custom setting for your liking. Lastly the legends included. For the most part the top tier guys are here. Montana, Young, Rice, Elway, Marino, Payton Barry Sanders. You get the idea.

Now the negatives. I'm sure most people thought great idea, a legends game. I can make my dream team. Sadly, you can only choose 2 gold, 3 silver, and 6 bronze legends to a team. So what's this mean? You want Montana, Rice, and Sanders on your team? Ain't gonna happen since all these guys are gold players. I know your wondering, what about the rest of my team after choosing my legends. This is where the biggest disapointment is. The rest of your roster is generic scrub players. I could see if they kept the gold and silver restrictions so one team wouldn't be too dominant.
Next lets get to actual gameplay. Like to run the ball. Good luck with the non skilled players blocking for you. Same goes for the passing game. I lost count of how many dropped passes there were from the generic guys. And these were coming from guys like Montana and Marino. Basically if you want a strong offense, you better be able to put up the points because the defense is going to give up a lot.

If you love football games, rent it.Other than that, don't waste your money. If you are looking for a game like 2K5, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A completely non-biased review

posted by YourMom (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I have played both NCAA Football 08 and All-Pro Football 2K8 for a good amount of time. I have come to the conclusion that EA Sports makes a better football game than 2K. If you are looking for a football game, pick NCAA 08 or wait til Madden comes out, because APF 2K8 is not worth all the hype surrounding it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sad

posted by Brian7 (FINDLAY, OH) Jul 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is messy. The gameplay seems cluttered and there is no point to play it. Why play this game? To beat the Las Vegas Cougars? Come on, as far as football goes let EA make their games better and play them. NCAA is 100x better than this game without players names.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad... very very bad

posted by noahinohio (LANCASTER, OH) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

For starters let me make this statement. All-Pro Football 2K8 is one of the most incomplete and broken games I have ever played. From the lack of a dynasty to the fact that you don't even know what league you are playing in. This game doesn't stand a chance against madden or blitz the league for that matter. Horrible just horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst football game ever

posted by jsnmlk (NEWTON, IA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is one of the most clunky football games that I have ever played, and I can remember playing Atari 2600 football. While is very cool playing some of the best football players of the past, the AI is full of flaws that need to be worked out. When the computer team is being smothered by a defense, I find it extremely odd that all of sudden on back-to-back plays the CPU controlled players jump offside. One other problem arises when trying to pass, I have pressed various pass button only to have the QB either pump or not even throw at all, resulting a sack. Also I never knew that certain players were that dominate. Ronnie Lott was never a shut down safety, he was a hitter, and great at run support. Rod Woodson was also not a shutdown corner, also a hitter, who had excellent coverage skill, but not a shut down corner like, Deion or Champ Bailey.
It seems that the programmers, want such an impossible game that no one would want to play it or own it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse