Rent Aliens vs. Predator for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Aliens vs. Predator

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.4

9310 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

True to the original

posted by Tanukichan (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

100 out of 119 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I bought my first gaming rig to play AvP, oh so many years ago. The visceral, dark and sometimes terrifying experience set up my expectations for what makes a good fps for years to come-- playing through the missions on nightmare difficulty before the patch that put in saves. Now, playing AvP on the 360, the game doesn't disappoint... much.

Visually, there are some quirks. The character models are a little bland by today's standard: bad lip synching, odd facial expressions, plastic hair. The environments, however, are awesome, and true to the films (I don't include the AvP film, because it's dead to me.) Playing through the levels from the different viewpoints of the species is quite novel.

The Colonial Marine game is very shooty, appropriately. The Xenomorph game is very crawlly-sneaky, appropriately. The Predator game, unfortunately, is very punchy-blocky-melee, and forced me to rely on the scripted finishing moves, which are time-consuming and leave the player vulnerable. The original Predator game was more sneaky-shooty, and I enjoyed it more. Also, when did the Predator get "normal human vision mode?" The compelling part of the original game was adapting to the Predator's vision modes. My impression is that "human vision mode" is in only because of the scripted finishing moves, and I truly wish it were not, because in infra-red the moves are even more disturbing, because of their inhumanity.

The campaigns are short, a few hours each, but well scripted. Lance, as always, reads his lines well. The longevity of the game, I think, is intended in the multiplayer, which is fun... though I wish there were more to the marine survival co-op.

Overall, I think this is going to be a rental for most people, though I do highly recommend it to anyone who played the original in its original era.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is a very good game.

posted by madanonymous (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I definitely enjoyed this game, I love being able to play as the 3 species Alien, Predator, and Human. The single-player campaigns were short, but well-done. Absolutely amazing and intense multiplayer, one of the best online experiences. I would probably buy this game if I had the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Didn't know what to expect

posted by itzmike (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

when i picked this game up i didn't know what to expect all i heard was bad things but when i started playing all the races had a good concept and good engineering the controls for the aliens was a little tricky but once you get into it it becomes a great game to play sadly it doesn't have much of a replay value because once you beat one there isn't really a need to play that race again u needa move onto multilayer. but overall this game was enjoyable not to hard or too easy so if your thinking the game will be bad just give it a shot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best AvP in the series.

posted by Herterich (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

68 out of 87 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

AvP is NOT your typical shooter. It has a VERY steep learning curve. It requires patience and most importantly, an understanding of ALL the game mechanics (including the 3 control schemes, gameplay style / tactics for each race, melee combat rules, and weapon location) before the game really starts to sink in and you feel what its all about.

This game will pick you up and drop you on your head 100 times over if you cant be patient and learn. This is not a pick up and play game.

Anyone who enjoys the Alien / Predator franchises that has patience will enjoy this game, its simple as that. Just because a game is hard, does not make it bad. Does anyone remember the old days where we considered hard games to be a treat, not a let down?? Getting multiple kills without dying in AvP is such a great feeling, because you know you actually worked hard to stay alive

At the very least, rent it and try it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!

posted by THEPFAT (KEY LARGO, FL) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

47 out of 64 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

So if you come into the alien vs predator franchise expecting academy award acting and stories you are in the wrong area. Now don't get me wrong as far as I am concerned the stories are still as good as they get for this type of game/movie. Aliens...Predators...scared marines trying to survive, thats a good grounds for action if you ask me! This game has some amazing graphics and fun on all three species. Not one not two but THREE single player campaigns and then the multiplay...great! The vast amount of weaponry that the pred and marines have is unique and still fitting on the original styling of the first two games and movies. They FINALLY got it correct with the movement on the aliens and predators as far as if you look up at a ledge 50 ft in the air you can jump there. Marine are a bit easy to kill but AS THEY SHOULD BE! Arnie and Danny G are the only two humans alive that gave the pred a run for its money and Sigorney was killed by the aliens THREE times! So yeah they die easy as they should! GREAT game EXPECIALLY if you are a fan of the series I recommend it on all fronts! THANK YOU SEGA!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exceeds expectations

posted by Klikklik (Muncie, IN) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

23 out of 33 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I used to buy games on premise and think "well this game has got to be fun, there's no way a game company can screw up a lone soldier knifing raptors!" But time and time again I was proved wrong. So I was cautious of AVP but when I picked up I couldn't put it back down! As you know the game features 3 campaigns which I believe fall into the categories of stealth (predator) puzzle solving/stealth (alien) and just trying to stay alive (marine). The interface was smooth and the graphics were pretty good. The sound however was amazing if you are a fan of the series. Hearing Predator lure a marine to his doom with a recording of a profane phrase was classic. The multiplayer is even better but I don't have time to get into that. All in all this is a great game and you'd be missing out not to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Aliens vs Predator

posted by Sasuke21 (PITTSBURG, CA) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Man i actually loved this game i thought it wouldnt be good at first glance but after playing as Predator first i realized that it had a lot to offer the sound was incredible it was really eerie. Then the Marine portion of the game was fun also lol it was very hard staying alive you know what i mean.

Give it a shot its well worth the rent.

Sasuke peace out yall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game!

posted by GermSquirt (GRAYSON, KY) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Gripe, gripe, gripe! Everyone wants a perfect game. Well guess what, they do not exist! This game met my expectations. I knew it would not be perfect, but I knew it was going to be fun! And fun it is. Yeah, it is flawed, but yeah it is good if you are a casual gamer such as myself. Do not pay attention to these people on here that have nit picked this game to death. Chances are they are very lonely ppl that do not even know how to begin to make a game let alone a good game! Rent it, play it, and in my case buy it! I gave it an 8 out of 10 because that is exactly what it is, a very good game, peace!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was worth the rent.

posted by LordRaven (BROCKTON, MA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

17 out of 26 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

The single player game was pretty good but had it had some flaws such as, no crouch or prone for the marine, the predator was too punch and blocky and his jump sucked. the alien didnt have much going on as far as attacks go.

That would have all been excuseable if rebellion didn't drop the ball on the multiplayer. The fact that you could only unlock skins, makes me think the devs got lazy and just wanted the game done already. If the multiplayer was like bioshock 2 or modern warefare 2, it would have been alot more popular than it is.

It's time for developers to realize that your multiplayer must now include progressive ranking and character customization if you expect your game to be a hit :).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by AlienBaby (CANTON, GA) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

A lot of people have said how they do not like the graphics and what not but I am really enjoying this game.

The executions are sick and make me smile every time. The graphics may not be the best but are better than the last time.

The species are very evenly balanced for any scenario, but the better player will win.

A great game for everybody....who is demented like me :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much Better Than The Critics Say!

posted by ChiaBing (GREEN RIVER, WY) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Bottom line... if you liked the Alien / Predator movies, you will love this game!

The game does a great job of immersing you in the world of a Space Marine, Alien or Predator, depending on which campaign you are playing, with authentic sounds, weapons, etc. from the movies, and all three were a lot of fun to play!

The critics dogged the complicated Alien and Predator controls. I did not find them complicated at all and it didn't take much time at all to feel at home with them.

The critics also dogged the graphics in the game, especially the outdoor scenes. I actually found the outdoor scenery to be very cool and immersive, and did not ever notice any visual issues that detracted from enjoyment of the game in any way.

I loved this game, and found it very cool to play! Do yourself a favor though, and start out on easy or normal difficulty until you get the hang of the game play (for example, the melee, then shoot, to kill the Aliens) before you up the difficulty, otherwise it can be very frustrating!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you're and old AvP fan, It's a must play

posted by MuhNinja (VALLEJO, CA) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Like I said in the title, if you enjoyed the old AvP games, or are just a fan of both Alien or Predator movies, this game is a must play. All 3 campaigns play differently. Predator is more tactical approach with planning out quick and effetive strikes on groups, or taking them out one by one. The Alien is played similarly but with more speed and stickign to the shadows. The poor Marine is stuck just trying to get out alive. Aliens are horrifying when you're the human.

Multiplayer is alot of fun and I highly recommend Species Death match (3 Team DM), but it also includes a Predator style "juggernaut" mode and and interesteing "infestation" mode wher Marines respawn as Aliens until there are no more humans left on the map. There's also a Horde/WaW Zombies style game mode as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Very Unique Experience

posted by frostfr0g (LAFAYETTE, LA) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

First of all, if you play games only for the single player experience, you may want to avoid this one. I would love to say how great the campaigns are, but they just really aren't up to par with anything I've played in the last few years. Now, with that being said.... MULTIPLAYER!

If you've seen the commercials or any of the magazine ads, you've seen them tout the online experience. They've told you how it's different than anything before, how its a better kind of online battle... and it is. There is so much in the multiplayer thantis apart from anything else on the market right now, it really redeems all of the bad taste that the single player left me with. The incorporation of melee in a first person shooter typically leaves something to be desired.... I've never had more fun smacking people around! The balance amongst the 3 species is phenomenal, you can tell Rebelllion really put alot of work into making sure this online experience was one of the most unique around.

I'm not sure what to make of all these terrible reviews, as of right now the game has 64 on metacritic, and it's a crying shame. I suppose alot of people just didn't take the time to appreciate the intricacies of combat, or couldn't get used to alien/predator controls.

Do yourself a favor and give this game a rent. It may take you a little while to get used to ( The controls have somewhat of a curve, because this game is so much different than anything you've played before, it may take several online games to get a good feel for everything) but once you log on to your first ranked match, with a good sense of how the controls work, you're going to love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don't be fooled by the high scores.

posted by Cizack (DENVER, CO) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The overall review score is dead on, as I would give this game a D, or maybe a D+. Put simply, this game was designed to have epic looking screen shots, the shots look fantastic, but when you actually play the game, the glaring faults become present. The foliage in this game looks like a PS2 port, and while objects appear very vividly detailed from a distance, ten feet or closer reveals that this game just barely passes for next-gen.
As far as game play elements, the melee system is kinda stupid. Don't get me wrong, fighting six aliens as the Predator is fairly epic, but don't try and tell me that a HUMAN can effectively block an alien lunge attack and not get knocked down at the very least. It also seems the developer decided that ducking in a first person shooter is over rated, so don't expect to be able to take cover when bullets start to fly, and while the first six stealth kills as the alien or Predator are cool (even though they barley pass for stealth kills as they take TEN MINUTES to finish the animation), the mechanic gets old FAST, as there are only six different animations. And again, the developers also decided that the marines shouldn't be able to aim down the sights, cause leather necks always fire from the hip, especially on alien planets. The only aiming device you get is a dimly lit square reticule that is very easy to lose in the dark (and 90% of this game takes place in the dark). The first encounter with a facehugger will have you emptying an entire clip just to hit it twice.
The Predator campaign is the ONLY thing that made this game enjoyable. The human campaign is painfully short (about an hour) and the alien campaign isn't even a campaign, just a walk through of the same levels you just played as the marine, but some how manages to be even shorter (5 levels long).

Bottom line: If you love the Aliens Vs. Predator franchises, than you will derive some enjoyment from this title, but don't expect that enjoyment to last too long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Get to the Choppa!" Nah, you might want to stay.

posted by Linkin112 (BEACH PARK, IL) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Okay, when I got AVP, I didn't expect it to be a great game. First off, I traveled into the story mode of the game. I would rate them: Alien, Predator, Marine. I will start with my favorite, the Alien. I really enjoyed playing as these beasts and you actually get a feel of being on as you jumps around walls, sneak up on marines, and stealth kill them. You can hiss, use your tail and claws, or just pounce on them. Predators are a jack of all trades sort of class. They can melee with their claws, or use their Plasma Caster, Throwing Disc, or Stick. The iconic camo is also available in this game and unlimited unlike the previous AVP games. The first few levels of the Predator campaign are somewhat boring and annoying as you are forced to fight loads of Aliens with only your claws and caster, which leads to a few deaths (at least on Nightmare difficulty), but once you get some of the other weapons, you start to have fun with the Predator. last on the tray is the Marine story. You play as the silent "Rookie" after crash landing on a planet filled with research labs of Aliens. Compared to the other classes, this is juse a complete FPS. You get a pistol at first with umlimited ammo and flares. Aliens like to take punishment before going down(Once again, Nightmare difficulty) and you mostly have to aim for the head. You later get a rifle, sniper, shotgun, and the Smart Gun(A turret). Overall, the Marine campaign is very bland compared to playing as the Alien or Predator, but to get the full story experience, you should give it a try. Overall, the single player is fun and a great way to prepare for the....

Multiplayer of the game, which has the standard team deathmatch, singles deathmatch, infection, and territories. You can choose to be either of the three classes in most playlists and it all comes down to who you are good with online as each class is somewhat balanced.

To put it short, AVP is a great rent with a good story and decent multiplayer.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good but not perfect

posted by BobSteve (FRANKFORD, WV) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I think this game is pretty fun. But there are flaws like sometimes the AI in the campaigns was a little below par but nothing big, also the Predators weapons are a little overpowered online. The gameplay however makes up for these flaws easily; online gameplay is right up there with MW2 and Halo. I think it worth a play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brings AvP MOSTLY up to 2010 Standards for a FPS

posted by GURK73 (HARTLAND, MI) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

1st off, let me admit that I am a long time franchise fan, mostly of ALIENS; that move in particular. I have been waiting YEARS to have a really good game experience that captured the feeling of being a SPACE MARINE against hordes of ALIENS "XenoMorphs".
I feel largely this game satisfies that urge. As for the other species, this game captures the feel of being a PREDATOR and an ALIEN "Xenomorph" quite well as well. The three Species all play rather differently and that’s what is refreshing and interesting about this game.
The single player is pretty well done. The best campaign is the Marines followed by the Predator's and lastly the Xenos. They vary in length, with the Humans being the longest and the Xenos being the shortest.
It has a decent number of Multi-player options as well. I really like the Survival mode against the Xenos, the "BLOCK C" map in particular. Its like COD:WAW Zombies, but against the Xenomorphs!. Additionally the Predator Hunt (Juggernaut with one player as a Pred) and Species Deathmatchs are also a good deal of fun.
I think this game could end up having a decent sized online community of series fans. If they support it with some patches to tweak the game play and more maps especially for the SURVIVAL mode, it could be a pleasant break from the usual stable of FPS out there.
Is this going to pull die-hard MW2, BFBC2, MAG or Halo players away from those games, not likely, at least not for more than an evening or two. But longtime fans of the Aliens and Predator movies as well as people who enjoy a little Varity in their shooters will get a kick out of it.
I have a few suggestions to the developer to make this a better game. The Predators physical strikes just seem to weak. The Marines flamethrower also is to weak and you should be able to execute a quicker finishing moves as either a Predator or an Alien. Lastly the Marines flares are to short burning and does not give off enough light.

I GURK I on XBL, Gurk on PSN, ???? Wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good Game, Better Than People Give Credit

posted by Cyoung465 (COZAD, NE) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best I have played in a long time. It has amazing graphics and the cutscenes are awesome. The gameplay is also very engaging. I like how it has 3 campaigns. The marine campaign is scarier than any game I have ever played, which is a good thing. The other two are a lot of fun to play. The multiplayer, even though it takes a while to find a game sometimes, is VERY fun. That is why I give this game an 11/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

8/10

posted by XKendo (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I may have put 10/10 but it really should get a 8 but since most people on this site usually give games they don't like a 1 i'm going to try and help this one out.

The game is actually pretty good, the stories are some what enjoyable and the controls are kind of hard to get used to but after you get past that the rest of the game is solid. each species has their own pro's&con's
but play with each one enough and you'll adjust fine.

the multiplayer is really the best part of the game there are so many different game modes that are really addicting. You should definitely rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by GodGamer (HILLSDALE, NJ) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

11 out of 22 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To put it short, this is a unique FPS to the 360. If you are tired of the original FPS get this game. As a marine, you get suprised by aliens coming out from vents. I haven't gotten a chance to play the other two campaigns but the voice acting for marines is really good. Also this game has lots of different types of multiplayer like infestation and predator hunt. Also, there is a survivor mode. For those who liked zombie mode from WaW, you will not be dissapointed.

This game is a serious buy or rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I expected

posted by mrgabe (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

From my standpoint I could utilize one simple word to rate this game: frustrating. I found myself constantly getting upset and playing the same sequence over and over and over due to the impossibility of killing anything. The Colonial Marines are pretty cool and I love the sound effects of the pulse rifle, having been a fan of the Aliens franchise, but this game was not what I thought it would be. First off, the lighting is horrible! The flashlight feature is almost worthless and I can't fathom why it was designed this way. I turned up the brightness, but to no avail so I was constantly slaughtered because everything was dark, no matter the availability of ambient lights. Dead Space did a fantastic job with ambiance lighting and gave the game it's eeriness as well as fright affect, but AVP was just frustrating. Moving on to the other species...I practically had motion sickness with the Xenomorph and was totally frustrated by the jumping feature of the predator, which at first seemed awesome, but became more of a problem later on. The controls were adequate and moderately thought out. The graphics seemed nice in most cases, but overall the game did not have the feel I anticipated, which is why I only played it for two days. The storyline was nothing to write home about. Overall, I would not recommend purchasing this game. If you're board and have nothing better to play, then get it otherwise I believe it is worth skipping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is awesome online needs alittle work

posted by Nemsis0 (YONKERS, NY) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

People who have wrote some of these other reviews make me laugh with oh i played it once and sent it back so it sucks. This games single player is great online is good if you can get into a match kinda like gear of war 2 for the first month or so it came out i think with time this will be the new multiplayer online game people will play all the time its soo much fun if u give it a chance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

lack luster

posted by GRIMLOC (PINELLAS PARK, FL) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

as far as gaming has come you would think they could make a video game of the two best alien driven movie series ever that would blow us away. again we have been left wanting. clunky mechanics and half hearted graphics were a huge let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid and Fun

posted by Aeronius89 (NATCHITOCHES, LA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

AVP is an amazing game. It has solid game mechanics, graphics, and enough choices to keep you busy. The main thing that makes it shine is its Fun Factor. Especially over Xbox Live this game will keep you coming back for more. It is immensely fun and enjoyable with others. The single player campaigns are a little short, but very enjoyable and interesting. A must play with others and definite buy if your a AVP Fanboy... or girl.

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Alien vs. Predator

posted by dethomas20 (FORT DODGE, IA) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great graphics. Loved the survival horror in the human campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse