Rent Aliens: Colonial Marines for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Aliens: Colonial Marines

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.6

2678 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

A shadow of what could have been...

posted by Sigment (GARLAND, TX) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

44 out of 48 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

First off, let me start by saying that the reviews for this are a bit off. The 1's are exaggerating and the 8's though 10's are overly optimistic. I also reinforce the statement that having an attachment system does not make this game a "CoD clone". Now on to the game itself.

As everyone probably knows, this game tries to follow in the storyline of Aliens and Alien 3. It is a worthwhile endeavor, but a poorly executed one in terms of gameplay, both on- and offline. The campaign is short, and can be beaten start-to-finish in a day on regular difficulties. And although this isn't necessarily a bad thing, the campaign collectibles (including dog tags {from Marines of both the Sulaco and the new ship, the Sephora}, "legendary" weapons belonging to characters from Aliens, and audio logs with bits of backstory) can all be located using your motion tracker on your first run of the game.

When I played the co-op, I almost laughed. It reminded me of the Three Stooges with guns. Everyone shooting seemingly blindly at targets, often running into each other's lines of fire. For that reason I am glad friendly fire is non-existent in co-op. And when a doorway came up everyone piled together, attempting to all get through at the same time. Maybe I just got games full of idiots, but I doubt it.

The multiplayer occasionally possesses the same lack of camaraderie (cooperation). However, lone players running off are easily punished by Xeno players getting the jump on them. At the same time, being a Xeno is somewhat clunky as well. Climbing on walls can get disorienting, as well as irritating when your character tries to climb up and around corners. To add to the annoyance, the game lacks a host migration system, meaning if the hosting player (decided randomly) leaves, every other player is kicked out.

This game is much worse than it could have been. Aliens Vs. Predator was better than this, believe it or not. Possibly worth a rental, but don't waste your money buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

worth a rent

posted by toodank (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes this game is notorious right now. It is a big subject of debate as to how gearbox handled its development. Anyways, the finished product is nothing like what they showed us. The game is definitely not worth full retail price. The game is very short and has a lack luster multiplayer mode which consists of four different types. It has team deathmatch, which I would say is the best one, extermination, escape and survivor. I can't go into full detail of the modes as I don't know what they because they are forgettable. The alien feels weak in almost all but team deathmatch. The leveling system is linked between campaign and versus. You can upgrade your loadouts, marine's and alien's appearances. Even though the game isn't the best, I did have fun playing it. I played it through with my brother and we had a good time. A game doesn't have to be a big blockbuster to have fun, just grab a buddy and make a good time out of it. I give it a 5/10 anything else would be too generous. So if you have nothing to play, just give it a chance if you're bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Can't see what all the hate is about.

posted by linkisking (Saint Petersburg, FL) May 31, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying this game isn't Perfect. It's far, far from it. But the game does what it's supposed too; it provides you with an enjoyable, challenging experience(depending on difficulty setting of course). The campaign is short, and can be beaten within 5-10 hours. While that's not a good thing, it isn't bad, longer campaigns don't mean better ones. The fact that the collectibles can be found with the motion tracker makes it easier for less skilled players to find them, but still allows for those who want to look for them without aid to do so.

The Co-op is a lot of fun actually, A friend and I played it for about 15+ hours playing through the game twice. If you are playing it on a lower difficulty the game is a joke with co-op, easily ran through. but putting the game on Hardened, or ultimate Bad@ss, the game becomes an entirely different story. It becomes a challenge and makes the game way more scary and far more fun. Bad@ss difficulty also includes No HUD and Friendly fire turned on, so don't play it with idiots (The majority of random online players)

The actual online is enjoyable if a bit...lacking. The biggest issue is without DLC you only get about 4 maps, and There isn't a host migration process. So you'll get booted from games every once in a while.

While not winning any awards, Aliens is a very fun game. It's not the worst game I've ever played. The lawsuit against this game and gearbox is hilarious though, there is not point in it. No game is exactly like how it's advertised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as bad as you think it is.

posted by Myers85 (MOUNT EPHRAIM, NJ) Apr 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'm going to start by pointing out the bad angles of this video game. There bits of glitchy/buggy/total BS moments, the enemy AI is poor, and the campaign is short--with a sub-par ending I might add.

However, good aspects include the game flowing at a (mostly) solid 60 FPS, the visuals are pretty decent, and the game sounds, both SFX and BGM, give you nostalgic goosebumps of the original Aliens film.

Overall, if you're looking for a glorious FPS experience, look elsewhere. If you're a big fan of the films, you're in for a decent treat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad Experience

posted by yesokyesok (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

There was so much potential in this game but it fell short. The campaign plays like an on rail shooter. There is no deviation from the path you are suppose to take when mowing down the xenos in single player. It other words, generic. Also, the game makes no sense of the storyline already set by the Aliens movie. I have no idea how a script like the one presented in the game got approved. Did I mention this game has co-op. However, its a disaster in itself. Floating guns, closed doors, xenos exploding on impact from a pistol, etc. Multiplayer, the experience lacks. The third person view point on Xenos is interesting but doesn't make the game engaging. Overall, do yourself a favor and rent the game to make an opinion. However, don't purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why is this getting such a bad review? It's go

posted by beantown85 (BROCKTON, MA) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Jun 2009

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I actually like this game a lot and I'm not one of those people that give 8's and 9's out to every game that is half way decent. I can see why people have a little bit of a complaint about the graphics because they're not that great, in fact it's one of the game's weak points but I honestly like a lot of parts about the game. I like the call of duty leveling system where you rank up during your campaign and it allows you to unlock weapons and attachments for the weapons by using the points you get by unlocking challenges and so forth. I haven't gotten online to play the multiplayer yet or the co-op (if there is one) but that's not why I bought the game in the first place. I buy games because I play a large percentage of my games as single player campaign mode type games and that's what I rented this game for. I'm not sure I would spend $40-$60 buying the game, but it's certainly worth renting, especially if you were into the aliens movies.

I suggest that if you're up in the air about this game and it's between this and something else, give this game a chance and don't read into the reviews too much. I'm very very surprised at how this game got a 4.8 ranking considering some of the other games on here that get up in the 7-8 range and I don't consider those particular games to be that great. Anyhow, give it a chance and don't let the pre-conceived notions about this game get into your head and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but not great

posted by AZCutter77 (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Not sure what people were expecting with all the negative reviews. Yes, this game could have been amazing, they had plenty of time and resources to knock this out of the park. While that didn't happen, this is certainly not as bad as the reviews show.

The graphics are okay, better than Doom 3. The voice acting is good. The weapons have some okay upgrades, the "smart-guns" are awesome. The only real issue I had was with the mediocre AI of your teammates. They tend to get stuck in corners or in doorways until you get far enough away that they re-appear right next to you. Also, a cover system could have helped some of the battles when you're outnumbered and out gunned.

Bottom line: Worth Renting for a weekend of Alien shooter fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Biggest letdown of 2013

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Feb 18, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Wow, if there ever was a bigger disappointment in recent video game development, I haven't heard of it. Aliens CM is hot pile of rotting garbage, and it does no justice to how amazing the movie franchise is and still can be. The only one thing it got right was the unique sound of the pulse rifle that the early Alien movies pioneered.

It really isn't Gearbox's fault, as this game changed the hands of like 5 different studios. Each of those studios shares blame for this horrendous game, and I feel TERRIBLE for all the people who pre-ordered Aliens, only to be harshly taken to the cleaners for a cool $65.

Aliens is so buggy and glitchy in itself, that the horrible graphics, sound, story, campaign, gameplay, online play, and everything else just add to the pile of hot garbage that this game represents.

Graphics have been ported from what looks like original Xbox quality, comparable to Halo Combat Evolved. It's laggy and blurry, and texture distortion and smearing is just silly. Sound is terrible, sporting generic voice acting with a 1 song soundtrack on repeat. The story (part of why Aliens is so amazing) is non-existent, and that should be a cornerstone of anything Alien-related. Gameplay is so buggy and non responsive; guns sound muffled and all the same; no cover system or really any unique gamplay aspect whatsoever. Not fun.

To cap it all off, they couldn't even re-create the alien xenomorphs accurately. They are slow, dumb, and often can get glitched out on their own. They are hardly powerful and usually do nothing but run straight at you. This game was a BREEZE to plow through on the highest difficulty level, without breaking a sweat. Even the boss battles were a joke. Aliens should be focused on tight corridors, aliens popping from vents, and more of a Dead Space type feeling...not anything this was. I hate to say...but I wouldn't waste a minute playing this game, because you will only be let down.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poor Effort on a Great Franchise

posted by HavocAndMalice (LAKELAND, FL) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I really tried to like this game. I tried to sit through its single player and multiplayer many times. In the end it was like being spoon fed vomit.

Lets start with the graphics. In short, they are ugly. I've seen better visuals in games with a fraction of the budget. They are extremely muddy and under polished. This game makes AVP (2010) look like a game that pushed the systems limitations.

Now on to controls. The controls are clunky. You will notice soon after you start playing that your character gets hung on the environment on a regular basis. This is also true with the AI enemies.

The multiplayer leaves something to be desired. Although I did like the notification of XP awarded when you get a kill, unseen in AVP (2010). That was about it. It did try a nice approach however, in forcing all players to play both sides (Aliens and Marines) in a single match which consisted of two rounds. However, the implementation of a third person view for the aliens caused more problems than it solved. I would have rather dealt with being a little disoriented. Playing as the marine was nothing short of call of duty. Playing as the alien was frustrating. Most of the melee attacks afforded by the Xenomorphs is poorly executed. They stop moving to attack, even a tail whip/impale, they stand up from the crawling position, making yourself an easy target. Also, since being in the third person, makes judging distance in the heat of battle, difficult. Wall crawling is rewarding, but the frustration due to clunky controls and the random chance that sometimes the controls reverse while playing the xenos when you are crawling up the walls makes it just as rewarding to stay on the ground and run head on into gun fire watching your insides explode into in to green burning goodness.

The single player was boring, I actually fell asleep at one point with controller in hand. The story is a slap in the face to fans of the franchise. Did they actually think we had not seen the film?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Flat Out Lazy

posted by ratchetxr (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I came into this game with some reasonable expectations for this game. It is a movie franchise converted into a game and they never turn out that great but this one was just bad. graphics were way behind the times, the enemies were not very engaging, and the pace just seemed to move very slow.

The key to the Aliens franchise has always been the suspense and horror of the aliens coming out of the walls and shocking you. This game felt as if you were fighting dumb chimps instead of a dangerous killing machine and the aliens exploded when they were killed for no reason.

along with the poor gameplay the story was not very compelling either I never felt like I was being drawn into the game.

This game could have been much better if they tried to do something in the ilk of Dead Space. with scary monsters popping out and creating a sense of tension and fear throughout the game.

Take my advice pass on this game and get one that doesn't seem like it is solely relying on the brand name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Well Worth the Rent

posted by Bubster1123 (AKRON, OH) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I was a little leery on purchasing this game, so i decided to rent it on here. I had a lot of fun playing through the campaign, but the graphics and overall feel of the game, felt cheap to me. I had a few issues with the multi-player as far as glitches go. I wouldn't suggest buying this game at the price it's at now. But as far as a rental goes, its worth while. Mostly for the campaign though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

such a waste of a great chance to make it great

posted by biggnave23 (ROSSVILLE, GA) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a die hard aliens fan . I have been waiting for this game for the last 3 yrs. I saw all of the reviews at e3 and was getting more and more stoked the more that they released . Here's my question . Well I have a lot , but the main one is how can the reviewers be so wrong . I played the game and within the first level I could see that they didn't just drop the ball . They deflated it and put it in the shredder . The graphics are appalling . I cannot believe that they used unreal 3 engine and this is the outcome. Also how can you get the story so wrong when 21st century fox gave you access to all of the movie material. In short stay away from this game . It's a train wreak

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

could have been better!

posted by DestroyerWTf5v5 (ONTARIO, OR) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As alot of other players I'm a fan of the Aliens francise.

I gave this game a 3 since the weapons were fun to use, other then that the game could have been better.

Aliens are supposed to be stealthy hunters and be cunning, in this came they are dumb as bricks.

All in all bleh game for a great francise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

blah...

posted by mccracker (PEARLAND, TX) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The Aliens series has ALOT of potential to be one of the greatest horror surviver games out there. I've read quite a few of the comics and books (Colonial Marines being one line in the series). Most of them are very suspenseful and give you a feel for just how creepy that scenario really would be. The game, not so much. They geared it heavily towards the shooter realm and gave it nothing of a suspenseful or creepy vibe. Most of the game you were actually fighting humans. I love a good coop game and the idea was good but the execution was lackluster. Aside from the shotty storyline and gameplay the graphics are lacking and cartoony. If they redid this game it should be done as a 2-4 player coop survivor based scenerio. Scrap the old movie throwbacks and go with something original and true to the horror genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Would have been good 12 years ago

posted by Warden72 (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game will massively disappoint fans of Aliens, especially if you've played the original AvP or AvP2, or even Alien Trilogy on PS1. Aliens: CM should have remained cancelled in 2002, as it looks and plays like it was exhumed from its unfinished state 11 years later and unleashed with few improvements onto the general public in 2013. It nails the atmosphere and attention to detail of the film (except for the part where you explore the LV-426 outpost as if the nuclear explosion never happened) but that's all it has going for it. The FPS action is average as average gets, it's hideous to look at, the levels are incomplete with holes and floating fixtures, the voice acting can be hilariously bad at times, and animations can turn unintentionally grotesque and jerky. I just cannot recommend this game, even to open-minded Aliens fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is terrible

posted by Linoleum (WHITTIER, CA) May 24, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I know there have been a lot of harsh reviews on this game already. As an avid Aliens fan and a gamer who is pretty forgiving when it comes to bugs and glitches in games, I was hoping I would find the good in this game. Well, there is no good. It is terrible. Don't even bother renting it. I enjoyed playing for about 10 minutes. The graphics are poor, the gameplay is poor, the story is terrible. It's just a travesty considering what it could have been.

You are much better off renting Aliens vs. Predator for Xbox360. I actually own that game and it's no gem, but it is light years better than this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a fun game.

posted by PSYCHKOTIC Feb 13, 2013

21 out of 36 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This is a very fun game I've been playing it on the hardest difficulty and I don't understand why all the upset customers. First off if you've never seen the films or don't like them then don't buy the game. But I do like the films and find it to be fun. Not game of the year but just a fun game. Th game is in no way a COD clone. Just because the guns have attachments doesn't make it a COD clone. COD did not event attachments. I don't remember COD having a flame thrower on a plasma rifle. The guns sound just the same from the movies any true fan knows that. This game has some faults such as a buggy multiplayer but these will be fixed. The story on the hardest difficulty is the true way to play the game. Try it out unless you don't like the movies then don't bother. I enjoy this game it may not be completely polished but it's a good game that's why I give it a 7. A good game not anything groundbreaking but something enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG They should be sued

posted by Lestat_Phoenix (CORNELIUS, NC) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Randy Pitchdick should be sued by Sega and everyone else for stating absolutely false information about this game.....Everything was a lie down to the very Essence of the core mechanics. F U you gearbox......U lie to me, me and all my homies boycott the rest of your so called games..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as great as promised

posted by THEPFAT (KEY LARGO, FL) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2008

16 out of 30 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

With the time in development the original cast members that returned and the hand in hand deal with 20th century fox this game should have been EPIC....alas yet another bad installment for the cursed Alien franchise. This game honestly is comparable to Duke Nukem Forever. I am a HUGE Alien nerd and wanted to believe this was better than the reviews were saying. In the first (yes, the FIRST) opening scene the framerate was causing skipping and jitters...the Characters were losing detail and showing pixelation and were talking like a B-Rate godzilla movie. When I was looking at the table where Bishop did his amazing knife trick I noticed the clutter on the floor was floating about two inches above ground and the shadows reflected this "height". The Scenes are very well put together as far as environment. However when you look closely at a gauge on the wall it lack any detail. The Aliens look cool and the glowing acid blood as you riddle them with bullets is sweet but the Aliens lack ANY "intelligence" (IE. "They killed the lights...") They simply run at you full bore screaming in droves and droves....and when I say "run" I am being generous. They kinda run/float and bump into things. Sometimes they even just stop and stare at you. When they get close to you, you can punch them and stumble them. Seriously...PUNCH an Alien.... The AI for the Marines is clunky as well. They kind of stumble around and get attacked. Gearbox outsourced some development with a company called Timebox studios who has a lackluster past. "The first two Alien films are steeped in mystery and anxiety, qualities all but absent in developer Gearbox's lackluster interpretation. Instead, Aliens: Colonial Marines is a shallow bit of science-fiction fluff with cheap production values and an indifferent attitude. It's forgettable enough to deem unnecessary, which is a grievous sin for a game in a universe brimming with so much potential"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

INFANTILE. OUTDATED. NEUROTIC. REALLY BAD.

posted by PadreGamer (KIRKLAND, WA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Like with anything else, the higher your expectations, the higher your disappointment. However, in this case you'll be disappointed no matter what your expectations were.

Horrible resolution, horrible lettering in every single message or caption, horrible game play.

I play games to have fun, not to get neurotic pressing a button a hundred times like a manic idiot to fight somebody off... or to go through the same sequence a hundred times until I get it the way the programmers wanted me to get it.

More over, I don't know how bad I am or how good you are, and I know the pride of every one of you will never allow the truth to come out, but I have been stuck in this particular sequence for two days already and I can't get past it.

That's too old, outdated, infantile, and plain stupid. Perhaps the people who came up with this garbage should have taken a look at "Fallout 3" and "Fallout: New Vegas", among other games, to learn a thing or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

You have to wonder who to blame, on this one.

posted by FeraIMuse (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

You know it's sad when one of the first news-articles that came out shortly after the release of Aliens: Colonial Marines was essentially a "whose fault was it" between Time Gate and Gearbox studios. Unfortunately for me, I was reading the article after already having gotten my copy from Gamefly... (or perhaps fortunately, as I rented it, and hadn't purchased it.) Keep in mind, my opinion of this game is centered upon the single-player experience, as I haven't done the multiplayer. Why? Because I, like some other (and decreasing in number by the hour) players believe that a game should be able to stand on both its single-player experience, as well as its multiplayer. And... the single-player was atrocious. There were multiple instances of clipping-glitches, particularly of being attacked by some strange Siamese-twin Alien that had two drones clipping in one another and attacking me, simultaneously... I lost count of the number of times this happened. On another instance, I witnessed a Marine giving medical-attention to the air... the combatant he was assisting was in the opposite direction, behind him. On many occasions, I noticed that my squad-mates seemed to do a quarter of the damage that I did to enemies, as well as having infinite ammo, and continually firing at a wall, while the enemy stayed behind it. Enemies would often rush past my squad-mates (I suppose they realized just as I did that my team-members were little threat) to come directly at me, instead, even going so far as to run through fields of fire. To be perfectly honest, the Aliens-mod for Doom had more atmosphere than this did, which is sort of sad, considering both games (well, mod and game, respectively) used sound-effects from the movie. This was one of the few times I didn't even finish the game, and am sending it back to Gamefly tomorrow morning. Another instance where Gamefly saved me sixty dollars, and a thoroughly disappointing experience, overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Well....

posted by chras (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Just dont ask, dont play. Simply the worst game Ive played in a very, very long time. No polish, no atmosphere. Just a laughable game.... all aspects. sigh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW WHAT A TRASH GAME. RENT AT YOUR OWN RISK

posted by SZ_718_MOB (RIDGEWOOD, NY) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Anyone who rated this game above a 5 is either blind or on drugs!!! The frame rate is trash the gameplay is trash and the graphics are trash. I'm not even going to waste anymore time writing about this sh!tty game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FALSELY ADVERTISED

posted by Saigon187 (STRASBURG, VA) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

when i seen the advertisements for this game i thought they finally did it.and the fans finally got an Aliens game that can hold up to there movie counterparts and boy was i very disappointed and now i know why no demo was released..from the horrible graphics to the worst story this game isn't worth the time to rent and is by far the worst game this console generation

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Honestly It's Bad

posted by chautzu (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Lets be serious this game is really bad for even a mindless shooter and it should not have been a mindless shooter in the first place. This would have been a passable game when the 360 launched but by even 2010 standards it suffers in every respect. Developer should be ashamed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse