Rent Aliens: Colonial Marines for PS3
view large frontback

Aliens: Colonial Marines

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.7

1279 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Fan Service

posted by Chi_Rac (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of the Aliens universe you will probably find this game OK. It does provide plenty of fan service with things you see, things that are talked about and sound effects (e.g. pulse rifle and motion tracker). However, even as a big fan I found the campaign rather tedious. [NO SPOILER] I also couldn't believe how they completely blew off the explanation of how one of the characters from the movies could possibly be in this game.

Co-op and multi-player are good additions and will add some value for some people.

• Yes, it is true that the graphics look like the beginning of this generation, but they are OK.
• No, it is not true that there is an abrupt ending right after a boss battle. Almost, but there is another scene after the battle.
• You will definitely want to play at the higher difficulty levels (BA or Ultimate BA) as the lower levels are much too easy.

I will admit that I enjoyed the Alien vs. Predator game a bit more. Although that game is not great either, it offers three campaigns (marine, predator and alien).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

aliens:colonial marines, more like colonial morons

posted by reaper215x (OCKLAWAHA, FL) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

after playing both the campaign and multiplayer i have finally figured out why such a newly released game is only 39.99 pre-owned. it is because you are really only paying for the multiplayer half of the game. the campaign was a total rehash of the original right down to lifter boxing a xenomorph. i especially HATED the mission where you sneak by the boilers, the creator of that level should be shot, stabbed, and castrated! all in all the multiplayer was good. although there are only 5 total maps for TDM and extermination all the maps can be played by both sides of the field. either as a xenomorph or marine the gameplay is excellent sneaking along walls is good for lurkers but spitters glowing heads give them away so use them at long range. as for the soldier he is better as a hit and run fighter as in SMACK! SMACK! run back into a vent. i am glad for the various appearance customization's although the marine weapons and xenomorph skills could have had MUCH more to them. all of that being said i will rate this game a 3/10 and all three of those points are towards the multiplayer DO NOT and i repeat this in true aliens fashion if you play the campaign it will be a "WELL THAT'S IT THAT IS IT GAME OVER MAN GAME OVER WE ARE SCREWED!" moment. so to those of you considering this i say OORAH TO ASHES MARINES!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is this an Arcade Game?

posted by DresdenKurosaki (BEND, OR) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow, this game is hard... at least to survive for long periods of time without respawning. Not to downplay difficult shooters, but the game might be a touch too realistic in its damage output toward our hero. As an avid Alien/Aliens fan I can look past the outdated graphics, bad voice acting, short story, and other poorly developed aspects of the game... but if the game play isn't at least somewhat decent, you lose the whole feeling of being immersed in the world the designers are trying to create.

Generally, (at full health and armor) you can take about 6 "hits" from weak guns/attacks before you die (at least on Soldier/Medium difficulty). Sure getting hit in the face from a bullet would kill anyone, or hit by a grenade blast (even splash damage at the edge of the explosion), but in "reality" you also don't take on hundreds of hungry aliens and evil mercenaries with a pair of idiot partners giving away your every move with epic amounts of gun fire. Your best option for most of the game is to sit in a corner with a bit of cover and wait for things to charge you... check your motion detector... rinse and repeat. Essentially, the game's basic premise is camping.

More often then not you will die several times a check point unless you have precognitions about whats coming. I can't count the number of times I was snuck up on from behind an one shoted (by an NPC) or caught the errant flying grenade that sent me back to checkpoint '231' to try again. After 4 restarts, you start to lose any motivation to keep your character moving forward, and instead work hard toward getting through the encounter with the most amount of armor and health... since you may not see anther health pack for some time.

Some basic aiming, enemy reaction to gunfire, and tactics might put this game back on the good side of the spectrum... but without them it plays as beyond frustrating and stays firmly in the realm of overblown fanfare... with a sound premise, but no real delivery.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meant for hardcore fans really..

posted by Anubis833 (OWENSBORO, KY) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I read all the bad reviews, but I still rented it. I love the aliens universe and like the avp universe so I was able to ignore some of the bad things about this game.

As for the bad, yea the graphics could have been better, but I don't necessarily play a game for the graphics. Your teammate AI isn't 100% worthless, but at some points they just stand around while you shoot and then teleport to where you go. The enemy AI isn't much better. I think they could have done so much more I think I would have preferred a resident evil/dead space type of game where the aliens sneak around way much more. The story didn't really get into anything and a certain character's existance is obviously ignored due to lack of explaination, like they just didn't feel like coming up with an excuse. Way too much human on human fighting, would have preferred a lot more aliens.

The good parts, it was an alien game. I love aliens, even the bad games and movies. The sounds of the pulse rifle and motion tracker were right on and they did a good job with the look of LV-426 and the complex, although the graphics could have been better. I like the minute incorporations of Prometheus. I liked the new aliens and I am glad they did it, just a bunch of soldier aliens would have gotten boring. I didn't find the game too boring, but again I am a hardcore fan. In my opinion the best level was the sewer level. Its not worth buying until cheap, but if you are a fan and can make it through the game, its worth renting for the sewer level.

Again I would be a hardcore fan that can play the game because it is an alien game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful game

posted by tyrol (WEST FARGO, ND) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I did not want to believe the reviews.
But the sad truth is that it's an old game, designed circa 2000, in production for years with multiple studios involved.

The result is a mediocre corridor shooter with no clear vision, poor script, AWFUL acting ( someone says "hooah" every 2 minutes) and subpar graphics.

I am only giving it 2/10 rather than 1/10 because they nailed the sound of the pulse rifle from the Aliens movie.

Do NOT buy. Do NOT even rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by TehPWNZOR (VERNON, VT) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Definetly not the best sci fi shooter i have seen. it definitly did not deserve the 4.5 that it got on most sites. i believe they could have done alot better and polished it alot more. the story is non existent so dont come for the story. Overall i would not recommend this to anyone other then hardcore alien fans. If you are looking for a great sci fi shooter then i recommend dead space over this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wait till its 6 bucks

posted by brokenfemur66 Feb 14, 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm blown away at how bad this game is from graphics to sound and game play, its just really bad! I have waited a long time for this game and being a huge fan of the movies I was very excited for its release and wow what a disappointment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Big Let down

posted by LUCKY343 (GRANITEVILLE, SC) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented this game form red box and I was disappointed graphics ok my biggest beef with this games is the AIs and the characters have no emotions and your squad leaves your alone wats the purpose of being in a group

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worse. Game. Ever.

posted by Centauri (MCKINNEY, TX) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Horrible graphics. Awkward game mechanics. Laughable story line. Idiotic AI. Attempts at horror turn into unintentional hilarity one too many times.

Don't walk, RUN away from this turkey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stay Away

posted by MSDSS69 (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. I have been waiting for this game since it was originally announced I think back in 2007. After the long wait all I can say is that it feels like Duke Nukem with a pulse rifle.

- The weapons feel underwhelming which is disapointing since you get to use a freakin pulse rifle and other iconic weapons like Hudson's shotgun.
- The leveling system is awful. When I first heard of it I was excited to see a tiny bit of RPG in the game, but it turns out to be a poorly thought out, poorly laid out tacked on attachment system for your weapons. I ended up having a bunch of points sitting around because there wasn't anything to use them on that I even cared about. Maybe if the guns themselves weren't god awful then maybe the upgrades for them wouldn't have felt so worthless.
- The animations for the Xenomorphs and other NPCs looked unfinished. They would appear to ice skate around the room and look like they were skipping animation frames. Sometimes the death animations were so bad the xeno's just looked like they turned into a piece of cardboard as soon as they died.
- Xeno's frequently just disappear when you shoot them.
- Ally AI will warp all over the place. You'll be following them and turn to hear a noise and they will warp to where you turned then warp back when you turn back around.
- Ally AI will often just path directly through obstacles while in this broken run animation
- Ally AI will also jump and maneuver over obstacles and cover that you can't pass through. You'll be following some marines that do this cool leap through a window, but you have to go around and look for the door way. It's just stupid.
- The game just looks old and the textures are terrible. They make a point at the beginning to walk you by the lockers from the Marines in Aliens, but you can barely read the name plates on the lockers because the textures are so bad.

I haven't touched cooperative or DM yet. I'm going to send it back to Gamefly before it makes sic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

If SyFy made a game for the Ps2.

posted by BoloneyPony (NORTH LIBERTY, IA) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you have really low expectations and hate your ps3 console, then by all means play Colonial Marines. This game is absolute garbage. The only reason it got a 2 from me is because of the small details that make it feel like the Alien universe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cash grab! Stay away!

posted by tyrial (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its complete garbage.
The graphics are dated and I got a serious case of motion sickness. The FOV was very very bad!
Its very sad.

end result

pro: ALIENS!!!
con:dated and FOV is bad. (come on! its 2013!!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Crashed PS3 and other bugs and I dont mean Aliens.

posted by JohnnyDark (SANTA FE SPRINGS, CA) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to go into all the other issues, another reviewer here did that well already, but I was shocked when just starting into the game it froze then crashed my system! Then after restarting the game my character got trapped easily behind a closing hatch (when you leave the Sulaco to return to the airlock tube try not going thru the hatch and let it close) and the game had no way of me being able to get out of the trapped room nor did it recognize that this had happend! If you are a hard core Aliens (2) fan then rent or buy it when its cheap (which won't be too long) as the only pluses are it is true to the movies locations and has the voices of Lance Heinricksen and Michael Biehn. Otherwise take the nearest escape pod and avoid this game (if only it had working escape pods).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was ok, but nothing remarkable

posted by Kristine (LEWISVILLE, TX) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game started out well, but we ended up returning it unfinished because we got bored with the game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible....would have been a bad launch title

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 26, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
Usually I put a good and bad section in my review....not this time as there is nothing good about this game.

This would have been a joke for a PS3 launch title, but is unforgivable this late in the console cycle. The graphics are PS2 quality at best. The sound is awful. The dialogue is awful. The controls are 2nd rate. The AI is pathetic. There is nothing good about this game and should be criminal to sell it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Exactly what it was meant to be

posted by cah117 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

Are the graphics great? No. Is the story-line as great as the film? No. Are there buggy glitches in animation from time to time? Yeah. But I've never experienced anything that was a game halting glitch. If anything, when a xenomorph stands perfectly still, I take the opportunity to blast him in the head without getting harmed. Even on recruit difficulty, there's enough trying to kill you to make things hairy.

If you wanted something as polished as Halo 4 or something on par with the entire Uncharted series, this isn't it. BUT if you want a shooter that allows you to blast xenomorphs (and a few humans) in the face, with some nods and easter eggs to one of the best sci-fi movies ever made, the game does it's job.

Just because it took 6-7 years for the game to finally be released, does not mean it will be the best game ever made. And even as a huge Aliens franchise fan, you can't let yourself be let down because it isn't the perfect picture of what you wanted it to be. It is what it is, a run for your life, blast everything in between you and safety bug hunt. Stick with that mentality and you'll have a good time playing.

As far as other's comments about the leveling system, just be happy that you can upgrade anything at all, unlike previous Aliens and AvP games. For those that say there are no moments of horror, try sneaking around 5 sightless exploders without a weapon in pitch blackness, or running from the Raven with only your welder in hand. It's tense at times, and a shootout at others. The challenge system adds another layer of "completionism" to the campaign and versus matches.

Just like Resident Evil 6, a game can't always be what you wanted it to be, it's what the developers wanted. It may be different than what you expected, but don't let that or what other's think cloud your judgement. Sure it could have been better, so could every game. Just enjoy Aliens: Colonial Marines for what it is, and not for what it isn't, and then send it back.

Cheer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pure C--R--A--P!

posted by kraken83 (COLLINSVILLE, IL) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The graphics date back to the PS2 era, and no joke it's move to the next room shoot some aliens move to another room shoot some aliens over and over and over again,The alien AI sucks and your partners AI sucks, Therefore this game sucks!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Can you not learn anything from Dead Space?

posted by rynoceri (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Horrible AI. 8 year old graphics. Not scary. Weak Physics. Made by SEGA! Enough Said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ignore all other user reviews for fanboy-ism

posted by Saint0war (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Gearbox once again has thrown the potential of a good game away as with everything before. Not only are the graphics if you're playing on console insultingly bad, the AI is more stupid than a headless cockroach, and story borderline boring. They even throw a Call of duty element into the game with Human Vs Human shooter scenarios for almost the entire atrocity that is Aliens: Colonial Marines(10 missions and a boss fight 3 alien focused, 3 human focused, 3 mixed, one tutorial) The multiplayer may be the only thing good with this game but it still is just NOT WORTH IT. If you are as much of a fan of the aliens series as I am, be warned; This game is a HUGE slap to the face, anyone that says the game entirely is 'good' is just one of the many fan boys gearbox has slowly built up over time that simply can not tell good from bad quality. I wanted this game to be good.. I really did... All we can hope is eventually another company other then gearbox comes along and redeems the Aliens franchise from it's terrible fate. Until that day though, I can only recommend to avoid any gearbox game entirely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NO Xeno Single Player but fun

posted by HeyOhhhh (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great, story is good, bloody, vulgar, and good missions with marine. Cons: your help is pretty weak in single player, shooting takes time to get used to, spider aliens almost impossible to see (32" flat screen), and of course you can't play Alien unless you play on network or have friend. I play video games because I deal with people all day and don't want to when I get home. Otherwise, recommend renting this game other aliens are cool looking and the surroundings in the game are spectacular. But without single player alien mode I only rented it. Weapons are spot on from movie too, well made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sorry but just seems like junk!!

posted by greg01 (MADISONVILLE, TN) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I tryed to play this, and it totaly could not keep my interest the graphics are not good it just dosent feel like even a good waste of time, and others have rated it also feeling the same. just thought i would give my two cents,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Six years in process and this.....

posted by alc322 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game feels and looks like they took a week to place together. Same routine over and over. Shoot soldiers, shoot aliens hit buttons and open doors. Now repeat. What a major disappointment!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another Duke Nukem failure with COD elements.

posted by Dusk278 (SAINT MARYS, GA) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was going to give a detail review of why I know this game is thrash and why should be put in a $10 bin or in a "buy one get one free" deal one week after its release, but someone already beat me to it. At first I thought it was going to great game since it was made by Gearbox, but sadly I was wrong the only reason why give this a 4 instead of a 2 is because I'm a great fan of both Aliens and Gearbox. The only good thing I got out of this game was getting the 3 golden keys for Borderlands 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Haters gonna hate

posted by drjoegonzo420 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game by any means is not a mile stone but it offers a nostalgic
look back into the alien series. the game play isnt bad but isnt ground breaking ether. pretty much what happened in the case of RE ORC because what really saved both games was the online
co op. and for u trophy hunters i truly recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall a 6/10

posted by Akayuki (MARTINSVILLE, IN) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game is extremely hard to play on higher difficulties, which is a fun challenge and even more fun with friends in coop. The graphics are soso about like the first ps3 games, and the story is decent not bad, not good, but is fun nontheless. Multiplayer is really fun with the aliens vs marines modes. Aliens are a bit underpowered but this makes one play cooperatively to take down one marine at a time. There was a update on day two that fixed most of the glitches in the game. All in all the game is fun but dated and either should have come out earlier or with a lower price tag around 30-40$. Dont let all the 1-2 star reveiws deturn you from this game, it is really enjoyable. Just rent or wait till price decreases to around 30$.
Also don't compare this to cod, this game actualy has some story to it unlike newer cods. Being a FPS dos not make it a call of duty game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse