Rent Alice in Wonderland for Wii
view large frontback

Alice in Wonderland

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.8

690 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by lilj0507 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's alot of room in this game to do what you want, use whatever characters you want, although some characters are better in certain situatioins than others. The only thing about this game that i had an issue with, is there isnt alot of guidance sometimes, as far as what to do next. So you have to pay attention to the caption at the bottom of the screen. You mess up enough times and it'll tell you what your next step should be.
There's plenty of fighting, seek and find, and puzzle solving which is great!
I beat the game after 16 hours of game play.
I wish there were games more like it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alice in Wonderland

posted by MaeveLola (JOINT BASE LEWIS MCCHORD, WA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

PROS:
-break everything in sight
-game play is like Kingdom of Hearts
-easy controls
-easy enough to figure out w/out any walk through
-you get to be several different characters
-some interesting/fun ways to accomplish tasks
-not the typical game
-graphics are decent enough
-a lot like being in the movie

CONS:
-enemies are too easy to defeat (yes I know it's a kids game)
-tedious game play toward the end
-not enough boards/levels to clear
-the door thing can get annoying fast
-this one did a fizz & small pop at the end (in my opinion)
-too short (can complete in about 2 days)
-not as free roaming as it could be (story/path is strict & confining)

SUGGESTIONS:
-need multiple difficulty levels
-need LESS doors
-need alternate ending
-needs to go a little past the movie's storyline & continue game play

FINAL THOUGHT:
I doubt I'll play this game again. It isn't one I could put in my collection & pull out to play on a rainy day. Alice in Wonderland is very kid friendly. The violence is mild at best & not at all graphic. Overall I enjoyed playing this because I enjoyed watching the new movie. 4 of 10 stars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Having a blast playing this game

posted by 1snapdragon (BOISE, ID) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am having so much fun playing this game I don't want it to end.
It is easy enough to keep going with little frustration and challenging enough to keep it exciting. it is a shame this game gets such a low rating, in my opinion it is definitely worth renting and I bought it with no regrets. This game is a blast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is so cool

posted by jedilogan47 (ONTARIO, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

omg this game was so cool i would so rent this game again i would even buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alice and Friends in BurtonLand

posted by TwilightK (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I've only played about 2 hours, but have enjoyed nearly every minute so far. The Controls are simple, tight, responsive, and intuitive. The Camera follows well and is easily controlled (invert axis available in options as it should be on all games!). The look of the game mirrors the film, or what I've seen of it from the trailers at least.

Changing Charaters on the fly is fun, as are the few abilities I've unlocked for them. I've only been able to use The White Rabbit, The Door Mouse and the Hare so far, all are fun. The best are yet to come as the Cheshire Cat and of course the Mad Hatter.

Basically you protect Alice from danger, which was a smart idea, as playing as her couldn't be much fun. You can, however call her over and she helps lead the way at times and makes Alice comments such as "What a Curious Mushroom!". :)

For a game based on a Movie based on a very Good Book from the 1800s with Tim Burton's touch (I do love Burtons films and style), I think they did a really good job on this one. Co-op is a nice touch too!

The Visuals are pretty good for the Wii as well! I'd say if your a Burton or a Wonderland fan at least rent it, if not purchase it! 28-39 bucks isn't much for a fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHAT???!!!

posted by rainydayz (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I cant believe a person would write a bad review about this. the camera is NOT hard to control i guess that person is just stupid and didnt read HOW TO CONTROL IT. the switching through the characters is fun and the way they have it is making it more challenging for you. the panning through the characters is a stupid idea, it takes up more time. the characters are ALL amazing and NONE of them should be taken out. its a fun puzzle game that is taken way too seriously with other RPG games they have out now. this is a conpletely different game its not going to have the same controls as COD games have so people need to stop comparing it to those short of games. And also stop complaining about how long the game is, because trust me if it was short you would be complaining about how its too short. PLEASE go give a bad review for a game that deserves it. this game is at least a 6-10 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Fun

posted by calmms (EAST SANDWICH, MA) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I got the game and played it for about an hour but some parts are confusing and hard.I would recomend it for kids 8 and up because I don't think kids under 7 would understand,plus the game is for kids 10+.Its fun for the family but I think more fun by your self. I anjoyed this game and hope you enjoy it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Alice In Wonderland

posted by GAcree (CRESTLINE, CA) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I wish I could say that this game was semi interesting, but I can't. I think it was just as bad, if not worse, than the movie. The game is so simple that my child (she is not very good at handling Wii games) was able to beat the game like nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Been down this rabbit hole too many times

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The only thing that has me curious about the game version of Alice in Wonderland is why the keep making the same mistakes here as in other movie based title games.
What sort of mistakes are we looking for? First off, the camera - it is hard to control, which makes combat between our heroes and the cards very difficult. I would’ve like to see some sort of manual lock on for this game; this would really help with some of the special abilities of the characters.
Then, there’s the switching characters part. There are up to six characters for you to cycle through, and in some spots, you have to find the right character very quickly.
It would have been better if two characters were tossed out (the mouse fighter and Cheshire Cat I vote for), and assigning the other four characters to one of the four spots on the control pad. One tap of the thumb and you get the right character on screen - rather than having to tap the C Button several times.
Then, there’s the levels - that go on and on and on. I know people find it fun to smash things and open chests, but the joy didn’t last long for me - I go the same thing almost every time, some currency to spend on special abilities.
But not all is bad in Wonderland; I really liked some of the puzzles presented here, most notably the ones that highlight the Mad Hatter’s perspective power.
And the voice acting is very good - but some lines are repeated far too often.
As for the story presented here, it doesn’t do the movie any justice; there’s really no heart or soul on display here. It’s like they made the game just to make a buck off the movie’s buzz.
Die hard fans of the movie will probably buy the game, but let’s make something clear: If you see the Alice in Wonderland, the movie, you DO NOT have to buy or play Alice in Wonderland, the game. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Alice in Wonderland: Bad Graphics...

posted by mckale2810 (TUCSON, AZ) May 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My kids really did not like this game so much, the graphics were really bad..
The game was quite confusing for my 10 year old daughter.
I would not recommend this game to anyone....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not enjoyable one bit

posted by danceangel (KINGSTON, NY) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game made me and my sister want to throw the game out the window! I hate this game! We beat it though :)! I don't recommend this game.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no

posted by ryanj85 (CEDAR CITY, UT) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

didnt explain what to do was stuck in the same place for two hours trying to figure it out waSNT WORTH MY TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Snore

posted by NinjaGato (RAINIER, WA) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The game has more cut scenes than actual game play. Yawn. I was hoping for more of an "inspired by" licensed title than actual rip off of the movie. Also the controls stink.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Darn Good

posted by megoostendorf (JOLIET, IL) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Only one complaint I have: why can I not play as Alice? You play as all good characters except Alice. It is an easy game though. I finished it in 2 days. Worth it though. Stays true to the Tim Burton movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprising fun!

posted by quix (SILVER SPRING, MD) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

I got this game, like most I'm sure, expecting a silly game wrapped around the movie plot. And in honesty, I got a silly game wrapped around a movie plot. But what I didn't expect was that it would be wrapped so well, or that it would be so engaging & fun! Playing all of the supporting characters surrounding Alice while she tagged along was brilliance and each one had unique and believable skills and abilities.

I found myself switching between all of them to take advantage of their unique skills frequently just for the sheer pleasure of it. McTwisp was the best well rounded character, Mallymkun was a fantastic fighter, the March Hare had a decent long distance weapon of dishes, the Mad Hatter had a good reach, and crushing opponents from a distance with her perspective power was incredibly satisfying ("I squisha your face!" - KITH), and of course Chess' ability to turn invisible was contantly useful.

The other characters were well woven into the story and the voice acting acting was extremely well done.

The only thing I found frustrating was how the shop, skills, and skill-purchasing was handled. I encountered shops to purchase skills well before I could obtain them. And I obtained an obscene number of impossible ideas, well more than was necessary to buy the skills.

But I really enjoyed how they worked in applying each of the characters unique skills into the gameplay and really having them "work together" to overcome obstacles.

Tons of fun :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is a pretty ok game

posted by GamerJey (LAKELAND, FL) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Its hard to play this game sometimes. It doesn't tell you what to do until you aren't doing what your supposed to do then it tells you on a message screen at the bottom that is back-colored in a see thru grey with white writing while you are running around. Its quite difficult to see sometimes and you only get 4 hits then you die. The dying is not a problem because you come back rather quickly. The graphics are pretty good, trippy just like the movie but the play is a bit difficult. You play (so far at least) as everyone but Alice. they are all wrapped up and you only play one at a time and have to switch characters quite frequently to accomplish a task. But you get extra points when you use more than 1 character in a battle. You go through the game collecting impossible thoughts instead of coins. I give it a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wonderland makes ya wonder

posted by JMarcus (KEYPORT, NJ) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Makes you wonder how they created this game. It is good for what it is, its a little confusing on multiplayer.

Game is really good, yet somewhat difficult, which i like a challenge. The game is very trippy and if you are epileptic it can maybe give you an epileptic fit because of all the quick moving around you do in the game. Walking on the ceiling at times is confusing and a pain, but it makes the interesting. the game does give some odd objectives from the tweedle's.

Also on multiplayer, if player 1 runs faster than player 2, player 2 beems into the location where player 1 is, its a little annoying so try to stay together and don't go to far.

You may need to youtube some parts of the game to find some things. it took me about 6 days at about 2.5 hours a day to beat it.

Good Game have fun trying to defeat some of the villains.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very fun but not difficult

posted by lmdeford (TRINITY, TX) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

i found this game to be very fun to play, but it actually got easier as the game went on. the final level is the easiest level of the whole game, and it left me saying "really? that's the end?" but the character's different abilities kept the game interesting because i love critical thinking games (figuring out which character to use to complete each task). i won't be buying it though because i have already won the game. i would definitely recommend renting it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Fun Game

posted by adam387 (MANSFIELD, OH) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

The game is really fun, even though the combat can be a little (under) overwhelming at times. The puzzles are not extremely challenging, but they do offer some interesting ways to use the environment. The Mad Hatter's ability is EXTREMELY innovative and makes for some awesome puzzles. Chess' ability, though, is hit or miss as the Wii-remote doesn't like to point and shake at the same time.

Overall, the game was a lot of fun, and definitely much better than your average movie based fare. I recommend this game heartily!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun game & use of remote

posted by missyb (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Alice in Wonderland was a very fun game with a lot to do. This game is perfect for the wii because of the use of the wii remotes. You have to use every function of the remotes and makes the game a lot more fun than just using one button all of the time. There is a lot to find and you can definitely keep playing after the end of the game to find more. Very fun game and entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

About game

posted by Lissy953 (WATERLOO, IA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is fun, kinda hard at times. I found it easier with two players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Go Down Rabbit Hole

posted by BluSeattle (SEATTLE, WA) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

I found this game to be confusing and not worth the time.
Not very exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Many Hearts.

posted by ButterfIy (ALGONQUIN, IL) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I was excited to get the game in the mail as soon as possible, but it was not what i was expecting. The game did follow the story line of the original story, and the movie, but there was to many hearts to beat, it seemed like every move i made in the game i had to defeat more heart cards. Yes i understand, that you have to fight them, but why so many times. Besides the point, it is worth trying out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »