Rent Alice: Madness Returns for PS3
view large frontback

Alice: Madness Returns

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

4613 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Through The Looking Glass

posted by walkitoff (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 20, 2011

Member since May 2008

54 out of 57 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this game, I had not played the original game, but the idea of exploring Wonderland with a knife wielding Alice intrigued me. I have read some reviews of people complaining about game length, as for me, I enjoy the longer chapters because I feel that I am getting more game this way. The control setup is easy to use and follow, the weapons are clever and the story is interesting to say the least.

Graphically, I do expect more from a PS3 game, however, the gameplay makes up for that as I found myself exploring every nook and cranny of Wonderland in search of pig snouts.

If you are a fan of the action/adventure genre than I would recommend this game to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Drink the Haterade

posted by Detriment (Buffalo, NY) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

All I've seen is a bunch of nay-say about this game.... It's really not that bad... In fact, It's a lot of fun.... The great art design keep you wanting to press on... It feels like a PC port and that's not necessarily a bad thing.... It has a very forgiving platforming element.... The fighting is fun except for a few camera issues... This game has a few bugs that could be worked out with a good update... But not enough to keep you from playing....
Give it a chance, that's what Gamefly is for.... Right?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but Glitchy.

posted by tyinkletoe (EDDYVILLE, KY) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Im really enjoying playing this game. Its both imaginative and fun. The graphics are good at times and glitchy and blocky looking at others. I think if they had spent a little more time there the game would have been amazing. as far as game play, it will pass time and its enjoyable, but by the time you get to the third or fourth chapter you realize your basically doing the same stuff over and over again, theres nothing new or different but the look of the chapter. Sometimes you have to start REALLY far back when you die which can be more then frustrating, most of the time it wasnt too bad. My biggest issue with the game was the glitch thing. You fight and get stuck places and cant move. The biggest annoyance was some of the timed jumping/puzzles. I found myself knowing what needed to be done but unable to get Alice to jump getting stuck inside blocks ect ect... i only wish Alice moved as quickly as she did when in the middle of combat. The other thing I didnt like was the target lock locks onto enemies that cant be destroyed, then you got 5 others that can be but you have a hard time getting to them.
Although the difficulty with some things I loved this game. It really is so much fun. I really hope they make another, I'd buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful Insanity

posted by parrell134 (HAZLETON, PA) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Now, I expected a lot from this game. And I wasn't disappointed. The graphics were a little subpar for the PS3, but still a very visually appealing game. The story is so captivating, albeit a little short for my taste. Combat is fluid and tense and keeps me on my toes which is good. I've been a fan of the series since the first game and I am pleased with this installment as well. Some minor things like glitches, short story, and few weapons to use did take it down a peg, but I still thoroughly enjoyed this game. Hopefully it isn't the last installment in the Alice series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring and repetative

posted by I_Hate_UR_Face2 (SEATAC, WA) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first glance the game looks unique and interesting. I thought I was about to get into some crazy fun. After the 2nd chapter, I wanted the game to end. Having to jump everywhere with a terrible camera that can barely follow you, you tend to fall a lot. Every level is different, yet the same. Different look with the same goal. The camera during fighting is terrible, most the time you can not even see the enemies, just Alice's back.

You however do get to upgrade your weapons, but it just seems pointless, not really even any new combos. The fighting it the same over and over. This game had a lot of potential, but will fall. If your the type of gamer that likes change, this game is not for you. The levels change but not the enemies or the goal to finish chapter. Help someone so they can help you. Through the whole thing.

You will spend most of your time jumping and shrinking, and following a basic laid out map for you to follow.

Some what nice on looks, but fails with game play. I'll try to finish it but don't think I can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good, just a few minor complaints

posted by nettlc (LANSING, MI) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

all in all, i thought this was a pretty good game, minus a few small things.
1. sometimes alice's feet get stuff and so you cant run when you need to
2. sometimes it seemes like enemies were stronger than they should have been just for the sake of being hard
3. i would have liked for there there to be more replayability in special stuff for beating the game, different endings, etc
4. i just thought the finish was kind of a let down, they couldve done it bigger. a climax wouldve been nice.
5. original alice download has a lot of realy irritating glitches, so i wouldnt recommend downloading it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underappreciated

posted by Clockwerks (ALBANY, NY) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

There are a few bad things to be said about the game, to be certain. Despite worlds built with expansive vistas and an assortment of little nooks and crannies, it feels very linear, with most of those nooks blocked by invisible walls and attempts at full exploration prevented by either high walls or bottomless pits. Up close the textures tend to look a little rough, but personally that doesn't bother me. Graphics are great, but they're hardly everything, and the game does a great job of animating Alice, the Cheshire Cat, the Hatter, etc.

Overall it plays like an old-school platformer in many ways, with the inclusion of mostly-invisible platforms making an interesting addition. Alice can't grab the edge of ledges, which was troublesome in places where it's necessary to milk every inch of her impressive jumping/floating ability to reach the next location. The only thing I really didn't like overall was the difficulty in targeting the enemies I wanted to, but it didn't hold me back overall.

I greatly enjoyed the storyline and the worlds - though the underwater world seemed very out of place and childish, bereft of the creepy factor the other worlds maintained faithfully. Snippets of time where Alice was awake in the real world were a sometimes relieving break from the wierdness, but I wish more happened in between realms of madness.

I was disappointed in the final boss, but overall I found the fights were dynamic and required a decent amount of strategy to finish without entering Hysteria (I did manage to complete my goal of playing the whole game without using Hysteria though), and there was a good variety of enemies requiring different methods to defeat. The minigames felt forced in places, but the puzzles were fun nonetheless.

Madness Returns was a nostalgic reminder of old platforming, with excellent writing and appropriately creepy (and sometimes nonsensical) dialogue. There was enough of a variety to keep me interested, while maintaining the dreamy feel. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A maddening, fun trip to Wonderland

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Though I haven't played the first game, "Alice: The Madness Returns" does a good job on quickly bringing you up to speed. This is a dark, twisted version of Wonderland, and for the most part it makes for a fun trip. The designs of the world and the creatures inhabiting it are imaginative, and while the graphics aren't perfect (there are some rather noticeable glitches throughout) they work fairly well at bringing Wonderland and London to life. Controls work well, especially in combat. Combat will test you, as you learn new abilities and gain new weapons, you'll need to use everything you have at your disposal. No enemy is insurmountable, but they aren't all pushovers either. The platforming bits are generally fine, though an occasional bad camera angle can cause you to miss a jump. Checkpoints are generous, however, so you're never put too far back. The timed puzzles can get maddening, though, but with patience all can be beaten. The story is well written, and the voice acting is quite good. This is a long game compared to most coming out- it may take upwards of 15 hours or so to complete one playthrough. There's plenty of collectibles to look for, and two trips through may be needed to get them all. This game may not appeal to everyone, but if you're looking for a bit of a different action-adventure game, check this one out. You might be glad you followed the Rabbit down the hole after all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ignore tightwad reviewers

posted by Akashic (HELOTES, TX) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is beautiful, albeit repetitive, but so are all other slashing games it just comes with the territory. If you enjoyed the first game, you will LOVE this one. If you're new to the series, and you enjoy third person hack and slash games(though Alice's battle system isn't complex at all compared to Bayonetta, or DMC), and an enjoyable story that takes you through beautiful and terrifying worlds, then you will enjoy this game.

We've come to an impasse when it comes to 'professionally' criticizing video games. I never really payed attention to reviews or critic scores when I was younger, but I notice now that they rarely reliable. There isn't a game out there these days that didn't have a small following at a some time. If the story and gameplay interest you, then give it a try. Don't let a number scare you.

It's not like your game queue is that full anyways.

While no game is perfect, and thus undeserving of a 10, I still give this game one, because I enjoyed every minute of it. That in and of it self is perfection in a way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Half of it was good.

posted by mousepaint (DAVENPORT, IA) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I liked it, but became extremely bored with it halfway through. There are six unique worlds, with very distinct colors, themes, etc. However, you are forced to play through the same fetchquests and fight the same 'monsters' throughout them. It is as if EA put all their funding into the design of each world, but left before the check came for everything else. The weapons are tight, but the camera is terrible, especially when locking on, making fighting a task rather than fun. I really wanted to see the ending, but gave up due to cheap deaths and boredom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ART insanity

posted by jacktheawesome (MENDON, MI) Jun 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

For starters, Alice 2 is pretty awesome. Besides for a few minor glitchy areas and areas that look like you should be able to get to that you can't, it's not bad at all. The fighting is slightly repetetive, however, switching from a sweet QUADRA jump into a magic trick llike evade, into a frenzy butcher knife attack into any other weapon attack is seemless. If you think you have seen everything the game has to offer just keep playing and something new and insane will happen. The story in itself i would have read as a book, and i HATE to read. Unless you are using a guide, it is not likely that you will find all the hidden items, which, is good for replay value. This game could have been one of the most amazing games with a little bit of polish on it. Good: story, keeps you involved, twists and turns, abilities, good fighting, random puzzles, hidden items and last but not least Alice is HOT haha. Bad: A bit glitchy and if graphics were better this game would have been insane, well, insane-ER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Game fallows rabit down the Hole!!

posted by ratroachmonkey (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While playing this game i loved the fluidity of how well Alice swaps from one weapon to anouther and then into her dodge and block. The combat sequence in this game is great and enjoyable although locking onto a target that you wish to attack may be a tad challenging when multiple enemies emerge on screen.

When not in combat manuevering in some areas was also a lil tricky. But over all wasn't a big deal in the overall scheem of the game.

I do like the style of the graphics although it does appear pixalated, which i thought could have used alot of work. Style was good, graphics were sub par.

I noticed many graphical glitches, especially when locating a hidden door.

Over all i would give this game a 6.5 rating. It is fun in small doses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Feels Like Dante's inferno

posted by dowdell (FAIRCHANCE, PA) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is a little different. I love the idea of a more mature Alice in Wonderland(which is why I rented it). Honestly, it feels like a cheap version of Dante's inferno(almost).

Graphics: 8

The graphics were decent, but in this day and age, they could be ALOT better.

Singleplayer: 6

The game has its moments, but the campaign doesn't hold up to the end. It gets very repetitive(you can only pull so many levers). There were many times when I would get stuck on invisible walls that prevented me from moving forward. If you ask me, this game could have been a lot better.

Overall: 7

While I did have fun for some of the game I could have had more fun. I wish they would have spent more time polishing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Let Down

posted by DarthTenchi (WESTWOOD, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was hoping for so much more from this game. The main theme is a great Idea. It was a great let down that the game play and story were lacking for such an inventive idea. Alice is in murderess wonder land has great writen all over it, but the game play was so boring and the story was lacking so much, the graphics alone are just so dull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The "WOW" wasn't delivered!

posted by burdan54 (MOBILE, AL) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game exhibits really, really long chapters with badly named enemies, and even worse weapons in which to annialate them. In the middle of chapter two, I shipped the game back to GF. The game let me know early on that it was going to be a game with the player performing the same actions in each of the chapters.

I would however recommend this game to younger teens, and some children that could tolerate such an interesting take on beloved Alice!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Was excited...till I played it

posted by WelderChick87 (ELLWOOD CITY, PA) Aug 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had watched trailers and game play videos for this game a few months before it was out...just over and over and was all excited and couldn't wait till I could finally rent it. Well, I got the game...played about 2 hours and was finding that my attention was being drawn more towards my computer than the game itself. I was bored with the game...and the only thing I really liked...was the demented looking Cheshire Cat. For a 2011 game...the graphics were horrible. They're more like...2005 graphics...or earlier, which wasn't good. I tried forcing myself to try the game again, but I just couldn't bring myself to be bored with a game I thought would be awesome. So...after 2 days of the game just sitting around, I stuck it back in the mailbox and awaited my next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than I expected

posted by Starcaster (VALENCIA, CA) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed playing Alice: The Madness Returns. It was challenging, but fun. Mostly a platformer with some puzzles and enemies sprinkled throughout.

The mini-games were pretty interesting and good for a change in gameplay. Pretty decent story as well.

I would have given this game a 10, but one of the trophies failed to unlock (hit 4 enemies with the hobby horse). I completed the requirements several times and it just did not unlock for me. I have not heard of others having this problem though.

Definitely worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful Insanity

posted by SlippingSanuty (EUREKA, MT) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When giving this rating I am largely overlooking some of the graphical and technical hitches in the game. If I included them, it would probably be an 8, but I am not a critic, i am a gamer and I am giving a review based on enjoyment.

The graphics are good enough to convey the feel of the game. Yes they couldve been better, but they were not bad.

However overlooking the average graphics, the Wonderland this game depicts is beautiful, eerie and just fun to explore. The change in not only scenery but even color schemes from level to level is incredible and keeps you from getting bored. You also begin to understand Alice's mind from experiencing her Wonderland. At her heart, she is still a child, these worlds are almost like something you would see in a storybook. However madness and darkness have invaded, turning her world into a twisted Tim Burton vision. Im not exaggerating when I say this game could be made into one of his movies.

Gameplay if enjoyable. Now dont be expecting anything largely different from your average platformer. You can only tweak a battle system so much. However it has a distinct Alice feel to it. From fluttering around enemies as a cloud of butterflies to bombing them with a teapot, it feels like a Wonderland battle. It is fun using all the weapons in a battle, for each one is assigned a button and they all are important and need to be used. There is no all powerful or useless weapon.

As for platforming it is fun although it is repetitive. It mainly focuses around pressure switches, timing and levers. Fun mini games are thrown in to mix things up as well. I loved the invisible platforms that are prevalent in the game as well as the shrinking. I never got bored with this but some may.
Basically if you want a good psychological story in a crazy dark Tim Burtonesque world, with an interesting cast of characters, a fun battle system, a good but repetitive platformer that is LONG, with alot of collectibles, Rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alice: The Madness Returns

posted by Captnslapnutz (NEW FLORENCE, PA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Solid game with great but somewhat repetitive gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is amazing!!!!!!!

posted by HewittGirls (ATOKA, TN) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The graphics on this game are superb and so diverse.You play as Alice trying to get back her memory anyway possible.Traveling through Wonderland you once knew but now has changed into this blood crazed mad house.You fight many different monsters along the way.From the moment I started playing I couldn't stop. It was as if I was sucked into the game and I was going through Wonderland seeing the Mad Hatter and everyone else! Loved it!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay

posted by jrygy (BAXLEY, GA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was a ok game at first it was very fun and then about a hour in it got very boring its worth a rent not a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too few save points and high diffuculty. Bummer.

posted by josh54558 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Even on easy mode, the combat was far too difficult and involved memorizing many different buttons for different combat functions. Game seemed to revolve around combat and fight scenes much more than the original which was more based on adventure and exploring than on fighting.

Also disappointing was that there were very few save points. When you lose a fight, you often have to repeat playing a chunk of the level that you previously already played through (since there were no save points before the fight). After you lose the same fight five or six times and have to replay 5 minutes of the game you already beat every time just to get back to the beginning of the fight, it gets real old real fast. It also demonstrates the lack of respect the developers had for anybody's time who wastes their time on this BS.

There were a few times I played for a half hour and turned the game off, only to play again the next day and find that none of my progress had been saved. Apparently that is not enough time to put into a level to deserve to save your game or something?

I returned the game early as I am busy and I only have a few minutes a day to play, and got tired of replaying parts of the game to catch up to where I lost a battle. I guess after 6 good games in a row you are bound to get a bad one.

The only good things about this game are that it is visually interesting and the sound is spectacular. So if you have a big tv and a great surround sound system it is impressive, but only if you have the patience to deal with the lame combat setup and infrequent save points. So unless you have enough time to sit there for hours and hours on end, then I seriously would not recommend this game to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NO more please

posted by jcirca (MOORHEAD, MN) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For all the good things this game has, upgrades for weapons. Thats it.. Creepy story, terrible AI, the game draws on forever, I beat this game , and hated alomst all of it from the 4th level on..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yay! Another God of War clone

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Sep 20, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Congratulations, EA! You took one of the most innovative and imaginative titles in the past 2 decades and followed it up with another tedious, bland God of War clone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better then the first

posted by andrewbatiste (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For those of you who dont understand much about how this game came to be just download the original by american mcgee. This game mixed up two worlds and made you feel like you were slipping deeper and deeper into madness. all i have to say is play it for urself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse