Rent Alice: Madness Returns for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Alice: Madness Returns

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

6838 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Starts a little slow but quickly Ramps up

posted by PlayaX (KISSIMMEE, FL) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

59 out of 60 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

Nostalgia is a dangerous thing, for those who have played the original American McGee's Alice might remember it being a creepy hack and slash that gave you chills. What you might forget is the amount of platforming and how it was really the characters that made it creepy.

Alice Madness Returns is very similiar in that they didn't change the formula. It's a really fun game, don't get me wrong, but i forgot how much platforming their was. I don't mind, and some of it is quite challening, but in the beginning is essentially holds your hand. And in the later levels it gets pretty tricky.

The combat is really fun, and i quite enjoy it, most bosses have a specific weakness and some of them are quite hard to notice. (cataclysmic ruins >.<) But combat is fun, if a bit simplistic. Instead of the 7-8 weapons you get in the first, they fine tune and allow you to upgrade 4 of them. When you get down to one health you can activate hysteria, which basically puts you into boss mode, destroying everything quickly, much as Alice's rage in the first one.

The story is fun as well, alternating between the "real" world, and alice's wonderland, and i love hat if you look close enough, you can spot what kind of place in wonderland you'll be going to. I haven't beaten the game yet, but i've gotten to a place where... well.. let's just say it's pretty awesome :D.

Ultimately i would say Rent this game. It's a fun hack n slash/ puzzler, and seeing the struggle of a girl trying to regain control of her mind is always fun. It's creepy, but it won't make you need to turn the console off for a bit to get a break. The combat is smooth, and i guess the music is ok, it never detracted from my experience. Enjoy your romp through the dark and twisted remains of wonderland!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So much better than I expected!

posted by Shooz (SPRINGBORO, OH) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

From what I've seen, this game isn't getting very good reviews in the gaming press, so I wasn't expecting too much when I put it in my Xbox 360. And yes, the first 5 or 10 minutes was not great - dreary graphics, no combat, just trying to find the way out of the first level. But once Alice entered Wonderland, things got much better, and quickly. The graphics went from drab and dreary to bright and colorful, and the combat mechanics were quickly introduced. Combat itself is nothing fancy - no real combos to use, although you can switch between weapons on the fly for a variety in your beatdowns. Defeating certain enemies takes a bit of strategy, although there isn't a whole lot of variety in enemy types in this game. Combat is simple and effective, but may get boring for some - I personally enjoyed it. But the thing I really enjoyed about this game was the level design - absolutely stunning. Lots of hidden areas to explore and things to find, all in bizarre and highly creative environments such as a city of dollhouses, a castle made of playing cards, etc. And the graphics don't stay 3D for the entire game, either. There are several levels which are presented in a beautiful 2D, watercolor look as Alice makes her way through a painting she steps into. There are also levels where you play as a creepy dolls head and must roll across platforms, dodge swinging anvils, shoot up ramps, etc. All are extremely creative and very well done, and fun to play. All in all, I'd have to say that this game is one of the best platformers I have ever played, and if you enjoy the genre, do yourself a favor , ignore the critics, and play this game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Flawed, but Very Imaginative and Pretty

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alice: Madness Returns is a unique game in this day and age. It's very colorful. It's also an action/adventure platformer. It's very good at being creative and quirky.

That being said, there are a few things that make it less of a "must own" and more of a "should rent". The levels are way too long for their own good, considering there are only five of them. Each one lasts at minimum three hours. Normally I wouldn't complain but that's a bit much to be jumping and running in the same environment. It's like playing Mario and being stuck in World 1-1 for two hours. It just shouldn't be. They would've been much better off designing various worlds to break up the pace. There are only a few different types of enemies, and it would've been cool to see more.

One final thing that drove me crazy is that throughout the game there are no bosses. Then you get to the end and there's a final boss. He's not tough per se but they don't go over how to fight him like you get to learn with other enemies and so you have to learn pretty quickly to unlearn everything else.

All in all Alice was a fun game, and I enjoyed it. It did have its flaws, but I will probably buy it if I find it cheap enough somewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Visually stunning game.

posted by pinkwerewolf (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would have to say that this is probably one of the most visually stunning games that I have ever had the pleasure to play! I seriously would have to stop several times in game to just look at all of the amazing world levels. Being a fan of steam punk, I nearly fainted that the styles of the characters, costumes, and music. The platforming can be a bit difficult at times, however the controls are very natural and do not become super overwhelming, but at times can even challenge an expert player. My only beef with the game was the relentless platforming with some levels that would never seem to end. That lost my interest in continuing playing the game, along with my patience. Otherwise I would give this a much higher rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alice "The Madness Returns"

posted by tounzen (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a fun game. It is a continuation of the old Alice PC game. The old PC game is available for download, but if you purchase it you MUST have the New Alice Disc in your machine to play it. Which sucks if your renting it from gamefly and dont want to keep the game longer, just to be able to play what you have already payed $10 for. The graphics are good, and the Art is FANTASTIC!! The gameplay is smooth, but after a while it is just alot of levels where you have to get from one side of the screen to the other, via jumpng from platform to platform, searching for extra stuff along the way. There are four main weapons, which can be upgraded 3 times each, although the upgrades dont really give you anything extra but looks. The main story only lasted around 10 hours of gameplay, so good for renting. Replay value is low, but first time play is recommended if you like dark, and twisted games. Creepy game, but not really scary or overly violent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Beautiful game that lasts too long

posted by Razmigg (WEST HAVEN, CT) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has everything going for it: interesting story, beautiful atmosphere, decent platforming, and thoughtful combat--however, the game drags on for too long. Usually that's not a bad thing, but the game feels very repetitive; you are forced to repeat the same actions over and over again. The game is definitely worth a play, but you may not have the patience to finish the entire playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Different look at Alice in Wonderland

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game was kind of repetative in some parts, but was definatly fun. I liked that fact that you could upgrade your weapons, but seemed like you had to get quite a bit of the teeth points to even upgrade them, and that takes awhile. I think first upgrade was only like 400 or so per weapon, and the second on a lot of them was higher 500 to 800 for the knife.
I never finished the game though because I got mad in some area's you had to shirnk yourself and jump to a sideways moving platform that was moving fairly fast and it disaperars when you become big again, and have to hit it almost perfect and shrink yourself again right away, and repeat repeat. Oh and it's timed a door closed where you needed to go, and I could never make it, so gave up. If you don't mind a twisted outlook on Alice in Wonderland, it is worth a try, and maybe you'll have better luck than I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Average game saved by a great setting.

posted by Omarant_329 (BALDWIN PARK, CA) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First and foremost, Alice: Madness Returns was saved from a lower score by it's fantastically dark setting. Everybody assumes that the old Disney animation is a drug-fueled trip, but this game brings that assumption to life in full force. Twisted re-imaginings of classic Alice characters, bloody combat/cinematics, and the dark atmosphere definitely earns this game's M rating. Other than that, Alice: Madness Returns is your typical third-person adventure game, which comes with the genres trademark problems.

The camera needed some work. It would get caught in tight areas and why the camera does not stay behind you when you're locked onto a target during combat is beyond me. Having to unlock from a target just to adjust the camera became incredibly frustrating.

Combat started out really exciting. Enemies were interesting and there was actual strategy involved in defeating them. Unfortunately, and this can be attributed to the overly long length of the game/chapters, the enemies and combat became quite repetitive.

When it comes to platforming in a 3D space, games usually get it right or they don't. Alice fell somewhere in between. There was just something that felt off. As the game got further along, it actually began to feel like the problem was associated with the flaky camera more than anything else. Take a jump toward a platform without adjusting the camera and death is very likely.

Weapons in Alice were very cool. There are five which you will eventually have at your disposal, four of which you can upgrade (with teeth which you collect throughout the game). Each was very original and fit the setting perfectly.

Like I said in the beginning, were it not for the atmosphere, this game would've have definitely received a 5 from me. But, if you're a fan of the Alice universe, such as myself, your score will probably be bumped up just as mine was. If you're not a fan, I would still recommend checking it out, but expect more of the same old thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Wonder of It All

posted by El_Viejo (NORTH FORK, CA) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game plays better than the vendor presents it. I was pleased to read the storyline behind the game. It made so much more sense then. Poor Alice. Her life has been a shambles (her parents dead and confined to a mental institution) and yet she has managed to maintain touch with her sanity by escaping to Wonderland. But even that refuge is less wonderful than it used to be. Now she must combat her demons and deal with a scared and scary existence. The graphics are good and the gameplay unique. I really enjoyed this retelling of the Alice story. Give it a try. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game :)

posted by daisy1019 (ALTOONA, FL) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not much of a gamer (love old school type games more than anything) but this game was super easy to pick up on. Easy to play and fun :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great change from the shooters

posted by upperechelon1 (MESA, AZ) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was a awesome game for me. the setting was absolutely incredible, the gameplay was very solid, and the storytelling was strong. its games like this that give me a very nice change from all the shooter games that are out there. overall defiantly worth the rental !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Dark Look Into The Classic

posted by no24dupontgirl (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sometimes you find a hidden gem off the beaten path and Alice is that game. Unlike the EA & Activision liscensed games that have to fit in the make millions cookie cutter mold Alice is a breath of fresh air. The bright colored world of Alice can be scraped away with a little patience to show the dark undertones that ripple throughout the game. Part platformer and part action game Alice does both very well. The controls are spot on and there is enough variety to keep things fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Well Done!!

posted by tootalljones92 (WASILLA, AK) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game had some of the best controls and graphics. I was skeptical, but very pleased with this game! The jumping capabilities were awesome and the weapons were very creative. Not for children, but the rating is on the game...lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by jvc1980 (BURLINGTON, NJ) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is freakin' awesome a must have!!!!!!! The creatures of this game have a great imagination. Love this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Visually stunning.....

posted by diomesesarcturo (JOPLIN, MO) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know that some people had trouble getting stuck in the frames and that some of the mapping is a bit off (not being able to jump onto things you should, not being able to get through things when you shrink) but I haven't been this knocked out by a game visually since Bioshock. Simply out, Wonderland is amazing. The gameplay is solid, the weapons are weird and cool (the pepper grinder being a favorite), the enemies get a bit boring but overall, this is a keeper. As a matter of fact, I did keep it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A strong platform game, but nothing unique

posted by vangogh929 (TEMPE, AZ) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly I've only played through 25% of the game and I think it's a decent game. Not a whole lot of fighting and figuring out what levers to pull and where to jump isn't too difficult. The colors are very drab and dull and the graphics don't jump out at you. If you got nothing else to do and love a classic platform game you might enjoy this, but don't go out of your way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than expected, but repetitive play

posted by ohitsmark (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for a simple reason: Alice In Wonderland with a dark theme? Count me in!

Upon getting the game I was blown away by how amazing the graphics were. The story telling was pretty well done too. And for being a computer generated image, Alice isn't that bad looking.

Overall the game is is pretty good. The levels are really well done. The controls are pretty simple and easy to learn.

The only complaint I have about the game is that it's just repetitive. Every level is basically just kill bad guys, find clues, beat boss. I was only able to take about an hour of gameplay before I got kinda bored.

But overall, this game was way better than I thought it was going to be. Definitely play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it was ok

posted by savahna3486 (MELBOURNE, FL) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

started very slow got a little more interesting but was kinda the same thing through out the game .......just my opinion but i did love the base story line of her going crazy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome game

posted by jckl29 (HOLLIS, NH) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a great game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Demented twist on wonderland

posted by pcman2001 (PARKER, CO) Dec 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an interesting perspective of what happens to Alice later in life. The looking glass is wicked and knife-wielding bloody.

The game's artistic style is very good. The music is okay. The game-play slashing and peppering gets repetitive. The map mazes are absurd and sometimes remind me of the smashing hammers that Tim Allen and Sigourney Weaver's characters had to navigate past to activate the Omega 13 in the movie Galaxy Quest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but gives a headache

posted by Kellier56 (HUNTSVILLE, TX) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It reminded me of Portal and Kingdom hearts. It's a great game and very trippy, however, I absolutely HATE some parts in the game. For example, timing everything gets old. But it is a fun game and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So long

posted by Graggalicious (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pretty twisted, demented, good game, but oh so long. This is probably close to the longest, non open world, game that I have ever played and it gets darker, creepier and more twisted the further you go. Great story I didn't see the ending coming until I got almost to the end. 20 enemy types over the game, so it gets a little repetitive at times, but changes in environment mean that you can't rely on one strategy for each enemy. Not really any interesting boss battles, I think they could have made some truly amazing bosses, but oh well. The weapons were good individually, but would have been better with combo moves. Crazy level designs, constantly changing environments, the biggest plus in the game by far. Glitches were rare and never disrupted gameplay, it was more stuff like getting caught on a step and having to jump. Camera takes some getting used to, but it's not confusing or frustrating, just different, I think the camera angles add to the weirdness of the game. I almost wish it was a bit more whimsical, but I'm not sure how that would have fit into the game. Overall a good, but very long, very strange game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic Platforming Experience

posted by ninjamonkey (DREXEL HILL, PA) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What I really enjoyed about this game is that it had all the mechanics of a platformer down to a science. Every jump and lever pull felt like I preformed that function flawlessly. What I didn't like was the very confusing story line and unnecessary rpg elements. A full recap of the first Alice game (maybe in the main menu?) would have been a much needed touch as well if only to draw in the new players. I give this an 8 because it was what I expected, with very few complaints.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madness Returns

posted by Dahatetrix (STROUDSBURG, PA) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has indeed been given mediocre ratings from most critics, but as shown in my rating and the rating of most of the users, it is a fun, imaginative (in a twisted way) and memorable experience. There are many elements of the game that are flawed, and repetitive, but make no mistake, in a world of sequels and yearly releases like madden or call of duty, there are few games that shine as a stand alone platform. This is one such game, and I recommend anyone with time on their hands to get lost in the 3rd person fun that this game brings to the table.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game play

posted by crad (EL PASO, TX) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome! Great story line, and graphics that rival the final fantasy saga. That is enough to get a good score out of me, but to get a perfect score you would need to have something special. this game got that because it is a rpg that you dont need to have a strategy guide to get every thing in the game maxed out. All you need is to know how to look and to take the time to look. with this even the puzzles are managable with out a guide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse