Rent Again for DS
view large frontback

Again

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.1

78 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

A Bit Disappointing

posted by JasonL321 (MARIETTA, GA) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan or interactive story games and a huge fan of C.I.N.G's past works. (Trace Memory and Hotel Dusk). However, Again turned out to be a huge let down for me.

The graphics and presentation are very much what you expect from a C.I.N.G game. They are stylistic and very much different from any game you've seen before. The graphics will either intrigue some, and probably turn off the vast majority of others. It's all a matter of opinion.

This game play in this game is pretty minimal, even by interactive story standards. In this game you play as a FBI agent on the hunt for a serial killer who has seemingly started up a string of repeat murders from 19 years ago. You have a strange power that lets you see crime scenes in the present and from 19 years ago at the same time. It's an interesting story vehicle but one not much used. The majority of the game you will simply be going to locations, showing the same clues to people over and over again and soliciting their response. This probably takes up 60% of the game. When you do use your power, the game boils down to a simple "What's Different" game between the crime scene of today and from 19 years ago. Once you find the difference its' minor puzzle solving (very minor) to move the story along. This series of puzzle solving is mechanical and very clumsy in it's presentation. It can range from stupidly easy to cryptically frustrating and overall is not very much fun.

But the most important part of interactive story games is the story and the premise is a good one. An agent out to catch a serial killer who is repeating his 19 year old crimes in the present day by trying to figure out the common link to all the murders is an great basis for a mystery. However, all the plot twists, ending and revels are to easily predicted to keep any mystery fan's interest.

All in all it's about 9 hours and not really worth that much time for such a thinly veiled plot and badly narrated story ruin the experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it's odd

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love mystery games but this "again" is strange i got stuck at the 2nd murder case in the parking lot the puzzles remind me of something out of hotel dusk room 215 it's ok but i'd stick with trace memory hoping trace memory 2 will come to the wii soon i give again 2 spotted clues in the past out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If i wanted to read a book....

posted by vogane (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

i'd just buy a book. Thanks for nothin game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »