Rent Afro Samurai for PS3
view large frontback

Afro Samurai

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

2539 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful Game

posted by TheFamily (Worthington, OH) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Afro Samurai is an excellent third person game that follows the cartoon very closely. Afro's graphics are very detailed and the new moves you need are displayed right when you need them. However, you'll need the game manual for hints and other moves you can use. I found that I could go just about anywhere in each scene to investigate. The little girl with the teddy bear (I think she's Sio) is a nice contrast to all the bloody fighting. Overall, this is a great "go-with-the-flow game".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Afro Slaughter House

posted by Grimdemise (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All in all a good game, a bit too short, only around 7 hr or something i think. Nice and bloody, with some nice fighting skills, a little bit to easy i think though. Not easy enough to just button mash the whole time, but for several parts just mashing away would work. I wish that the PS3 version had trophies like the XBOX 360 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Can you say Fun???

posted by ilikedit (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just fun. If you are a combo freak then this is the game for you. Just learn all the combos and then it's on and poppin'. Ninja Ninja is so crazy he keeps you laughing the entire game. The sound track ohh my!!! I hope you have surround sound. To sum it up....Get this one and crank up the Dolby 5.1. A 9 out of 10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fairly good button masher

posted by N8MAN1068 (WOODFORD, VA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Afro Samurai is a fairly good button masher. There are some places online where they list button order for certain 'combos', but really, you just mash the heck out of a handful of buttons.
The visuals are great, and nothing beats the voice/attitude of Samuel Jackson yelling at you.
The camera system makes some parts difficult. Some of the bosses were difficult without a real clear cut way to defeat them. Sadly, I had to hit up Google a few times to find a decent walk through that explain how to beat certain bosses.
All in all, I enjoyed the game, and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Afro samurai

posted by Squeegie (BELLINGHAM, WA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a really good game and lots of different move's and lot's of
blood and the story was throwing me off but i bet the game in 7 hours
and 42 mins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad...

posted by kelkam98 (STOCKBRIDGE, GA) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's true that if you just push buttons the kills will come, but what makes a world of difference is how you push the buttons. As you level up & find the crows, more moves are unlocked & that what make the game sweet. Execute the right move & It's nice to see how the enemy's are sliced & diced. just pushing buttons will give u the same moves & that is boring. Executing the right movesat the right time makes the game challenging. Nice sound track & Samuel Jackson in the mix made it better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Yo! Afrooooooo!

posted by andrade12 (BATTLE MOUNTAIN, NV) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is what I expected from this game, from watching the show on spike. A lot of cursing and blood spilling action. The game is fun if ur in to this type of stuff. We all should know by now when they make these type of games ur going to be limited on action moves, so that should'nt ever be a big complaint. It could have been a little more better, but it is what it is. D.A.M.N AFRO FUN!!!!!! I would rent again but not buy unless the price was right. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty fun game

posted by bdeanr6 (OREGON CITY, OR) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

although i did get frusterated (mainly with the controls) the game was fun. i think it was alittle to easy. despite getting frusterated a few times it only took about 5 hours give or take all together, that includes the stories in between. i felt some of the critical moves weren't explained real well, but i was able to figure it out fairly quickly. afro doesn't always like to climb how you want him to, resulting in having to try a few times, but that seems to be normal with any game where your climbing and bouncing up walls and ledges. and was it just me, or did any one else miss the part about how to deflect bullets? the first rocket launcher guy took me awhile to figure out and i ended up figureing it out on accident. definately worth playing, but after i beat it i did not have any desire to start playing again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Afro Samurai is awesome

posted by MrJinx (LUBBOCK, TX) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In Afro Samurai, you play as Afro Samurai, voiced by certifiable badass Samuel L. Jackson, and journey with him through his adventure to get revenge on his father's killer. During this quest, you will experience a very well put together combat system, amazing music, and great humor. Now, while this is a very good game, I must point out the bad parts. There is the occassional platforming sections, which were somewhat poorly put together, and occasionally can get glitchy. If you get lost, you can use the help of your friend Ninja-Ninja (also voiced by Samuel L. Jackson) to help you find out where you're supposed to go, by appearing in the direction of where you need to go, but sometimes you won't be able to see where he's telling you to go, and even worse is if you ask him directions too often he will refuse... but it's usually pretty funny, so it's not all that bad. The storyline does not completely follow that of the TV series. Not to give any spoilers but, the ending is quite different. Afro's health will automatically recover over time when you're not getting hit, much like most shooters, but in the event that it's not healing fast enough, you can hit one of Otsuru's teddy bears to get back to full health. Though this may sound like the combat is easy, your health doesn't recover so quickly as to make things so easy. The game allows for dimemberment in pretty much any way you can imagine, combined with a slow-motion cut option that let's you cut your opponents any way you want, you can have quite a lot of fun with slicing your foes to pieces. Overall, Afro Samurai isn't perfect, but it's definately worth a play, even if you haven't seen the show. (I didn't start watching the show until AFTER I played this XP)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Straight to the Facts

posted by Glockoma (BUFFALO GROVE, IL) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros-
Graphics
Soundtrack
Gameplay
voice overs
combo/action sequences

Cons-
camera angles (sometimes)
no trophies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game - a few glitches!

posted by boyerclan (FISHERS, IN) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall - this game is great! High replay. Taking a break from the normal looking game, the graphics make this an artsy approach to gaming. Dialouge can be a bit brutal, however it does give you the option to turn that off. The camera does get real quirky... you will notice this on boss levels.

Combo's are easy to learn and takes complexity to a low level which makes this great to enjoy. At the same time, precision is required to pulled complex combos.

Again, all in all, a GREAT game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by axinupe22 (SMYRNA, GA) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Never really saw the anime, but the game was fun. Definitly push button, not much skill needed and easy levels; even with all that was fun to slice through the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just plain awesome

posted by xDudeManx (BILLINGS, MT) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game mainly because i loved the tv show. The likness is amazing. i love the art work the story and most of all the bullet cutting. I recommend this game to anyone who likes sword games.

The platforming gets old fast, but there's always a group of bad guys just around the corner. and the dialouge between scenes is often hilarious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not really a button masher

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok, anyone who thinks this game is just another button mashing hack-and-slash isnt goin to like this game, because honestly, it takes a little strategy with the combos and special moves to get through it decently. it isnt as in depth as alot of games, but keep in mind that it is a licensed game made from a tv show. as far as that goes, its one of the best ive seen from that formula and comes across akin to games like Ninja Gaiden, God of War, Onimusha, etc. at least we didnt get another Zombie Ninja Pro-am, and i think everyone should at least be glad of that.
i do not watch the cartoon and know nothing about Afro or what is really goin on in the story of the game, but the story seems interesting enough for the game.
it still comes across as a very basic and easy to play game, given that you get used to all aspects of the fighting system and the sometimes difficult camera. overall, its a very good game that you should absolutely rent and try for at least a couple sittings (i honestly never understand why and how people can really say a game sucks when they only play it for 30 mins).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PLAY-THIS-GAME

posted by vlc1379 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Creative, imaginative, great narrative and story.

You don't have to be into anime to enjoy this game. You do how ever have to have patience, because learning the different combos and executing them takes time, but it's worth it. Hit your select button and you will see a list of combos. Learning some of these will help you in some of the tougher battles and make the game very enjoyable and satisfying.

The music is one of the best elements of the game. During certain scenes the music would come in and I caught myself saying out loud, oh-my-god this is such a great game.

Visually the game is beautiful. Each location is different, almost every fight is in a different place.

The camera does need work, but believe it or not you do get use to it. You just learn to work with it the way it is.

At first I had some reservations, but as I kept playing I realized they have done something wonderful here and I could not stop playing.

If your patient and willing to take the time and learn this game you will not be disappointed. Those of you who have played through it and liked it know what I mean.

My rating is a 9.5 because of the camera.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kick-Ace Game!

posted by KamiTsu (NEWARK, NJ) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now, of course all of the critics would say,"oh why a nine instead of a ten?!? However, the game's glitches did take away a little from the gameplay. I'm a big Afro fan and i'll play this game no matter what's wrong with it! So, to do both the editors and the readers some justice, i've dropped the original grade the game deserved (10) to a nine. Great job Namco!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lather, rinse, and repeat......often!

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Feb 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've never watched the show before. I was hoping for a great action game, but was not very impressed by this latest from Namco. Afro Samurai shows how far next generation graphics have come. Its a gorgeous game to look at and the soundtrack is a delight, even if your not a fan of hip-hop. The voice acting is also excellent. But actually playing this game is a different story. As Afro, you have a small set of moves and combos at your disposal and in true samurai form can execute one hit kills. The ability to slow down time to evade or deliver a killer blow, however, loses its luster when you find it doesn't work as well as you want it to. When you have bulit up enough power you can go into a slicing frenzy and kill all on screen with just one swipe of your sword. Needless to say, the blood flows like water in Afro Samurai. This all sounds great, but when your doing it for the millionth time fighting the same looking enemies througout, you get frustrated and bored. To make matters worse, this game has the lamest camera any game has ever had. When you are surrounded by foes, keeping track of them becomes difficult because the camera constantly needs to be adjusted. Some boss fights become harder than they need to be because of this. Thrown into some of the levels are really stupid bits of platforming, mainly jumping up to get to a certain height, but with that awful camera you will find yourself tackling the more difficult sections more times than need be. A decent checkpoint system would have been great to. In some areas you are forced to fight the same hordes of enemies over when you die. This is very frustrating especially before a boss fight. Afro Samurai could have been a great action game had the developers put a little more effort in the actual gameplay. A more varied set of moves along with a better camera would have improved things. All in all, this is one for the rental racks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Afro Samurai kicks

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

From Afro Samurai, the anime-series on Cartoon Network, comes this excellent game. Afro Samurai is not for the younger audience's. If you liked games that are 3rd person perspective, like Prince of Persia, which instead of climbing, you are fighting more, without the difficult controls.

You play as Afro, a Samurai warrior, that is in search for his past. Afro is not your basic Samurai, you wont see him flaunting a Samurai wardrobe, but the pride, loyalty, and discipline is very apparent in Afro's stance. In search of his fallen father's legendary head ban persecute, number 2, Afro has to find his past and reclaim his family's pride. Afro's Guidance, Ninja Ninja, a talky character who helps Afro with direction of which way to go, popping out of nowhere frequently. Having some crude boasting, Ninja Ninja, reminds Afro of how he can easily fail, if Afro gave up.

Afro Samurai, kicks. You basically run around choppin up anyone in your path, Literally. The game engine Namco and Surge made for Afro Samurai is excellent. Any which way you swing the sword at a enemy they literally fall apart, at that specific slash point. The fighting never gets old and never gets boring, just out of the fact, there is always a different way to chop the enemy up. When you are not fighting you are exploring threw a well designed world that has a great anime like feel, which places you in the Anime series, perfectly. The story is very well done, if you loved the show would not be disappointed with the game, at all. The motion in the fighting is very fluent. Giving you the gamer a ton of different ways to string together different fighting combos in a billion of ways. The controls are easily learned. There isn't a instant button that pops up on the screen to preform a finishing attack, you have full control of how you execute the enemy at all times.

Only thing I found awkward was the camera angle. Which once you get use to the motion and controlling how the camera moves, it becomes easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So fresh, so clean! No spoilers

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is an amazing game! I won't ruin it by telling you every thing. It is great for so many reasons I couldn't possibly fit them all in the space available. If you like Devil May cry, Onimusha, or Ninja gaiden you will love this.

Not for little ears though. This is the first game I've seen that adapted the source material so well. Nuf said get this one NOW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Almost a movie game

posted by doombot (CATONSVILLE, MD) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like the idea and I love the show but the execution needed serious work. The number one killer of good ideas isn't plot surprisingly enough but good camera angles. This game feels rushed and kind of badly mapped. Also taking liberties with established stories is something only movie producers should do. Too bad. In a world of RPG OMG SFW we could use a good rampage game to relax to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good But Not Great

posted by WikidJoker (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This Game Came So Close To Being Perfect Easy To Learn Combo System. Manga Style Graphics Cool Voice Acting Samuel l Jackson. The Soundtrack Is Produced By RZA It Amps Up During Combat. Gameplay Is Very Gory Body Dismemberment And Plenty Of It Buckets Of Blood witch Splatters On Screen. Now For the Bad Part The Camera It Is So Frustrating. Very Hard To See During Battle Especially During Boss Battles. No Trophies Yet Lets Keep Our Fingers Crossed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

how good i thought it was

posted by boogs1230 (LOYALTON, CA) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i liked it cause u can cut them any way u want to and that makes it so much better most game only have certen places on the body.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice

posted by Mello1224 (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great graphics and cool storyline, Samuel L Jackson is so funny. I didn't see the cartoon but Im sure it's great too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WHAT A SHAME

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Feb 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The only thing this game has going for it, is Sam L. Jackson. The camera work is horrible. No real mapping system. No instructions on how to level up etc. Not a keeper, just a game to rent on a snow day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No Trophies,Not Fun,Just another bad game

posted by GoodAdvise (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Do ya like Bad non open world games?Do you like playing PS3 games that offer NO trophies?Do ya enjoy hack n slash button masher games that require absolutely no gaming skills what so ever?If you do then this is the game for you.No gaming skills at all are required to play this button masher/total luck type of garbage game.I got this game on a saturday and if the post office wasn't closed before i got the game from my mailbox,it would have been returned the same day i recieved it.Thanks you Gamefly for the Great Service in getting New games out in a timely manner.Too bad it was simply a Bad game,and not worth a spot in my game Q.My advise:rent another game,this one sucks.Samuel L Jacksons voice work is the best thing about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse