Rent Afrika for PS3
view large frontback

Afrika

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.3

929 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not A Bad Game, Just Bad Development

posted by NiN814 (OIL CITY, PA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

39 out of 43 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Since there are TONS of biased opinions of this title, I'm going to break this game down by ALL aspects thinking like a DEVELOPER rather than just a GAMER. I want to start off by saying...

This game is EXACTLY like Pokemon Snap, but with a bit more player control, customization, and no childish little monsters.

With this being said, if you DON'T like Pokemon Snap, you are NOT going to like this. You are going to find it boring and repetitive and get no personal satisfaction whatsoever. However, "boring" is not a valid review in my opinion, and really NOT helpful if you have no idea what this game is. On the other hand, if you ARE a fan of nature, Pokemon Snap, or just curious, this is definitely worth a try. You will be amazed with the level of detail put into the model's animations and the amount of work into the scenery and effects. The environment and lighting is beautiful, but a few textures here and there look like they could benefit from being a bit bigger and not so stretched (grass and dirt in particular)

Fans of Snap will love that you are no longer restricted to a track. You can hop out of the vehicle, as well as crouch and sidestep once out. However, you are not allowed to wander too far from your jeep, but you can cover quite a bit of ground before being prompted.

It appears that you can customize many things, such as your camera and its capacity, as well as other tools. But unfortunately, not your playable character.

Missions are highly challenging and can be a little time consuming. You may find yourself standing in an area for awhile in order to get the PERFECT shot. I personally like that, after all, what good is a game with FAST and EASY missions?

Load AND save times take WAY too long. The dialogue is horrible and restricted to subtitles. Bad UI design, but don't blame the rest of the game for all that. Poor development, but you have to give it to them for stepping outside the box on this, which is Natsume's best quality as a developer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best but not the worst

posted by Ashlee06 (PEORIA, AZ) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its in between. This game really depends on your interests. if you like wondering around waiting for the right moment for a certain picture, then driving all the way back to base camp to turn it in and complete the mission then this game is for you. If your not...well... don't bother because thats pretty much all this game is. You start out as a novice photographer in Africa ( why is it spelled Afrika)?, and work your way up. At first i though of it as a break from the usual games made for PS3 but then it got very repetitive and boring i didn't even finish it. You can't shoot a huge aggressive animal thats flat charging at you, you only wake up at the base camp whatever hours later. And you have to take stupid pictures like a hippo yawning and a male ostrich making a mating move! Thats pretty much all there is to the game, taking pictures, finishing a region, and unlocking the next to take more pictures. Talking with your partner is limited to silent subtitles and jeep driving is almost impossible without hitting something. And if you dare try on purpose or accidentally run over an animal your partner just yells at you something like "we should not disturb the environment"! On the plus side the game has excellent graphics, the animals look and behave realistically. They also move like their real life counterparts.

All in all here are my ratings

Graphics: Excellent. As i stated before the animals look and behave realistically, as does the environments

Music: Good. Ironically the best music in the game (just about the only) is when your partner is driving you to a new location. Something along the lines of Indiana Jones

Gameplay: fair. Very repetitive but if photography is your passion then this is for you

Sound fx: Excellent. The animals made the noises they should such as an angry elephant trumpet, and the hyenas. The background nature noises were good

I would recommend this game to anyone who loves photography. Plain and simple. If not then skip this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I like it

posted by gsize19 (MORROW, OH) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think the game's graphics are pretty cool... As an animal lover, it is pretty cool to see an African Safari type game... It isn't going to be a game for everyone, as it does become a little repetitive. Cool graphics, cool scenery, all in all a good game to change things up... I am more of a sports game fan, NHL, MLB, NFL, but occasionally I like to see what some of the other things that are out there, and this game gave me a nice change of pace. It is definetly worth a rental, but I could see where if I bought this game, I would probably put it down for good after a few days, not justifying the price tag...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for new gamer interested in something diff

posted by Selorn (TWIN FALLS, ID) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I gave this game an 8 based on its merits alone. I'm married and have been trying to get my wife over her fear of a PS3 controller for a while now and this game has done the trick. Yes for an experienced gamer there are flaws in the game no voice over is annoying and the load times are long. Yet if you are like the majority of gamers i know you have a problem with getting your girlfriend/wife interested in games this game did the trick for my wife.

The controls are relatively simple and easy to learn, perfect for a person who is new to a modern console controller and I have found that the lack of killing or dieing is a major perk to my wife.

So guys if your looking for a game that your girl will enjoy this is it, don't be afraid to take one for the team and rent this not for yourself but for your significant other. The pay outs may be worth it in the long run. Once you open up the door way of gaming to your significant other you may be surprised what they are willing to play once they understand the basics of the controller and the system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

AFRIKA is Pokemon Snap w/real animals

posted by jonbraun (PEMBERTON, NJ) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You have to be aware that you are going to play a game in which you are a photojournalist in Africa and nothing more. Look forward to frustrating menus and obnoxious loading screens, but (to me at least) the game pays off once you're out on safari.

Gorgeous details and beautifully rendered animals await to be admired and "photographed."

A serious design flaw is that you can't save the pictures you take and they NEVER look as good as they should.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you like to take pictures of animals...

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) May 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...this is your game.

Actually, it was pretty fun the first few go-rounds: get an assignment, drive out to the African tundra, spot some wildlife, hide in a bush and wait a little bit, snap some pics, drive back, upload the pics, get your 'grade' and some cash, rinse, repeat.

The graphics are actually really good. It's kind of relaxing. There is a fair amount of accuracy - my wife says so - she spent 6 months doing this sort of thing in Africa - so it's an 'educational' game as well.

But I got bored of driving around taking pictures after a while, so I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game

posted by BillSmurf (CASPER, WY) May 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Afrika is a game like Pokemon Snap, just not as good (Pokemon Snap is one of my favorite games). This is why.
Story: You are a photographer is Africa that...well...takes pictures. There isn't much story.
Gameplay: Like Pokemon Snap, you go around taking pictures of animals, and no, you won't see Pikachu here. It's pretty darn good. Unfortunately, load times are awful. In the time I wrote this review, I'm still trying to spend the night in a tent. So, over 30 minutes at least. This is ridiculous, and just plain bad. However, many animals appear, so that's good. Your camera is upgraded throughout the game, making better zoom and other features.
Graphics: Not good, period. While moving with my binoculars, the frame rate dropped, to the point that the hippo in the water looked like a blob. Also, aside from graphics, the music is very nice.
Trophies: Trophies are almost all mission related, and all secret. The platinum is time consuming, but not overly difficult.
Overall, maybe rent this, but not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's Not Bad

posted by vernic34 (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

First off I think IGN was a little harsh with giving this game a 3.5. I think your overall enjoyment with this game will be determined by your interest in the subject. If you are like me and enjoy the animal kingdom and especially cheetahs, you will enjoy this more. Now I'm not saying this game is perfect because it is most certainly not. Nothing can hide the at times choppy framerate and lackluster graphics in some sequences. The jeep you are stuck with is quite possibly the worst part of the experience. All in all though I found this game enjoyable after getting past the flaws above. If you are a fan of unlocking as you go you will enjoy this. I found I kept on playing to unlock more animals and areas. The big game events are also pretty cool and help keep the game a little fresh. Also if you are a trophy person, it doesn't get much easier than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nostalgia for Pokemon Snap

posted by Elranzer (WYNANTSKILL, NY) Nov 11, 2009

Member since May 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you're a gamer that enjoys niche titles such as ocean and photography games, this is the game for you. If you've played and enjoyed Pokemon Snap for the N64 in the past, and were waiting for a successor, this is the game to quench your thirst.

Basically, you run around a 3D sandbox environment, like an extremely simplified version of Grand Theft Auto, with nothing but your camera and your scout vehicle. The basic premise is to locate all 60 animals, take a photo of each and send them back to headquarters, who will then send you missions based on the animal. You will receive missions to take photos of animals in specific poses, action shots, etc. Item upgrades and accessories allow you to take more complex shots.

A small but beautiful musical score accompanies gorgeous textures and character models. The game is officially 720p, and displays flawlessly on a 720p monitor. On a 1080p display, you may notice some artifacts of page tearing that is normal when playing 720p games on it, but it is not very noticeable and doesn't distract from the overall experience.

PS3 trophies compliment your in-game achievements. Patient gamers will easily be able to collect all trophies (including a Platinum trophy) in 20-40 hours of total game time.

If you've taken a chance with niche games such as Endless Ocean, Cooking Mama, Touch Detective, Trauma Center, etc and enjoyed them, you can't go wrong by giving this game a chance. Definitely rent the game first to see if you'll enjoy it before making a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Afrika the journey countinues

posted by maz3618 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

ive never experienced something so visually amazing before in my life, i just wanted to reach out a pet the zebras galloping across my 27 inch 480p tv, i never was so enthralled by a game in my life, next to seamen on dreamcast. MUST HAVE, BUY ASAP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Africa Snapshots

posted by fUch3e (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Considering all you do is walk around and take pictures of animals... it actually is enjoyable. I dont think the younger generation will enjoy but this Old Sckool gamer does.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is what you thought it was

posted by JoshDunk (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am really enjoying this game. If the idea of trekking around on a virtual safari and taking pictures of the vast wildlife interests you, then by all means get this game. The graphics are great, and there is enough variation in the challenges to keep it interesting.

There are two pretty big issues with the game that prevent it from being great, though.

1. No voice acting at all. This is inexcusable, and really a glaring omission. Reading subtitles gets very tedious.
2. Load times. They are bad, but once you get used to the pacing of the game, and not saving every 2 seconds, it's manageable.

Don't be scared to rent or buy this. You will not be disappointed if you know what you're getting into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spiritial succsesor to POKEMON SNAP!? :?

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

the game is solid, and is very diffrent. no killing, which turns about 95 % of evreyone away nowadays but if you like relaxing peaceful games this may be for you. You take pics of animals, thats it. You can sneak up on animals to take a pic while their doing somthing, but if you dont be careful ther will run away. It's is like the n64 game Pokemon snap except you can movie your charecter around. this game was easy to beat, so it wasn't bad, and it does good at what its supposed to be. #1WOOH...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not all bad

posted by giese095 (NEW PRAGUE, MN) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all I don't want anyone to believe what they've heard about robotic looking animals. The animals look amazing and that animal animations are fluid and look absolutely real. They depict Africa very well overall which is what gets this game all of the praise it deserves...however the presentation is fairly poor and that's why this game only gets a 5 out of 10. No one talks, you just get subtitles, and the menus and everything are pretty simple but nothing pretty. There is really no story to pull you in and get you involved in the game. Gameplay is fairly solid considering all you have to do is take pictures. You can change aperture, shutter speed, and exposure on your camera so that's cool. The one big problem I have is that there are no clear objectives on how to advance at some points. You do all the email message missions and then they'll just stop coming in. I'm pretty sure this means you need to discover more species in certain areas but there is no checklist to tell you which ones you're missing and no way of knowing where to look...So it's alright but nothing that's a lot of fun, just cool to look at for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Breath of fresh air that loses itself quickly

posted by BBunny (FALL RIVER, MA) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Yeah, the game is something different, something new. I played it for about 10 hours total. I feel like I've wasted 10 hours of my life. If you enjoy photography you may enjoy the game, but I found myself getting bored with the game itself. It's very repetitive. Get an e-mail, take a picture of this, send the picture through e-mail. Rinse and repeat and you've got the entire game in your hands right there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The K in Afrika Stands for KillMeNow

posted by nateamus (LEXINGTON, KY) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I can't give this a full review because this game just came out of my mailbox, literally 30 minutes ago. My biggest frustration right now is that since the mail has come and gone, it won't be leaving my premises until tomorrow afternoon.

Let me be clear in my disappointment. There comes a point in simulator games where being TOO accurate is a fault. For instance, your safari driver cruises like he's driving Ms. Daisy. You not only have to ride (slowly) to your destination, you have to ride (slooooowly) back.

And then there's the danger of getting too close to vicious animals. I thought the game was going to get exciting when I wandered too far from my safari guide and got a hippo angry at me. But actually... nothing happened. The screen faded out while the hippo was still wagging his tail, visibly annoyed, and I was forced to return to base camp. This makes me upset that this is in the "ACTION Adventure" genre, because clearly, there is nothing you can possibly to do stimulate a sense of action in this game. And I've had more intense adventures in a nursing home when my Grampa was losing his mind.

Oh right, back to the being TOO accurate thing... The main reason I'm upset is that I feel like in the amount of time I spent playing this (less than 15 mins after install time) that I could've driven around town here and taken some even better pictures, of unboring things.

Again, maybe something really amazing happens 5 years into the game, but I'm not waiting it out if I can't even get mauled by an angry hippo on purpose.

This game is perfect if you have high-blood pressure and/or can't lift a real camera to your face. That's why I gave it a 2, because I believe that's how many people in the world will enjoy this game. Two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Afrika: a primitive game

posted by flight1sim (Canton, MI) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This is such a primitive game! Not in the good sense of African safari primitive, but rather in the video game sense. It looks like something on the PS2 from 5 years ago. There is nothing that this game does well.
Long and frequent loading times. Repetitive, boring and predictable cut scenes. There is absolutely no spoken dialog, it's all subtitles. Poor execution on every level. Not something you would expect on a next gen system like the PS3.

They call this a game about photography? I love photography, but this is no game. This is a chore. Painful and annoying.

It's no wonder the publizher was very hesitant about releasing it in the U.S. They're not going to fool many American gamers into buying this garbage. This game will quickly make it's way to the bargain bin...for ten bucks and even then it's a rip off.

What an insult to us PS3 gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ZzZzZz

posted by thefifth (LATHAM, NY) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

HGTV is more entertaining than this played it for 13 min. I timed it. This game is by far the most boring game ive ever played. I dont expect this game to have quite the sale numbers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Less than I expected?

posted by Harihane (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Well, what can I say? It's not amazing, its not terrible. It's meh. I guess the best way to sum it up is that this game sure is... National Geographic-y. I went into Afrika expecting basically the PS3 version of Endless Ocean for the Wii. Essentially a 'go here, interact/photo animals, return to camp' sort of shtick. That is more or less what you get. Again, going off of Endless Ocean, you go to certain locations, interact with area specific animals, while coming across a few new locations and animals. You can get 'attacked' in the game; which basically boils down to a cut scene of a ferocious animal 'chasing' you and you wake up in camp the next day.

I found most of the missions boring, and eventually repetitive. The game touts that you will 'learn real life photography skills!'. Yeah sure. If it revolves around messing around with actual SONY brand camera settings for minimal to no difference in photo outcome then going to the same swamp, taking a picture of the same water buffalo you shot yesterday, but oh wait this time from a different angle!

Gameplay itself is shoddy in my opinion. For example, there is no run per say for your character. Regardless if you're backtracking from a stork or trying to bolt from a lion you're going the same speed. Your Jeep apparently cant even so much as brush up against a bush without having to come to a dead stop so there's that. The Jeep itself handles like a two ton brick on marbles with accelerate and brake being unresponsive at times.

All in all, this is one game I'm glad I got through gamefly as opposed to unknowingly picking up used or having it reluctantly gifted to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for kids

posted by Esperwolf (NEWARK, OH) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

It is a simplistic game with good graphics just not a whole lot of detail. The animals have specific places they can be found so it is easy to notice them. Though it is boring for more experienced gamers after awhile it is great for children. The simpleness and easy controls make it easy to learn and you get freedom to drive yourself after capturing the cheetah hunting. It is a great learning experience for younger audiences and not close minded adults who have experience playing various games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Afrika

posted by kingkong10 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

I thought this game was great. I love how you play as a photographer in africa. But the cool thing is you get mission to do. Like take a picture of an elephant. And it makes you feel like your in africa. The animals to me are great. But if your into shooters then this game isn't for you. it's for gamers who want a new type of genre. But there is a story. But not a big one. Once again don't let the reviews fool you, and it's not for shooters. Unless you like shooting pictures. It is worth a rent. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it!

posted by elohhveeeeee (WAKEFIELD, MA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I'm not a HUGE video game person, but on days off, I do enjoy playing. Other games are a little to hard, and demand endless amounts of time to pass one mission. The great thing I liked about this was, it was easy, the views although fake, were amazing, and the game was just fun. Flash forward to now, and I know a lot about these animals, which is surprising that I even remembered. So at the very least, I learned quite a bit.. Who said you cant learn from video games =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by LayZDevil (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

To sum this game up, it's like Poke'mon Snap, except not as fun. The beginning portion of the game is super boring and unintuitive. What probably kills it for me is that every time you want to play the game, the initial load time, even after installing it to the hard drive, is ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow this game is dull

posted by darkangel2 (SPRING HILL, FL) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Not sure what I was expecting. I knew it wasn't going to be an action packed thrill ride, but I expected more than it was. Graphically is wasn't up to par, the story was dull, and the constant travel back and forth to the base camp made the game annoying at best. Both the Hanna Montana game and Cooking Mama for Wii are better games than this one... and those games are awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not too bad

posted by HersheyRSX (WEST CHESTER, PA) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Im more of an action guy but it was pretty good to play when I was just relaxing. Really the suv you drive around is just too slow and made me lose interest. If you like photography though probably the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse