Rent Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii U, 3DS
GF Rating
3.6

170 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Here's the thing...

posted by kevin1972002 (RICHMOND, VA) Nov 26, 2013

Member since May 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know about this game. I've been a gamer for over 15 years. I love a good dungeon crawler, however this game... is a migrane.

I'm deep in Adventure Time lore also, so the promise of putting two great things together made me giddy. After playing the game for 10 minutes went from snooze fest to headache. So I decided to get my daughter in on the action, and it began to get challenging for her, so it was back to solo. Level 20, I wanted to fling this game out the window, and it took all of me to not act on that emotion.

The idea of playing with more than Finn and Jake was awesome, but getting and keeping treasure... intentional? And you lose all you don't spend? Horrid.

This game deserves bullet holes. Not worth a rent. AT ALL. Not even for a joke.

Sad put out. Dungeon crawler is not the way they should've gone with this title. Sorry, but this game was not math. It was English.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Literally a child's game

posted by RuSS_FaTHeR (ROME, GA) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I heard that there was going to be an Adventure Time game, I got excited. I love the show. I understand that it is a cartoon, so I wasn't expecting Diablo when I put this game in my Q.
This game is terrible. Like the other critiques stated, the voice acting is just like the show, but the comedy seemed forced. Another issue is the lack of depth to the game. The dungeon is way to simple and the reward system is shoddy. I felt like I was picking up trash; move here, slash the sword 3x, pick up treasure, move over there: rinse, wash, and repeat. The dungeon is a boxed maze, just with different overlays. The upgrades cost too much and hardly make a difference. Maybe I wanted too much from the game, but the best way to describe is that it is a poor man's diablo. A poor man that likes to be bored. I tried several times to get into this game. It just wasn't happening. Sorry Pendleton, I love the show; just not the game. I know it's wrong to criticize a game I didn't complete, but this game is hard to grind through. 2 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hmm

posted by deathkiss1013 (MOUNT WOLF, PA) Aug 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

Kids didnt like was to old school arcade for them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is Terrible.

posted by samusnlink (GILROY, CA) Jun 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

Under no circumstances should you rent or waste any money on this game. It is terrible. The gameplay is repetitive. It is impossible to buy anything until you are almost all the way through the game due to the very idiotic dungeon system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Adventure Time: Explore the dungeons... THAT SUCK

posted by micdanchris Jun 17, 2014

I'm a huge adventure time fan and when i got this game i thought it was so disappointing!

1. It's the same dungeon repeated
2. It's a huge disappointment to Adventure Time fans
3. Enemies can be killed so easily.

If you are like me and love Adventure Time then stay faraway from this piece of junk!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It's a trap

posted by CrackerLoc (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 12, 2014

Member since May 2014

I got this game because i figured it would be an easy 1k gp, which was only half true due to the fact of how monotonous the gameplay is. Furthermore, this game loves to freeze (at least for me) at the most inopportune moments. I'm not even sure i would recommend this for your kids, unless you're trying to punish them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Game

posted by puddleglum62 (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

My Son Rated this title and thought it was good. I think it's fair to weak as you soon tire of playing it after a few levels. You have to gain a lot of treasures before you go back to Bubblegum so you can actually get some decent treasures / upgrades. If you don't spend them you pay them back to Bubblelum as candy taxes! For real?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rent this Game Because I Know!

posted by Styro (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

If you like Adventure time and the old school look of an 8 Bit Game... This is for you! Unfortunately the Nostalgia will wear off after a bit. That's why you rent this instead of buying it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Obnoxiously Repetetive

posted by eggsofsatan (RIDGEFIELD, CT) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

As an Adventure Time fan, I thought the humor from the show would at the very least prevent a sub-par game from being truly horrible. After playing it for five minutes, I realized that was not to be the case. I offered the game instead to my 5-year-old nephew, who is himself a whiz at games. He hated it. Not because he couldn't figure out how to play it, but because it sucked. Repetitive, boring, stupid dungeons and nonsensical quests. Skip this. Skip this right in the ear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No no no no no

posted by hellofelipe (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

This is probably the worst game I've played on my X360. Which is such a shame because I was so excited when this title was coming out! The levels are boring, the gameplay is mega slow (unless you have a fast feet token) The whole treasure system is HELLA ANNOYING. I wouldn't even have minded it all too much... if at least the characters somewhat sounded like they're supposed to. At least Lumpy Space Princess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by Deadpoolio (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

It's like the same thing over again, the attacks, the monsters, and the same dungeons, also it gets pretty boring..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad but good

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Let me start with this game has the worst save points ever every 5-6 levels I died on level 24 and had to go all the way back to 19 And not to mention the treasure you don't spend you lose I needed to upgrade my thumps and it cost 100 I had 92 I forgot it was 100 and came out I went back in the dungeon and I lost it all sent It back next day worth a quick rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

poor, but not terrible

posted by Douglas (PITTSBURGH, PA) Dec 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2003

I didn't find the game to be quite as bad as other reviewers indicated. It's sort-of like a mediocre version of the original "Gauntelt" with an Adventure Time skin. There's not much more too it than that, but it's not bad AS that. If it were a $5 XBLA game, I might even consider buying it. (But it's not worth the full retail price, and it's not worth tying up a rental slot for very long.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game

posted by jacksanto (NACOGDOCHES, TX) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

i just got game fly and it seems cool but i was trying to get titanfall and it gives me this this game gets old quick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

...they had all the pieces

posted by hellmoose (SALEM, MA) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

With the actual voice actors and creators of Adventure time helping with this game, we were prepared for an awesome magical adventure in the land of Ooo. We were sorely disappointed.

The game may be fun for a younger crowd, however, older age groups should steer clear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unacceptable Conditions!!!

posted by roguece11 (HELENA, AL) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2007

The designers had no excuse on this one. The AT world is full of amazing characters and plenty of plots and sub-plots to base a game on. The execution of this game design is just aweful and I really feel like I've played indie games in Xbox Arcade that were better. I couldn't play it past 1hr.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok

posted by bluehornet (BAY CITY, MI) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fans of Adventure Time...DO NOT PLAY!

posted by Brackish (CENTRE, AL) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2009

I'm going to keep this short and sweet, but I wanted to take the time to inform everyone that this game is not worth playing in the least. I have a hard time finding a single iota of joy slugging through tiresome, randomized levels just to get to the exit. It's not so much the premise behind the game but rather the gameplay mechanics that were HORRIBLY designed. No online multiplayer. Can't keep your leftover money if you return to the surface. If you die, you lose all of your equipped badges and sub-weapon as well as half of your money. I could go on. This is just not worth any amount of time investment...at all. AVOID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by marc123 (RIDGEFIELD PARK, NJ) Nov 30, 2013

Member since May 2010

I PLAYED IT FOR 30 MINUTES AND IT WAS BORING DONT RENT IT AT ALL WORST GAME EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not even worth renting

posted by MUSTURDLUBE (MURFREESBORO, TN) Nov 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This is one of the worst games I have ever played and I have played many terrible games. I played this game for 30 minutes and than sent it back. Incredibly repetitive and boring. Not worth renting on gamefly. Trust me don't do it, you will regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Repetitiveness tends to hurt more than help.

posted by IcemanX88 (MEADVILLE, PA) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

I'm glad I rented this.

Gameplay: Other than B for special moves and Y for sub weapons, the combat is all X button.

Graphics: Although graphics don't make a game, this game has Super Nintendo graphics. Town is colorful while the dungeons are pretty meh.

Sound: Theme song in chiptune is pretty cool, but dungeon music is very bland.

Plot : What plot? Hack away and clear floors while never leaving the dungeon, otherwise the tax forces you to lose ALL your money. Not like you can afford upgrades anyway.

Replay value: None

Final verdict: Don't even bother with this. Get Cartoon Network's Punch Time Explosion for a better CN game. 2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Avoid the Dungeon, Because It's Boring

posted by Biggoron (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Graphics: Technically, this game's graphics remind me a lot of the Super Nintendo, but not in a bad way. However, on an artistic level, this game doesn't impress. While the character models and the "town" area are colorful and look very much like the show this game is based on, the game's one dungeon is flat, grey, and dull. The characters also have very, very few animations. Each character has exactly one basic attack you'll see thousands of times, and a sparse few more frames for useless special attacks and item usage.

Sound: The music also brings to mind a bygone age of chiptunes that endlessly repeat, but not in a good way this time. The character's voices all seem to match the show, which is nice, I guess.

Controls: The controls are basic enough, but while your characters can move in 8 directions, your attacks can only go in 4 directions. When attacking, your character stops moving for a few seconds. Far too long in a button-masher like this for your characters to fall inches short of hitting a target and get frozen in place for a free counterattack.

Gameplay: While this game does have a superficial similarity to Diablo, this game makes Diablo look like Total War in terms of complexity. This game is so basic and repetitive, I knew everything there is to know about this game within the first 5 minutes of gameplay.

There is a leveling system wherein you use treasure from the dungeon to pay to train your characters. But the upgrades are expensive, you lose all unused treasure every time you leave town, and the game will rob you blind any chance it gets. After beating the first boss, I was automatically brought back to town. I couldn't afford any upgrades, so I went back to the dungeon, but not before the princess took all my treasure! So I had no choice but to lose everything I'd worked for.

Other: The only reason I give this game a 2 and not a 1 is because it at least doesn't seem to have any major bugs. This game would be mediocre even on the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »