Rent Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW for Wii U
view large frontback

Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, 3DS
GF Rating
4.1

39 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

disappointed

posted by Licenz2kill (HERCULES, CA) Dec 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game could have been so much more, but after the first 15 levels and no fundamental change in the way the game played, i just had to put the controller down. Even the games scenery stayed the same; it was just a dungeon. the levels were rearranged and got bigger and characters were unlocked but i just cant see myself playing anymore. if your looking for an adventurous platformer try another game. multiplayer did make it a little more bearable though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive!!

posted by Warlace (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

Even my 5 year old hated this game after about 30mins. Sad, something as big as AT could let something this horrible out in the free world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST.GAME.EVER

posted by MonocleMan (HANOVER TOWNSHIP, PA) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Guys, this game is something I would expect on a Sega Genesis, it almost seems like a port of Gauntlet, the levels are repetitive and only my 5 year old liked it. TERRIBLE GAME DO NOT RENT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Single player on Wii U (played 50+ floors)

posted by AlwaysPlay (MANHASSET, NY) Jan 3, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I would give this game a try if you want to play together with other fans of Adventure Time. It seems to be made for multiplayer. I've only played alone.

Okay, so the characters are fun because they chatter as you play them. B-MO constantly making comments on the Wii U gamepad is great. The real voices of the show are here. Otherwise, nothing else made me want to keep playing.

I love dungeon crawlers and watch Adventure Time, but the core of this game is empty and repetitive. The dungeons are dull to look at and explore. Since each floor is basically a big square with changing walls and pits, the boundaries become predictable and there's not much to exploring. The main goal is finding treasure to level up your character.

The other thing you'll be doing is fighting enemies for treasure drops, which they don't do often, so later on you might start ignoring them when you can. If you decide to fight, you'll be facing few different enemies that do the same patterns every time. There's no experience gained for fighting unless they drop treasure, but you'll mostly find it lying around the dungeon floor.

The themes of the levels will change as you continue to lower floors (to ice or caves with electric walls), and you'll face a boss maybe every tenth floor. I had a small itch to continue to see what else was ahead, but after losing my speed token (increases speed) from dying to a boss, I didn't want to continue on at a slower pace.

So, if it wasn't for the talking characters and a bit of the show's humor, the single player game would be a 2/10. If picking up treasure wasn't necessary, I would be running for each floor's exit since I didn't find the fighting or exploring much fun.

But again, I played alone. Maybe gather some friends and give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Let's Explore Together

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I am a total Adventure Time fan, and like with most shows I'm a fan of I always look forward to the games based off them. I was excited to hear about Adventure Time getting a second game, and I was even more excited to find out it's a hack-and-slash style dungeon crawler with multiplayer. Playing it was awesome, while somewhat repetitive, it also has alot of replay value. That comes from randomly designed dungeon layouts by the computer, unknown amounts of treasure you can loot, and the many quests available, plus the great choice of playable characters. Supposedly it plays like the Diablo series, but without a level system and instead of an HP meter you have hearts that are depleted by half every time you're hit, so it's easy. Look, bottom line, it's a fun game and perfect for any fan of Adventure Time and fans of videogames, I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Awesome"

posted by hoosierrican (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

My kids (ages 11 and 6) think this game is excellent.

Positive Comments:
- "lots of different characters"
- "can attack anything"
- "plays like "The Legend of Zelda"
- "game is retro (style)"

Negative Comments
- "A and B button configuration"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »