Rent Advance Wars: Dual Strike for DS
view large frontback

Advance Wars: Dual Strike

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

948 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Strategy Game

posted by Kimoon (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

The Advance Wars series has provided a deep strategy game for the Game Boy Advance and now has done so for the DS. While the Advance Wars: Black Hole was a marginally improved game from the original the DS version makes a big enough leap in terms of new features but maintains the original gameplay that veterans of the series has learn to love.

The graphics of the game are quirky. Even though it is a deep involved war simulation the game has very cute graphics. Oddly enough it works. The games battle animations and the facial expression of the commanders as they win and lose battles are often hysterical to watch. However with that said, you will turn off the animation since they do get repetitive.

The turning of the animation isn’t a knock against its graphics though. It is more of a testament to the addictive gameplay. The game is so good you will want to squeeze in many turn as possible. The game AI is awesome and will give plenty of challenge to anyone. There is a decent storyline in to the main campaign and the game also has enough maps and CO to extend the life of the game as a single player or multiplayer.

The features of the DS are implemented well into the game. The top screen usually displays information on either terrain or unit that has been selected. While you can control your units with the stylus should you choose to do so. One of the new features is a double screen battle. Where air units will fight on the top screen (automatically, but you have to send reinforcement) while ground troops fight on the bottom. This adds a whole new tactical element to the game. The other new feature is using two CO. This adds a lot of new strategical elements since each CO has advantages and disadvantages.

Advance Wars DS will be instantly familiar to those who played the series before but has enough new features to make the game fun again. For those new to the series this is easily the best game of the bunch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Extremely Fun and Highly Addictive Strategy Combat

posted by HybridMark (SAMMAMISH, WA) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game improves upon everything that the GBA games had. Those games were great, of course, but this one was even better. And I can't tell you how addicted I was to it. There were missions that made me so angry because I'd have to replay them several times, but I could not take a break and come back later. I HAD to beat them.

Check this game out if you like strategy games like Fire Emblem (although this does not have RPG elements, I still believe any Fire Emblem fan would absolutely love it). Great characters, cool story, awesome vehicles. Rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Only for those who have played the previous games!

posted by gameexpert13 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The difficulty in this game is high so it's pretty much labeled that you should first get some practice with the 2 previous games before playing this one. Problem is gamefly doesn't have them available. otherwise this would be a fantastic game for those who love strategy games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Old-School Advance Wars Title

posted by ichiji (OAKLAND, CA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The original Advance Wars was simply one of the best games ever on GBA. It was also a great strategy game in its own right -- electronic or not. At a certain point I decided I should just cement it into my GBA because I didn't want to play anything else. (Until I found Megaman Battle Network, but that's another story.)

This title goes back to the original formula, and that's all good. The last title (Days of Whatsit) got too far away from that. This title is back to the old look and feel, and the old mood -- more upbeat. The mission maps are well designed and just the right amount of challenge.

My only gripe about this title is that it doesn't have the many War Room maps that the last title did. Also, I wished I could turn off the special CO features -- I prefer the "pure" game play. (Maybe there were settings to change this but I did not find them, though I completed the mission storyline.) The "tag" feature seemed a bit like cheating to me, and I barely liked it more when it was my turn to take advantage of it than when it was used against me.

But those are minor gripes. It's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Instant Classic

posted by Kagenin (ROCKLIN, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This is one of those "must have" titles for DS. The gameplay is simple to learn, but the strategies are deep and complex - a lot like chess or other strategy-type board games. The music is really good, actually, and the graphics are pretty good, too.

If you like deep gameplay that you can spend hours engrossed in, pick it up. If you trip over your own IQ, and require a game with gratuitous sexuality or violence, well, then don't waste your time. Maybe get a PSP instead?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I hate it

posted by btlejongo (MODESTO, CA) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 60 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

upon entering this game i thought i was in luck. i read all the other reviews and they all say that this is the bestest game for the DS or whatever.

The first thing i noticed about this game was the very dorky main character. he by far wins my award for the most dorkiest character EVER. he says things like..."word" and (a direct quote) "you should be all like, what up now black hole" i guess they were just trying to make this person seem and talk like a real person would in today's world, but it just looks stupid when its written down and especially when its in a video game.

i must be really handicapped or something because i thought this game, though it seemed quite solid, was very hard! i couldn't even pass the 5th mission or so. i must have missed something, because i had no idea how to use each unit to its full potential.

i just don't agree with the people that say that this is a 10 or that this is a must have for the DS. i just plain didn't like it. it didn't interest me and i thought it was very ...lame. so with this i concluded and realized that i don't like war strategy games... or just strategy games in general.

-Good Gaming.....Jongo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good

posted by BlackDog33 (HARVEST, AL) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Simple, old-school, turn-based war game, with some basic RPG elements for the COs. Very well done interface - makes it really easy to play "just one more turn/level".

Didn't like the anime drama between missions (and didn't see a way to skip it entirely). Simple game style would have fit in better 10 years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Strategy Game

posted by dabluesman (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Advance Wars Dual Strike is a great game. It has decent AI to battle against, and there are a ton of maps. You can earn experience points and choose which abilities you want to unlock (each ability allows for a bonus modifier to a particular stat if you turn that ability on for a game). You can also use credits that you earn for playing to unlock more people, more maps, harder difficulty levels, etc. Campaign mode is challenging, especially if you want to go for all the best ranks (S-ranks) for each battle. A new mode introduced this go around allows for an action game where you can choose a CO, and control a tank, infantry, or artillery in real time and go around blasting the enemy. It is a great way to blow off some steam in between a few of the longer battle maps. In all, this game should be a definite buy game (not just rent) for any strategy fan out there. Unfortunately, it is very hard to find (the sequel is out, but I like this version better). Rent it and you will see what I mean. It's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Strategy Plus 2000, and it's Even Mini

posted by bajjer (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

There have been plenty of classic games within the mere RTS genre (real-time strategy), and a number have hit the Gameboy platform. However, never has one exactly embraced the concept to an extent that we can find in board games and what-not. Two series that hit the American market several years ago onto the Gameboy Advanced were both Advanced Wars and Fire Emblem, which many gamers cherished almost instantly the time of release. Although unfortionate, a Nintendo DS form of Fire Emblem was never developed, an Advanced Wars was into this game, Advanced Wars: Dual Strike.

Intelligent Systems even did a great job improving several points of the game's system. We are met at first with a chunky amount of gameplay of several different menus more than before, such as the War Room (this shouldn't seem new), survival, and combat, among others. More noticeable are the refreshing three-dimensional graphics, an improvement from the previous 2D prequels. In more depths can find a much smarter AI that can pose to be a challenge, and the famous strategic value this game's series delivers. It is true, though, that Andy from GameInformer gave undoubtfully correct judgement about the game's strength in strategy above most other games; it is far above average in challenge, intricacy, and innovation from any modern or past RTS (more specifically, tbs, turn-based strategy) the game industry has seen. If you are looking for a video game to tickle your logic like Checkers, then Dual Strike is simply perfect for you.

Here is where a mature underdog, above most other games of this genre, is located. It includes enough of a superior AI, different gameplays, and strategic system that can last one almost as long as any modern online-multiplayer game. Really, it does happen to hold an unforgettable play in the industry, and we hope to see that again in the upcoming sequel, Advanced Wars: Days of Ruin, set to release January of 2008.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST DS GAME EVER

posted by jkranger (TULSA, OK) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

This is the best game I have ever played on the DS. It has everything that made the GBA games great, and the dual screen makes a nice addition. Sometimes you have two battlefields, but it never gets overwhelming. Perfect turn-based strategy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must have for the DS

posted by Well111111 (NEWARK, DE) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Quite simply the best game i own on the DS.
The only reason this game could get a low rating is because people that don't like tactical games (like this one) play the game don't get how to play there-fore thinking it's too hard and give the game a unfair score.
I AW:ds is a turn-based tactical game similar to chess, but not as complex. Very fun and worth the money to buy cause when your bored, this game is a great time killer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The perfect strategy game

posted by Bonnie (ANCHORAGE, AK) May 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

I'm not a hardcore strategy gamer, but when I played Dual Strike, I was truly impressed. The game is somewhat reminiscent of chess in that you'll really want to think carefully and consider your options before you make your move. Which brings me to what I found most impressive about this game: It's wide array of options and concepts.
The game is relatively simple at first, getting introducing you to many different tactics. Then, as the name implies, you are introduced to a type of battle in which you have two battlegrounds: one on on the bottom screen and one on the top screen. You only control the battle on the top screen, but its very important that you keep an eye on the top screen as well. You'll have the option of sending reinforcements up to the battle on the top screen (which usually takes place in the sky), and changing your comrade A.I.'s fighting style. What style you choose is heavily dependent on what you are trying to accomplish.
As I mentioned before, you'll truly feel like a commander as you survey the battlefield and look over your options as you decide your next move. Although you'll want to try to eliminate enemy forces, it's not always so simple (or smart) to just charge your opponent in a full frontal assault. Each type of unit has a limited amount of fuel and ammo (each time a unit moves, it uses up fuel/rations relative to the distance it travels.). You'll also come across factories, which you'll want to capture for producing more units. Factories are a very good way to rally an army. To defeat your opponent, you'll need to either defeat all of his units or capture his HQ, which is the "king piece" of chess. If ur HQ is captured, you lose.
However, almost all games have a downside of some kind. The game might get boring for those of you that don't like strategy games, and the amount of options you have is almost overwhelming.
This game is a must have for those of you that love a good puzzle or strategy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Strategy games

posted by Chainsawed (MONTEREY, CA) May 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

If you don't like them, stay away. Okay? Starcraft, Command and Conquer, Age of Empires. These are all games just like it. Only imagine it's turn based. So you make a move, then the opponent makes of move. Like chess right? Well, I wasn't crazy about a strategy game but I did give this game a shot. In the end, I didn't like it. So if you don't like strategy games either, STAY AWAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not much new...

posted by pixelator (SAN RAFAEL, CA) Apr 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

I kept expecting huge new gameplay features with dual screens and that the touchscreen of the DS would add a dimension to the gameplay, but neither happened to my level of expectation.

The graphics seem to be a step backward from the previous two GBA outings for this franchise, and the dual battlefield scenarios are somewhat tiresome. I also found it quicker and easier to manage units with the d-pad and buttons... So much for the touchscreen making a difference.

Just not as great as I'd hoped, but still the best turn based strategy game on DS (or PSP).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gotta rent it!

posted by killaxdawg (HONOLULU, HI) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The original game came was launched in gameboy advance a few years back. The DS version of the sequel was greatly improved. From graphics, to tactics, this game is a must have! Don't even worry if you have not played the earlier version. I would have given this game a higher rating if the animation and other things were upgraded from the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOWEE!!!

posted by DrPepper (BROOMFIELD, CO) Nov 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

Still in my DS to this day. I have played through story 3 times and have completed all other modes twice. It never gets old!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Strategy Evovled

posted by Pizzalogic (DAVIE, FL) Sep 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2006

This is the third installment of Adavnce Wars. This time, the war takes place on 2 screens. The top screen displays your info on units and terrain. while the bottum screen shows the battle field like the classic Advance wars. The game plays much better then the last, becuase of the Touch screen. There is also a real time combat mode that allows u to battle other people or computer players, by shooting your enemy.

Pros: Improved units, missions and, maps. Touch screen used well. Both screens used together in very creative styles. With a TON of lasting apeal.

Cons: No online play. And DS download play, only lets u play real time combat mode.

All in All: A very interested, fun addictive game. You will not be disopointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

shut up

posted by mrgamer (SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ) Sep 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

the gameplay in this game is good but if you want to follew the story line the dont stop talking. alos it doesnt always work when you want to press the fire or wait button. but over all it was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 2, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

This is an exceptional game. I have played many war-strategy type of games (including all on the ds and tons on pc) and i have never sunk to the depths of entertainment as i am, right now, with this title. with the fun stylus use, the entertaining characters, and the story itself this is a very very good game. Easily one of my top five on the nintendo ds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For most gamers,you cant go wrong with this game.

posted by mooserule (LARCHMONT, NY) Jul 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

As Nintendos handheld rolled out onto shelves, many were wondering when this game would hit the shelves more than any other. The advance wars games on G.B.A were extremely popular, and this game doesn't disappoint either. Although the story is clichéd, you wont really care once you get into combat. Whether you have to build up and army and destroy your enemy, capture an objective or do other more specific thing, its fun and the gamplay is incredibly easy to pick up and play, There are even more new units to wreak havoc on your foes, such as the Megatank, a tank that has 5 massive barrels that wastes almost all enemies in one blow, The Aircraft carrier, which can hold and refuel Jets and other aerial vehicles, and the stealth fighter/bomber, which can cloak to move undetected. However, no unit is invincible, and a number of balances in advance wars make sure there are no "just get this and you win" units. For instance, the megatank is vastly expensive, and has only 3 barrages before having to be restocked, either at base or by an APC. The Aircraft carrier can only attack air units, and can only hold 2 air units at a time. And the Stealth fighter/bomber, when cloaked, loses fuel at almost twice the normal rate. There are also special units in certain missions, such as huge, artillery-turret lined bases, massive bomb dropping airships and later, even a satellite(i wont reveal its purpose, for spoiler reasons). So there is a variety in the missions that other games of this genre lack. Sometimes, though, the missions do feel either cheap or exact copy's of previous missions, but happens mainly to people new to the series, but even still, they should put this on their Q. Along with single player, there's skirmishes, a map editor and competitive multi player via 2 or more DS`s. So if your a fan of the series or an turn based strategy lover, this game is a 9 for you. But for people who aren't too interested(but should still try it)I give this game an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Turn Based Strategy / Tactics DS Style

posted by Unwound (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 5, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Turn Based Strategy / Tactics games have long been a passion of mine, and this game has quickly become my favorite in the genre.

Why would I prefer this game over say Civilization IV, Heroes of Might and Magic V, or Final Fantasy Tactics? Simply put, this game combines many of the best attributes that have led to the success of the aforementioned franchises.

Advance Wars: Dual Strike has a friendly approachable cartoonish style appropriate for any age group. The Game play is easy to grasp, but quickly becomes more complicated as you are pitted against greater odds, and increasingly complicated AI's. The Scenarios in the game often are simple enough to complete in less than half an hour, which by my opinion is right on the money for a portable game.

This is a game that I would recommend to anyone who owns a DS system. Especially if they enjoy the Turn Based Genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Salem17 (BRONX, NY) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

this is probably my favorite ds title it has great game play and many game modes and alot to unlock and also has fun character's and delightful music if u have not played it i would rent it right away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GOOD TO GO GAME!

posted by R0MN3y (REEDLEY, CA) May 3, 2006

Member since May 2005

Advance Wars is back on the DS. The first two were classics, but this is a legend. New duelstrike power, duelstrike is when you save your two peoples(thats right TWO people in one battle because another new feature called tag battle)super power and unleashing it at once. You have one turn with one power and then you switch and use the other guys power. There are new people to use and a better wireless mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »