Rent Ace Combat: Assault Horizon for PS3
view large frontback

Ace Combat: Assault Horizon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

1794 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good Game, Okay Simulation

posted by FalconACE032 (TULSA, OK) Dec 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

Overall, I was pleased with this game.

It has great graphics and has an awesome dogfight view. The jets are accurate (names, mission, structure, place of machine gun, etc.). The plot is also very interesting. Not to mention the Apaches, AC-130's, and Blackhawk gunners you get to control.

The only minus is the controls- it's not like a joystick; you can roll left, pitch up, and stay on the artificial horizon all just by moving the stick to the left. Also, you can preform a counter maneuver by simply reducing speed, banking, leveling, and pressing the two triggers simultaneously (it looks like the move Maverick did on a MiG-29 in Top Gun).

So, if you're looking for a fun, near realistic, easy to fly fighter jet game (not a hard-core simulation), this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother

posted by Spaceman666 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 12, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I played every Ace Combat and was looking forward to this, but this is just terrible. Bad dogfighting, bad graphics, completely frustrating gameplay, even on easy for crying out loud.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Somewhat disapointed

posted by Arioch (BUNNELL, FL) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Does not live up to ace combat series fun but i found i wanted more from it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Junk!!!

posted by TOMMYV723 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is going right back in the mailbox!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not as good

posted by mikebeebe9 (LEWES, DE) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Not as good as the previous Ace Combats. You cannot roll the aircraft, which is essential to performance in a dogfight. I never got past the first mission as I was frustrated with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I should have listened...

posted by Slade_Raccoon (LAKELAND, FL) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I tend to ignore user reviews because I've found some real gems that other people hated, but in this one instance, I really should have listened. I have always loved the Ace Combat series, even the ones that were on the PSP that were a slight departure from what I had come to expect. In this case, however, it was so far from what I was used to that I was immediately turned off, but I persisted. I was sure that underneath all the strange, new mechanics, the game would start to shine.

I hated the controls, foremost. It felt like I was fighting to make the plane do the things I had come to expect. Like trying to roll through the air to follow an enemy while the controls were trying to auto-level the plane. I thought having flight assist off would let me do that, but apparently not.

I didn't mind the extras in the game, such as being the gunner on the chopper or on the AC-130. It helped to break up the monotony. It was just everything else. And the story, especially. When I was part of the Demons of Razgriz, I felt like I was part of something. This left me feeling like I was just an observer, watching everything unfold.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ace Combat: Assault Horizon

posted by Solaralien (NORMAN, OK) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well to begin with i've been an Ace Combat fan since Ace Combat:Electrosphere on PS2. I had went to the local Wal-mart @ 12am just to get it as soon as possible! Low & behold......Ace Combat: Assault Horizon was very bad! I don't mind change,but this was lame! Gone are the days of free flight air combat! I could go on about how this game is a flop to the most hardcore Ace fans like myself. Namco you broke my heart!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Who wants to play tetris

posted by Axisfighter (WAUNAKEE, WI) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think tetris is about par with my enjoyment of this game.
Ive loved ace combat for years. The nice story lines and the fun combat, butt this just killed it.
Its the first ace cobat game I coudn't complete. Dispite wanting to rush through the other missions to fly a plane and the plane parts was a nice add on, the combat itself was poor at best. Constantly haveing to dog fight to kill opponents and constantly being engaged in a dog fight by opponents who at times took days to get off your six. You also could fire 50 missles and hit nothing but air as the enemy fighters turn on a dime at 600mph. The game took away from being a pilot and turned it to another arcade game. They say if it ain't broke don't fix it. So now that it is broke. I just hope they fix it.

Or im just gonna stick to tetris for my arcade game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Action packed!

posted by CheoSpecV (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

As a fan of the Ace Combat series I really liked it. Some of the missions are a little frustrating even on easy. But overall it is a good game. I recommend you try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

They lost the magic.

posted by Hoot508 (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I'm a big fan of the Ace Combat series. The last title, "Fires of Liberation", was not only entertaining but made me feel proud because of the story. This new title does not get me involved. In fact I found myself trying to beat missions as fast as I could so that the game experience would be over. Flying the Apache helicopter was a terrible experience, it made me feel so sick with the weird camera angles that kept me crashing to buildings. The DFM (Dog Fight Mode) was a cool novelty the first few times I used it. But it quickly became an annoyance to use. My final complaint is that we don't get all the fantastical machines, like the flying aircraft carrier, in this one seeing as they are trying for a more realistic (??) approach. Maybe because of Modern Warefare and such they figured this is what gamers want. I only hope that with Ace Combat 8, whenever that may be, namco goes back to the old formula that we grew to love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great games

posted by tracee (HARRISBURG, PA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

sent back yesterday 8/16/12 and i also sent back the brain game today 8/17/12

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too far of a departure

posted by tedcrain (PINE RIVER, WI) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is too far from the rest of the series. Dog Fight Mode (DFM) about the dumbest thing I have ever seen. You have to remember that I traded my original 80GB PS3 for a XBOX360 Arcade because Ace combat fires of liberation was not availible on PS3. I have waited for every game in the series with anticipation. I loved the Ace Combat Series, until now. This game is horrible. The story line sucks. They even changed the controls. I had high hopes for this game but I am sadly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game in air shooter games

posted by Emogothking1 (DEMING, NM) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

nothings bad idk why people have numered out bad things GET A LIFE NOOBS . one of the misosn when your in the city were theres vehicles and less buildings as i expected a weapon explodes i think it was a nuke or sumthing

But anyways back at the milatary camp, there were miltary EMS rushing through iwth a person but the saddest thing about that person was that he was a bloody skelton

BUT, i completed this whole game and i keep replaying it until i get the hang of flying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ace Combat AH

posted by dsiwilliam (SCHLATER, MS) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I was pleased enough with this game to buy it. Dogfight mode is a neat feature that gets you in close to enemy fighters and lets you tear them up with missles and machine guns. I was thrilled with it, and there are many planes to choose from and fly. The graphics are amazing and better than games like HAWX. This is also a much more fast paced and thrilling flying simulator than HAWX. The online multiplayer is good too with several modes such as deathmatch, capital conquest, and mission co-op. There is no free flight mode unfortunately, and two of my favorite fictional super planes did not return. The bad words and suggestive theme can be taken out with the games voice volume, and subtitles can be disabled. I did, however, notice an irritating bug. Sometimes, at fixed points, subtitles may appear anyway, and in one instance a curse word was displayed. This can be remedied, for the most part, by changing subtitle language to Spanish or French in which case the subtitles were not shown at this point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I Don't Know

posted by Star_kogi (MOUNT PROSPECT, IL) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Assault Horizon had a good story line, but the thing that makes it not ok is the gameplay. What im talking about is DFM or DogFight Mode, it takes all of the "Dogfight" out of the game. I want to chase my target down, not let the computer guide me while i just shoot. Most importantly there are multiple points in the story where you have to engage a target in DFM and even then he can only be killed after a certain amount of time; you can shoot missle after missle and he won't die, but as soon as he passes that smoke stack one bullet takes him down. The older Ace Combats were far better, in my eyes, with the gameplay. One nice thing i have to say is A. H. had one of the best story lines in the series. I just like it to be as realistic as possible and DFM is most certainly not realistic. I don't hate it but i feel they messed up big on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too far from the series

posted by Xianomaz (ASHEVILLE, NC) May 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The team behind Ace Combat: Assault Horizon took a bold step in trying to show the destruction each of your missiles cause in comparison to the former PlayStation entries (Haven't played the PSP or Xbox 360 entry).

However the main thing they did terribly was make it impossible to turn off the hand holding. To some of the more seasoned Ace Combat players it becomes painfully obvious that it is now impossible to fly how -you- want to.

Every time you try to corner into an evasive pilot, the game pulls you back into the corner. This becomes painfully obvious when you have a fast mover that decides to circle your plane for a few seconds. Gone are the days when you could twist your plane through the turn and come out directly behind the assaulting craft.

To those of us that have grown accustomed to flipping the belly of their plane into the arc for firing a missile for that extra bit of accuracy, the game forcibly levels the plane whenever you let go of the stick. Gone are the days of rolling your plane to get off a quick fire to down an ace before he starts to evade you again.

Instead, this has been replaced with Dogfight Mode. Which is a brilliant move if it wasn't forced into the game in a way to restrict experienced pilots. It makes great strides in allowing people with less experience to enjoy the game at the cost of free flight and the sense of a true win over a very difficult AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Truly a bad game

posted by JoeBoo69 (REDMOND, OR) May 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

This is by far one of the worst games i have ever played. Its rated as a 6.1, i think this is a joke that i fell for

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good... best jetfigher simulation for console

posted by goldfinger (HOUSTON, TX) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

this game is good, but it is not the most realistic flight simulator...

i think this is the best jet fighter for consoles, I'm a hardcore flight-simulator fan & even tho this game isn't about physics, it looks real & is smooth to fight multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

LAME!!!

posted by mw3pooop (ELLSWORTH, KS) May 18, 2012

Member since May 2012

Highs...Graphics...Nothing else

Lows...Gameplay was MONOTONOUS. So monotonous, couldn't make it past the first couple levels...super weak sauce. Add to it, they shouldn't call it Assault Horizon...more like DogFight DooDoo...that was all they wanted you to do. Online play was horrible too. Always got host kicked off...Just lame all around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't buy it

posted by lincoln1alpha (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Really fun up until mission 10. Then it just get so annoying and frustrating that I didn't bother finishing game and just sent it back. The first few levels were fun but this level just ruined it. I play flight sims all the time and when it takes me 45 mins to get past 1 checkpoint in 1 level on EASY, it just completely ruins the game. Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyed it a lot

posted by jsmooth2010 (TYLER, TX) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

First off, this is not really like other ace combat games. It's not ac 4 or 5, but it is still a very fun game. Story is half way decent. Best part to me was the music. Game play is very fun. Graphics are also very good. I loved this game very much, but after you beat the game, there isn't much of a point in keeping it, so I say definitely rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

More bad than good make this crash and burn

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Apr 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

"Ace Combat: Assault Horizon" starts off well. This iteration of the series brings us to real world locales, as you begin in a battle over Miami. Graphics are decent, and for the moment, story seems to be better than past titles. The game mixes things up a bit, moving you from the jet cockpit to being a gunner on an attack chopper to chopper pilot and even manning the guns on an AC-130 ala Modern Combat. Problem is, despite these efforts, the game never rise to what it aspires to be, which is more COD than Ace Combat. Controls can be awkward and loose, and your friendly AI is often useless to you, rarely lending a helping hand and making you do all the work. That would be fine if controls were tighter, but they're not. To make matters worse, missions often fail for seemingly unknown reasons or failures of the AI to keep out of trouble. In between combat sections, cutscenes are decently voiced, but in combat chatter can get annoying, especially when you hear it over and over again. The helicopter segments are particularly aggravating, as trying to fly and fire at the same time is quite awkward. Add to this that missions go on far longer than they should, making things more repetitive than fun. The story is serviceable but predictable, and the graphics are nice, with cities rendered with plenty of detail and zoom ins on your kills. If it wasn't for the half decent story and the graphics, I'd rate this lower yet. Rent if you must, but you may find yourself sending this back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than I thought

posted by Phatsnake (ASTORIA, NY) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't get why people are bashing on this game. It's the good old Ace Combat with a couple of newly introduced game play mechanics. The Dog Fight Mode is definitely a nice addition that gives you an adrenaline rush specially when your target starts a dangerous maneuver around obstacles in the terrain like buildings etc, they can even fool you and you'll end up crashing your plane. The counter attack system is also fun you need to decide in the heat of battle whether you can take a few hits so you can counter and get a deadly shot on them or just manually dodge the missiles. The way they do cut scenes reminded me a little bit of Heavy Rain it isn't interactive but you can get to look around, and it switches from first to third person views, and you don't feel the transition between the cut scenes and gameplay which is nice. The physics can be unrealistic at times specially when you shoot tanks down and they end up flipping 10 times in the air that's always funny. Overall its a good game for the fans of the series but some people might not like the Helicopter and bomber missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good

posted by Nickp628 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

The game was fun, entertaining but the multiplayer was terrible . Not enough people playing now I see why. Good just not worth owning .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not happy

posted by Priest22 (FORNEY, TX) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

The controls are very bad. This is the first ACE series that I did not even try to complete. Will Hawks 3 save the day?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse