Rent Ace Combat: Assault Horizon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ace Combat: Assault Horizon

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.4

2334 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

I miss the old Ace Combat

posted by Hula121 (SPANAWAY, WA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ace Combat Assault Horizon is not the Ace Combat I knew from the first 6 games. It's like it tried too hard to be like Call of Duty with airplanes, and I hadn't even made it to the Spectre gunship mission yet. I hope that if another Ace Combat is made, it goes back to the roots of what made it good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Decent game...but horrible Ace Combat title

posted by Daikaiju (PLANT CITY, FL) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing all of the previous Ace Combat titles I am very disappointed in this release. It was disturbing to find that the body of this game centers around quick button mashes for automatic dodge maneuvers rather than flight skill and actual piloting of the aircraft.

The "dogfight mode" places the plane on a virtual autopilot and forces you to chase the target aircraft through a prescribed path, and then often dumps you straight into a mountainside or building after the target is destroyed. The camera also auto focuses on squad mates executing their maneuvers leaving your plane often on a collision course with the ground or at least pulling you away from a target.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

auto-center and roll/barrel roll

posted by mqc (REDDING, CA) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have never been so mad at a game in my life!!!

You cannot roll your aircraft, it is imposable! I could not fallow enemy's log enough to use the semi active radar missiles, because of auto-center and no rolling!!!

I cannot kill makorav, to save my werewolf 2 wingman.
instead i die!!! auto-center

it auto-centers, this "auto-center" system gets me killed over and over ........

I ask my self do they know that aircraft can perform a roll/barrel roll? and that a pilot can roll to turn sharp, and that auto-center will not affect a real plane/pilot! auto center is NOT "auto pilot!" this system was a choice in "ace combat 6" It should have stayed just that, A CHOICE!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BAD

posted by ML72 (SPARTA, WI) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game sucks the only good thing about this game is the helicopter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not very good

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that it has been awhile since I played an Ace Combat game. It was not what I was expecting, but better than the standard flight sim games that I do not care for. I found it to be repetitive, and quite frankly, not very good. Get ready to hear "Locked On" alot, and then the enemy chaff's and you miss. This is probably normal, but I didn't expect this scenario to repeat every 12 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it's okay, but it really doesn't feel like A.C.

posted by strider0075 (AUBURN, WA) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, when i first saw the demos of this game i thought 'cool, Ace combat is back'. Then i saw they were adding helicopters, again i'm thinking 'this game is going to rock.' But, i'm six missions into this game and have to ask, WTH namco? The aerial combat is still solid, but i've noted three key problems with this game.

One, the DFM, the game relies way too much on it. If you try to play it like you would play the other games you can shoot down some of the non TGT enemies, but the TGT's are more or less invulnerable with infinite flares unless you go into DFM. They pretty much won't allow you to just dogfight like normal.

Two, the aforementioned problem wouldn't be so bad if your wingmen would actually did something, you spend 90% of the time flying evasive against up to four bogeys/missiles and that's normal, now multiply the difficulty by 100 when your in DFM, on a rail, AND you get 4 missiles on your 6. You'd think having so many wingmen would mean you would have a decent amount of protection while going in for the kill. But no, the wingmen just fly around getting killed or circling, leaving ALL the bogey's and missiles for you to fight more or less by yourself.

Three, the helos, is there not one game out there that can make attack choppers fun to fly. well i definitely know that this game doesn't, the controls are almost impossible especially when dealing with multiple enemies in multiple directions. switching to 3rd person mode helps by taking out the lag in chopper rotation. But the targets are still hard to hit unless they are cars or tanks, hitting people in zoom mode is not impossible but be ready to hit the auto evade buttons ALOT while your trying to line up the shots.

The core concepts of the game, flight, aerial combat, complex mission scenarios are still solid, and it's still fun to play. But i'm afraid these three problems i mentioned take ALOT away from what could've been a great game. So, sorry, namco this game only gets 5 out of 10 fro

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What were they thinking?

posted by snelss0 (TWIN FALLS, ID) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ace Combat over the years has come out with some good games, but whatever were they thinking with this one. Not only can you not roll your plane (killing half of the hemisphere of maneuverability) but most of the fun of the dog fight is taken out due to a new "dogfight" system. The frustration felt from taking out all realism of flying a plane made this game an instant return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad choice namco

posted by Nomad8120 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a big ace combat fan since i played it on ps1... i was going to not get an xbox until it went to xbox.. And i get this garbage for a follow up.. I DONT NEED THE COMPUTER TO FLY FOR ME TO DOG FIGHT!!! if you want that in the game namco then put it on easy mode.. really you cant shoot down anything unless you go into dog fight mode.. Thats BS!! you want to play ace combat on xbox get ace combat 6 cause this game is just Hawx's with better graphics.. now if you can't fly but want to try an ace combat go for it other wise PASS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kind Of a Let-Down

posted by erikipedia (AURORA, CO) Oct 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I played Ace Combat 6 into the ground, and was really looking forward to Assault Horizon. I didn't necessarily want to hang myself playing through this game, but it really didn't live up to my expectations. The new dogfight mode took away much of the simulator feel of the previous release, and made the game seem too arcade-y (provided it worked as expected, which it didn't much of the time). The story ended up being far less developed than its predecessor, and the campaign only provided about 10 hours of gameplay. The heli's proved near impossible to control (mostly due to a large change in the controller configurations - throttle becomes machine gun and special weapons become the crash into the ground button), and the AC-130 and heavy bombers, the only additions I liked, only lasted for one mission apiece. Most will likely enjoy this game, but if you loved AC6 as much as I did, this one will leave you wanting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Major Disappointment!

posted by Barbantus (ELGIN, IL) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

27 out of 35 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I have been an Ace Combat fan since the very first installment of the series; it was known as "Air Combat" on the Playstation. I've played EVERY Ace Combat since and loved every game. Assault Horizon takes everything that made the Ace Combat series good, and throws it in the garbage. It's definitely not a flight sim anymore, it's purely arcade junk. The game is very unrealistic and the new Dog Fighting mode allows you to perform impossible maneuvers and the worst part is that it does all the flying for you. I imagine they geared this game to compete against Call of Duty and Battlefield 3; it was designed for a more mainstream audience, picking up players from any skill level. You can beat this game in one day and there are no jets to unlock so after you clear the extremely short story it's game over. Namco dropped the ball right here, they had a Flight Simulator franchise that was so great that no other franchise could touch it. Now they dropped their guard and leveled the playing field. This installment of Ace Combat will definitely lose all its longtime fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lot of bad reviews so far

posted by Bahamut728 (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'll bet most everyone who said this "Isn't a flight simulator" didn't go into the control settings and change the controls back to normal. The game's default control mode is called "Optimum" which I find a tad misleading. It limits your scope of movement and tends to shepherd you towards whichever enemy you are targeting. If you turn this mode off, your range of movement becomes more like what you'd expect of a flight simulator. Yes, the Dogfight mechanism is unrealistic and greatly simplifies what would otherwise be a tedious bout of having a split second lock on, as you and another plane circle each other while all HIS friends pick you apart, and your friends fly about with their thumb up their collective a$$es. Make no mistake, There is no such thing as friendly AI in this. You are on your own, the other planes are for show. Guess they only gave you bullets.

In summation, if you're reading these reviews, you already have a sense of what you're in for, and you are still interested. This game warrants a rent, as it has somewhat tight controls, forgettable music, a military story we've seen a few hundred times already, impressive graphics, and enough entertainment in the campaign to kill an afternoon or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ace Combat used to be good

posted by Nauctshea (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

TERRIBLE!!!! I love the Ace Combat series. It was my friend that got me into it, he let me play ace combat 5 it was great it was the only game I could find that has all the fighter aircraft that I wanted to fly and dog fight in and they some. But with this game they changed it too much, the dog fighting mode and the counter maneuver the game makes feel to much like Hawks then ace combat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok, but couldn't get into it

posted by lukemeister (FARGO, ND) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I loved AC6, so I thought I would love this game too, it's not terribly different. But I just couldn't get into it. Maybe it was the dogfight focus, which I found to be a bit clunky at best. I found it to be terribly repetitive when I had to constantly try to position myself behind the other fighters and then hit the dogfight button, just to have to frantically try to stay in pace with the other plane and then hammer the fire buttons. Other than that, it was kinda fun. The dogfight stuff didn't work for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not the same :(

posted by jstolli (PORT ORANGE, FL) May 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have been a die hard fan of ace combat since i was able to play video games. that is until this one....

from ace combat 4 on to 6 the ace combat series has been amazing. in this installment they decided to change the story altogether from fictional everything to fictional story and real life countries.

the flight controls mess you up it took me 5 missions to figure out that the old controls were in the settings.

the story is a flying verson of COD MW to a T
the graphics were amazing and crisp.

grapichs -10 of 10
sound -10 of 10
story - 2 of 10 knock off of COD mw 3
gameplay - 5 of 10 flight controls horrible
online -10 of 10 best flight multi
replayability - 8 of 10
plane choices - 10 of 10 jets,bombers,helis

over all - 7.9 of 10

its a good game as long as you dont go in playing it with the mind set that its another Ace Combat the only thing thats the same is the name. its worth being rented and for $14,99 its worth the investment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Massive Letdown

posted by A_ManAnimal (OLATHE, KS) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Im an ace combat vet like many ppl who rented this, i own all the previous games, and i love earning S rank and getting all the medals so i know what im talking about. If that sounds like you then do NOT rent this game!
Theres a ton of things i can complain about but by far the only part i couldnt deal with was the new dogfighting system. Ya it looks pretty and you dont have to use it on most targets, but theres always certain "lead" targets that FORCE you to use it(Ive tried to shoot them down but they have unlimited flares and the gun didnt seem to do actual damage). So you go into dogfight mode and its like your on rails following the target, shooting them up. Sometimes you wont be allow to kill the target til a certain point like until you fly under a crane or into a canyon. It doesnt matter how many missiles hit or how many rounds you pump into them at point blank, no damage til you reach a scripted point....
Its not for the majority of targets, but even just a few was enough to break any connection i had with the game. That and the fact you can skip off the ground and run into bulidings and live....
Dont waste your time with this, every level was a total grind for me and i didnt even finish the game. Modern Warfare did the ac130 and chopper gunner levels better. The attack chopper missions are ok but get old and dont have great camera angles
Oh ya theres a new ground attack system where you fly to a point, press a button, and it puts you pretty much on rails. Your weapons recharge faster in this mode so its just like spamming fire til the targets in a nice line are all dead. Stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good for those that played AC in the past

posted by parker3741 (TORRANCE, CA) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Ace Combat since the fourth installment of the game and have loved it. this one though was different though. the controls were different the gameplay was different and the graphics were different. I didn't like all the changes and if you played the game before AH you might agree with me. Someone that is coming in with no experience playing Ace Combat, you might have a blast, but for me I really disliked it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

does not live up to hype

posted by krs34 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

honestly not a very good game and it could have been so cool, but it just is not good at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun but not great

posted by WorldPredator78 (LAWRENCE, KS) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of the Ace Combat series for many years and have always enjoyed them. This game has very good graphics and the difficulty was something to be admired. A downside for me was the new features, dog fighting mode and the counter maneuver, they are really inconsistent. Since this is the main way by which you are supposed to engage and down enemy fighters the fact that it seems more luck than skill turned this game from fun to annoying and frustrating very quickly. While being in DFM I was flown into the ground by the game and yet somehow I miraculously show up at 4000 ft without a problem. That really bugged me as well, I know it's a game but come on give me some kind of reality and don't let the game mechanics kill me. I chose to not even finish the game as simple little things like this keep me from enjoying the game real quick. Another dud in a long list of military simulation games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This is a bad game

posted by LOHENGRiM (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i dont know whats going on with the ace combat franchise but this is another poor attempt at this game. the last good ace combat was 5 if you look at the reviews you will see why. im glad i didnt buy this game. the computer controlled a.i doesnt help you out he just moves his mouth. ill take goose's dead body over that guy, and the story is weak and nonexistant. i even cant remmber it and i just played the game. thank you gamefly for saving me money and some sanity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ace combat has been destroyed

posted by knightofdr (BUFFALO, NY) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

first flight controls are horrible compare to previous games. second easy level isnt even close to easy final fight proves that. third beta testers for this game should be fired and never allowed to work in video games again. forth graphics kindof blow. only good part of this game is the ability to fly helicopters. guessing the makers of the last game had nothing to do with this one since i like the last one and previous ones before but the just helped me decide to go back to play the others. fun factor in this game is a 2/10 only excitement was getting ready to play but mission 5+it gets bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game. Terrible Action and Controls.

posted by jrpub2002 (RENO, NV) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

There is so much wrong with this game to inferior graphics and very poor jet handling control. What is worse is the game play itself. You must follow the script and play by the game developer's rules which is crippling to the fun factor. The prior versions let you fly as you wish to win the missions, but this new version won't let you fly as you please, you must make bombing runs their way, not your way. This is game is no fun. Then you have enemy jets bombarding you with missiles and you can't truly dodge or release flares. And you have to enter "dog-fighting" mode even if you don't want to to advance to the next stage of the game. The controls are awkward to control the jet and the jet does not behave as a real jet would by a long shot. It's awful. Then the filthy language and taking God's name in vain is awful as the other versions were clean and fun to play. This game is lousy and no fun to play. I play the older versions as I bought them. I won't buy this filthy rotten version that is just frustrating to even play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really. Bad.

posted by Darth_Tater (HENDERSON, NV) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

TV commercial looks good, the game is not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ace combat assault horizon

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

TOTAL GARBAGE ! dont waste your time. controls are terrible. what a horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Tru Jet Head!!

posted by moostified (LOVELOCK, NV) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2004

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been a Jet Head since my Navy days as an Airdale. Ace Combat really mimics the design and layout of all the Fighter Jets the US. Military uses. Assault Horizon is definitely a game w/ many play styles. I choose to play it as it's meant to, bcuz I am a Fan of the Series. AH holds challenging w/ the use of the Arcade Style Ace Combat Stick Controller and Throttle which adds depth to the overall experience. With that said, the other aspect of the game such as the Helo's and the AC 130 Bomber add variety however it serves as an after though to add legs to already good game. AH is a keeper in my Library of games for the Xbox 360 and I may grow to like the newer additions Namco offers to the series. I haven't really indulged into the Multiplayer aspect of the game however the Co-op my son and I share playing AH is really a treat. We will be playing this game until the next installment of Ace Combat which in my book says a lot!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time

posted by dansturgell (Atlanta, GA) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game pales in comparison to its predecessor: Ace Combat 6 Fires of Liberation. The description says the close-range assault mode is "dizzying" and it couldn't be more accurate. The close range assault mode take real flying skill out of the game, and makes you dizzy in the process. My recommendation is stay away from this one, and spend your time with Ace Combat 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse