Rent Ace Combat 6: Fires of Liberation for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ace Combat 6: Fires of Liberation

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

11117 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great air combat

posted by oneman (HAMPTON, VA) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

38 out of 40 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

First off, if you've read the game's summary then you know already that this has a fantasy plot line, so don't come expecting some real world simulation here. Bearing that in mind however, it is a very good game and executes air combat better than most, and pretty much the best on 360 (seeing as how Over G Force is the only real competition it has in that department). It isn't too hard to learn and adapt to the game's flight controls and pretty quickly you'll become used to them.

So, in game visuals are stunning, the jets themselves are beautiful. Environments are a little shabby but hey, you'll spend 95% of your time in combat worrying less what the trees look like and more on how you're going to shake that bogey. Which leads me to...

The in air combat is outstanding in my opinion, The enemy A.I doesn't give up easily and when in trouble wing men will help/protect wing men. I caught myself looking for help a few times when i couldn't shake the enemy which is pretty persistent at taking you out of the sky. The ground units will help the enemy fighters as well making it even more difficult at times. Especially on the harder difficulties. That's where your wingman comes in handy. You can let him loose, or have him protect you. Also, I was never too big on air to ground combat in the first place, but they do a good job keeping the ball rolling usually giving you three objectives to pick and chose from I was very happy with that. There are also certain stages you are able to land and re-feul/arm if you happen to run low. The single player campaign is a good experience I'd tell anyone to fly through.

The online multiplayer does a great job also of capturing the in air combat as it is complete dogfighting with up to 16 people. The only problem i had with it was individual experience where no one would play as team members it was everyone for themselves. Which is still fun, enemies everywhere!

I couldn't help but pop in "Highway to the Danger Zone". Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best flying sim ever

posted by Xmann1 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I was a kid I wanted to go to the Air Force for the specif reason of flying planes. When I saw this game, it was a must have.

I haven't played the prior Ace Combats but I can only image that they are as good at this version. The campange was excellent and the graphics and plane detail are unmatched. The reality of this game though futuristic is great.

Though the storyline is a bit quircky, the missions are fantastic. I love the fact that you take of and land on each mission and can go back and reload your weapons. It makes the game that much more realistic.

This is another game for experience fliers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Incredible HD Graphics and Great Gameplay

posted by thetunecat (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

43 out of 49 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game probably has the best graphics out of any game I have played on the Xbox 360. When my friends saw me play this across the room they thought it was a video of real planes. The controls work great. If you like planes, rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still arcadey but much harder

posted by gorgeousp (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

64 out of 77 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Best Ace Combat to date of course with it now running on the 360. The planes look very realistic as do the explosions. Terrain is still the old PS2 terrain with cardboard cutout buildings and roads but who has time to view the scenery when you are in a fire fight in the air huh? Well to get to the point:

PROS:
- Enemy AI is much smarter. Its much harder to shoot down enemies. Expect to waste missles (which is why you get so many). These guys fly like G's are non existent
- Friendly AI is improved. Your wingman actually kills people as do your ground forces (given that you've taken out a good amount of opposition for them to stand a chance). You can also call in the calvary if you build up enough mojo
- More of a "finish missions any way you want" game. There are numerous missions with 3 or more objectives. Finish them in any order as long as you complete 2 out of 3 (or whatever they tell you to finish).
- ONLINE

CONS
- Cutscenes can be skipped
- takes quite a few missions to unlock decent fighters
- terrain is still ugly
- during numerous battles there are so many planes around you dont know who is locked on, who is shooting at you and where the heck is your wingman, newbies may need to start on the easy level
- SPOILER: Another one of those "how the heck am i supposed to finish that" missions where you have to fly through a tunnel almost smaller than your aircraft

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You Won't Want To Come Down

posted by Pandaberr (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is the closest thing to being an actual fighter pilot without actually stepping into the cockpit. The graphics are some of the best I've ever seen, even the ground looks incredible. Gameplay is extremely intense, as every mission feels like an all-out war in itself. The audio is great and fits each situation perfectly. Only complaints are that the story is a little cliché, and the game, is kind of short. Otherwise if you like the series, or just have a passing interest in what it would be like to be a fighter pilot, you should definitely check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Flight-Sim for XBOX 360 so far

posted by cbsmith (NOVATO, CA) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game has been the best flight-sim game I have played on the XBOX 360. The graphics are absolutely amazing and make you want to play it more and more.

When I first started the game and the tutorials, it reminded me of the demo which was just...OK. As the game goes on, you become immersed in rich landscapes, detailed aircraft and cool weapon systems. I could not keep myself from playing this game all night long as I earned new aircraft and progressed into harder and more challenging missions.

The game does have a somewhat weird story line and it just goes on and on sometimes, but lucky for us, the developers allow you to skip these "movies" by pressing start and get on with blowing things up. Another thing that bothered me was the fictional names of countries and cities, and sometimes I can't help but laugh at it. They could of come up with a better story line ("fly with the angles", please) and names like "Gracemeria", or whatever it is called. And they have massive flying aircraft carriers and long tunnels you fly through in mountains (the best missions so far), so that is also not realistic, but very fun to play.

The controls are great for a flight-sim with only having the 14 buttons or so for doing everything. It was a little tricky at first, but once you play a few missions, you'll have it down.

It is also great that you can save your replays and control the different angles of the camera and go to fast-forward or slow motion, just no reverse.

The jets are awesome and so are the weapons. It is classic that they give you 120 or so missiles, unlimited ammo (bullets), and 25-40+ special weapons that regenerate after a few seconds, and you can land at airports off the map to resupply. Not very realistic in the real world, but it works for this game.

Wish there were more missions (11 total I think), but going to try out the XBOX LIVE on this game, and it should be fun.

I recommend renting this game if your into flight-sim/arcade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rent it or Buy it you'll like it!

posted by ARMYGUNZZ (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The first Ace combat I played was Ace Combt 5 I liked it a lot for the PS2 music great and Gameplay I think is great plus many levels to choose from. Ace combat Zero was a little dissapointment With just one wingman on your side and motionless people talking to you and less levels than Ace combat 5. I played the demo of Ace combat 6 and I't was amazing. the graphics were great in detail reguardless of the single wingman the controls were suitable for this kind of game especially the triggers for the trottle. Xbox Live was even better to. I would recommed to give this game a try and if you like it keep it. It's greater than the last air sim game with a bad rating for XBOX 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for the flight sim/arcade fan...

posted by beemer (SHELBY, NC) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

One of the first things I look for in a game is whether or not it is fun, and I must say that this game IS fun...if you like flight sims. The missions have some nice variety, and as you get further into the game, you come up against some very good AI pilots (and planes).

The graphics, in a word, are gorgeous. There's no other word for them. Just Gorgeous. You can certainly use cloud cover, or mountainous regions to your advantage should it come to that.

The standouts for the game - at least for me - was the special weapons, or SP's as the game calls them. They give you access to new and interesting tactics and abilities that spice things up a bit.

My one complaint with the game, is that I feel there was a lot more they could have done with mission variety. There was a lot more they could have done with the story! While the missions had variety, I got the feeling that they really didnt take full advantage of what tools they had at their disposal, being content to stay with a 'tried and true' formula that they knew worked for their IP.

Should you get it? If you like blowing things up, I would. It's well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you rate this game below a 9

posted by terrill120 (AURORA, CO) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

perhaps you should play over-g fighters so you can see what a horrible flight sim is. this game is very good. the controls are the same as any other ace combat game (good). The wingman is actually useful in this game which is great. The graphics are superb and a multiplayer what more could a flight sim fan could ask for. Oh yeah forgot to include you can customize the colors of the plane to a certain extent (if you buy it from the marketplace). Please dont rate the game as bad if you get "smoked" online by other good players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ace Combat 6 is....well...awesome!

posted by Crash965 (COLUMBIA, MD) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really love ace combat myself but back to the review. This game is for people who like a good flight simulation game with real life airplanes and real looking airplanes too. The controls for it are easy to learn even if your brand new to Ace Combat. If you've ever played any other Ace Combats than you will definitely love this. If you hate airplanes and simulations and good graphics.....then this is not your game. I gave Ace Combat 6:Fires of Liberation a 10...which isn't fair because I love Ace Combat but it really is that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just So So

posted by fsklax31 (WESTMINSTER, MD) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of fighter games, but just like every fighter game this is just So So. You dont get to do anything real cool, nothing really stands out in this game. You basically get to fly around and shoot stuff. Missions can last up to 45 minutes. For a fighter game this is good, but you do the same stuff over and over. Not worth buying, but good for a rent. Just dont expect much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome AI this time...

posted by JavM16 (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I ve been playing Ace Combat since the first launch back in PS2. I was always fascinated how they stretch the polygons in the games for better graphics. When it comes to graphics, game play and realism Ace Combat is a 10. Listen carefully..."I am not a fan of Ace Combat" I do love Fly Sim but unfortunately this is the only game right now that I can say, "Cool" the other suck big time. I am waiting for a good WW2 Fly Sim game with the graphics of Ace Combat.
The games is basically the same as the other versions with a better story line (Instead of Comic Style Slide Show, this time it is an animated movie clip). They AI is outstanding and they do help a lot, once you understand how to use them and learn how to read the communication in the map...you will be happy and pleased. Remember it is half and half you need to help them in order for them to help you. Don't expect help if they are under attack, specially ground troops. One thing that I really never liked since the fist issue is that...WHY NAMCO still thinking PAC MAN? Why this FEAR of using real cities, and real countries? Helloooo! we are gamers and gamers are smart people (Amerians; sounds pretty much like Americans right? USE IT! and so on...we know in this game that the fight is versus Russia, Czechoslovakia and Bosnia under a fictitious name. Come on NAMCO! this is not the 80's anymore. I was raised with ATARI and I know how games had changed.

Let see if the next Ace Combat is in our World and with more realistic campaign missions and a load of 6 missiles and 3 bombs, and a box of rounds (you get it?) I wish the company Jane's Combat Sim put their hands in Xbox 360. Then, we all going to flavor what a good FlySim game is all about. Until then, enjoy this game guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ITS A MASTER PIECE

posted by alienking (HARVEYS LAKE, PA) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

though this is my first ACE COMBAT game it appealed to me all too well. The Graphics are breath taking, beyond photo realism and its just so awesome. Though the story follows people on the ground rather in the air were all the action is it still gives the game life. The view from high above is stunning but as u get closer to the ground it gets griddy but u'll hardly find yourself flying low unless ur trying to dodge missiles by nose diving into the ground.

The controls are difficult on normal unless u have played and ace combat game b4 so there is a good thing to have a novice control. Also the detail of the new F-22A raptor is great and u'll find the variety of jets (different detailed jets) decent and i dont think you'll be disappointed. The campaign is decently lengthed and the final mission is just like star wars where they run down that trench which i found quite ironic and also your wing man is extremely intelligent also the allied attack is just a slaughter of an attack.

All in all this game is worth your time though they're arent achievements for beating the campaign on higher difficulty its always good to be challenged i gues. online is awesome with a lobby of 16 (max) u'll ahve a load of fun. This game is worth renting or buying if really get into it and i think u'll be happy using the F-22A Raptor (man i love that thing).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good Campaign Game

posted by Halo117 (LOVELAND, CO) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ace Combat 6: Fires of Liberation is a good game but in the multiplayer it is lacking. In the campaign it is very fun but as you get close to the last 4 missions it get very irritatingly because every 5 seconds an enemy locks on to you and launches a missile. But the campaign is fun and hard in the end also the storyline and cut scenes are very interesting and fun to watch. The graphics are awesome for the planes but on the ground from the air they are mediocre. But if you are looking for a fun time in campaign and not so much multiplayer this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Several hours of fun

posted by Sikkram (LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This one is several hours of fun, if you own it though I'm sure it is collecting dust some where.
The Campaigns tease you with enemy aircraft, but if you leave blowing up ground targets to fly some air to air then you'll fail the mission.
Missions are almost an hour long and they are blowing up ground targets over and over just on more difficult terrains.
The multi-player is fun, but not a large crowd anymore if it ever was one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good controls, weak plot

posted by dbooks23 (BATAVIA, NY) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

game controls are easy to use and quick to remember. The plot is weak and you'll find yourself pressing start to skip the scenes. The last board is rediculous and not because of AI or game difficulty..the freaking thing took me an hour and a half because the missions keep failing for no apparent reason before you can get to them. you start in operation a and everything is going good. then when your get to c you think you have it and for no reason the mission failed icon comes up and you find yourself asking why since you just rocked the enemy for 10 mins and there were only a few left. it will make you crazy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great graphics, but...

posted by PDGamer (MAYLENE, AL) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Don't let the extraordinary graphics of the game fool you, this game is no more of a fighter simulator than anything else you have ever played. It had great potential to be a good game, but an F-16 holding 200 missiles? The story line that goes with the game is the worst I have ever encountered...in any game...ever. If I had heard one more variation of "Go dance with the Angels," I would have committed suicide. Someone please develop a decent fighter sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My opinion of Ace Combat 6

posted by ministock9 (NEWCASTLE, OK) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

All I can say is thank the lord for gamefly. I almost spent the money to buy this game and joystick combo, and for me it would have been a waste. I love the graphics in this game, but I wish it was more realistic, like being able to take off and land. More about flying the jets, and less about trying to tell a story. No cockpit view either, that was a real bummer. I wish someone would make a true simulation for consoles like they have for PC.

My 2 cents
Denny

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Made me Remember Why I Dislike These Games

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Mar 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 22 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Ever have a game genre that you just never, ever play? You don't remember WHY you don't --- you just don't ever do it.

I have that with combat flight sims. Blazing Angels might be the only one I can vividly remember playing this century --- and it was not terribly great. So, with some trepidation, I decided to try Ace Combat 6, ending my streak of never playing Ace Combat titles.

I remembered why I don't like these games.

Now, first off, the game is amazing to look at. It's one of the best looking games I've seen. I can't think of another game that looks this nice on the 360. Namco-Bandai has unleashed a visual showpiece for the console.

But the game --- well, it's got all of the usual problems of a air combat "sim". The game, as such games are wont to do, degenerates into you flying to catch up to a distant blip on your HUD, fire off a shot or two --- and then fly WAY past the tiny blip and spend some time trying to find it and catch up to it to repeat the process.

Except it's not even as much as fun as the description makes it sound. Wrap your brains around that one.

They also added in some story that I, admittedly, didn't care enough to follow. Some nonsense or the like. I doubt you'll play the game for the story and, with that in mind, you won't be disappointed.

I now remember why the only combat flight sims I tend to play are space-based ones. Those, at least, are fun. Well, except for Project Sylpheed, which was horrible. But I'd love a Colony Wars remake eventually. Now that was awesome.

But Ace Combat 6? Not in this lifetime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why is this rated so highly?

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 33 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

I got up to the second or third mission and got bored chasing around an enemy for a few minutes during one of the later training exercises. Seriously, how is this fun? Flying is not really pleasant (rather twitchy) and chasing down enemies is downright annoying. There were no flares and whenever someone locked on me I just had to fly around like an idiot for a few seconds and then go back to trying to catch someone to shoot.

I like flying, I like shooting, I didn't like this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

awesome graphics, but way to easy and unrealistic.

posted by hawlinator (FORT MYERS, FL) Nov 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

if your looking for a military type simulator than this is not the game for you. the graphics are ridiculously good, but 100 missiles? c'mon. If they made it more of a sim this game would be sweet. How about we use real countries and real story lines. It's just to easy, line up the shot and push a button. disappointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ace Combat 6

posted by Scottzilla (IRVINE, CA) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Kids stuff, this game is for boys not men!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont Get this Game

posted by codisGOD (ANNAPOLIS, MD) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. It is impossible and the controls suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ace combat 6

posted by verryfunny (SARASOTA, FL) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

It was hard I had it on easy all the time and I coldnt get past level 1 I kept on failing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great visuals, not much else

posted by WhiteSS (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

The game looks amazing. The planes are realistic, the explosions are beautiful and the replay is like live action war footage. That is about all this game offers though. The game play is repetitive and simple. I wish half as much where put into the game play that was put into the graphic department then maybe we would have an ok game here. Not worth the time to waste on renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse