Rent Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth for DS
view large frontback

Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

509 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

More CSI than Law and Order

posted by Sinsei (ENFIELD, NH) May 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Unlike Phoenix and the others, this game focuses more on the crime scene investigation. As Edgeworth you make your way through each crime in search of the truth. (with evidence to back it up of course.) The game layout is the same as the others when it comes to talking and cross examinations, the different is the freedom of movement. In some cases the upper screen shows the whole area you are working in and you have the ability to control Miles in a 2D fashion. Now instead of moving a curser to find clues you move the character to where you want to look. If necessary, a closer examination will zoom in on the area and you can use the curser from there. There is also a new option call Logic. This allows you to connect two pieces of evidence to paint a clearer picture of the truth.
I enjoyed the fact that the game has gone back to evidence based/ logic game play instead of the mystic gizmos the help to break the most harden of witnesses. Also a lot of old characters make some appearances. And as usual some are helpful and most are just annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Eureka!

posted by Kingdom128 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a really great game and fun. I haven't finish the whole game yet because I somehow gave up because there's too much rebuttal on Episode 5 but that doesn't mean I don't like this game. I'm giving this game a 5 Eureka! out of 5. Objection! Oh...what now.....Tips Time!

If your bar is about to reach 0...save before showing evidence, deuce, or pick a wrong answer. Load the game and it will take you there exactly where you save. You can also save during a conversation. So that will be easy to get through the rebuttal.

Enjoy the game! And the evidence will always be with you forever until the crime has ended. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is a headache

posted by LuckyBuck (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

Alright, I picked this game as a fun game on the fly because I am in the midst of playing a longer console game. Unfortunately this game gave me a huge head ache.

The head ache came from constant flashing of this game, I mean every screen flashes a bright white light. I love puzzle games and this game was looking great but I couldn't finish it.

Also the puzzles are not simple (good) but the fact that I can save before the trial and then reload if I fail big time is kind of cheating your experience. That I didn't like

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

objection! (just wanted to say it)

posted by littokim (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

The game play was good but for some reason it didn't match up with Phoenix Wright.

I was thinking that I was going to be in court at one time another. Maybe that is the aspect that I missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Does the original series good.

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Aug 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

I rented this and instantly remembered why I loved these games so much. Granted this makes some different changes but nothing makes it any less than it once was. Granted, most of the time your not even in the court room but I feel that it adds a little intrigue of acually questioning a person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Stand back, I'm going to try LOGIC!

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) May 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2006

The fifth U.S. release of the Ace Attorney line has you in the pilot seat of long-time Phoenix Wright rival Miles Edgeworth. For those into the series, you'll like this one. Read on for details why.

First off, the game is easier. Much easier. The aimless location-bouncing, countless questions to suspects, and frustrating explorations of a crime scene are gone, or rather, streamlined. You're (usually) placed in one location at a time, with one or two suspects at a time, and the game helps you along quite a bit. It still has a challenge, but not a frustrating grind.

The evidence gathering is a bit odd; instead of everything going immediately into your notebook, you occasionally collect factoids that get filed away in Edgeworth's mind, under Logic. When you get two common threads to piece together, you're given something the appropriate evidence piece, or at least you move forward in the story.

The game is designed to make you feel like you're always in control. You're Miles freakin' Edgeworth, and nothing catches you off guard. The game is fun, and does a good job making it feel different from the previous iterations, giving it that Edgeworth polish.

In short, it's something fans of the series will like, and newcomers won't appreciate as much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its Good!

posted by chb619 (SURPRISE, AZ) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2006

Honestly, this is a great game, one of the best you ca find for the DS. The soundtrack is great, the puzzles are hard, the cases are somewhat interesting, but if you have played any of the other games your expecting this. There isn't much here you haven't seen before. Sure, now you can move around, and there are all new characters, but ignoring that this is SSDD people. Then again, I was hoping for that. I LOVED the Phoenix Wright games and more of it is just great. Just make sure you don't come to this game expecting something new, because it really isn't there. But, if your a fan of the series you'll like it. That's all there is to it people.

Oh, but it still wasn't as good as Trials and Tribulations. That game had the best story out of any of them because Godot was so AWESOME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than Apollo Justice was

posted by zOMGREI (MEDFORD, NJ) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Apollo Justice suffered as a successor to the Phoenix Wright story arc because in addition to being too heavily attached to Phoenix Wright, it took it's puzzles to an almost absurd level of difficulty and obscurity. Investigations breaks free of the previous games, both in story and gameplay, and it ended up being one of the best Ace Attorney games in the series.

Despite taking place entirely outside of the courtroom, there still are segments consisting of listening to and discrediting witness testimony. However, the investigation portion of the game has gone through a bit of an overhaul. Two new major mechanics are introduced as well; Logic and Deduction.

As you examine crime scenes and talk with people, you pick up logic fragments that you can then piece together through an interface on the bottom screen. It's a pretty satisfying addition, as the solutions almost always make sense, and don't require the extreme amounts of abstract thinking the last Phoenix Wright game and Apollo Justice required.

Deduction, on the other hand, isn't quite as great. This basically is an added button that appears during first-person examinations which allows you to come to conclusions on something you're looking at using evidence. In most cases it works pretty well, but there are one or two obscure solutions that nearly stumped me.

Testimony is still handled the same way as it was in the previous Ace Attorney games. The actual solutions involved are much more logical compared to the courtroom sequences in the other games, so I did find myself enjoying this part of the game much more than I had previously. My only issue with it is that it was actually almost too easy in places---the hints you're given when testimony returns to the start are way too helpful and take a lot of the challenge out of the game.

Lastly (and this is the most minor gripe ever), the touch screen controls kind of suck for movement during side scrolling sequences, but you can use the dpad instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addictive!

posted by Majora108 (LA CROSSE, FL) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

This game gets a 10/10 from me. It is just so addictive and hard to put down once you get into it; definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eureka!

posted by TheNGam3r (DUNKIRK, MD) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

This was my first time playing any of the Ace Attourney games and, I have to say, I was pretty impressed! The game was easy to learn but difficult to master. I really like games that challenge your brain in new ways and solving murders is a quite a new way! For fans of detective games this is a good pick. However, the game did have its downsides. Gameplay-wise, some rebuttals are pretty hard to refute, and I was left scratching my head and refering to a game guide on more than one occasion. The game also falls short on the cases you need to solve. Murder mysteries are fun and all, but after a few cases, you kind of want something new. Content-wise the game is pretty good, except for a few innapropriate (never nessesary)curse words towards the end of the game, and a very innapropriately dressed flight attendant on the TURNABOUT AIRLINES mission. Nuisances aside, the game is very fun and I enjoyed it very much. I look forward to the next installment in the Ace Attourney Series!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sounds cool

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

i love the ace attorney games from capcom but this is different new characters, new cases, and new words like eureka! and not so fast! old characters show up in the game as well but no phoenix wright though i hope capcom makes more ace attorney games in the future and don't forget the logic part where miles has to match the info. i give ace attorney investigations: miles edgeworth 5 eureka! out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »