Rent Ace Attorney: Apollo Justice for DS
view large frontback

Ace Attorney: Apollo Justice

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

890 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A more-than-worthy continuation

posted by Jeremymia (GAINESVILLE, FL) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

26 out of 27 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

First things first: Play the previous ace attorney games (Starting with Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney) before you even touch this one! No exceptions!

Now that I've said that, let me discuss this game. As a huge fan of Phoenix Wright, I was worried that phoenix wright would be completely ignored while some other attorney I don't care about takes the stage.

As it turns out, I kind of wished there was a little more Apollo Justice and a little less Phoenix. At times, this felt like Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney Guest Starring Apollo Justice.

What's different about this game, other than the obviously inferior naming direction (the character naming in this new installment is truly, truly horrific, but it can be forgiven)?

The graphics and sound have been updated quite a bit. And remember the interesting DS interactions in case 5 of the first game? Those are back, this time throughout the game. They actually do make the game a bit more fun.

This game some bizarre design choices. For example, Apollo Justice is introduced as a novice attorney, but he has his stuff down. It could be argued that he even makes his cases better than Phoenix is capable. And I'm not kidding when I say that you will be presenting panties in court ... several times.

Is this game better, or worse, than previous elements from the series? I'm going to say this is actually better, for several reasons. The plot feels a lot more tightly constructed. The investigations are more fun and shorter compared to the court segments. For once, case 3 doesn't suck (and is arguably the best or second base case in the game.) The prosecuting attorney is... incredibly likable. He's an Edgeworth in court who's not quite so overly dramatic outside of it. Okay, he is a rockstar and also a prosecutor. Go with it. It works. Overall, things just feel more SATISFYING.

This game is for everyone who likes to play detective and loves a good plot.

I hope we see more Apollo in the near future!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Reading is Fundamental!

posted by jbroadway (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

As a newcomer to the series, and to this genre in general, I didn't know what to expect. The game came very highly recommended to me, and I was excited to see what the hype was all about. After having played quite a few hours, all I can say is if you're a fan of the series, this is probably right in line with what you've come to know and love. If you're a newcomer, like me, however- this game is a strange pill to swallow. Be prepared for a lot of reading. A lot. Seriously- tons. I thought this game would play more like the point and click adventures of old, but this game's inspiration seems to go even further back into the annuls of old-school gaming to the days of the text adventure. I'm talking Oregon Trail here. All in all, an enjoyable game- definitely skews a little young. It has it's moments, often funny ones. But if you're looking for a challenge, I don't know if this game really presents much of one.

It's a perfect rental cause you can always send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ace Attorney: Apollo Justice: A LTTP Mini Review

posted by Blmyers (LAFAYETTE, LA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ace Attorney is back, except now with a fresh face and his Chords of Steel. Don’t fret though, Phoenix Wright lovers, he hasn’t gone far. You start off the game as the nervous newcomer Apollo Justice. You soon find out that he is quite the competent defense attorney with his own tricks up his sleeve.

The game goes through big ups and big downs. One moment you may be having a great time with it, then the next you are cursing at your DS because something just isn’t adding up.

Playing through the cases are fun and the characters are great. The dialog and interactions with the characters are genuinely hilarious and will having you laughing out loud on several occasions. The cases get great when you get on a roll and are hitting the witnesses from front to back with evidence to prove them wrong. The music picks up and you really feel like you are doing great. The outside the courtroom investigations get a little stale, and after a while you just want to jump back in the courtroom. It wouldn’t be so bad if finding evidence wasn’t so tedious that I had to go look online for help. The one redeeming quality though is the CSI stuff you get to do while outside the courtroom. It incorporates some of the DS controls for taking fingerprints, foot molds, and spraying for poison.

While playing the third case you might get disheartened and want to put it down, but if you push on play through the fourth case, it will pick up tremendously again. The fourth case is fantastic and answers all the questions posed during the game, and you walk away from the game actually caring for some of those crazy cooks. When the game is good, it is really, really good. If you can overcome some of the issues with the game, you will have a great time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WE HAVE JUSTICE!!!

posted by Stovall (CHESTER, PA) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

O.K.,if you haven't played the earlier games of the "Ace Attorney",then you won't really understand too much and won't recognize some very familiar things,but to not waste anytime time I would say that this is a "must rent"!!!Everythings like the same old,just evestigate and defend(THAT'S A GOOD THING).This game is totally a 10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME. Period

posted by Breatulu (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Apollo Justice is a fresh new game. New characters, new things you can do, like checking evidence up close, scientific reasearch steps (fingerprints and stuff) Plus the classic investigation and court parts, It's AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111111

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay

posted by bozo1025 (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game is alright but not great.

Music 9/10 best conered theme ever
Gameplay 6/10 same exact thing from 2001 in japan
Graphics 8/10 it's a ds game what do you expect
Lasting appeal 3/10 not worth while
Rent and if you like it Buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too many interruptions in the gameplay/story.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Aug 10, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

I'm perfectly okay with reading and moving from place to place to search for more info. The movement could have been better without having to go to specific places to gain access to more options, though(at least after the 1rst time). If this was a movie or book the courtroom interjections and shaking screen effects would have been edited out because they really slow down the story and don't add anything important. I've never played any of the other games in the series but didn't have any problems understanding this one. Just like books/movies it adds depth to know the preceding plots but it's not absolutely necessary to enjoy this one. If you have the patience to reread alot to descipher the inconsistencies in a testimony etc. and like crime dramas/mysteries this game is worth a try but if you only want to zip through so you can get on with the next new thing this probably isn't the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

looks good

posted by gamedov (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

i havent played this game, but it does look good. i dont intend to play it because of this: its not about pheonix wright. he is in the game, but instead, you play as apolllo justice. i dont really understand the point of changing the main character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OBJECTIONS

posted by last1ninja (CONCORD, MI) Aug 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

i never played one of these games but i was intrested for some time the games not bad it really makes you think outside the box and you screaming into the mic HOLD IT or OBJECTION in public its intresting to see how people react its. Not a bad game but it seemed like a wierd soap operea its worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Justice, the new superhero, defending defendants.

posted by Drache (OMAHA, NE) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

To begin, I have not played any of the previous Ace Attorney games, nor am I a 'hardcore' gamer. I'm also not a professional critic, so if your looking for any of those qualities in a review, look elsewhere.

[b]Story/Characters: 9.4[/b]
Curiouser and curiouser, says the player trying to figure out all of the details. Very entertaining story and characters, and the only reason this wasn't a complete 10 was because a few facts here and there were a little too obvious. Otherwise, intriguing and prone to prevent proper sleep.

[b]Graphics: 10[/b]
Very impressive for a portable system, since the graphics can only do so much in comparison to consoles, not to mentioned fitting it all on such a small game card! The game sometimes switches from 'frame-by-frame' animation to scenes entirely in something akin to CG, both of which flow smoothly. The back round, which the character often examines', is usually pretty entertaining to look at too.

[b]Gameplay: 9.8[/b]
The game does a good job of walking the player through the controls, but I can't help but feel that it's sometimes unnecessarily confusing. Feel free to think I'm being nit picky about trivial details and pretend I gave this section a 10.

[b]Soundtrack: 8[/b]
While I enjoyed the sound and back round music, the span between a song starting and when it had to loop back to the beginning made it kind of dull after the first...oh...ten times? That, and at one point in the game the investigation calls for listening to a certain song...over...and over...and over. It was pretty, sure, but I still wanted to stab myself in the ear by the end of it.

[b]Difficulty: 9[/b]
Hey, don't get me wrong, this game is certainly a good pick for players that enjoy a serious challenge! But at some points, there were such trivial things that, if missed, the player could explore EVERY gosh darn possibility until they happened to stumble upon what trivial thing triggered the next event in the story. But maybe I'm just lazy.

OVERALL SCORE: 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same as Phoenix Wright with some fresh elements

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

A lot of the same mechanics from PW are reused here but there are some fresh elements added. The set of characters are mostly new and have the same likeable traits as the PW games with interesting personalities and behaviors. Investigations are nearly the same except you don't have the magatama for most of the game which I thought was pretty fun from PW2 and 3. You do get a new special power in the courtroom to use during cross exams but it has it's issues. Its a perception based power so you have to know exactly when to use it (which sentence of which phrase) and where to look to find the clues it reveals. This can be kind of tricky as you can be looking in the wrong spot during the right sentence or in the right spot during the wrong sentence and either will throw you off. The stories all tie together at the end, which is common in the PW games.
The last case has a little "What the heck is going on?" moment when the whole game interface changes for some reason and then returns back to normal when you are done.

Overall this was a pretty fun game and I would love to see more in the series. I hope they keep adding stuff like the perception ability and the magatama to keep the game from just clicking to continue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

capcom has done it again

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

this game is like being phoenix wright but a new character apollo justice. only this time apollo justice can see the wittness nervous habbits and present them to the court. shocking cases 1 and 4 of the person guilty. i give apollo justice 5 nervous habbits of every wittnes out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No Objections Here ;)

posted by C8LINC (BELLINGHAM, WA) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

This game continues the heritage of the previous 3 while becoming more complex, more loveable, and more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ace Attorney: Apollo Justice

posted by xXxTimxXx (AUBREY, TX) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game is the ending to one of the greatest DS series' I've ever played.

Fun, Intriguing, and it makes me question everything I hear. (Like if there's a contradiction to someone' s statement.)

9/10. Definitely try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's kind of like a "Choose Your Own Adventure"

posted by Verbalkint (BENSALEM, PA) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

You remember the "Choose your own adventure" series from when you were a kid? This game is a lot like that. What do I mean? There is a lot of reading and often only one choice. This can be both frustrating and rewarding.

This was my first time playing through one of Capcom's "Ace Attorney" games. As such, I found the initial learning curve to be rather steep. Your essentially thrown into the game expecting to know how to play. No tutorial, no back story, nothing.

There is a lot of reading involved in this game. Because of that and the fact I have an incredibly short attention span, I felt this game was only good in short bursts. Anymore then 30 minutes of playing and I would become bored. Also, the game doesn't think like you do. Just because you notice something in a piece of evidence that contradicts witness testimony doesn't mean that's the particular piece of evidence the game is looking for.

All of the above doesn't necessarily mean this is a bad game. When it works, it works well. Eventually you get the hang of things and the experience can be quite rewarding. The cases themselves are well thought out and, at times, funny.

Overall, this game isn't that bad but I'd recommend playing some of the earlier games in the series first. While others may enjoy this game, I found it to not really be my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Can law be fun? Thanks to this game, yes, it can!

posted by Axlthehntr (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Apollo Justice Ace Attorney as the name implies is a spin off of the popular courtroom series Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney series, so those who have played those already know what to expect.

You really wouldn't think a game putting players in the wrole of the defence attourney could be fun at all but many will be pleasently surprised by this game. First off the only real turnoff would be if you don't like games with a lot of text to read, other than that there is little that one could find wrong with this game. Even though it is very heavy in text with no Voice over, that is far overshadowed by the excelent writing. As Apollo you will not only defend your clients but even do some detective work to back up your cases and find evidence. What really makes this game great is that not only do all of the cases have many twists and turns that will keep players guessing all the way through, but the writters have a huge sence of humor thrown into the diologue throughout, so while the game has a largely serious tone, there is plenty of comic relief thrown in. Older gamers will also appreciate that this game WILL make you think. The cases are not easy and you will have to look over each piece of evidence for the smallest details to find the truth and prevail. While it sounds tedious when you're actually playing it is very fun and truly a winning formula.

Wheather you dream of being a lawyer in the future, or just want a game that requires thinking or heck, even if your a fan of shows like law and order or csi you will most likely love this game. I'd even recomend this game to fully grown adults! Don't let the anime art style turn you away, it is an excelent simulation of law enforcing action!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Phoenix Wright's A Tale of Two Gavins

posted by Axelerate (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Who is this Apollo Justice you speak of?

....Oh, that guy! Well, this is most definitely not his game. Phoenix Wright steals the spotlight from the first moment he steps on screen, and looks insanely awesome doing it. Is this a bad thing? Yes and no.

Yes, it's bad, because this is "Apollo Justice: Ace Attorney". Apollo is seriously under-developed to the point of being little more than a double-spiked pawn for Phoenix. However, he has great potential and people willing to look past his weaknesses will find a decent person, some assembly required.

It's not a bad thing because we love Phoenix. The new characters rely on him way too much though. Although I love Phoenix, puppet-master is not a role he's suited for. Give these characters some space!

And the Gavins! Never have there been a better pair of brothers. Klavier (the one on the left on the cover) is our prosecutor and Kristoph (on the right) is Apollo's trusted mentor. Never underestimate the power of a Gavin, as they are quite possibly the most wonderful and wonderfully ANNOYING characters in the game. They are also very cool. The girl on the cover, by the way, is Phoenix's daughter Trucy. Scream now.

This may sound like I'm complaining a lot. And I am. Only six characters return from the previous THREE GAMES. That's including the Judge and Payne! The major characters from the last three we've given our hearts to? Only referenced or simply ignored.

Yet...This still is a good game. The cases are fun, even if they're scientifically impossible, and plot-twists abound...somewhat. But the game itself rises above the sum of its parts and manages to be a worthy addition to the Ace Attorney series.

For those of you who hate Apollo, Klavier, the new attitude Phoenix is sporting, or just want to see characters you actually know, wait with the rest of the fandom for Edgeworth's game.
For those of us willing to give the new guy a chance and want to defend the defenseless yet again, pick up this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Apollo Justice Is Demanding Justice!!!!!

posted by stevoman16 (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Apollo Justice....Is the best of all the Phoenix Wright games ever!!!!! First let me tell you that this is the 1st one out of the other 3 that was made for the DS and not a GBA port. And let me tell you that it is astounding. Let me tell you some of the good things about this game that will make you either want to rent it or play it.

GOOD:

This game has amazing graphics for it being on a handhold system.

This game has amazing music that you would want to hear over and over again.

The gameplay is great with cases to solve and using the touch screen to look over evidence.

The game as a great cast of characters that are funny to see and to meet.

This game has 5 thrilling cases to solve and have you on the edge of you seat through out the whole game.

This game includes a new gameplay mechanic that lets you see closely on the witness and see any clues or facts that their hiding.

BAD:

I think that this game could have been a little longer cause you could beat it in a day.

This game should make some of the clues a little bit easier cause some of the cases can be really challenging.

I wish that they had some voice acting and sound effect of the text scrolling across the screen can be annoying sometimes.

So there is my quick review of Apollo Justice for the Nintendo DS.

Please rent this game if you are into court cases and love to see drama a lot. Buy this game if you are a die hard Phoenix Wright fan.

Thank you for reading my review.

Please visit stevoman16.weebly for all my other game reviews and game guides. Thanks you again and have a good day!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by dude123 (ELK RIVER, MN) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

this is the best game ive ever played!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fine addition to the Wright lineage

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

First off; if you haven't played the first three Phoenix Wright games, play them before this. It won't be nearly as rewarding if you don't.

The game opens with a new protagonist, Apollo Justice, a new defense attorney with the same neurotic nervousness Wright started with. Along the way he picks up a plucky female sidekick almost identical to Maya Fey, only she's a magician, not a spirit medium (big difference :p). Without spoiling the story, you also meet a few folks from games past, giving the story a fantastic connection to prior titles.

Apollo soon learns he has the power to "perceive" people's nervous tics, a tool he uses in the courtroom as a neat addition the the game mechanics. A series of investigative tricks make for a much more interesting game.

I won't say anything about the story, but let me assure you, it's engrossing, a worthy sequel to the series.

Bottom line: this game is good, great story, even better than the first three, and totally worth playing if you enjoyed the other 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic

posted by Believer (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I can safely say that this game almost has the best story I've ever seen in a video game (below Bioshock). Although there is a blatant lack of action, people who are somewhat diverse in games won't find this as a problem. If you are the type of person who just wants to play, and doesn't like waiting for the characters to stop talking, I'm afraid you are going to absolutely loathe this game.

Now, there are some now additions to the Ace Attorney game play. For one, you can check any piece of evidence, by using scroll wheels on the side to examine the 3D image of it. There are some instances where your character can examine evidence forensically. Some are more interactive than others. For fingerprints, you lay the powder out, blow it away, and compare to records. Taking footprints is pretty similar. But, the most pathetic forensic activity is spraying a poison reactant. Just tap the screen. Opposed to Phoenix Wright's Magatama, Apollo Justice has a bracelet, that tells him when someone is lying (There's a scientific explanation in the game). So you can 'perceive' when someone is lying by looking all over them and watching for a nervous habit. I found this was a fun twist into the court areas of the game.

Now, there are a lot of new characters. The only character from any of the other games is Phoenix Wright. That's right, no Detective Gumshoe, no Von Karma, none of that. But the new characters are more than enough to make up for it. And for all you die hard Phoenix Wright fans, there's a part in the game where you investigate as him and even use his Magatama.

Although this game is extremely lacking in action, the amazing storyline is more than enough to keep you interested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Formula is getting stale

posted by ButtonMash (WATERLOO, IA) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

While I've played every one of the Phoenix Wright games, they were starting to get old by the third game that had introduced little or nothing to the formula.

Then we get Apollo Justice, an antagonist that isn't as likable as Mr. Wright and even more outrageous situations like the rock star prosecutor. Toss in the fact that rehashed mechanics of "forensics" were still there and you get the final straw for me.

While the perception mechanic was new and different, it wasn't enough to save this series from itself. Was a fun series at first, but it never evolved and eventually grew stagnant. Stopped this one by the time I reached the third case.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome!!!

posted by Jumpman (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

This game is great it has a good storyline and the cases are extreamly fun to solve. Not only is the game fun but it`s suprisingly long there are 4 levels to choose from and they are all realy long. At somtimes you will be in court and other times you`re investgating. And to make the game isn`t easy it can actually be pretty hard. So if you don`t care to read a lot then you realy should rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Absolute Delight!

posted by airwalkrr (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I think the last time a game surprised me this much was my first play through the original Legend of Zelda. This was my first experience with the Ace Attorney series and after completing it, I am sorry I waited this long to get into it. The dialogue is clever and witty, the characters charming and well-developed, and the mysteries intriguing. If I had one complaint about the game, it would be that there is essentially only one track to follow, meaning there is little replay value. But overall, this title is a smashing success that should appeal to all players old enough to understand the logic puzzles.

The player is placed in the shoes of green attorney Apollo Justice, a fresh attorney who just received his license to practice. His first case is defending none other than the legendary ex-attorney Phoenix Wright, who is accused of murder no less! Over the course of four trials, which are punctuated by extended periods of tracking down clues and interviewing witnesses, more is revealed about each of the characters, including your rival and often prosecutor who figures very prominently in the whole plot. Dark secrets are revealed by watching for cues from witnesses who conceal the truth and looking for flaws in logic that contradict evidence. Apollo Justice carries a bracelet that helps him discern the veracity of testimony by helping the player focus in closely on the witnesses' nervous twitches.

I should also mention that the musical score to this game, while a bit repetitive by the end, does a great job of conveying the mood be it in the court room or sleuthing for clues before a trial. There is nothing like an impressive orchestration to set the mood and this game does it beautifully.

This game is for anyone who enjoys mysteries and figuring out logic puzzles. Replayability is virtually nonexistant, but it is nevertheless gripping from start to finish. Like a good book, I couldn't put it down! I certainly look forward to going back and playing its predecessors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easier but still fun

posted by Delirium (SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

One thing I always loved about the Phoenix Wright games was the challenging cases. However, I couldn't help but feel they dumbed down the cases in this case. Still, that didn't keep me from enjoying the storyline and climax of each case.

I almost passed this game up because it quit using the Phoenix Wright protagonist and started with Apollo Justice: Rookie Lawyer, once again.

Without revealing anything, I have to say the conclusion of the game made it all worth to go through the cases to reach the finish. I would definitely recommend this game to any Phoenix Wright fans. If you haven't played the first games yet, I would do so because you're liable to get lost or you just won't have that exciting feeling when you meet the characters of the past game once again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse