Rent A Boy and His Blob for Wii
view large frontback

A Boy and His Blob

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

963 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Toast Master Den's Review!

posted by LordDen (FRESNO, CA) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very fresh and exciting. The world is designed beautifully, the characters are lovable and memorable, and the control is simple. All of these things combined make for a fun, genial experience.

How can a game about a fat blob and a little kid with a ton of jelly beans be this delightful you ask? Let me paint you a picture.

Imagine that I'm standing at a platform and right before me is a very large canyon coming into view. All I have is a jelly bean that turns my blob into a parachute. Can you guess what I have to do next? :D That's right. After I feed the blob, I jump off the platform, open the chute, and there are little mines making a small path for me to float down gracefully. But oh noes! There seems to be a mine that's moving back and forth underneath me! It's going to disrupt my graceful decline. Either I have to slow down the chute so that it passes before I get there, or I put the chute away so that I free fall passed the moving mine, only to hopefully deploy it again in time so as not to hit the other mines below!

That is just one example of my favorite moments in the game. That doesn't include all the other little jelly bean throwing, anvil dropping moments that had me giggling like a little boy. And it doesn't stay easy! There were times when I had to check what jelly beans I had available to me, determine my surroundings, take a moment to strategize the possibilities, then quickly execute!

Graphics: The graphics are great! Everything is hand drawn and animated in a very 'disney-like' manner. Even the artwork itself seems to be coming from a time when 2D animation was at its peak.

Music: The music showed that they really went above and beyond with pretty much all aspects of this game. It really felt like the music for each level fit the backdrop well. That said I won't be picking up the soundtrack of this game, but I really did enjoy it in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hand drawn beauty with a hint of nostalgia

posted by Malgamus (AUBURNDALE, FL) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is incredible in many ways. They took a classic from my childhood and re-imagined it in a new way. The main levels offer a decent challenge without being frustrating. The bonus levels are a bit harder but I found the challenge fun rather than annoying. The hand drawn environments make the levels come alive with details down to bugs and the like moving around on the ground and in the air.

Pros:
+Hand drawn graphics look great
+Moderately challenging puzzles to solve
+Interesting take on boss fights
+Honoring the original game

In short, if you like puzzle solving platform games with a moderate level of challenge you will like this game. If you remember the original you will like it even more. We need more games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blobs of fun

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Nov 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A Boy and His Blob is a long-overdue remake of the NES classic. It provides an action/puzzle gameplay that is unlike anything on the market today... for better or worse.
Like several recent gems, ABHAB is a 2-D side-scroller. However, this one is not focused on action gameplay, it's more series of puzzles. That's where your blob comes into the game. You see, your little white ball of goo likes his jellybeans. Feed him different jellies and he'll transform into useful forms that can help you progress. Need to get to another platform? Turn it into a ladder. Need to press a button? Turn it into an anvil. Need to perform open heart surgery? Turn into a scalpel... okay, maybe not. But the blob has plenty of forms that will have you lifting, jumping, floating, falling and platforming your way through 40 levels. The levels aren't that long, but move along smoothly.
At the end of each 10 levels you face a boss. Now, this is one of the pitfalls of the game, because the bosses has patterns of attack, charge, strike, etc. However, you're mostly geared for a puzzle game. Having to call back your blob, drop the appropriate jelly bean, wait for him to transform and use the new form creates a big disconnect when it comes to action gameplay. This process could have been much more streamlined and it weighs down the overall game.
Each level has three treasure chests you can collect. But it's really unnecessary since collecting the chests just unlocks a bonus level that, once completed, unlocks some concept art. That's all. It adds some nice challenges to the levels though.
The art style and overall presentation are very good for this type of game. It has a hand-drawn quality that really resonates with the old-school gameplay.
While I appreciate what ABAHB is trying to do, it has enough problems in the overall design to keep it from gaming nirvana. It's a great change of pace though and a welcome reboot for a long-lost series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good puzzle platformer!

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Nov 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hello - very good 2D puzzle platform game. Puzzles are very clever, most are moderately difficult - but there are a few real toughies! Be ready to test your platforming skills as well - many moves require real finesse to pull off properly. The Wii controller works great, also the game has a very intuitive auto-save - so no frustrating back tracking occurs. Takes around 15 hours or so to complete, and I highly recommend this one! Happy gaming, D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

There's something likable about this Blob

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's the classic tale of a boy meeting a blob, boy and blob go through several stages (40) to ... do something.
A Boy and his Blob has the same feel as other 2D platformmers like Warioland Shake It!
Your blob starts off with a few abilities (create a hole, trampoline) which you use to solve puzzles that you meet in every level to get to the end. You can also get up to three treasure chests if you really know what you're doing.
After a few stages, you blob gets more abilities (turn into a bouncy ball, a rocket or a cannon)
At the end of each set of 10 stages is a boss battle, which is a ramped up puzzle. You have to figure out which seqence of forms you want the blob to turn into the avoid the boss and counter attack it.
The best part of the game is the many forms the Blob can take and how the game utilizes each one. Those of you looking for a puzzle game will find a lot to like about A Boy and His Blob.
But things go wrong when boy and blob are separated. Sometimes the blob can get back to the boy, but sometimes it can't and I have no idea how to distinguish the two.
And anyone looking for a more action based 2D platformer like Super Mario is going to be dissapointed with the vast number of puzzles approaching one after another after another.
Most players should get through this game in about four to five hours; getting all the treasures on the other hand, can take signifigantly more time.
I say give A Boy and his Blob a rent, try it out, and decide for yourself if you want to pony up $40 for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For Children

posted by KaneShadow (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was lured in by the revival of some youthful memories, but they intended this as a children's game. It's very simple and not all that challenging.
I scored it highly because I'm sure for kids it's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun to play for what it is

posted by Naryia (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I think this game is first of all, adorable. And I'm fine with that. I'd actually like more "adorable" games that aren't half bad to play. It is on the simplistic side of things as far as the platforming goes, but really, how much trouble should a young boy be getting into anyway? This would be an excellent game to play with your children of almost any age and not be completely brain numbed by the repetative game play and unimaginative environments that many games made for children have. Why should children grow up on cruddy games? I grew up on what most adults were playing at the time, (without violence and gore and sensuality, Q-bert, Pac-Man, Asteroids, Enduro, Pole Position, Pitfall, Tetris, Super Mario Bros etc.) and so should this generation be able to as well. The attention to detail is wonderful, the Boy/Blob relation is somewhat like having a puppy and is absolutely heart melting when he hugs it. So ultimately, I say, bring on the cute but fun (or somewhat fun in this case) to play games! BRING IT ON!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hey C'omon.....Come Here....Whistle

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I remember this game when I was a kid, it was frustrating then and it is frustrating now. I like the idea that you feed a marshmellow like blob jellybeans thus making him morph into useful shapes. The problem is that there isn't much to do. In the 80's version you went underground to a subway to grab a special bag od jellybeans to go into outerspace and fight the blob king of blobolina. Here you have a menu of three jellybeans at a time, the grpahica are cartooney and much more colorful and smoother. And yet I was never so bored, occasionally you play W.E. Coyote where a gaint black blob bull will try to charge and you feed the blob a punch jellybean so he can turn into a hole. GET IT Punchhole. Only to have the beast fall in. Or maybe give him a tangerine to turn into a trampoline or coconut to turn into a ball. You get the idea, but the levels are short, sadly boring and repetitive. A great concept, but only a renter at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for 5 minutes

posted by dainan (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I never played the original so I have nothing to compare this to. However, I was enthralled at the beginning. The art work was gorgeous, the kid was cute, and the blob was fun and interesting. However, the levels are very repetitive, I felt very forced into completing challenges in one way and only one way, and I hated that I could only carry 3 beans at one time (and most of the time one of them was the balloon which was pointless since I could call blob three times and he'd automatically turn into a balloon anyway...plus the fact that when I wanted him to be a balloon, he was too far away to reach my jelly bean anyway so I had to sit and hit a button three or four times in order to continue...). This game is definitely a renter. On the good side, my wife, who doesn't play many video games, loved the simplicity and beauty of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Do you like boring puzzles?

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is about as fun as doing the dishes. The game play consists of tiny platforming levels that the player traverses by feeding his blob various beans. There is no reason to waste your time with this "game". It is not challenging enough to be interesting as a puzzle game, nor does it control well enough to be considered a entertaining platformer. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. This is another example of a game that is getting hype just for appearing on a console devoid of content. If this game had appeared on any other console it would have been utterly ignored.

A Boy and His Blob is not a bad game, but it is not a very good game either.

Try Braid for 360 or PS3 for a fun puzzler, or a Mario game for platforming. You'll have a much more interesting time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Bad

posted by shhhhh (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm pretty satisfied with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lovely game, but would have been better on WiiWare

posted by jamesblond (WEST CHESTER, OH) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game makes me glad Gamefly exists. If I had purchased this game instead of rented it, I would have been disappointed. It is a beautiful, melodic adventure, but doesn't seem to fully deliver. A couple hours into the game, it begins to feel repetitive and unoriginal. I got my fill of this game in just one Saturday morning, and you probably will too. Definitely check it out if you're looking for a clever and sophisticated adventure, but you won't want to spend more than a weekend befriending A Boy and His Blob.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Theres a blob in this game!!!

posted by ben10lover (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 1, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game is one of he best games I've ever played! But I'm stuck at the boss in world one. If anyone knows how to beat it please tell me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

blob

posted by dony247 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game is awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the game I remember for NES...

posted by Nicholle27 (LACONIA, NH) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

So I used to love the game "a boy and his blob" or NES. It was original and challenging!
When I found out they made the game for Wii I was super excited, and ordered it immediately!
I'm not sure what I expected, but it wasn't what I got.
After you beat "levels" you return to the treehouse and then go to the next "level". It colors in on the map with crayon's to show you your progress. Each level is more like a a puzzle, than an actual level. It feels like it was made for a 5 year old honestly.The controls are the only thing that becomes complicated. Especially when feeding jellybeans.
This game is nothing like the challenging game that I used to love.
Oh, and you can't die. If you do die you start right back from the spot that you died. Unlimited lives. No time. Pretty simple. If you don't like a challenge, or have a lot of small kids I guess you should rent this game. If you grew up with the original, don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boo!

posted by Yumi4545 (EDISON, NJ) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this was too easy and too simple. i played it and beat it in an hour, it is rated E but should be rated F for failure or p for preschool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved this game!

posted by Nicolina919 (MIDDLETOWN, CT) May 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

My 4-yr-old son and I loved this game! So cute that the blob eats jelly beans. My son always looked forward to what new jelly beans would be available next. Beautiful scenery too, I would recommend this game for everyone!! (In fact, we bought it so we could send the rented one back...)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Blob!

posted by OustoLogra (ONTARIO, CA) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

A Boy and His Blob may look kiddie, but it shouldn't be easily passed up. What may look like a game designed for young children, is actually a fairly challenging puzzle/platformer that will be enjoyed by all ages.

The pace is slow and you'll have to sit back and think about what you'll be doing before you do it. I found the boy to move pretty sluggish, though. Which made the boss battles harder than they needed to be, and they could get pretty frustrating at times. I also found the blob to get pretty annoying, because he could never keep up with me and I'd always have to be calling on him. And instead of trying to go around anything, it always needs to go THROUGH things, which causes me to wait around before Blob turns into his balloon form to zoom back to me. I almost always had to wait for Blob to catch up to me before I could start solving the next puzzle, which got pretty annoying.

One thing I really think the game needed is a cancel button, I would often start aiming a jellybean, but change my mind, but there was no way to cancel. Which caused Blob to run over to it, transform, me having to call it off, then try again. But the game has a hug button! Which is extremely cute.

The game has around 40 levels, and the game is pretty short. However, it also has bonus challenge levels, that you can unlock if you find all three chests in a level. These will keep you playing for a while longer.

Good luck finding all the chests though, it can get pretty hard. I can see kids getting easily frustrated with the difficulty, so don't hesitate to look at guides to give you a helping hand. Thankfully, there's a ton of checkpoints and infinite lives!

Bottom line, this game is fun. It can start to get repetitive after a while of playing, but taking a break and coming back to it should renew your interest.

Everyone should at least try this game, and it's perfect for a family to play together and take turns trying to pass the level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who dosen't like the hug button?

posted by spyrolover (SPRINGVILLE, UT) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Yes there is a hug button and it's so cute! All you have to do is press up on the arrow pad on the wii remote. This game is adorable. You get to feed your blob jelly beans and he changes into a differnt form. You get to beat bad guys and ride on a rocket later in the game. The levels do seem like they repeat their selves through so it does get kinda boring but it's for little kids they won't mind. But I am thirteen and I got addicted to it. My family started to make fun of the game when they saw it but after I started playing it they had to get in on it to. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great little game

posted by ceejay11 (RENO, NV) Sep 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

Having played dozens of Wii games I can honestly say that I consider this to be one of the best games made for the Wii. It's a kind of cross between a classic platformer with and puzzle game. In each level your blob can typically take on around five different useful shapes and picking the right form to solve the puzzle and surmount the obstacles makes an interesting change from all the too-much-alike games out there. Also, how many games have a hug button? Too cute.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but tedious

posted by InwardJim (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

A fun puzzle game. You have to figure out what the objective is for yourself and then how to conquer each obstacle course. The unlimited number of lives does make it a bit tedious. After you get past each obstacle, you respawn after said obstacle so luck is more in play than skill when conquering some challenges, and once conquered you don't have to do them again. It was fun for brief stints of time, but after an hour or so, you get bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cute, but underwhelming

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The graphics style is charming enough, and the game is cute and reasonably well-designed. It's just kind of...well...boring. It doesn't exactly get your adrenaline flowing. I didn't feel motivated to play it all the way to the end. By the end of World 3, I felt I had gotten everything I could from the experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by griffin59 (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1.pitiful grafics im playing wii not nes
2.to hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IT SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jacobB (PARKER, CO) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

it SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A lot of old school fun

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) May 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

It's a fun, old school platformer with enough action and laughs to keep any player interested. The only flaw, as I see it, is that it's a bit too 'cutesy' for older players, and the difficulty is a little steep for young players.

Still, if you're like me and find the cuteness hilarious (there's even a 'hug' button), then you'll enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse