Rent 9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors for DS
view large frontback

9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

810 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great story and puzzles.

posted by WRONGonRED (DELTONA, FL) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While, as I'm sure has been pointed out already, the text can be very overbearing sometimes (if only there was the capacity for voices); the story is magnificent when you first start out. I can get pretty repetitive when you are playing through for the 6th time to unlock all the endings. I know there is new dialog to be found, but the story pretty much is the same. Would have been kinda cool to have a wild story arch turn when you chose different options rather than just end up in the same place eventually, no matter what you pick. But, even with its flaws and the fact its basically just a click and point adventure, it was fun and definitely checking, even if you just rent it, and worth playing through at least once.

If you are a gamer that is expecting a lot of action and a fast pacing story, this game is not for you tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by DJAnalLightBulb (MCKINNEY, TX) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm 36 years old and I've been a gamer for over 20 years. I have never played a game as well written as this one. I played through all 6 endings, happily. This is a must rent for anyone interested in something cerebral and beautiful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This deserves more than just 9!

posted by TheCjGuy (BUFFALO, NY) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like to read a story and interact with it, this is for you.

The story and plot are very good and left me with a few awed and jaw dropping moments. The characters are interesting enough to care about them; whether you hate them or love them and all somehow connect together.

There are six endings for the game. I suggest you look up the three bad endings first and then do the 'safe' ending and then the 'True' ending which is the best possible. It ties everything up and the order gives you the most the game can offer. If you thought something was like that, well, you learn some new things and it turns your theory inside out.

Speaking of the endings: all good endings for this type of game. The end of the true could have used a little more on a certain two or three characters in this endings, as I was suspecting...well, you'll know if you play this too. Nevertheless, I think it is perfect for what it is!

Although I don't have energy right now to go into detail, if you are a fan of this genre, it is perfect for you! I recommend getting this for a good two-night rental. Took me hours to beat even with having the ability to skip text I had already seen.

I sure hope the sequel is better- which there will be- and can somehow tie up some loose ends. But that's just hoping.

Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

999 is a perfect 10

posted by HLarge4 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Apr 29, 2011

Member since May 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I am a very critical person. Perfection is more than just a word, its a religon. While writing short stories for publication or preparing for term exams, nothing is taken lightly. I see lousy games and passable work as a personal insult.
So when I tell you that 999 is perfection, I want my full meaning understood.
Your playing an interactive novel. I won't try and sell the game as something it isn't. Its a text adventure with a small cache of still images, almost zero character animation, and puzzles that almost solve themselvs.
So why is this a ten? It is excitement like I've never encounterd in a game before. You will tap your screen at lightning speed, desperate for the next line of text to appear, you will ache as you decide which of the choices presented is the right for you. You'll find your 9 cliched characters transforming into beautifully tragic human being with very real problems. You'll ponder the real mystery behind the events. And, if your anything like me, you will literaly pulse with thougts of the game while its closed away as you go about your life.
I have never played a game that stayed with me in such a personal way. i had never felt a stab of guilt at the untimely demise of a fellow character. And I've never, in over 20 years of gaming, restarted a game to pursue alternate endings so fast. Literaly before the screen loaded, I was already pounding start to do it again, but hopefully better.
If your worrited about alternate ending, dont't. the way the final true ending ties it all together with leave you floored, covered in goosebumps, and cheering for just how powerful, brilliant, emotional and timeless a video game can be. Dont just rent it, buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant, to put it lightly

posted by Iamnobody (AMHERST, MA) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I decided to play 999, I was looking for something to tide me over during winter break and based the decision off of a single, very positive, review on IGN. Even though I'd heard great things about the game, I hated "escape the room" games and didn't care for visual novels, so I expected very little from it. Now that I have obsessively played the game for a week and reached all of its 6 endings, I can safely say that I have never been so surprised by a game.

As far as the writing is concerned, I could rave for many times the space I have here about it's astounding quality. Suffice to say that the tale is excellently developed and the characters, however cliche their art may appear, are all very deep and extremely convincing.

As a game, 999 consists primarily of two things: escape the room puzzles and the text choices you'd expect to find in a visual novel. Despite being part of a genre I've already admitted to hating, the puzzles manage to be one of the most fun parts of the game. Unlike many other games of the genre, 999 never opts for a fantastic, if totally unrealistic, solution to any of its escapes. Instead, every puzzle is solved in a way that makes practical sense, and better yet, fits perfectly into the rest of the story. Also unlike other games of this type, every puzzle but the first is solved with the help of several other characters. This is also connected to the story, and many of the games most important events and decisions take place in what would otherwise be a regular puzzle. Furthermore, the characters can offer helpful hints if you become stuck on one of the more difficult puzzles.

The choices the game offers are pretty straightforward: you're either choosing what to say in a conversation, or choosing which door to go through. Either way, the choices usually have consequences and help personalize each playthrough.

In short, 999 easily ranks among my favorite games of all time and should not be missed by anyone with a DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A truly amazing, underrated game.

posted by Triedge (LAWRENCEBURG, IN) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let's get this out of the way: If you don't like reading, this game isn't for you. A lot of the time in this game is spent reading, which will turn some people away, but you really don't want to miss out on this fantastic game.
You play as Junpei, a college age guy, who wakes up in a room with a door adorned with the number 5. You soon find a way out and discover what's going on. A person who refers to him/herself as 'Zero' has trapped you and 8 other people on what is supposedly a boat stranded in the middle of the ocean. You find out that Zero's having you all play a deadly game called 'The Nonary Game'. And now, you must work together with the 8 other people to find the door with a 9 on it and escape from this madman. That's the basic premise. I can't say much more without spoiling.
The gameplay is split into two parts: The narrative of the game, the top screen of the DS showing the pictures, the bottom screen typing out what's going on like a book. The other part of the gameplay is the puzzles. These puzzles are like 'Escape-the-room-games' with more logic involved and less nonsense. The puzzles are difficult, but they all can be figured out with careful thinking.
As for the story? This story is one of the absolute best I've ever seen in a videogame. It really left an emotional impact on me, and made me think for at least an hour after figuring out what happened. That being said, there's 6 endings you can get, but only 1 true ending. I suggest getting them all, you find out more that way.
To wrap this review up, here's my conclusion:
Story: Fantastic story. One of the most gripping I've ever experienced.
Gameplay: The interactive novel/puzzle gameplay was great, but it may turn some people away.
Music: The music sounds good, and fits the game well.
Graphics: Pretty good for a DS.
Replay Value: A lot if you're going after all 6 endings.
The game took me about 2 and a half weeks to beat. I highly recommend this game to anyone looking for something cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An exciting turn for DS gaming.

posted by Pyrospazz (BROOKFIELD, MA) Nov 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

There's a lot to be said about 9hours 9persons 9doors. First thing to be said is that it's an unusual type of game. It's a visual novel so there isn't much game play involved. It's mostly like the 'choose your own story' novels I used to read as a kid.

The story changes depending on your choices and actions. While most of the game is reading, that's not all there is to it. When you're not reading, you're thinking your way through some challenging puzzles.
Funny thing about the puzzles. The deeper into the game you get, the puzzles in turn become more challenging.

999 has multiple endings. If you pick the obvious choices, you get the easier puzzles and the weakest ending. It's when you play through the second and third times that you get the real good stuff. In fact, picking the right choices makes the game longer!

There are a lot of unexpected plot twists that keep it exciting. The only reason I didn't give 999 a 10 is because it's very difficult to find all the endings. Don't get me wrong now, I like a challenge, it's just disappointing to play the entire game again just to get an ending I've already gotten (The first few are easy, I'm looking for the 5th).

It should be noted that dialog can get repetitive at times after beating the game the first few rounds, however, if you've already seen a portion of text, you can fast forward and the game will automatically stop at the new stuff. so none of that button mashing to get through what you've already seen.

As far as the music goes, it's not always playing. It's used more for dramatic effect than for backround noise. Even so, this adds a submersive feel to the game. Good for playing in a dark room in the silence of night.

So I highly recommend 999 to anyone who likes puzzles, looks for a good story line, and who likes reading.

The free watch that came with 999 is pretty cool too. (It's just like the ones that the 9 persons wear). But sadly, the watch was only given out to people who pre-ordered the game online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

How does this get such high scores?...

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Jan 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2011

10 out of 21 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Here’s how I’d summarize 9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors. It’s a graphic novel told in a very unique way on the DS. The story contained therein is somewhere within the suspense/thriller/mystery genres, so if you like those genres and want to read a graphic novel on the DS, this is a good choice for you. The characterizations are great, and as a choose your own adventure novel, 9-9-9 does a good job.

As a game, however - not so much. That’s because most of the “game” is simply reading the story. And it’s a good story. But I expected a game, not a book.

Between the hours of reading are some basic point and click puzzles where you click around rooms, collecting items that you may combine with other items and use in certain locations. The puzzles are ok, but not exactly Professor Layton standard. If you do come across something tricky, generally hints will get dropped if you click on things enough. Basically, click everywhere and you can work it out. The only time things get tricky is when you have to keep numbers or symbols in your head for some time; an in-game notepad function would have been helpful.

This game has multiple endings. If you want to see all the endings or don’t like the one you got, you’ve got to start again. 9-9-9 gives you some help in going through the game again: you can scroll through the text you’ve seen before very quickly. But you cannot skip such text entirely, and it can still take minutes to get through very long scenes. And if you encounter a puzzle you already solved on a previous playthrough, you must solve it all over again...

If you want to play something entirely unique on the DS and are up for reading a suspense novel, this game is for you. But I am not convinced that many gamers will find what they're looking for here, and while I enjoyed the story I did not love the game. My score of 4 indicates this game has some merit, but is best suited for a select group. If you don't think you fall in that group, skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game Worth playing.

posted by SilentPrince088 (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Nice storyline
twists and turns
entertaining

Cons:
LOOOOOOONG cutscenes
5 or 6 different endings
Irritating 'beep' when people talk

Worth playing if you are patient with cutscenes sometimes i was literally sitting there for 30 minutes tapping the screen waiting for the talking to stop and the true ending is no exception it is LOOOOONG

Have fun playing 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pandering and boring. A bad novel, not a game.

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2005

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I was expected something way different than what I got when I played this. It was not a game at all but mostly a badly written story. This was like a bad manga put with visuals and worthless exploration sequences. Between the game's constant need to insert meaningless story elements to make you think it's interesting, cool, horrific... there are minor elements of plot. The plot is a very small portion of the game and you will not be doing much with that. It's mostly just reading banter and mindless arguments. Every so often you will get to search around, complete very few easy puzzles, and eventually beat the game.

After the first hour I did two puzzles. The game is over 90% reading. The story is overly descriptive and often describes in full detail exactly what you're staring at a picture of. It inserts sexual material, violence, and so many other things into the story without adding to the plot. The characters are all stereotypes of typical manga characters. The quality of graphics is very low and the characters are just simple typical manga type drawings. The game gives you items that are useless and puzzles that are somewhat broken with little to no clue how to solve them. One puzzle gave you a bunch of numbers and a safe. It didn't tell you what to do with the numbers or how to turn that into a combination so I just assumed I was supposed to add them and it turned out I was right... way too easy.

It only has one save though it has several endings. Compared to Professor Layton this is child's play as far as the puzzles are concerned. Compared to most Manga and comics I've read, this is a sad attempt at a story that steals elements from several books and movies like Saw and Battle Royal. I'm not sure what everyone loves about this game but I was bored. I still completed it so I could do a full review, but I was so bored. You'd be better off reading real novels than playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Decent Story, but Poor Writing is Distracting

posted by alstromerian (OAK PARK, MI) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is rated "mature," but doesn't seem to actually be for adults. The main problems? Poor writing, incessant repetition, and incredibly easy puzzles.

The rave review for this title are primarily based on praise for the interesting and creative story (which makes sense, since this game is quite literally 90% story and 10% interactive puzzles). I agree that the story, as a whole, is good. However, the writing itself is so poor and repetitive that anything redeeming about the story is lost. One would think that a "mature" game would be written at an adult reading level.

It isn't merely that it moves slowly -- concepts are repeated over and over (presumably so that you catch the "important" stuff), and it feels as though this was written for a 12-year-old. Particularly obnoxious examples of this is full repetition of unnecessarily detailed instructions every time you click on a puzzle (e.g. entering a combination - a full paragraph of explanation), detailed discussion of basic arithmetic, repetitive and excruciatingly descriptive details that do not add to the story, a character's internal dialogue that paraphrases the conversation that you just read, etc.

Further, the story is written with all of the sophistication of a high school creative writing assignment (which, I suppose, is suggested by the repetition). Not only is the sentence structure poor and distracting, there is close to no believable character development. As a person who cries at almost every movie, I had no empathy whatsoever for any of these characters. For a game that is primarily story-driven, this is damning. Story-driven games, one of my favorite genres, can be done well (see, e.g., Heavy Rain). This, however, is poorly executed.

As for the remaining 10%, it's fairly boring. To compare it to Myst is laughable. I'm fine with easy games, but when action is hours apart, it's a snooze. If the writing was better, it would have been tolerable. Alas, a good concept, marred in execution.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DEFINITELY a book more than a game

posted by orangehat (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

As other reviewers have said, this game is VERY text-heavy. The breakdown of reading versus playing is easily 75/25. Some reviewers have just LOVED the story, but I thought the writing itself was mediocre -- cliched, immature, and riddled with spelling errors ("lead" instead of "led," etc). It read like high school fanfic. That said, I was still compelled to finish 5 of the 6 endings.

The difficulty of the gameplay itself -- all collection missions and puzzles -- is variable but generally not difficult. Again, as others have said, the puzzles are not nearly so hard as most of those you'd play in the Professor Layton games. The game frustratingly holds your hand through a lot of the challenges. It's nice to know there's a hint handy but occasionally they're a little TOO handy. Since you spend so much time reading, it would be nice if you could play more without "help."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun the First Time, then Yawn.

posted by LadyMamaKat76 (EFFINGHAM, IL) Oct 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

This game was fun the first time I played it, choosing what to do and where to go, but then it got repetitive, and then it got boring. The only reason I kept playing it is because I wanted to survive, just once; I wasted a lot of hours on this game that I wish I could get back.
On the up side; this game will help you become a better reader.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool game

posted by Kenjibaby (KISSIMMEE, FL) Sep 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

After 2 bad endings I gave up. It's a pretty good story though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I think I'm obligated to give this a 9 regardless

posted by Aslain (KEENE, NH) May 20, 2013

Member since May 2013

Amazing. I don't do reviews, but this game told me I had to. I understand some people don't like reading, but if you don't mind it, you'd be doing yourself a disservice by not playing this. It's that good.

I've played a few Visual Novels in my day, and I'll admit it - I like them. Shame on me, I enjoy reading. Regardless, this game is that. However! There is a point-and-click aspect to this game as well. Bam. My favorite dying genre. This game is a gift from the gods. So to speak. A perfect genre for DS.

My only gripe with it is that you're kind of forced to fail a few times before you can get a happy ending. So be prepared to be depressed a few times before you really get to smile warmly. That and the art can be a bit funky at times, but whatever.

I loved it. You can bet your rear the sequel on 3DS is number one on my GameQ now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Story

posted by eluziv (HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

If you are looking for gameplay and hate stories that develop and unfold throughout the gameplay dont bother but for those that enjoy a well written Story, this should be a must on anyone's list. Combination of puzzles and twists keeps you on your toes and this is one of the few games I was compelled to get the 100% completion. If you plan on playing Zero Escape Virtue's Last Reward, I recommend playing this one first or if you already played it definitely play this one as it is labeled as a sister game it felt more like a prequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing

posted by caotic_hero (WACO, TX) Jan 23, 2013

Member since May 2012

This game is an amazing DS game. Has a great story line that had me guessing until the very end. I love that is has so many different endings, going to try and get every one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Story Based Game

posted by Jezeus02 (EL PASO, TX) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This was a great and enjoayable game that makes you think. Although this game has a great story line it is very difficult to get a good ending the first time you play it so you have to keep on sitting through the fast forwarded cut off scenes each time you try again. If you do not like to read, solve puzzles, or do not have the patience to work at getting the true ending this game is probably not for you. Yet, if you are willing to be patient, engulf yourself in the story, and put your puzzle solving skills to the test this game is great!! Definately recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Good

posted by Stormed (LAKE GROVE, NY) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

I got this game as a gift and figured it would just be various puzzles strewn about though a story. Which it is... but the story is by far the dominant factor in this game. The puzzles are there and they are done very well. They serve as the only "game-play" in this title, and while they are well done, they tend to be very sparse. Normally this would be a problem, except that the story is so well written and engrossing. The only complaint I have about this game is that sometimes the dialog does run on a bit too long.

You can play the game through once, but that won't be enough. There are six different endings. To get to each you have to follow certain choice paths throughout the game. In particular the real ending is gated behind you experiencing one of the other endings. As others have stated, you can fast-forward past dialog you've already experienced during subsequent playthroughs. In the end, I think most players will want to experience all of the endings because of all the questions they'll likely have as news story arcs twist and turn around your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very Dark

posted by wmpendle (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I thought I would like this game because I like games with story lines and puzzles/mini games but it was really dark and creepy, especially the way there are flashbacks that I wasn't expecting. I knew the rating, but it still surprised me. I tried to play it a few times but finally just sent it back. Please note I am not a fan of scary movies at all so I probably should have skipped this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I wasn't expecting a novel interrupting my game

posted by TheIntrepidNemo (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I have two problems with this room-escapte game.

1.) This isn't so much a video game as it is a novel trying to pass itself off as a video game.

2.) If it were a well written novel, there wouldn't be a number one or two.

That about sums it up. The puzzles, once you finish slogging through 20 to 30 minutes of un-skippable dialogue and writing, are actually pretty good. I'm not sure if the writing itself was this terrible originally, or if the translators just didn't have that much mastery over the English language. But I could find better prose in my toilet.

All in all, if you like room escape games, you can find better ones for free on the internet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

PLAY THROUGH AT LEAST ONCE

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2006

That should be stated first, and loudly. Why? YOU CAN SKIP DIALOGUE IN LATER PLAY-THROUGHS.

The barrier to enjoying this game lays in its dense text and its inability to speed up or skip it. Ironically this is its strong suit; the "game" is story, with decent puzzle elements. The first few scenes are long, and thin on puzzles, and characters tend to say ridiculous junk. But seriously, play it through once. Once you can skip the long introduction you'll find that you want to see all the puzzles, find all the branching pathways, their subtle differences, and see all 6 mind-blowing endings.

It's a story game, well done if a bit long-winded. But you'll be glad you played it, especially if you can get through the first play-through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply the best interactive novel to the DS!

posted by Catgir (CARTHAGE, MS) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I am one that played the Phoenix Wright series and well after awhile of it got sorta old for me. Then I came across this game while browsing Gamefly. There is so many great reviews to this game I had to try it. I was expecting something usual as a interactive novel where I would lose interest and such. When I put it in my DS it didn't leave it for quite awhile. I played this game till I finally got the 6 endings! Yes I sorta got distracted from the game for a few months (had to move rooms in the house). This game makes you think when you aren't playing it. The characters are very lovable and even with all the bad ends you get, there are sorta good ends (well if you call them good I guess). The puzzles are very great and it made me actually feel more intelligent after playing. I am not a person that loves math in the least here, but the whole Digital Root format of going through the doors is brilliant! I can't stop using random numbers for digital roots after playing this game! The story is very well written with so many twists throughout the story you won't expect what happens for alot of the endings. Each playthrough of it brings more to what the characters personalities are and are required to get the final true ending! I was one of the few that got emotional when things happened to the characters I grew to love! Anyone that has a DS that can play a Mature game, I recommend you grab this rare gem when you can! You won't regret it! Also the sequel is coming out this October for 3DS and I am gonna pre-order it when I can!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unique gameplay, outstanding presentation.

posted by electr1c (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 8, 2012

Member since May 2011

999 has quite possibly the best story of any game ever released for the DS. If you enjoy games with well-written narratives, you owe it to yourself to give 999 a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

9 hours is too long to play!

posted by LadyMamaKat (EFFINGHAM, IL) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Extremely disappointed. First time was fun, but irritating. Some of the number codes don't make since. 1st end result made me scream. 2nd time was worse. Now its just annoying. This is the type of game you want to play til you get the end result you want, but you never do. I don't plan on buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse