Rent 3D Dot Game Heroes for PS3
view large frontback

3D Dot Game Heroes

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

2611 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Throwback

posted by shibutani (APO, AP) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Well I had to write a review for the simple fact that from reading other reviews I have got the impression that people don't understand the intention behind this game. ZOMG ITS JUST LIKE ZELDA HOW is a pretty silly thing to say.



This game was made to replicate that feeling of playing an 8 bit game and it took it all from Zelda and tried to make an enjoyable game. It plays just like the old Zelda's did which is great. There are new elements to it but it is still the same old game.



If you are looking to play a new game with a lot of nostalgia then this is your game. I found it really amusing and reminding me of all of the time I spent playing zelda over and over before I had the ability to buy or rent any game that I wanted. It plays and handles well and offers so many side quests and extra things to do that two playthroughs for the full effect would be the best.



For trophy hunters this is not an easy game to platinum and will take a bit of time and is extremelly frustrating in some parts. If you play just for trophies then this is not your game.



If you want a modern take on a classic game then this is your game. If you want to play zelda then go play it and stop complaining about a game that is making a tribute to it not copying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

recaptures the magic

posted by triclops41 (ENCINITAS, CA) May 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

does a great job of balancing the magic you felt when playing the original legend of zelda and dragon warrior with modern gaming sensibilities.

the music, graphics, combat, and inside jokes really bring you back to those kinds of games.

younger gamers might not get it, but for those of us that fondly remember the sense of wonder and fun from playing the games, this is a great callback to those feelings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it

posted by DECENDENT (FIELDS LANDING, CA) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Zelda......ya its like that but to me it makes old school zelda lay flat. With all the gadgets and swords you get it makes the game something you want to strive for. If it is not making your sword longer or stronger its finding all the secrets spread around the world. The graphics are not the best but then again we are talking about squares put together to form a game like it was from 1985. The music is very nice and at times you think you are playing a game you have played before. i would recomend this game to anyone who loves nostalgia or just play a game similar to Zelda. I contemplated buying it but decided not to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Imitation... The most sincere form of flattery

posted by Totallybiased (HAMBURG, NJ) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am huge Zelda fan with the original and link to the past being two of my all time favorites. that being said this a retro gamers dream come true. It's nostalgic feel and charm are through the roof. The improved inventory system that let's you cycle though weapons without having to hit the start button is time and patience saving. The coolest part is a sword that is nearly the length of the screen when at full health is awesome as well. This may come across as a blatant rip off of the 8 and 16 bit zelda's but i think imiatation is the most sincere form of flattery. With games being so great even a less original tribute game is still very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Big swords and side quests!

posted by mman789 (ROSEPINE, LA) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

3D-dot Game Heros is basicley a tribute to the old NES games(Legend of Zelda, Dragon Quest etc.). The story is your a hero who,of course, has to save the world. This games pretty much runs like Link to the Past(which isn't at all a bad thing) fight through dugeons, buy items in town, and explore the overworld. The cool thing is the world and characters are all made up of blocks and you can even create your own hero or choose from the premade ones. There's lots side quests, secrets, refrences, and difficulty. It'll take you about 25+ hours to do everything(complete the side quests, the main story, find and upgrade all the swords) and theres even a new game+ with added difficulty. You've even got to agcnowlage the blurieness in far away places, lense flare, and the way your enemies dye in a shower of there pixles. Great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dots Dots and more Dots

posted by WorldWarMe79 (CONWAY, SC) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I always wondered how the Legend of Zelda would play and look if it was made out of dipping dots. Well now I know! Classic adventure killing creatures and other bad guys while gathering other stuff to save the world. I know heard it and done it before a thousand times over right. This game is basically a Zelda game but prettier. Its a fun adventure for the old school kind of folk. If you want fast paced action and all your NPP and the main guy talking on end well this is not the game for you. You search for stuff and you read. You beat a bad guy and then you read. Good Times Folks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Nostalgia

posted by Xionanx (NEW ELLENTON, SC) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you have ever played any of the following: The Legend of Zelda, Bionic Commando, Dragon Quest 1 - 3, Final Fantasy 1 - 6, any SNK game that had "SNKGlish" in it, Armored Core, Demon Souls, Spelunker, or the old arcade game Tower of Druaga then this game will be a trip down memory lane.

While at its core its a Zelda knockoff, it does a good job of taking a playful jab at some of the old 8bit and 16bit games. When I say Zelda knockoff, I mean the ORIGINAL NES Zelda. Worth a rental for sure if your into that sort of thing.

Personally it made me want to replay some of my old games from the 80's and early 90's.

I would LOVE to see this engine put to a more "robust" use..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its fun.

posted by kilrathi (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Its a complete zelda knock off. It doesn't have the in depth story that the zelda games have, but I believe that is the point. It reminds me of the old NES zelda. It even has several half references to various things the original zelda game characters said. "Its a secret to everybody", comes from a monster that gives you gol etc. Its a nice reminder of the old days of NES and how much fun those 2d games were. I like the sword upgrades. The character editor is nice. The ability to import others creations is a definite and unexpected bonus. I would definitely recommend this to my friends. I agree with what some of the others reviewers have stated. Its fun, but don't expect another zelda. That being said I still feel it was a fun play-through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

3D Dot Game Heros

posted by Genetix (LAKE WORTH, FL) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Very good game. If you like the classic Zelda games this is the game for you. Very comical take on those games and they did and great job. If you looking for a fresh new game to play and you dont feel like play ANOTHER Fps then pick this up i beat it in just under 25 hrs and would love to go through it again if so many other games were not coming out. If its low then just go buy it cause i think is cheap anyways

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for what it is

posted by Palyndrome (WHITTIER, CA) May 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Looking at this game, the first thing anybody would think of is Zelda, and granted, there are a lot of similarities to (and even a few easter eggs referencing) Zelda, but it's still a fun game in and of itself.
First off, if you don't appreciate the older action/adventure games, this game is a waste of your time. The storyline is nearly nonexistent as was the case with a lot of NES games, but for what it's worth, you're a hero's descendant and it's YOUR job to stop the new evil plaguing the land by going to the X amount of temples, gathering the items, beating the bosses, and gaining the quest item, just to do it all over again. That right there is gaming at it's oldest.
While it does look a lot like an old 8-bit title, the presentation is very nice. The options offer two kinds of text (old-school pixel text and new-school clean lines), 4 camera angles (with the last one being a near upright aerial view), and several color options. How does that last one work? The higher the color, the more pronounced the colors are, making it seem retro when the contrast between the leaves and trunk of a tree are like night and day.
Gameplay-wise, it's nearly identical to a 2D Zelda title, complete with boomerang, arrows, and bombs in the first couple dungeons alone. You even get to gather "life shards" (heart pieces anyone?) to increase your health, and Life Up's after every boss (a fun little easter egg is the saying "Life up get" each time you get one). You go around on the playing field, using one button for your sword and another for your item, destroying monsters. It's not the most rewarding gameplay to date, but it's FLUID and it WORKS. That's about all anyone needs to be happy.
We all know "It's a secret to everyone" (which is kind of ironic), and so does this game, using that exact phrase at some point, an example of the easter eggs this game has.
Is 3D Dot Heroes worth the rent? If you're an old-school gamer, definitely. It's a nice break from the games of today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best ps3 game so far

posted by masterkarl (NEW LISBON, WI) May 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I love this game. you play as characters that are dotted pixels. It feels like a zelda game but a lot cooler. i recomned this game to anyone who is a zelda fan. If not still try it out because its awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just one update and it would be great

posted by darkangel2 (SPRING HILL, FL) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

for those of us who played the Zelda series (esp the first one) this game brings back some fantastic memories. it is a tough Platinum to be sure, but for game play it is a lot of fun.
The game would be a solid 10 if it werent for...

ONE MAJOR FLAW...

it freezes constantly. This freezing issue can really screw you up if you dont save every 5 minutes. I gave up hope in trying to beat the game because the freezing has caused me to back track and re do to many things to care anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing more then a Zelda 1 clone, but still fun.

posted by DarthVenom (RICHMOND, KY) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved the look of 3D dot game heroes and the overall tone of it was light and funny, but I seem to remember playing this game before hmm o yea it was back in 1987. There were only 5 things different from 3D dot game heroes and Legend of Zelda. 1. The enimies 2. The reason for the hero to be on his or her quest and the big story items found after beating a boss 3. The world you lived in 4. The music and 5. the graphics. If there is a sequal I really really hope it is not a clone of Zelda 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cornier than a muffin

posted by KaneShadow (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gameplay wise, I guess the game is a successful homage to Zelda 1... But in the end, it's not terribly satisfying... and it leaves something to be desired as far as balance and coherence... it seems kind of thrown together with the goal of being close to Zelda rather than making a good game of its own.
The graphics are fun, everything is pixelly but with 3D effects, like when anything dies it explodes in a shower of little cubes. Also the magic spells are named after 3D shading effects and cause some interesting visual changes.
The thing that turns me off the most about this game though is the sense of humor. It tries to include references and parodies to a thousand different games, and in the end it sounds like it was written by internet forum nerds. For example, after acquiring a certain item the guy who gives you the item says the Dr. Light speech from Mega Man... in the context of a Zelda / RPG type game it doesn't even make sense to make a Mega Man reference. It's just not necessary. Beyond that, nearly every line of text spoken by a character is a corny joke or reference. The script desperately needs to be trimmed down to make it feel more like a complete game and less like a random pile of in-jokes and references to 1995.
Overall it feels like an in-joke that went too far, like a Flash game that somehow got enough funding to render in 3D and make it to retail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game, but need to fix technical difficulties

posted by JB54321 (CASSELBERRY, FL) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really like this game, or at least I really want to like this game. It does take me back to the days of having my SNES and playing Zelda for hours on end. They did a good job of modernizing it and even take that modernization into the storyline, with several interesting plotlines, character interactions, and easter eggs throughout the game that refer to the change from 2D to 3D.

However, they need to fix the lockup problem. I have not been able to complete this game because it locks up consistently in the last dungeon. I am now at the point where I will send the game back and wait to see if there is an update, then give it another shot.

If you loved the original Zelda, and don't mind having to reset your system and do some quests over again on a fairly regular basis, this is a great game for you. Unfortunately I don't have the time to deal with the technical problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

yup

posted by yourmum (JACKSON, NJ) May 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

if you like zelda play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

a poor zelda clone

posted by wcgbraves (KATHLEEN, GA) May 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 20 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

the game reminds me of the nes game bards tale alot more then it does zelda. There is just something missing for me to say this is any zelda game. I think the game is worth a try as long as you go into it not expecting a zelda game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Horrid

posted by bigSexy (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 24 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

quite possibly one of the dumbest games i have ever played. There is no direction, no focus, no way to figure out where to go. A horrid Zelda knockoff without any substance or clarity. AWFUL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cookie cutter game in more ways than one...Sigh..

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Dec 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

To be a hero, pick up your sword and shield, to be royalty.. pick up sword and shield,........to be magic using scholar pick up sword and shield???
Everything is sword and shield for the greater length of the game..
The problem for me isn't getting from point A to point B, but rather the linarity of the path you travel... sword and shield play the major role of your game, and the Only toutting point is THE GAME IS IN 3D! Like a majority of most games nowdays! So what is the point?! Beyond you are playing with a world made of dots?! Custom characters are hard to make and quite tedious to boot! Since the world and everything else is made of dots in this game; the result is that every thing and everybody in this world looks lousy! The monotony of Ye Olde sword and board combat, and the lack of real explanation of where to go, factors into the lack of variety of places to actually go only seems to make everything worst! Unfortunately, if they told you precisely where to go, and what to do; you would blaze a trail through the game in less than a night, probably.. Those taking the scenic route would get it done in a weekend, unless of course if you lose interest, and find it more fun to stare at a wall watching the paint dry! Then it would take longer(YAAAWWN!) This isn't a review on watching paint dry! This is a reveiw about this Game! Besides, MY walls are already dry since they were never wet to begin with! It does have the excuse for being $13 dollars, and as of the time this review gamefly's $13 dallar asking price is still pretty cheap, but I'll leave that to your discretion! Like I always say: TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much nostalgia??

posted by WAR0083 (AUSTIN, TX) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I for one like it when I am playing the new Zelda and I enter Hyrule Field to be greeted by the infamous theme. Or when they throw in the Mario theme song on the newest installment. That's good nostalgia... in my opinion at least.

3D Dot Heroes is meant to expand on that idea. It's meant to bring you back to the days of yore - when you slashed through simple sprites with the press of one button. It sports a overhead view similar to Zelda. BUT instead of 2D, it's in 3D!!!

Cool idea. Maybe. In this day and age it's hard for someone like me to sit through all of this. It's weird, because I love playing A Link to the Past every now and then. But I can't bring myself to play through this entire game.... For what? For the sake of nostalgia?? So I can remember what it was like? I spent more time in the character editor, where you build your character block-for-block. Now THAT was original.... compared to the actual gameplay.

I'm not trying to knock the game or the developers. It was fun. But it was just TOO much of a very cherished franchise that I grew up loving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sux

posted by vandal (MODESTO, CA) May 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 27 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

stupid game.if you like not knowing what to do or where to go without any instruction. then have fun...not me. to many good games out there .played for 1 hour , got stuck,sent back same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda For PS3

posted by ShendowX (GARDEN CITY, KS) May 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Its just like Zelda for SNES, but beside that. In no way this game is bad, its hard but fun and the create your own hero is cool. This is a game worth owning, it reminds you why the old Zelda games were so good.

You will find somethings about Demon's Souls in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Zelda knock-off

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jul 8, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

So dissapointed in this game. Producers made a good game worse by the click of a mouse button. So bored and disgusted with this game that it went back in the same day's mail. Just offensive to my eyes, and number 3 on my worst games of all time list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sweet game until the glitch.....

posted by MCPolarbear (LAKE OSWEGO, OR) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Stupid game needs an update, it wouldn't let me get to the fire temple the game would just crash and restart my ps3, i tried like 5 times then just gave up and sent it back.... was really looking forward to beating this game. oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One word... Emulator

posted by psxzombie (POTOMAC, MD) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Unoriginal, been there, done that. Hollywood already rehashes old movies without anything novel, so is this game.

If you want to play retro, then get a NES, SNES or MAME emulator and play the real thing.!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse