Rent 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa for Wii
view large frontback

2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.2

219 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

good game, not great though

posted by k12stabler (SUISUN CITY, CA) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

not bad game, but with my wii motion pad i could not control where he ran. all otherr controls were great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Doesn't quite make it into the goal

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Soccer - it’s the biggest sport in the world. Problem is, it is not as warmly embraced here in the United States as it is in other countries.
This would make F 2010 FIFA World Cup South America a hard sell in the US; if not many people want to play soccer with a real ball on a real field, why would they want to play it on a gaming console?
Well, maybe because the player can get the soccer fielder to handle the soccer ball in ways that the player can’t; making the perfect pass, getting the bicycle kick to send the ball into the net or making that sliding tackle to stop the attacking fielder is much easier here than in a real game.
The controls are easy enough to pick up and play; pass with A, shoot by shaking the Wiimote, and use the thumbstick to move player about. At certain parts, the controls change (as in corner kicks, free kicks and penalty kicks). The game will tell you what to do in those situations. It wasn’t long before I got into the flow of playing the game.
This game also has several modes to explore; compete in the World Cup tournament with any of the 100+ countries, play a game against a specific country, create your own dream soccer team, go online to play against other players, or practice the many aspects of soccer.
But after playing several matches, I found the game to be missing some fire, some thrills. Every team played very much like every other team.
The graphics and presentation are also lacking; the players look a lot alike (even from vastly different countries), and the overall view of the game is bland and basic. Even the goal celebrations were lackluster. The announcers try their best to make up for these deficiencies.
The bottom line is this: if you love soccer, get this game, if you do not, then you might want to give it a pass. So I’ll split the difference for 2010 FIFA World Cup South America. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a great game for fifa fans

posted by DeathXXX4 (HAWTHORNE, CA) Jul 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i wonder why some people hate this game?great game!for wii even better!when you make a goal you can choose a celebration.GGGOOOOOOOAAAAAALLLL!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fifa World Cup Review

posted by brooks (VENICE, CA) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game rocks! I loved and greatly enjoyed playing through it. After winning the world cup four times and beating everything,I still was enjoying the game. I highly recomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GRRRRRRREAT!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by chelseafc9 (PRINCETON, NJ) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this game is amazing! it has everything.......quick game,dream team mode, world cup set up, online, and finally training......its anything a soccer player/ gamer could ask for!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, tough to master though.

posted by deanerbean (CHANHASSEN, MN) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I recommend this game to everybody I talk to. The gameplay is tough to master. The controls and passing are difficult at first. But after playing a few games, it became a lot easier. The initial setup for playing uses just the wiimote, but if you add the nunchuk, you have way better control with passing and running. Shooting is done automatically for you as soon as you shake your wiimote. I liked that shaking the wiimote was how your player shot because sometimes it kind of drives home the score, releasing frustration and joy. The characters on the game looked very much like their real life counterparts. I liked the different game modes too. Zakumi's dream team was cool to be able to go from a horrible team with a rating of 50, to a complete worldwide all-star team with a rating 84. Playing in the WC was cool too because you could setup the 32 team field how ever you wanted. You could put teams in that hadn't ever been in a WC and take out teams that have won a few. I just think it would have been cool to take my Zakumi Dream Team and play in the WC, but I couldn't. There is a great section called Hit the Pitch that you can just jump in and play a game real quick between any team in the world, without having to be in the actual tourny. I just thought this game rocked and think everyone should play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FIFA WORLD CUP DIMINISHES EXPECTATIONS

posted by rickcall1 (UNIONTOWN, OH) Jun 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

the new game fifa world cup was absolutely horrible, i hated it. i was hoping to come ac ross good graphics and controls, but noope! it was totally stupid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is horrible!!!!!!!!!

posted by christian (WALKER, LA) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

I saw that they had this game out for the Wii. I watched a couple videos and thought it looked pretty fun. I rented it, put it in my Wii, and then 20 minutes later, I put it back in the mailbox where it belongs. This game is absolutely TERRIBLE! The gameplay is terrible! The controls don't make any sense, the graphics aren't that great, and the way the menus are set up so bad that it makes me wanna cry. I first got on the game and I just wanted to play one match. I looked around for something like that and all I found was the ability to start a long tournament. I started up on that and when I got to the character and team selection, I didn't understand it one bit. I got to the match and it didn't explain the rules at ALL. I had to go to the options to see the controls before I started the tournament. The controls weren't explained well at all, and they were horrible anyways. When I actually got to the game, I didn't understand the controls, I didn't know the rules or anything. I'm like playing the game, and all of a sudden red card comes. I have no idea what that even is! Later a yellow card comes up, what on earth is that anyways?!? I quit the match before it was over because it stunk so bad! I highly dislike this game! I don't recommend it to anyone accept people who like trashy games and know every rule of soccer itself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

very, very dissapointing

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) May 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

i have to say this is the worst gameplay experience i have ever had. shots score about 50% on the time, making it not funnn. it just doesnt look realistic. the game modes are ruined because of the horrible gameplayu/.. dont rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fifa south africa for the wii is horrible

posted by Guyute619 (BOULDER, CO) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

I rented the Fifa South Africa on the wii and could not even get past the introductory match it was so lame and kidish that I could not play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »