Rent 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa for Xbox 360
view large frontback

2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PSP Games, Wii
GF Rating
7.8

1164 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Feels like we're back on Fifa '09

posted by MetalMind (MIAMI, FL) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Well I'm the type of person that love to play interactive world cups, this game does a great job transmitting the feeling of playing a world cup, the crowd looks so real, the noise they make, they even added the infamous VUVUZELA Devil Horn noise to the crowd, I really love what they did to the crowd. They also added a new feature, now you get to see the expressions of your coach every time you miss a goal or get kicked out of the game by a red card, that's really cool. They also added every country in the world as in 2006 Fifa World Cup.

What I didn't like about the game is the fact that EA Sports keeps using the same using the same AI as on every Fifa game. What I mean is that the players still look like robots when they score a goal and celebrate it, Winning Eleven does a better job there. And also the feeling of the players movements feels like we're playing Fifa 09. The game play got a little slower, in Fifa 10 you have to play with the entire team to score a goal, here you can have a good player like Messi or C. Ronaldo and score a goal without the help of your team mates. I would say this would be a mix of Fifa 09 and Fifa 10 in some ways. Ohh and one last critic, the players for some reason look kind of more cartoonish than Fifa 10 and Fifa 9. But I guess that's because they added so much to the crowd and some other features that maybe they had to get rid of some of the players features.

Anyways I like the game, the crowd, the feeling of playing a world cup is real cool, I just wish they had keep up with Fifa 10 but it's still a cool game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No more or less than I expexted.

posted by 1010111 (COVINGTON, LA) May 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After all the improvements made in FIFA 10 these "impreovement" feel like changes for change's sake. Which is not usually a good thing

However, the gameplay was still top notch, once you get used to it. They fixed the usual FIFA problems such as players not moving if a pass was slow or off-target and missing them, or crosses that were just flung in instead of an actual pass.

One good new feature was home field advantage where the home team gets a boost in ability and referee advantage, but they keep in the final where there is no real homw team, it's just there for uniform reasons, but thet keep the bonus.

There is also a Captain your country feature where you create or take a real player throught the road to the World Cup, which is good overall, but the in-game ratings system is flawed.

Now, thoose were the compaints. Every other thing in the game is great, the new penaltie taking style is much better than the old point-and-shoot. This was overall a good sports game and I recomend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

are you ready to be amazed?

posted by NewEraBoi (POMPANO BEACH, FL) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game is off the chart without a doubt the best world cup game released till today!! the team selection is over huge!! fifa world cup mode is very good and if you like soccer you cant let the cup start without playing this first .....!!!!! by the way goooooooooooo BRAZIL!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

defalcao

posted by defalcao (BROCKTON, MA) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but more of the same

posted by CJSmithers (MIDVALE, UT) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I am not a huge sports fan but enjoy soccer video games and have played some other world cups in the past and this one was about the same but not with any real noticable changes for me to buy but a fun rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

No Different Than Fifa 10 But Thats OKAY??????????

posted by doctorzeus (VICTORIA, MN) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This game is a great soccer game, im not much into soccer (futball) but this game might just pull me in if you have played fifa 10 or own it then dont get your hopes up, i rented that right after this one and dindnt see much difference but being able to go to soo many places and use soo many teams that i could identify it was easy for me to learn and get in as well as have a great time get this game if you havent played fifa 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fifa 10

posted by jkirk12 (NEWTON, AL) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

if u have never played a soccer game before its very hard but if u have its pretty easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrating

posted by chackmol (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game was very frustrating for me to play. Even my 10 year old quickly tired of it because of the lack of control and overly complicated play. I'm not a huge gamer and won't dedicate every spare minute to learning a game like this inside out, so you should know this up front. I think for an avid gamer, this is probably a great game, but for an occasional player, it's just toooo much to learn and frankly just irritates the heck out of me. If you're not willing to spend what could be hours trying to master every concept of the game, it's just not worth the time. Getting shots off and on goal drives you crazy. Should also come with some kind of soccer glossary as I have no idea what half of the terms mean. This game is obviously made for the Rabid Soccer Fan (football if you're not from the US).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really great experience

posted by ipwn007 (MOUNTAIN HOME AFB, ID) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2010 FIFA World Cup: South Africa for the Xbox 360 is an incredible soccer game. First off the presentation is amazing. It really captures the celebratory nature of the World Cup. The pre-game presentation is there, the fan energy is present (though it could use some more vuvuzela to be true to the game) and everything seems spot on. The game's menus and loading screens are also some of the best I've seen in any video game. It's hard to explain, but they are just incredibly eye pleasing while capturing the feel of the World Cup. This is also true of the music in the game.

The gameplay is incredibly smooth and responsive. It's easy to get used to for amateurs (especially with its two-button mode) and the game gets more exciting and challenging (strategy wise) as you increase the difficulty.

Playing in the World Cup final is exciting and the reaction upon winning the World Cup is well worth it.

You can choose to play a full World Cup experience, starting in 2008 with plenty of qualifying and friendly matches, or you can jump right into the tournament with any of the teams that qualified this year. You can also customize the tournament to your liking if you don't want to play the actual 2010 tournament.

There's also the 'captain your team mode' aka 'be a pro' which adds more challenge to the game after (or before) you win the World Cup.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fifa wrld cup

posted by pr0cflr (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

this game is the besttttttt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOOD Game,impressed!!

posted by 96ultra (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Looks good,game play is good,sound is perfect.The crowd looks amazing. EA has came along way with soccer games,cant wait till the new fifa comes out!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Changed My Life (No Really!)

posted by Pykenstein (FORT SMITH, AR) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Having grown up an American my story is typical: soccer was always a sport that those sissy Europeans played because they were too scared to play REAL football. MAN was I wrong!

I must admit that I'm a bit of an EA fanboy but I've grown bored with Tiger Woods, Madden, and the other major American sports titles they produce, so I gave FIFA:WCSA a shot.

My experience with soccer of any kind prior to this was the one year I played goalie because I was the fat kid when I was 5. I had no idea who any of the players were. I hadn't so much as heard a whisper of Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo, or Miroslav Klose. My childhood was spent idolizing steroid-users and selfish baseball players.

There's no need to go into the technical aspects, mainly because it's all over my head and I have no idea WHY it's pretty, but WOW it's pretty. The gameplay LOOKS difficult because of the amount of skill moves available but if you can learn a decent set of 5 or 6 good moves you will do just fine on any difficulty.

Captain Your Country is amazing in both ease of use and enjoyability. There's a certain feeling of inclusion and a connection to the player you choose to be due to the competition of gaining the captain's armband.

The best aspect for me was the multiplayer. My wife and 6-year-old son are both very novice level gamers. EA's Two-Button Controls option very nearly eliminates the learning curve and allowed my wife to become comfortable with the game and learn the nuances until she was ready to step up to classic controls. My son feels like he is actually involved because pressing A will make the best available pass and pressing B will result in a shot that rarely misses the target.

I loved this game so much that I literally watched every single game of the World Cup and I am now obsessed with Manchester United and Wayne Rooney. This game is fun, easy to play, and isn't so technical that those unfamiliar with soccer will feel overwhelmed. And Clive Tildsley is the man!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First Time

posted by duwanp (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This was my first time playing a soccer game and it was quite fun. i like how it feels that you're really in a soccer game i like the intensity each match brings when you play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Soccer Game Yet!

posted by MackOne (MAGGIE VALLEY, NC) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I think this is the best soccer game out right now. I played a little of Fifa 10 and thought that was great. This game plays the same. Gameplay and graphics are top notch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth playing

posted by Smerka (BUFFALO, NY) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Im a NHL, GTA, COD, person but I wanted to try something new and when I got this I was pretty impressed for a soccer game. I had to change the controls but after that its pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid

posted by VThokie (MONETA, VA) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Being entirely honest, this game is not much different from fifa 10, something I expected. I was hoping for a slightly more polished gameplay with added realism and better touch. I feel satisfied and can say it plays a little better in my opinion than fifa 10.

The scenarios are cool to complete and gives you something else to do and play with some teams you normally wouldn't. its worth the rent, but don't expect to be blown away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »