Rent 007 Legends for Xbox 360
view large frontback

007 Legends

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:Wii U, PS3
GF Rating
5.3

515 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

License to Kill...revoked

posted by Jinto_Hyacinth (NEWMAN, CA) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a mess.
There is two ways to play this Classic or Modern. Classic means your health doesn't recharge and you must find health packs and armor, after the first level they become rare to find (unless you looked up already where to find them)
Modern mode is pretty much plays like COD and every other shooter out there, take a hit, hide, wait for your boo-boos to go away. Playing through this mode is insulting easy, your enemies either leave you alone or run at you like an idiot most of the time not even shooting at you, plus the melee attacks are instant kills regardless if the enemy has armor or not.
I love how the game hints that there will be stealth sections and you will be given gadgets to help sneak around....those section are over before it begins. Then there is that F_ing smartphone!! I hated that thing, just stopping the action so you can cycle through filters and make sure you didn't miss that smear on the ground/table/wall that is supposed to be someones DNA
Coming from a person that enjoyed playing Goldeneye: Rouge Agent back when people were bashing on it, trust me when I say pass this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so legendary.....

posted by DeadBite (PASADENA, CA) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Remember the days when 007 games where good or at the very least decent? Well sadly those days are gone and 007 Legends is proof. Okay Graphics, Dumb A.I and horrible music, makes this game a mission 007 would not be proud of. If you’ve got a itchy trigger finger, just hold out for Halo 4 or Black Ops 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Multiplayer might be fun

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 18, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I didn't try the multiplayer so not commenting on it. I did however do the regular game and well raw is an apt term.

The map design isn't very good, and is at the same time. I say it's bad because it's straight line, you go from point A to point B with little deviation. It is good in the simple fact that there are places to hide at, few and far between but they are there.

Graphically, well let's just say that the main bad guys have a resemblance to how they looked in the movies. Everything else is more or less whatever they could find. Grainy is a common problem with the background. Not terribly detailed and generally just there as a placeholder for later development.

On the plus side, the game doesn't slow down. At least it hadn't at any point when I was playing it. Control wise, it serves, barely. The control is sloppy and jerky. I do mean that literally, you can go from looking to your left to looking behind by trying to look right.

The basic controls are fine, trigger where you expect. The rest of the game however, looks like placeholder for later development. Perhaps the multiplayer looks better, but judging by the comments I've found, they are the same and just as bleh.

Single player has no play value, it's only there to let you unlock characters, I assume for multiplayer. Single player is not something you will want to play unless you wish to unlock said characters.

Based on the gameplay of singleplayer, I don't think multiplayer will be any good. Opinions vary and who knows maybe the controls work well in multiplayer. They don't in single player. Overall this game isn't worth renting. Might be fun for a week if all you want to do is shoot at other people saying Bond, James Bond.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Worth It

posted by TruGamer30 (CHINO, CA) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Despite the passion people have for the bond movies - 007 Legends doesn't live up to the bond hype. The mash up of the various bond movies doesn't really work and having Daniel Craig wanna be playing Bond in movies where other actors portrayed the role was a bad choice.

Some of the movies in the game don't even live up to the movies themselves. Example: Die Another Day - they made Halle Berry's character Jinx a white girl instead of being loyal to the movie.

Gameplay sucks and they tried too much to make it feel like Goldeneye but it just doesn't work. The stealth is terrible because when you knock out someone, you can not move the body to avoid detection. Even the slightest move behind an object will cause alert.

Overall this game is not worth your time. There are other games you can spend time playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time

posted by WickedD365 (NEW CANEY, TX) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Thank you Activision for ruining James Bond!
This game is a slap in the face to gamers and James Bond fans alike.

Graphics are horrible. Not even close to being good. Gameplay is really bad and laggy. sounds is appalling.
Using Daniel Craig's "likeness" is a slap too as the guy doing the voice doesn't even sound like Craig.

I played through most of the first mission and couldn't take anymore. Let a friend play it and he too hated it, told me to send it back. Same repetitive QTE boss fights, bad AI, and really bad hit boxes on enemy AI. Had to put it back in it's envelope.

Don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very disappointing

posted by DisDatDoze (OAK PARK, CA) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2003

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Boy did I want to love this game (I'm pretty easy to please with 007 games because I'm a James Bond nut). But it was like playing a game from 2001... poor quality graphics, scattered storytelling... and I always felt the eye-line was way way too low. Like I was in a constant crouch position, even when standing up. I wouldn't even recommend it as a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I disagree! I think this game is GOOD!

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Maybe not a purchase but certainly a rental. While it might not be as good as some of its predecessors, it is a decent shooter and has been besmirched. If you are a 007 fan and you play it through, you will get some fun out of it. Don't be put off by the undeserved bad reviews. I've played almost all the 007 games and this one is just fine! Some people just expect too much these days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Daniel Craig is 5 Bonds in 1

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jan 6, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Legends is like playing 5 different Bond movies, but Daniel Craig is 007 in all of them. It goes through Goldfinger, On Her Majesty's Secret Service, Moonraker, License to Kill, and Die Another Day.

So if you're a fan of the James Bond movies like me, 007 is a pretty decent FPS with good campaigns, offline 1P modes, and online multiplayer.

The campaigns are actually pretty fun and keep true roots to the original movies which I liked. There is obvious suttle changes to make video games better, but they don't ruin the experience. There is good variety, and lots of challenges, upgrades, and perks.

Each mission has differenct challenges and collectibles. You can earn xp through completing those, using various guns, collecting secret data, etc. The graphics are outdated, and the sound of the guns is horribly bland. It feels old, but it managed to keep my interests for a few days.

The other offline mode has about 10 maps where you have various objectives, like a Spec Ops mode. You may have to defeat waves of enemies, protect a bomb, or control/defend various points. You can earn stars, and customize all types of modes like difficulty, enemy power and health, and more. More points is more stars.

Online mode is pretty fun too. It's old school shooting fun, but it's a little sketchy at times bc of poor graphics and hit detection. There are lots of game modes and lots of upgrading and stat building.

Legends is a good overall game with variety, much deeper than I thought it would be. But it's not for the person looking for a state of the art FPS by no means. This is more of a throwback to honor the 007 legacy. It's a solid rental I would recommend if you are a fan of James Bond and FPS games in general.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

garbage... heres the pros and cons

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I sent this game back after the first day of playing this game. That rarely happens. Ill keep it short and sweet...

Pros:

-Weapons and attachments seem decent. Nice customization. If you a big gun fanatic you might like this.

- Decent voice acting if your into that kinda thing

Cons:

- Graphics and visuals feel like a past gen PS2 game. That's inexcusable for being this far into the current gens lifecycle.

- The aiming sucks. The sensitivity levels are not balanced well at all.

- Stealth parts are an abomination. Seriously this is what made me send the game back. The stealth parts of the game are so poorly designed. You are supposed to see your enemy with a wrist watch and you cant even tell how far away an enemy is because its so tiny and small.

- Multiplayer. You have to play online or split screen. No training or bots which is a big downer.

Overall 4/10. Mediocre game. Too bad because I was hoping this game was better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't bother...

posted by MoMcnasty (SHREVEPORT, LA) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Received this game on a Thursday, returned it Friday morning. What a waste of a game rental this was. The game is pretty abysmal. It's not hard, it's not tough, and if there weren't good games coming out, then I would've attempted to actually beat it. Truth is, all it took was 2 levels and a match in multiplayer to realize that this game blows. The AI is stupid, you can easily knock them out with a butt punch. The story makes absolutely no sense, it just uses these 4-5 movies as an excuse for a game. And by the way, they don't really follow the movies that well. The 1v1 "fighting" scenarios are ps2 worthy, possibly even ps1. I'm very very disappointed in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by thirdfall (WILSON, NC) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is the worst 007 game I ever played. I'm sending it back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not a very good game

posted by bradisradyo (WOODLAND, CA) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The AI was very predictable and makes the game very boring. The game overall just seems laggy and just isn't up to par with other titles released this year. There aren't many "007" moments as you would expect there to be in this game. Its designed just like every other generic shooter and doesn't pull it off very well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

007 LEGENDS

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

pretty good for a rental but wouldnt want to play it over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not really worth the rental....

posted by Mcfly013 (MELBOURNE, FL) May 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

Gameplay is repitious and monotonous. Controls are inconsistent. (Aim feature LT locks on when the game finds it appropriate, not when you need it). It was nice to see the mix of old and new Bond, it just wasn't made that well. Much better shooters out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STUPID

posted by Savage1 (NORTH HAMPTON, OH) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Apr 2008

this was a very stupid game just awful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game until...

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

Game was going great until I got to the level where you have to ski, it didn't tell you the controls of what to do even in looking in the tutorials they wasn't one on skiing. So I had to go to youtube to even see a video on how to speed up, then after at least 50 tries I still could not get past this level. So I figured screw this I'll try a different game. Was a bummer because like I said game was going great. If you like shooter style games where you have to think then this is the game for you and if you get to the ski level which is the second story into the game good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by smhaf1983 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

This is one of the worst games that I have ever played.
Screen tearing, sound going in and out just terrible. Can't believe they thought this game was complete when they released it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

oh well

posted by stonecoldhater7 (HICKSVILLE, OH) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

too fast pace for my liking. enjoyed the 007 game that l can take my time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

007 legends

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

what can i say about this game

campaign so far entertaining

game play just like golden eye reloaded
still a bit jittery but hopefully with a new update Euro-com will take care of that.

multiplayer just like golden eye reloaded.
hopefully there will be map packs this time around

the only con of the game is its still jittery but like i said hopefully with a new update Euro-com will fix that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

007 Legends

posted by RoverNukem (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I love James Bond, so it is hard for me to give this game such a bad review, but it was not very good.
First off, the graphics were not very good, there were moments the game needed to render.
Second the weapon damage was horrible, I would have to put a whole clip into an enemy to kill them.
Third the Bond movies were not best to pick as "Legends".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I like to play "bad" games and this was just awful

posted by EAGLESWhit (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I usually enjoy playing some bad games because they're fun to mess around with much like watching bad movies because they're so bad which makes them fun and hilarious. 007 Legends felt like a chore through the levels. I could not even finish it because I felt like I should be using my time to play something much enjoyable every time I played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

MOONRAKER period!!

posted by UPINDAT (HAMILTON, TX) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

I am a sucker for these games. This game looks just like goldeneye. I am very disappointed with this game. But the moonraker mission is AWESOME!! Why not put that in the mp. The mp is HORRIBLE. You move like you have concerte BOOTS. The cheevos are a grind because of the lack of anybody playing. At least the Skyfall dlc will be free. Worth a rental and not too hard to 1000k. Just will be a grind for the 24hr and the level 50. Advice to anybody in mp. You can start a match by your self and still get points. Just hit start.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

there is no way

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

i mean this game is one of the worst. Grapics are bad game play bad and i just felt had too give it a try being a fan of the other bond games. Well thanks too gamefly im not out of 60 bucks for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Incomplete game with a diamond in the rough

posted by sbnewsom (SAN DIMAS, CA) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

What can I say that hasn't been said before? It may seem like this game was a lost hope after reading all the reviews...though the most shocking part was the neglect given to the love and care of one feature or more so a mission of the game.

Everything else was sub par, if not interesting at least to relive some great Bond moments. This very feature neglected in many reviews was the sheer spectacular moments of the last mission of the game (no, not Skyfall). Its Moonraker. The way they made the film work in game form was just awesome. It changed everything up with Scifi-esque uniforms like the film, all the way to fighting it out in zero gravity space. It was worth it just for that moment.

The most disappointing thing that bothered me like no other though was the fact that the game just ends after Moonraker. Straight to credits after your mission scores.

Seriously, they build up from the start, the moment where Bond gets shot in Skyfall (this is in the beginning, no spoilers here) and precedes into flash backs to his previous missions. Ok, cool....nope, wait until the second week of November to download the Skyfall DLC. Cool, what a giant F U.

Just rent this game and trudge through the swamp until you get to Moonraker. You'll enjoy it. That mission made the game a 7 out of 10. What have you got to lose? Its a rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »