Rent 007 Legends for PS3
view large frontback

007 Legends

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii U
GF Rating
5.1

411 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Action

posted by alc322 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is mostly a shooter. Good memories of bad guys like Jaws and Oddjob. A little glitchy; some poor camera angles. Dont like the fact if you die you have to go back to checkpoints that are pretty far back. A good rental, especially for 007 hardcore fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It’s NOT finished!!!

posted by tylerca (CHULA VISTA, CA) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

OK you can read about the poor controls, the lack of a cover system, bad AI, subpar graphics, etc. from other reviewers (all true BTW). I’m here to tell you that this game is POOR. It was slapped together without much thought and rushed out to fans as IT'S NOT FINISHED YET!! You start off in what you can only assume is the movie Skyfall as James Bond falls into a state of unconsciousness and you have these flashbacks of the past, this is how you can get to play against some of Bonds best villains (BTW it is actually cool to be able to do battle with some of the best known Bond villains, the only saving factor of this game). You go through different missions which do not seem to be tied to each other. The missions are either way too short, way too easy, or as in the case of the “last” mission frustratingly difficult. The problem is after you complete the “last” mission (which isn't the last mission), the game ends…What the Heck!! The credits start to roll and it says JAMES BOND WILL RETURN – IN MID-NOVEMBER FOR DLC IN SKYFALL. OK!!!! You can’t even finish the game yet as it’s NOT EVEN FINISHED!!! It was like playing a demo of the game for two days and now you have to re-rent it after the DLC becomes available if you want to see how the game ends. NO THANK YOU!!

They should have stuck to making one movie one game – all Skyfall or nothing. Goldeneye wasn’t perfect but at least it had a story to follow and it was at times enjoyable, but this garbage is just that. I certainly hope this isn't the future of gaming where company’s think they can release a game that isn’t finished and except us to download updates just to complete the game at a later time. NO THANK YOU.

Save the time, rent this only if you’re truly bored, have nothing to do, and after Thanksgiving 2012.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Even die hard Bond fans may want to avoid this

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The idea behind "007 Legends" is a sound one- take iconic moments throughout the franchise's 50 year history, update them using current Bond Daniel Craig, and blend them into a coherent story. Sadly, the execution behind Eurocom's venture is so poor you may not even want to continue beyond the first mission. Graphics are more reminiscent of the PS2 than the current generation, and the controls are a mixed bag of a standard COD style shooter (which work fine) and awkward stealth mechanics (not so much). Enemies respawn until you move forward to a specific spot, and are often hard to see. Being stealthy isn't rewarding, as you're most likely going to be spotted and end up in a firefight. NPCs don't always do what they're supposed to (one character says to follow her and then constantly stops and waits for you to lead) and the enemy AI is only slightly competent, trying to merely swarm you with large numbers and running into your line of fire instead of trying to flank you. The gadgets are also awkwardly implemented and not very fun to use. The game is reportedly very short (around 5 hours) though I can't say for sure as I wasn't compelled to play this through. This is just a mediocre shooter, and with so many other better titles out and approaching, it wasn't worth spending the time with. Being a Bond fan I had hoped this would grab me and compel me to play through to the end. Sadly, it did not. Definitely rent this if it interests you before buying. Even die hard fans may be turned off by this lackluster title. 007 deserves so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EPIC FAIL

posted by scudforce1 (CENTERVILLE, MA) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This has to be the worst game ever made in the world of games, James Bond did not diserve to be put in this situation. quantum of solace was awesome and the sequell was so so but even that i played to the end. i hope some day some one will make a block buster Bond game true to his nature SPY+STEALTH=AWESOME not run and gun COD BF3 style

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Somebody should do it better

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
It is really annoying that Activision is licensing one of the most valuable properties around and they release trash. I don't know if Eurocom is just a horrible developer or they aren't given proper time/resources.

This is James Bond. If you do it right the game could rival Call of Duty in popularity. Stop tying the game to movies, hire a good development company, and watch the thing sell.

The game isn't complete garbage, but it just lacks in every single way....let me count them.

Cons
==================
1) subpar graphics
2) no story
3) controls are sloppy (cover system especially)
4) garbage AI
5) laggy feeling multiplayer
6) just general lack of polish on everything
7) last mission is releasing as DLC on 11/9

Pros
==================
There really aren't any pros.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fell short to greatness

posted by GameHead20 (CONCORD, GA) Nov 3, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The idea of being Bond in several of his movies is a offer I couldn't pass up. After enjoying Goldeneye Reloaded this was a game I couldn't wait to play. I'll admit at first I was it looked like I would be giving this game a low rating but affter a hour or so I started enjoying it. Despite its grahics, action, and gameplay, Their was a few things I didn't like. Such as the controls started to get annoying, when I was using my phone cycling through its different function I would be taking fire so instead of switching back to my weapon I would keep cycling through the phone. The one thing I hated the most was the covering system. As you may know the covering system worked well in GoldenEye Reloaded, but on here you could only cover, effectivly, behind certain objects. Sure you can crouch behind anything but most of the time you would still get hit by the bullets so you might as well run-and-gun. One aspect of James Bond I like is the fighting scenes. Which in this game they give a few moments when you would fist fight a enemy. Unfortantly its very dull, boring, too easy on any difficulty. This is one aspect that had so much potential but fail miserably. This game is a good rent lots of action that puts you in the shoes of Mr. Bond and takes you to memorable place and face famous villians.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

007 legends

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is garbage! this game should've never been made by this company. U made the most terrible game of all time. I will never play another Bond game if this is what we have to look forward to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GOOd game but needs

posted by JAKAREA51 (TWIN FALLS, ID) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

when i revise the game when i try go online there serevers are down and the game is only a day old

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A poor excuse of a game

posted by JSilver (STUARTS DRAFT, VA) Apr 6, 2014

Member since May 2007

Some companies have absolutely NO BUSINESS making video games. Activision is one of those companies, that makes terrible games and not for the love of developing games, and certainly not to give players a grand experience, but only because they know that the video game industry is strong and they simply want to make money. This game is proof that Activision is a poor developer. As I played this game, it started out just "OK". The control is not the best, but I have definitely seen better control in other games. By the 2nd mission I was starting to get into it somewhat. Then I started the 3rd mission, and the game just slapped me in the face with what felt to me like Activision laughing at the player for buying or renting their awful game. Here's what happened: In the 3rd mission, you have to follow a woman who is on a snowmobile. As Bond, you are on Skis trying to keep up with her down a snow covered hill. Trees are all over the place. And the control in this section of the game is without question....terrible. It's like trying to steer a stick of butter on a hot frying pan, and as I said, trees are all over the place, and if you hit just ONE of those trees...you fail the mission because the woman on the snowmobile gets away. That to me felt like a kick in the groin. I must have re-tried that mission 10 times and I still kept slamming into a tree, even if it was a different tree...I just couldn't do it. I got pretty angry at the game and at that point I took the game out of my PS3 and put it back in the GameFly sleeve. I am not one to give up on a game so easily, but that part of the game was just unexceptable. I play games to have fun and to have a great experience...not to get angry and have my stress maxed out. So F U Activision. Get out of the video game business and go into something else...like say plumbing or landscaping, or maybe even start a cleaning service...because your games are junk. I think I'll play a GREAT game like say, The Last of Us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SUCH A DISAPPOINTMENT!!!

posted by sirenator5150 (CONCRETE, WA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

What a bad way of celebrating the 50th aniversary of the James Bond franchise.
1st of all it is not even Daniel Craig's voice.
2nd: Moonraker, Licence to Kill, & Die Another Day are the weakest installments in the Bond franchise. They should have Done (The Spy Who Loved Me-Roger Moore, The Living Daylights-Timothy Dalton & GoldenEye-Pierce Brosnan)
3rd: They should have had the actors voice the roles of their respective bond films instead of the Daniel Craig impersonator.
4th: The gameplay is annoying. It is easy to die and I never finished the last part of the Moonraker mission cuz I wanted to destroy the TV out of anger.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game with choppy storyline

posted by htmn2054 (RED HILL, PA) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I thought this was a decent overall game, but the lack of coherent storyline brings down my rating on this. I guess this should be expected from the title, but I never felt drawn into the story.

The controls were in line with most first-person shooters and I especially liked the pen/dart-shooter gadget. The upgrade system and weapon classes were standard and the gameplay itself was very smooth. I would have rated this a 7.5, but the storyline dropped my rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Some issues but, pretty darn fun!

posted by parkpunk (KETCHUM, ID) Jun 21, 2013

Member since Aug 2005

Good all around shooter. great in game graphics. Guns were fun and modifiable. There were quite a few puzzle solving zones which I usually don't care for but, they kind of grew on me after a while. It gave the game an investigatory aspect quite different from other shooters and Bond games. Very fun stealth aspects as well. Most were not mandatory which made it fun to either run and gun or go ninja style.
I would have preferred to see the different actors represented in the different movies used instead of Daniel Craig assuming all the roles. My only two real complaints were:
1: Not being able to hide bodies. If guards can discover bodies and be alerted you should be able drag them out of the way. Would have made the game much more realistic and fun.
2: HORRIBLY long loading times. 20 to 30 seconds every time you die. After getting used to Call Of Duty games, this seems like an eternity.
All in all, I'd say this is the best 007 game to come along in a while.
PS: I wish Rareware would release original Goldeneye on PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just plain wow

posted by GamerKaleb23 (SILVER SPRING, MD) May 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game is so bad, the health, and the weapons it just needs to be updated so badly I mean the story lines are well and well place, but really the game needs to be updated big time that is all I got to say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Old

posted by spongeman (HICKORY, NC) May 14, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

The Bond playing was great but I don't get why Daniel Craig needs to be involved in everything it is a very challenging game even on easy and has a great Multiplayer system where you can be all characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Such a wasted opportunity

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

A game compiling some of the most iconic missions from James Bond's storied past is a wonderful idea. It's too bad that this tantalizing concept was handled so badly in this case. While fan service is fairly abundant, the game itself is an absolute slog. The missions are boring, the enemies are stupid, the stealth sequences are laughable, the gameplay is simplistic and repetitive, and the graphics are ugly. It's a crying shame that fifty years of 007 all gets boiled down into this shabby, slapdash project. Bond deserves better, and so do we.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Legends 007 reviewed

posted by sekntonone (HARWOOD HEIGHTS, IL) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

I liked it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST Bond game EVER!

posted by LordAdam (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

What have you done to the 007 license Activision? This has got to be one of the most generic copy and paste Call of Duty clones I have ever played. As a die hard Bond fan this game SUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCKS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

007 ps3

posted by Krail420 (KEYSTONE HEIGHTS, FL) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

it sucks come on this is a waste of money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Good

posted by killazach1515 (APO, AE) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I was expecting better graphics, and the multiplayer was very poor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing special

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

For huge Bond fans this might be worth a rental, but game play is pretty outdated. Stealth, which is a type of game I just simply do not appreciate, is weak. Weaponry updating, which I do appreciate, is lame. That said, game did live up to expectations, which were low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by spo999 (VALLEY CENTER, CA) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

Just horrible, Frustrating controls, frustrating or no cover system. Poor story. No redeeming qualities whatsoever. How do game makers keep getting away with this stuff?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game, horrendous loading.

posted by wiseacre686 (PUYALLUP, WA) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This is definitely a good Gamefly game. Far too short to be worth buying, but definitely worth a spin. You could easily beat this game in 2 or 3 days.

The missions are engaging, the weapons upgrade system is OK, the gunfighting is pretty standard. My biggest complaint is staring at a very boring loading screen for two minutes at a time. This can become especially frustrating when you have to restart the same mission several times when you're not very far into it.

Also, there should be the option to add bots on local multi player. I tried playing with a buddy, and we turned it off after five minutes of circling the map and not finding each other. Very boring.

All in all, a good rent. Especially if you're a fan of previous Bond games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bond Fans Will Appreciate It, Others Will Hate It

posted by PandaCow64 (CANNON FALLS, MN) Dec 31, 2012

Member since May 2011

I am a HUGE James Bond fan. So, obviously, when I heard a game was coming that remade classic bond movies, I completely geeked out. When I bought it, it actually met my expectations, but technically it leaves much to be desired.

The game starts off with a scene from "Skyfall" where James bond is fighting Patrice on the top of the train, when he is accidently shot by Eve, and falls off the train. Then, while he is drowning underwater, you get to relive some of his past missions through flashbacks. The missions are: (in order) Goldfinger, On Her Majesty's Secret Service, License To Kill, Die Another Day (Seriously?), and Moonraker. While each mission in the game brought back a lot of nostalgia, especially Moonraker, I do have some problems with the overall game.

First off, this game stars Daniel Craig as bond. Sort of. He isn't actually voiced by Daniel Craig, but rather Timothy Watson, and made to look and sound like Daniel Craig. That concept is a little weird. Gameplay wise, It was fairly solid, although on the whole it felt way too much like call of duty. Other people are saying it's a call of duty clone, but I don't think so. I mean, it's hard to think "Man, this sure feels like call of duty" when you are having laser battles in space or knocking out guards with tranquilizer darts shot from a pen, but it certainly has similarities. Although, it should be noted that only the all-out action sequences feel like call of duty; the stealth sequences actually feel a lot more like splinter cell. The graphics are good, not great. particularly any jungle environments looked really terrible. Multiplayer is functional, but nothing special. It's basically call of duty but james bond themed.

In summary, This game is great for any James Bond fan, and the gameplay is okay, but overall, it feels really unpolished, jumbled, unfinished and unoriginal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tragic

posted by Lafleuffe (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

I have a deep rooted love for all Bond games. I've liked them all...until now. 007 Legends is the kind of game that makes you stop playing video games. It might even cause you to go blind. It's infuriatingly tedious and ultimately plays out like a practical joke on the consumer. You finish the last mission on Moonraker and it doesn't even have the courtesy to give you a cut scene before going to the credits. It should have just said, "GOTCHA! HA HA HA!" and then melted your PS3.

And no guys, I'm not going to spend the time downloading more missions. The last thing I want to do is give this garbage any more of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun in the 007 history

posted by ehiris (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is really good. Better than the last one. Lots of new things to do. Like skiing, driving vehicles, etc.

It does have some bugs like the skiing scene doesn't tell you how to accelerate but still a lot of fun.

I found playing through scene from multiple James Bond movies very entertaining.

Graphics are also very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse