Buy White Knight Chronicles 2 for PS3
view large frontback

White Knight Chronicles 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

942 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by darkman678 (MURPHY, NC) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game speed is a little faster when you are attacking. Its easy till near the end its starts to get a little hard but that is a good thing. If you like the first one you will like this one. It does not tell you how to play this game but it does have a help menu. I would say to play the first one first and if you rent it from game fly it comes with the first one on the same disc. So think you can rent this game and play both and have about 100 hours in play time which is hard to find now of days. The story is good but they wanted to make this into 3 games but the sales were not good so they ended the story in the 2 one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Had a great time, until I started the 2nd game.

posted by Sindiran (CENTERVILLE, IA) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

If you never played the first White Knight Chronicles then by all means give this game a chance. This has the remasterd version of the orginal and with the tweaks made the game very fun to play. They sped up the battle speed and the game just flows so much better now.

That being said the 2nd game in here is a total let down for me and im sure others will agree, granted the games story is still strong but where as in the first it unfolded at a nice pace in here it slows down greatly. Also the fact that for a 1/3rd of the game you have no contol of a knight yet you are expected to fight waves of large monsters which makes one point in the game a nightmare because not only do you have no knight, you also have to protect an npc that if they die its game over.

That and major screen tearing make the 2nd game a disapointment for me though I till still say you should least rent as the first game and the online are very good though to play online you need to pay 10 bucks which is a deal breaker for most. In the end love the music and graphics, once again level 5 does beautifuly in this department.

So give it a shot, esp if you never played the first and if you can manage the flaws of the 2nd you will have a decent story to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don't expect much.

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) May 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, I lost my save data from the first White Knight Chronicles, so I was unable to carry over the data to this one. Well, they include the first on the disc but I didn't want to play it again, so I just started with WKC II.
They start you at level 35, which seems fine. Another reviewer said it is hard to get through the game like this, but doable. I'd have to say it was not difficult because I completed the game without any problems, or bosses being too difficult.
The crummy part is that they cap your level at 65, so until you've reached a Guild Rank of 18, you remain unable to get your level above 65. There is more to do after beating the game, but unfortunately you will need to be at least level 80 to get through most of it.

I just called it a day after that, seeing as how I made it to GR 16...needing over a million points to get to Rank 17, and who knows how much until Rank 18...forget it. The missions give you little more than 25,000 points and I wasn't willing to play another 200+ hours just to level up finally.

The game visited most of the same levels and areas as in the original, even the Guild missions were the same. Unoriginal, uninspired sequel; glad I didn't buy it.
Worth the rent, I suppose....just not a title I'd be happy to own or brag about playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Verto!

posted by joanneharris (BALTIMORE, MD) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

some of the bounties are aggravating like "knight moves" but besides that i don't know what you people are talking about on here in my opinion this game is super fun n i wish there was like a 2 player story make my job easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Looking for a good RPG? Keep looking!

posted by boredatwrk (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

18 out of 45 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Have you ever wanted to play a RPG on your console that felt like a MMO but you only got to play with bots and a bad control scheme? Well Look no further my misguided friend!

Welcome to White Knight Chronicles 2.

Which when translated to Japanese means "FFXIII-2 still isn't out yet". I should have known I was in trouble when each time I loaded up the game, it asked me what language I speak. Every time. I looked for the regret option, but alas couldn't find. Ok this isn't close to game breaking, but it's a slice of unfinished laziness that appears to be a pattern in the game.

If you haven't played the first WKC1, you'll start off with a lv35 character included with abilities.. skills.. the whole kebob. The problem is that at no point in this game does the game actually explain how to use.. anything. There is no tutorial. It's as if you turned on your roommates ps3 while he was at work and started playing his 25 hour file for a game you've never played.

Like spending $10 for online pass? WKC2 will scratch your itch. The only playable route to this game has been barricaded by EA's universal "we hate you" pass.. I wouldn't have a problem with this if I found the overall gameplay to be.. playable. I didn't.

The controls are absurd. It's sort of like they watched a video of FFXII and said "Hey! Let's do that but make it suck!!" Want to use your left stick and x to select a target to attack? Psshh! For some reason even playing solo, left stick tilted down will bring up a PSN type message box in MID BATTLE! It's bad. At no point during mid battle do you have access to the control layout.. or are introduced on.. anything relevant to helping you. Oh and in solo mode you're also able to waste your R2 button on emotes!! Just in case you wanna show the bots how you're feeling! I used sad alot.

2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SAME GAME AS WK1 - ONLINE

posted by gash187 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Sep 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

OK I m a big RPG fan , i loved WKC1 , but WKC2 is sooooooo frustrating, where to begin, first off the online mode is blocked in WKC2 unless you are willing to pay 10 dollars, what a load of horse dung. In wkc1 the online was free now you pull this move?!?!?!? essentially blocking 50% of the game to people who are renting it and dont pay your stupid 10 dolllar fee, no 3 day pass , no 1 day trial , u pay 10 or u dont play. Not only that ALL OF THE GAME IS RECYCLED THIS IS NOT REALLY A NEW GAME, THE DEVELOPER recycled all the backgrounds and graphics, i wouldnt mind some recycling but dang this takes it to far there IS NOTHING NEW every background is from WKC1. STILL THIS GAME IS WAY BETTER THAN ANY FF GAME THAT HAS BEEN RELEASED IN THIS GENERATION. WKC2>FF13 but they both suck . TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS 1 i give WKC1 a 9 and WKC2 a 5 , IF U NEVER PLAYD WKC1 then give it a try but if you played WKC1 this is the exact same game minus the online mode ...

THIS IS NOT A TRUE SEQUEL ITS A RECYCLED GAME OF WKC 1,
GREAT GAME BUT A FEW DESIGN DECISIONS RUIN THE WHOLE THING, REALLY NO ONLINE THIS IS A ONLINE GAME U COULDNT JUST GIVE ME A 3 DAY TRAIL WHAT A BUNCH OF JERKS, ESPECIALLY AFTER PSN GOT HACKED AND ALL OUR CREDIT INFO LEAKED YOU THINK THEY WOULD AT LEAST GIVE U A WEEK TRAIL, I DONT WANT TO PUT MY CREDIT CARD NUMBERS BACK ON PSN AND PROBIBLY NEVER WILL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive

posted by WhyteNynja (OCALA, FL) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The developers took the easy way out in this sequel and made everything the same by using the "time travel to the past" method. If you played WKC1 then everything will be very familiar because all the map locations/areas are pretty much the same exact places you visited before with the same monsters, same items, even the treasure chests are opened if you loaded your WKC1 saved data!

It gets pretty boring real fast fighting the same handful of monsters over and over again in each area. If you like repetition this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why? Knight Chronicles II

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played the first WKC... and was disappointed.

WKC II has a wealth of improvements, plus getting WKC 1, with those improvements is really nice.

But, this game sucks. It's so pointless. Just like the first one, the combat is pretty lame and the Death Blow of it all is that this an RPG, which by reputation tells a long, detailed story, and the worst thing you can have happen in a game like this is for people NOT CARE about anything that happening or the characters involved...

I love LEVEL-5, ever since Dark Cloud and DragonQuest, but this series needs to die.

There's no JRPG's on the PS3, which is a huge let down, but you're just gonna have to wait until Ni No Kuni arrives. (also LEVEL-5, called White Witch something or other in the US)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fail of the year

posted by Cageone (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

SERIOUSLY? The new fad of screwing renters by charging for online play is not working to force people to buying games.Lets all hope this goes away faster than a ripe pimple on the nose. Another part lacking in this version versus the first was the story line is very lazy and seems to be a lousy flow. Like Leonard just will help anyone convenient to the story line. If you have cutscenes,story lines need to make some sense.The only positives that I saw with the new game are, a bit better battle system layout and more vivid color scheme especially with blues and greens. Playing on a Samsung 1080p 3d plasma so it all looks kind of pretty.The sound on the other hand, same samples used. "Wait up sweety." That's a lot of lazyness,couldn't they hire some woman or even a tranny and record her vocal to say" yo wait up hot stuff", or something.Seems like they took the easy way out and didn't make a new game but rather an expansion pack that they want us to pay full price for.I am sure many of us were looking forward to this too as the first game was solid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

First game is on this disk too!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Nov 2, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

What is this??? The first white knight chronicles is on this disk, too? People, listen up! A while back it seem a really bad game company named Square-Enix produced a series called Final Fantasy X... If you liked the first game; then you would have hated the second, but if you liked Second game in the FFX series, then you would have to play the first game just to find out what was going on, and if you didn't like that first game then you would have more reason to hate the second game even though it really didn't deserve it! THIS game is living in fear of the Final Fantasy X series stigma. IF YOU DON'T HAVE THE FIRST GAME, YOU CAN JUST BUY THE SECOND GAME SINCE THE FIRST GAME IS ALSO ON THIS DISK! YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BUY THE FIRST GAME IN THE WHITE KNIGHT SERIES; THERE IS NO NEED TO! If you already bought the first game of the White Knight Chronicles series, then you may now count your first game as a coaster if you like, a collectors item if you wiish, a back-up copy for good measure, or trade it in for another game. Yes, my freinds, they just threw in the first game right along with the second game on the same disk. The first game is good, and the second game is just another chapter in the saga, but it does beg the question. "Do we wait for the series to complete, and just buy the last installment with all of games on one disk? Or do we hope, and pray that future installments come with their own disk." If they keep this trend up we could just wait for the last game to come out and buy the whole series on one disk, but if we do...the people who make this game will probably go bankrupt. We could buy the whole series, but then we run the risk of looking like we were taken for a bunch of fools... It is a good series so far, but I don't think that we should just let these people make the rest of us look stupid... Well, look on the bright side... There are plenty of options to choose from... You also get your own custom mech in the second game! Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lame

posted by akj (IONIA, MI) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Very lame series. Too linear amongst other things...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

White knight chronicals part 2

posted by mchafin20 (OMAHA, NE) May 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Unlike alot of other people who hated the 2nd game I loved it as a part 2 not as a sequel because it just takes place right after wkc1 if they had change the story alot more I would have viewed this as a sequel. It's not a terrible game defently worth the rent or even as a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

white knight chronicles 2

posted by ryustarfire (RED BLUFF, CA) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The game was damaged and froze before i got to play. It wont let me report it either so this is my only choice of complaint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you like Japanese rpg games this is one to get

posted by Anewlight (BILLINGS, MT) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

I have to start saying that I really enjoyed this game. I found it cheap so I bought it. If you really love Japanese roleplaying games you don't want to miss this one. Offline it has the usual Japanese setups. Something bad happens and someone gets high strength. It is the usual routine. What is different here and what I really liked is your level ups.Each character you make is different and it is fun watching them grow. You get points to get moves from each weapon all the way to different kinds of magic. How you want to make your character is up to ya. Online, it is a mmorpg and a huge world it is. I only done online on the first one but I have to say. I youtubed videos on the 2nd one and it looks like fun with friends. I do have to say that you shouldn't let this treasure get past ya. To top it off I actually have fun fighting the battles. The bigger characters the better. Then, there is the Knight battles which are a blast. All together I love my demon magic characters that I made and I will love to watch them grow into 2 great magicians :). Trust me once you start this game you will get hooked. You play it online and the game basically is bought :). Right now there isn't too many mmorpg's but online final fantasy 14 comes out. You can have a blast with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

your not the protagonist!!

posted by parthornax (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

while you take your sweet time to make a charecter makeing him or her look good it takes hours and then your happy with him or her and guess what? YOU DONT EVEN SHOW UP DURING 90% OF ALL THE SCENES YOUR A NOBODY IF THIS WAS BATMAN YOUR NOT EVEN ROBIN YOUR NOT EVEN BAT GIRL YOUR LIKE A FLOWERPOT IN BATMANS HOUSE!!!!! THE STORY IS BORING THE ENDING SUCKS THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST UNSATISFYING GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE A WASTE OF MY TIME YOU DONT EVEN GET COOL KNIGHT ARMOR the game play is ok and the graphics are great but everything else sucks you want a REAL J-RPG? GO GET YOUR SELF PERSONA 3 OR 4 AND PHANTASY STAR PORTABLE 1 & 2 I THOUGHT THIS GAME WAS SOMETHING COOL BUT IT SUCKS NOT BEING NOBODY MY D-I-C-K IF YOU HAVE A BRAIN YOU WONT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS GAME AND IF ITS TOO LATE SEND IT BACK DONT DISHONOR YOUR PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by The_white_knigh (Ranger, GA) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game is great. not much was added tho just a few more places to visit and thats it but all together its real good. and plus if you havent played the first game this verson has it built in to the game. hope this review helps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh

posted by LemonGamer (FORT WAYNE, IN) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

it is an okay game but i would not say that it is an amazing one... i would give it a go or two before dropping it i had it for around 4 or 5 days but i never seemed to truly get into it... it bugged me more then entertained me i guess... it has a story idea kinda like FF where theres 8 cutscenes for the price of one...so story driven people may enjoy this kind of game where as true action type gamers may not i gave tis a 3 because the combat is alittle odd for my taste and the story doesnt seem to dig that deep in me [note i am rating for both one and two not just two]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Quite good.

posted by Besarius (SAGINAW, MI) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

As a game from Level 5; i enjoyed it, but kinda felt lack lusting. Few boss moments felt kinda B.Sed as if they were just simply thrown in to have some sort of "epic" battle but meh it was stills a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What A Game

posted by djaidyn (BENTON, TN) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2006

I love this game. The character creation is a welcome addition to these type of RPGs. Your created character isn't the main character in the game which adds a little difference as well. The online is where I can't get enough of this game. It brings a sense of console type gaming with mmo style added as well. The battle system resembles FFXII, but I think it is better. The storyline is Level 5 amazing. They don't know how to make a bad story. This is my favorite RPG. I play Skyrim and always go back to this game for Traditional and old-school turn based gaming. The combo system is deep and allows for some awesome moves. This game has the original White Knight game as well, so just get this and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The verdict is in?!

posted by Persona_ (WATERBURY, CT) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Look there is so many things i could write about this game but ill keep it simple. IM ADDICTED! i could easily play this game for weeks on end and i havent even been on line yet! i admit that i do love rpgs but im not a die hard fan, that is to say that i dont just like any rpg game.
but this one i think ill keep :) Thanks game fly!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is Horrid!

posted by Dreamis (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Anyone whos a fan of White knight chronicles! as awesome as the first one was DO NOT!!!! BUY WHITE KNIGHT CHRONICLES 2 its strait bull---- steaming garbage and a w8st of time and money

there are no awesome cinematics like the first 1

You wont get a knight for ur created char till the end

you have to buy a code for online play now

the story is the same as the first 1 and so are the places u fight in allong with the monsters, even if u use ur old save file and start off at lvl 35 ur still weak to everything regardless. It might as well be named WKC 1 1/2

Lastly this game is just boring and dumb, heed my warning! i loved the first 1, but this 1 bores me to tears and frustrates to no end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ignore the noobs and haters

posted by wlanedbz (HATTIESBURG, MS) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game is great. I hate to say it, but I hated this game the first time around. However, in White Knight II they fixed the first game, now the combat is quicker, and it comes with tutorials. When I played this game last year, I thought it was nearly impossible, turns out I just didnt completely understand the combat. They also fixed a lame issue from the first one, now your distance from enemy matters. Before, running far away from an enemy would still leave you vulnerable to their attacks, however your attacks wouldnt be able to reach. This is fixed now to my relief. I rated this game like a 4 or 5 last time...whats my rating this time? 10..thats right...this game is truly epic, I feel like a fool that i didnt see it before. Also, the story and art are amazing. Good stories are hard to find from Japanese games these days. Sure its a little bit corny, but not even a fraction as much as Final Fantasy 13. Oh yeah, and buy this game, the multiplayer is a major selling point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Part Mecha, Part Town Builder, All RPG

posted by Exrage (SPOKANE, WA) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The thing you gotta know before renting is two things: it's all or nothing and the cutscenes are long. The first part means if you're not going to explore all of the little extras in the game- the Geonet, the guild quests and errands, building and customizing each character and their respective Ark- then the game will probably only amount to maybe a 6 and end a little too fast for most. The second means the cutscenes are long, and there's a lot of them.

Good news though, pause works through everything- except the multiplayer and geonet areas.

Once you commit yourself to it though the game is truly a good time. Building a town to provide materials to help upgrade you and your party/itself was a nice touch. The thing to remember is it also comes to guild level, and it's important not to rush it starting out- the levels and quests will come if you do the errands and knock out each quest once you have the gear/level to do so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I have to add my voice

posted by BigEdward (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

to those who were extremely disappointed with Part II. It had been a while since I played the first one so when presented with the option to run thru part 1 again, I took it and spent a few days getting reaquainted with the 10 bazillion spiders, lizards and various other forest creatures I would be required to cut into forest mulch. Although quite often tedious, the story and characters kind of made up for it.

Then I got to part two, expecting to see something new and exciting but guess what, they basically put a fresh coat of makeup on part 1, stapled a few new cutscnes to it's back and called it something special. They also decided that making me hack thru the same forest creatures yet again and not even letting me fast travel to places I had already been was a good substitute for compelling game play.

I'm really glad I rented this, something would have been set on fire if I had payed real money for the attempt at a silk purse from a pig's ear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »