Buy Velvet Assassin for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Velvet Assassin

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.4

2185 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

A watered down Splinter Cell

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) May 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

88 out of 99 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you ever played Splinter Cell, you'll hate this game. This is a "stealth"
game that makes being stealthy more difficult that it should be. The game is very linear with hardly any choice on how to accomplish a mission. First off, you can't shoot out any of the lights in the game, which is plain stupid. In SC you can shoot the lights out to make the area dark. Not in VA. Second, you carry only a pistol with seven rounds and a knife. Bullets are extremely limited you only find them in lockers which are rare in itself. All the enemies carry guns, but you can't pick them up. I should be able to choose whether I want to shoot it out or sneak around, but it's practically impossible due to the weapon limitations and lack of item pickups. You get a pistol, flare gun, shotgun, or luger. Not a wide selection and again, very limited ammo. You also can't climb up anything unless it's a hotspot. So unless a crate the height of your kneecaps is a hotspot, you can't get over it. Another painful limitation. You also can't jump at all, let alone jump over a railing or jump onto something. Another limitation. Enemies also seem to have radar installed in their heads. More than once if I shot someone with a silenced pistol, even if NOBODY was in the area, the music would change and guards from halfway across the screen would come running right to the spot where I am. The limitations of choice (i.e. not being able to move/climb/jump/destroy) make it one of those games that you just want to hurry through and finish because it's so boring. They do try to add an RPG element by allowing you to upgrade your abilities by finding collectibles, but this fails to make up for the games shorcomings which are many.

THE GOOD
BGM
Character upgrades

THE BAD
Graphics aren't up to snuff.
Limited weapons/bullets

THE UGLY
No free interaction with objects.
No jumping/climbing
Terribly linear paths.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Velvet Assassin Pro/Con

posted by Frankoveli (OSWEGO, NY) May 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A simple breakdown of Velvet Assassin.

•Pros•
Artistic Graphics:
Velvet Assassin uses alot of bold colors and visual effects, between taking morphine and having rose petals rain down around you or how your screen turns a hue of blood red as your about to assassinate somebody the visuals in this game are unique to say the least...In a very good way.

•Cons•
Controls:
The controls in this game are clunky and slow, you can never move as fast as you'd like and assassinating is harder and takes longer than it should be. For example, coming from splinter cell if your waiting for somebody to eliminate, as soon as they get close it takes only a couple seconds between life and death. In Velvet Assassin that isnt the case, to assassinate you have to get up close to somebody then instead of doing a move of your choice, you only press A and sit threw a small cut scene (that you have to watch over and over again every time you assassinate somebody). Oh and if you get caught and dont have any bullets your screwed because the melee combat in this game is horrible. Come to think of it, so is the gun gameplay, so your screwed either way.

Gameplay:
If you find that when you play stealth games the most annoying part about them is waiting for the AI to move to where you want them to. Then stay far Far away from this game. All im going to say is on one of the first levels i had to sit through 2 guys having a 5 minute...yes 5 Minute conversation about who stole his chocolate....and unless i wanted to blow my cover (and you dont) i was forced to sit through the whole conversation. God forbid you die before a checkpoint, you'd have to listen to it all over again! This doesn't just happen once, it happens over and over again.

•Conclusion• [ AVOID - 2/10 ]
I am a huge fan of stealth games, but this game was horrible, it took ideas from some of the best stealth games, too bad they wern't the ideas that made them fun. Stay away at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The worst game I've ever played

posted by daveconrey (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Totally unintuitive. The first version of THIEF was years beyond this lame game. The AI of enemies is either set to incredibly stupid or ultra-alert. You can't jump on anything unless the games specifically wants you to jump up. You push boxes around for completely pointless reasons, crawl through all-to-convenient tunnels that are always right where you need them. There's only one way through the game and even at the advanced level, the game is moronically simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ultra realistic yet unrealistic title

posted by Soldarith (WEST CHESTER, PA) May 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

33 out of 40 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I have to start this off with this confession: I had to package the game back up in under two hours playtime.

This title tries to be an ultra realistic stealth third-person spy game but fails on very many levels, that, in the end, destroy the player's ability to actually have fun.

CONS:
1.) The game is very slow: character movements, dialogue, etc. Yes, it is a stealth game but does EVERYTHING need to be this slow?
2.) Ultra-realism yet contradictory when convenient: 2-3 shots & you're dead, yet you cannot pickup weapons from corpses, knock out lights, throw glass bottles?
3.) Cannot jump unless it is a special action area that allows you to press "A" to do so. Talk about counter-realism.
4.) Aiming mechanic is horrid. It is a devolution of gameplay.
5.) Little to no choices in selecting how you wish to accomplish a kill/task: Do it any way other than what the game expects and you will die, over, & over, & over again.
6.) No warning that you are exiting the level. Once you do, you cannot return.
7.) Cannot carry medical kits. Why call them medical kits? Call them health potions.
8.) Can only carry one Morphine syringe at a time -- cause they are so big? Not to mention the use of morphine in the game to begin with...
9.) Has an M rating that, for the life of me, I cannot figure out why.

PROS:
1.) Pretty graphics and environments.
2.) Great story that should be heard but this game just doesn't do it justice. I recommend the History Channel if you're interested.

OVERALL:
Not worth the time/money. This is a VERY poor attempt at a WWII-era stealth game that had everything it could ask for to be successful and still blew it. Don't fix what isn't broken in game design.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Xbox 360 Game of 2009!!!

posted by ll2Scoopsl (KEARNY, NJ) May 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

29 out of 37 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I read about this game prior to its release in hopes of a good shooter and stealth game, which it is neither. Every aspect of this game is just horrible from the original playstation graphics to the awful gameplay this was truly a huge let down. As a stealth game there are no planning on how to defeat your enemies, all you have to do is watch their same movement over and over again. Enemy A.I is both very stupid and dead on with accuracy and targeting for instance, I would kill a squadmate and they won't notice the person isn't there anymore but I can be supposedly unseeable in the shadows but will get caught and dead in a second with escape being bareable. Every level consisted of gaining the same rusty or shiny key, and is so flat out repetitive by the 3rd level you can predict what you must do next. Every mission is just shadows and really mundane 1 button kills. They added a morphine shoot which makes her freeze time to get an easy kill, to be honest I never even used it, as its a really boring part of the game. As a shooter its even worst. Picture a spy who only goes in with 7 bullets a level, then picture you not only being able to acquire dead enemy weapons which makes no sense. Very bad beginning to a horrible ending which doesn't make you feel rewarded for beating such an awful game. Even with a shortage of stealth games on next gen systems I recommend you going old-school before ever playing this game. As a shooter your clip will be gone as fast as this game goes in a bargain bin look far far away from this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I enjoyed this one!

posted by AJW7757 (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have seen the reviews from "pros" and the ones from users. I will be one of the naysayers. I enjoyed this game. It ripped my heart out. Approaching the ending I had to stop playing and get my bearings, I could not handle the emotional stress. Returning to finish I found myself in an urgent state, not knowing what was before me regardless of my efforts.

Morphine mode was gimmicky, but had purpose. If you didn't figure that one out, you were not listening to the dialogue.

I loved Violet Summer. Couldn't help myself. Brutal, vicious, relentless, smart, and determined, my kinda hero. Oh, she was beautiful too!!

The play style changes gradually to allow the protagonist more control. However, this does some what fail. The weapon physics are weak.

Some had problems using the stealth, I didn't. I had no problems taking any enemy down from behind. However, do not attempt to approach from the side. You're dead.

One issue I found was when she was seen, there is no protection. Melee does not exist, and firing your weapon will not happen. You just die. Restart.

Not having mission select is unacceptable. Some of the missions I really enjoyed playing and would have like to revist the ones I liked. However, that is not possible.

If you do not get your achievement on the first playthrough. You gotta go back. I didn't. Achievements are not a major part of my gaming.

I would classify this game as art. The graphics set the tone. A memory is hazy and the graphics definitely showed this.

I hand respect to the German game developers who let the truth be told. They stepped back in history to remind the world of the horrible events created by the Nazis. The didn't cower, or sugar coat history. They put in your face, ground hard, and opened your heart to the reality of the brutality of human against human.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much better than you expect. Suprisingly great!

posted by Parabolee (MAPLEWOOD, NJ) May 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

26 out of 48 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

As someone who considers themselves to be a big fan of the stealth genre, I have to admit that it has gotten very stale of recent. The last Splinter Cell was pretty uninspiring and as great as MGS 4 was, the stealth sections were too few. Tenchu Z was an average update to a great game and the new Wii Tenchu just doesn't feel right (maybe the PSP version will work better).

So what hope could this lesser known game from a company known only for their previous titles titles Crashday, Survivor & 1968 Tunnel Rats. What, what and what? I hear you say. Yes Replay Studious have yet to prove themselves in the slightest. So it would responsible to expect this game to along the same lines of quality as Vampire Rain. And even though the main character, storyline and design all appealed to me, I went into playing Velvet Assassin with pretty low expectations.

Well, those expectations were blown out of the water. What I was very surprised to find started with a very intriguing and well acted intro, which did a great job of drawing me into the narrative. Then the game started and I found a very nicely polished 3rd person stealth-em-up with rock solid controls, very nice stylised graphics and well designed levels!

Make no mistake about it, if you have a soft spot (like myself) for sexy secret agent women, and stealth style gameplay you will be very happy with what Velvet Assassin has to offer.

Sure it's not the most original game ever released but it does have some cool idea's (a morphine shot ability that allows you to move around unseen in a dream state. It's cooler than it sounds), and most importantly it does everything it tries in a very clean and solid manner. Surprisingly well thought out level design and overall high level of polish.

It won't be for everyone, and some will hate it's slow pace (this is a stealth game people). But I for one strongly recommend this fine game to anyone with an interest in this style of game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WAT

posted by IamXenu (BILLINGS, MO) May 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yeah....well...uh....This game sucked. I immediately knew this was going to be bad when I saw that the intro cinematic was interspersed with cheesy dialogue and in-game video clips. The gameplay feels dated, as do the visuals. My friend and I felt like we were being transported back to the development stages of the first Splinter Cell. Animation was non-existant. Rather than creating an animation for opening doors, you either a.) simply stand next to then while they open, or b.) the screen blacks out and you just pop up on the other side. Blood sprays from gunplay is also of very poor quality. My friend shot one of the SS in the head and it took about a half second for the blood to spray and the soldier to fall. ON TOP of all that, the music is horrible and reminiscent of cliche stealth tunes from the games of yore (think PDZ and the last-gen Bond games). However, if none of this seems to bother you, then by all means, go ahead and select "RENT IT", but somehow I think you'll be ashamed that your 360 was tainted with this...thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Splinter Cell It Is Not

posted by AoWdemon (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) May 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the stealth genre, specifically Splinter Cell, I rented this game with an open mind. I thought "This can't be as bad as they say it is." Spy in World War 2 sounds like a good game right? Well this game unfortunately does not measure up to the god of stealth games.

Although I did not expect it to beat Splinter Cell I expected it to try to at least be a fairly good game. I began the first level, performed the familiar "watch patrol movement for enemies, and attack when they are alone" that all stealth games offer. Then the bad things about this horrendous game began to show themselves. The only good thing I can note in this game is the audio quality. So now that we have that out of the way, on too the bad things...

This game's stealth system is clunky at best, and for a game where you play as a spy in WW2 I expected much more from this game, sometimes enemies see you when the stealth indicator says you are hidden, for some odd reason you can only stab people from directly behind them...UNLESS you take some Morphine conveniently placed in the levels where everything becomes foggy and you run around in your negligee, now magically able to stab enemies from all angles. Random placement of obstacles was also an odd issue, there would be glass round the ground in a small hallway where there was no glass anywhere near that area. One of the most annoying things I found is that you have to sit and listen to really long conversations sometimes just to move on...for example in the second level you don a gas mask and enter a room filled with poison gas, before you can do anything you have to sit unless to a 5 min. conversation where one german constantly accuses the other of stealing his chocolate.

Overall I think this game was a real waste of a rental

4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ok stealth game

posted by Klaydude (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) May 16, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok so the game is pretty well polished and has a pretty good story line but is glithy at sometimes. now remeber people THIS IS A STEALTH GAME not really a shooter.

i do like the idea of upgrading your atrabutes like stealth, strength, and morphine (makes you go into a kindof dream state that freezes time).

this game can be hard at times but you have to think before you really do anything in this game.

ok i want to know why you cant pick up enemy weapons because what happenes if you are seen and you have no ammo in your pistol (witch on has 7-16 shots) are just supposed to run then die or just sit there and let them kill you. (either way you lose)

This game could've been alot better than it is right now.

RENT IT DONT BUY IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Only worth a rent, if even that ..

posted by jujiro (JENNINGS, LA) May 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I'd suggest anybody interested only rent this game and only if . After the first couple of levels you realize that you'll be dieing left and right until you figure out the one right sequence to clear the guards in the room. The fact that you will die a lot is about the only reason you won't finish this game in one or two evenings.

You only have 7 bullets per level unless you are lucky enough to find some ammo in the level. Leaving you only one route to complete the game most of the time . Sneak and get the instant kill from behind. The main thing that annoyed me is that for a stealth game you are pretty much forced to kill the majority of the enemies to complete the level. While is MGS games you could slip by without killing a single person or setting off alarms if you were patient enough.

The only two things that make this game interesting is the story and the scenery but the lousy game play and and glitches that happen in certain areas and situations is enough to rob most of the fun out of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Velvet Assassin

posted by HOST1L1TY (KINGSBURG, CA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Velvet Assassin is almost a female version of Hitman. If you're not a fan of moving slowly through levels and sneaking around this isn't the game for you. Game isn't as hard as some people have said it is but it will have it moments where you are tested. Only thing hard would have to be it's time consuming if you're looking to get all the achievements. You'll need to play the game at least 2 times. I would rate it a 5 out of 10 difficulty. Descent story and gameplay. Only problem I came across was you need to start the game from the Dashboard and not from just turning on the power. I wouldn't get any cutscenes, couldn't use the morphine at times, or enemys wouldn't appear. It did help however when close to death the enemy would all point their guns in the air and was able to walk behind them. None of these problems occur from the dashboard so I would recommend playing this game. Wasn't too sure about playing this game at first but glad I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Please do not trust all reviews

posted by xxghostyxx (COLUMBUS, GA) May 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think this game is awesome it is pure stealth and yes i love it i think it is a good buy and for sure a good rent you have to think on each and every move not just go you get seen =dead i think it is awesome too many shooters in this world so yes i am glad to post this is a game that is well worth the play or buy and is very sad people talk so bad about a game BECAUSE THEY DID NOT LIKE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i say 8- 10 rate easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, bad ratings are over-rated

posted by Harpy9 (Manassas, VA) May 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you like the Thief series you'll like this game. It's not as good as Thief, but it's a good console stealth game.

Some of the areas are pretty challenging in figuring out the best order to take out enemies. If you don't hide the bodies then you could be toast. I pre-ordered this game and I have no regrets in doing so.

I don't get the bad ratings at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game changed my Lfe

posted by 1111112 (FOREST HILL, MD) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I never liked stealth games till velvet assassin. it changed my opinion on gaming I hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiggggghhhhly recomend it. It gave me chills i wanted to cry of joy, rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very disappointed veryyyyyy

posted by Hishiyama (BOSTON, MA) May 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

well first if all. theres no story at all. each level is a different mission. so nothing is connected i guess.
you just go around sneaking and then press A allll theeee timeeee !!

you cant choose anything to carry, only 12 bullets at a time. and it takes 3 bullets to kill an enemy. and everytime you die you have to restart from the check point which is FAR !! and listen to the dialogue of the soldiers all over again before you kill them which takes 3-5 min of them talking and talking ... the graphics are really bad WHY WHY is it that bad ? its 2009 cmonnnnn people please work extra harder.

rent this game, but i SERIOUSLY doubt anyone will like it. you die 5 times in a period of 5 minutes, and in not bad in stealth games. i own and played all the metal gear series on hard mode soooo.

im sure people will forget about this game in less then a month cause thats how long they probably took to make this game ....

anyone who gives this game 10/10 is a lier and is probably connected to the studio .... and i forgot to add the controls SUCKKKKK and every mission is repetitive ......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game blows-dont waste your money

posted by palmtree2c (AURORA, CO) May 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Game blows. Thats all folks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this was a bad idea

posted by martin (MACON, GA) May 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 22 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

ok here you go .. are you ready for my review of this game.. don't rent it don't buy it and don't and i mean don't play it.. this game sucked. hate it i would not recommend that any one play this game there's nothing about it that looks are even sound good. not a good game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Flash backs of Medal Of honor

posted by Chris75189 (ROCKWALL, TX) May 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of medal of honor, the graphics are ok, but glitchy at times, the story line needs help, now the reason I gave it a 5, so far its seems to be a interesting game but like I said it reminds me a lot like Medal of honor, I wouldn't recommend a buy on this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

blah....

posted by kidego71 (RICHMOND, IN) May 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Basically this is Splinter Cell with a nice set of hooters. If you like the "stealth" games then chances are you will really enjoy Velvet Assasin....I personally dont care for games like this. I only played the first two chapters, but the story seems pretty good and the graphics arent bad.

If you are a "sneak" fan, try it out. If you would rather be in the action and NOT die if you get shot once...pass on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Maybe the worst game ever

posted by Shinedown1 (ALLEN PARK, MI) May 15, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This just might be the worst game ever made. PS1 era graphics, terrible fighting system and boring missions. Dont bother with this game. Trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game=TRASH

posted by gamerdog34 (PLEASANTON, CA) May 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

like the other people who played this game, I agree it is a failure.
It is so cheap and boring. such a peace of frigin garbage. Don't waste your time renting it. definitely a lot like splinter cell(boo!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This stealth game should stay HIDDEN

posted by TegmoGames (BOWIE, MD) May 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Not really much to say here, just simply wasnt a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth it!!!!!

posted by wolf_gamer (FOUNTAIN CITY, IN) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

the graphics are ok but there is no save until you get to a certain point.the story is good but the game play sucks, just don't mess with this game it's a waste of time because you so many limitations you can not even count.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Put it down immediately

posted by AsylumAddiction (Modesto, CA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The GF review was pretty low, but I figured I'd give it a try anyway -- big mistake. I can tolerate bad games because I get so wrapped up in the story, and I just want to know the ending. I played this for 10 minutes and put it away. The game play was awful, the explanation of what you're suppose to do/your controls might as well have been nonexistent, and although the graphics weren't too bad, the coloring of everything made it hard to see, even if you adjust your visual settings. I have NEVER picked up a game and left it unfinished. Over all, the best way I can describe it is Bioshock meets Blood Rayne... but done completely wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse