Buy Unit 13 for PS Vita
view large frontback

Unit 13

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

446 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

It keeps you busy until a better shooter comes out

posted by CaptColon (SHIRLEY, NY) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I pretty much got this because good or bad I just desperately wanted a shooter on the PS Vita. Thankfully it turned out good. I didn't actually expect to like it this much since I didn't care for the developers' previous games (SOCOM series and MAG).

I like the whole Daily Challenges stuff, but once you beat the level you aren't given the ability to replay it to try to better your score. Also if for some reason you have to quit in the middle of the mission and want to try it again later, you can't because once you quit you just blew your chance for the day (I just learned this the hard way).

It uses the Near app, but I can't tell what it does because apparently nobody around me is playing this.

The online co-op is kinda a missed opportunity imo. They were really pushing the online co-op mode, but to play a new level in co-op you will have had to unlocked it in single player first. I was hoping you could go through it all in co-op and not even worry about playing single player.

The stealth parts are not always so easy. I have a silencer on my pistol, yet when I shoot an enemy in the head and he drops dead his buddies will always hear it and will swarm me. When given the chance you're better off just stabbing them.

I think the game could have used more modes, and I have no clue if they have any future DLC planned for it, but the game as it is, is enough to hold me over until a more full-featured shooter comes out on this thing (which I guess is going to be the new Resistance game in May)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My "two cents" review of Unit 13

posted by MacUser (FULLERTON, CA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since May 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall, Unit 13 is an above average shooter for the newly released SONY Vita. The graphics, game play, and sound effects are good. There is no real storyline since each mission seems independent of each other. The things that bothered me about Unit 13 were: it takes forever to upgrade your weapons; you have limited weapons customization options; limited weapon loadouts; the game doesn't take advantage of all the Vita's buttons; and the enemy AL seem to score easy hits on you even behind cover. It's a good start for future shooters on the Vita.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grew on me over time

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Overview
===============
This game is from the makers of Socom and Mag so you've got a good idea going in. I played the demo and it was just okay for me. However, I rented the complete game and it really grew on me. It isn't the best thing since sliced bread...but it keeps you entertained. I even decided to keep it.

Pros
=================
1) first shooter for Vita (cover based 3rd person)
2) missions are bite sized so perfect for portable
3) controls fairly well (still prefer 1st person myself)

Cons
=================
1) see my comment about prefer 1st person
2) no competitve multiplayer
3) graphics are just okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by mrscott2000 (HAMPTON, VA) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Finally a shooter that requires strategy! No more mindless running around shooting at everything that moves. This game will never get old because you can play each mission dynamically where objectives change and enemy locations change. Great, great game!

The graphics are really clean and there is no slowdown within the action. The stealth part of this game is very entertaining.

Definitely pick up or rent if you have a vita.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The unigue shooter

posted by megaaustin (COSTA MESA, CA) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good
- Great use for dual anoulge sticks and surpsisly good touch screen control
- Long missions to get your money worth
- Amazing graphics
- You can use I think 6 chracters in this game and they have there streghth and weakness and you can level them up to level 10
- 3 other modes like target challenge (killing bosses), dialy challenge (each day diffrent missions with leaderboards) and co-op missions (playing the same mission but with people online, you need a online pass for this mode)
- Lot's of diffrent game types with diffrent rules
- Good cover system

Bad
- No multyplayer mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Next Generation shooter on hand held system!

posted by Fam23 (VICTORVILLE, CA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you like shooter games,this is a must have.The vita defies all laws when it comes to graphics.Plays Good as it looks goo,so you won't be disappoin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

$10 fail

posted by adrian97c (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) May 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I rented, paid PSN $10 to play online, decided to keep-payed gamefly $29 & they sent me a code to play online! If I would've known I would NOT have spent the extra $10!

Anyone need an extra code? $5 (50% sale)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

PROS / CONS

posted by Capice2003 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

Pros:
Really great shooter for the Vita
Has a lot of wepons to select from even down to the accessories
Has potential to become great Vita game based on a patch!

Cons:
No real linking story
No versus multiplayer
No character customization
Not many coop or single player maps...mainly just recycled areas on several maps with missions

Moderate to high replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by StTrdamus (BROWNSBURG, IN) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

I was very, very pleasantly surprised by this game. After playing resistance first, I assumed that nobody had quite figured out the shooter thing yet on the vita. Wrong...this is a great game. Worth a purchase...I'm buying it used from GF right now actually.

Truth be told, I don't play a ton of shooting games. But this is easily the best handheld shooter I've ever encountered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Enough

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This game is basic, nothing that will blow your mind. If you don't like games with engrossing stories then stay away from this one. The gameplay is really fun and actually pretty addicting. The game is pretty bare-bones though. It's straight to the shooting and there's not much else to do. Even cutscenes are very minimal, I'm halfway through the game and I can't be bothered to care what's happening in the story. Some people will love that, others will hate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Insainly underrated!

posted by Silver2099 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This is by far the best PS Vita game out! The only ones that might beat it are Wipeout 2048 and Gravity Rush!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good bite sized action

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

I don't usually care for Zipper shooters, but since this was the only decent military shooter on the Vita right now, I tried it. It reminded me of the Syphon Filter PSP games a bit.

There's no real story or campaign, it's all bite-sized 15-20 minute missions with copy-pasted objectives and randomized enemies. You go in, shoot some baddies, get some files, defuse/set up some bombs, etc. Some are timed, action, or stealth.

First thing, the controls are almost spot-on. You'll be able to get headshots easily and the guns control nicely with the dual analogs. My main problem is with angles when you are in cover. Sometimes the game won't let you aim a certain way even though it is very possible. This can screw up tight quarters combat a lot, leading to some cheap deaths.

The graphics are acceptable with nice character models, but boring environments. It's no Uncharted: GA, but it's okay for a launch title.

The enemy AI is okay, but inconsistent. Sometimes they will swarm you, sometimes they will look directly at a dead comrade's body and walk away like they saw nothing. Sometimes they will spot you immediately, other times they'll act like they're blind.

The game could have benefited from a five hour campaign with the single missions as an extra, but Zipper has never done a good story in their games.

I finished most of the missions except for a few timed ones which were too unforgiving. There are "High Value Targets," which are the same maps with a boss at the end, but they don't do anything special except have more health.

There are randomized missions, but after 30 missions, I was tired of doing the same maps over and over.

This is a decent title to hold you over until maybe Black Ops on Vita this fall. It's too bad Zipper Interactive closed as I wouldn't have minded more Vita shooters from them. Something like this with more polish and a story would have been great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GrEaT for a first shooter

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

I liked the game it was great but if you'r like some people who only played COD for a shooter game/series. It might not be for you since this game need strategy you can't go Rambo into the game or you will die a lot..... It is the first shooter for vita and it is a good one make more good games like this and vita will be BIG. (It is like playing a video game to a bright future) with gummy bears and pepsi)!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Online Pass

posted by pololover (PHOENIX, AZ) May 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Is UNIT 13 not available online? I tried to purchase from my VITA & it says No Content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BOSS

posted by reach (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

i really like this rps game u can choose 6 different operatives marksman (sniper) commando gunner technician 1 of my favorite. infiltrator for stealth missions and a terrible shotgun guy u can upgrade your weapons as u rank up and also there is a mode called high value target where u eliminate bosses all in all this game is very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun, rivals most Console FPS Games!

posted by tysonedwards (Meeker, CO) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

All around, I would call this my favorite PS Vita game. It's quality rivals that of most console FPS games on the market today. I personally enjoy the Single Player Campaign and the general "special ops" missions much better than those within Modern Warfare 3.

However, that is not a fair comparison as everyone knows that your CoD games are only for multiplayer and the single player is more of an afterthought.

The only annoyance about this game is that online play is a $10 fee for people renting or buying second-hand, especially when you can buy the game for download from the PSN for $31.99. Very worth it though.

This game took me from a "give it a chance via rental" to an impulse buy.

Honestly, would have been an impulse buy if the PSN actually had any information about it instead of their legalese BS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I don't own this game but..........

posted by DiamondP (FORT PIERCE, FL) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Like i said i don't own this game but i played the demo and i have to say best handheld shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BEST YET

posted by 261998 (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

I love this game. it's the call of duty like game we have been waiting for. guns are cool and i just love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »