Buy Uncharted: Drake's Fortune for PS3
view large frontback

Uncharted: Drake's Fortune

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

29107 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Effing Amazing

posted by Drzronnie (GAP, PA) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is incredible! I wish I could give it a 15, has to be quite possibly the best game I have ever played. The story is great ( my wife watched me play thru it), the controls are great, the story is is kinda like a Indiana Jones type thing. You can pass the rent up and just buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A fantastic story and experience.

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

125 out of 146 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Graphics = 10
By far Uncharted has some of the best visuals to date on any console. The environment seems to come alive and watching Drake move through that environment is just as visually stunning.

Gameplay = 9
No multiplayer. But this isnt the kind of game that requires nor needs it. There is plenty to do. Lots of treasures to fine and awards to unlock. It never gets old. It is however a little irritating that your enemies have no regard for each other. They will shoot right through a buddy to kill you while you go hand to hand with someone. They also often know exactly where you are even if they have never seen you. A little more realism here would have been nice.

Story = 10
The story is compelling to say the least. It has a few twists and is as original as it can be. There is plenty to keep you guessing.

Controls = 9
The controls while easy to use and very intuitive lack accuracy and are a bit sluggish. The camera moves a lot and that sometimes can cause problems but its necessary. Sluggishness aside you may find yourself thinking that your aiming perfectly towards a ledge to grab only to find yourself jumping into oblivion.

Overall Uncharted is a fantastic work of art and a must buy in my book. As of now there is no better game. This is it. This is the one. If I could give this a 9.5 I would. But it is much better than a 9. I give it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nathan Drake is the man...

posted by jamzwayne (ATHENS, TX) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

40 out of 46 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Great job Naughty Dog.

Perfect.

The characters, setting, story, controls, game play, replay value, EVERYTHING is top notch. From the very beginning to the very surprisingly long adventure end, you have to be on your toes. It has all the ingredients to what a good adventure game needs. Think Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider + Assassins Creed + alot of guns = one hellova good time.

If you like to make head shots, hunt for treasure, and enjoy a fairly long game with plenty to do ... get it. I've played throught the game about 5 times now, and will be playing it after I write this review.

Good gaming folks,

jamz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Surging Surprises

posted by rose_blooming4c (MALVERN, PA) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Oh my freaking gosh! This game is by the far the best out there! I love puzzle-solving, hidden object games as well as games that have some thrill to it and not the thrill all the way through kind of thing. This was top notch! And I'm not a fan of first-person shooters, but this was a game that was as engaging as the hidden object games (e.g. Big Fish type) are with story plots. In the beginning it doesn't seem like there is anything that will jump out at you like Tomb Raider games, but hold onto your controller because that is just the beginning of the game and you'll see for yourself! It took me about 15 hours to complete the game. The environment is beautiful. It's almost like you are there because it's so surreal. Because of the amazing graphic features and the way you are pulled into the game I am so looking forward to the second game of this series! I don't even want to skip to the last game because I like the way this story pans out! It's also very challenging to the point that you want to give up, but if you hold on or have someone else play through the very scary difficult spots (like my husband did for me ha ha because it was a very intense part of the game) you will find yourself getting better as a player and more aware of your surroundings. That being said, I think this game has a good balance of everything that makes an awesome game! I like it better than Tomb Raider and Tomb Raider to me has always been like one of those hidden jewel finds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It is a very entertaining game!

posted by rcndiz (PASADENA, TX) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked the storyline, and you are always wanting to know what else will happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Uncharted review

posted by luckyberry (BARBOURSVILLE, WV) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Uncharted is an ode to films such as the Indiana Jones series, and even Romancing the stone. The story in the game is pretty interesting even after an unexpected, and somewhat silly twist in the final act of the game. The sound is great with a superb voice cast. The real star of this game is Nathan Drake. Nathan is a great lead character who will be remembered as one of the greatest heroes of this generation. Credit needs to be given to Nolan North who voiced Nathan. He has appeared in many games before this, but I'm sure this will be what he's remembered for. A great story, and voice acting is nothing if the gameplay isn't good. Uncharteds gameplay is just that good. The gunplay is good, but a lack of diversity except for one thrilling car chase kind of hammpers the journey. The climbing mechanic in the game is fun, and sometimes nerve wrecking, but it sometimes feels as if it was included as filler for the games lack of variety in the shooter department. You will probably not replay the game unless your a diehard fan, besides some collectibles there is nothing that will bring you back for more. The graphics are pretty great, Character models look good. This is a beutiful game.
Story-9
Sound-10
Graphics-9
Gameplay-8.5
Replability- 7
Overall-9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not Bad

posted by Angeeh09 (DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pretty interesting lol. You get really into the game lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Dec 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a very good game i like the hole serise of uncharted

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

9.5 Best Movie I ever played

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

52 out of 62 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I give this one a 9.5 for shear kickass story telling, My two biggest requirements for a great game are excellent storytelling and realist graphics, This game delivers on both elements the movie animated cut scenes are performed on a real stage with real actors and tells this story in a completely new style that leaves you so caught up in the game you forget what month it is.
The graphics were intentionally designed to leave
you feeling as if your playing a game, but the
facial expressions and total camera control makes this one of the most beautiful games for the 3 to date. The platforming and level design are excellent. No detail was left unfinished. The gameplay is very smooth and clean, the aiming system is definately top notch, most FPS could not dream of having control like this. Lora Croft would be proud and jealous of at the same time.
this game is without a doubt worth at least 3hours playtime on every ps3 owners console, cause after 3 hours of play there's no stopping till you finish,

Total game time 10+ hours first time through
total score 9.5
Graphics 9.5
story 10
gameplay 9.5
sound 10
control 10
fun factor 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

loved it

posted by lezBreal (FREMONT, CA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

worth it if ur into puzzes. i love all of these games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

uncharted one

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

one of the best series ever in video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Uncharted should be game of the year!

posted by OneEyeRed (PALISADES PARK, NJ) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

29 out of 36 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I am an older gent and have been an avid gamer for 30 plus years. I have mainly been a high end PC build enthusiast but finally went back to a console recently and chose the PS3 and I could not be happier.
Drake's Fortune has been one of the best playing games in years. Not only is the game visually stunning, the game play is exceptional and the storyline is one of the best. I am not a big fan of running games over and over but I could see myself doing that with this particular game. Naught Dog has by far out developed most developers and has won my loyalty.

In my opinion this game should not just take PS3 game of the year, but industry game of the year. I never thought I would ever say this about another game in the last 5-6 years. As they say, "the proof is in the pudding". Rent this game and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Uncharted: Drake's Fortune

posted by mysticxradiance (LAKE FOREST, CA) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you haven’t played Uncharted 2, I’d recommend you play that first. If you love that game, then go back to play this game. This game is fun, but the gameplay needs improvement.

I played the sequel before this game. But I tried to grade this game fairly because I don’t think it’s fair to judge this game through the prism of its sequel.

Pros:
-Compelling storyline full of action, romance, puzzles, and many surprises! 
-Very well developed character cast. I felt connected to them all. They were also well voiced.
-Visually stunning. Gorgeous. Each scene felt realistic.
-Thrilling music. 
-The ability to unlock bonuses and find hidden treasures adds replay value. 

Cons:  
-To sum it up: Gameplay. The gameplay was way more difficult than it needed to be.
-Checkpoint saving was random and inconvenient.
-Jumping was inaccurate. I also occurred a few glitches.
-Guns and weapons lacked accuracy. Grenades were extremely pointless because it required time and patience to use the Playstation’s motion censored controller to aim the grenades. Seriously, I’m not gonna mess around with my motion censored controller in attempts to have a grenade tossed and meanwhile a room of people are shooting directly at me. Also, guns could only hold little amounts of ammo. It seemed like nearly every time I died it was because I had run out of ammo due to the game’s flood of enemies.
-Difficulty level felt inaccurate due to the difficulty of the controls. 
-Stealth was impossible to achieve due to the superior computer characters with sonic hearing, I suppose. You don’t even approach a door and everyone’s shooting. (frustrating, since it’s possible in the sequel to use stealth). 
-“Hints” was a great concept that was not executed. Very seldom did hint tips arrive, and they were never actually helpful. 

Verdict: 8.2
I am just truly happy that every single complaint I have about Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune was fixed for Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is PERFECT!

posted by UFCfan (FOREST HILLS, NY) Dec 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

23 out of 32 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Had to give this one a 10/10. I didn't expect to love this game since I was never a fan of Tomb Raider due to excessive running around, looking for clues, figuring out lame puzzles, etc. However, this game's pacing is perfect. Action is just high-paced and exhilirating, short puzzles that don't frustrate, graphics and scenery are vivid and absolutely breathtaking, no load times, cutscenes blend seamlessly, great story. It's like they went through every second of the game with a fine-tooth comb to come up with a perfect end product, unlike the glitchy mess that is Assassin's Creed.

Best action-adventure game I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game, but a renter...

posted by infinitigy (WALTHAM, MA) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

So, I just finished Drake's fortune on Normal and I have to say it was an excellent game. The story was one of the best stories in a game I've seen in a really long time. I was captivated by it and forced to play. I couldn't put it down, and if I didn't have to work I would've finished the game the first day I had it. With that said... I finished it in probably 6-8 hours(maybe 10), and I don't feel like it has that much re-playability. Sure, there are 4 difficulty levels, but I'm not really one for playing the same game over and over on harder levels. The story is still the same, there are less surprises. The whole finding "Treasures" thing, while it's cool... there are too many and I only found 30 of them out of the 60(1). The graphics were pretty cool, and while not as good as COD4, they were still stunning.

Rent the game, and keep it if you really like it. I'll be sending mine back but I have no regrets at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Uncharted: Drake's Fortune

posted by ALeGlue1993 (PRAIRIEVILLE, LA) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Overall, the games is great. The graphics are very good for one of the first PS3 games. The plot is excellent. The problem with this game was the controls. On to select a gun it was hard to aim your weapons. Also, was there was so many enemies, it's unbelievable there's so many. It's all about trial and error with the enemies. And one more thing, on how you cover it's bad. When you cover behind an object, it will sometimes brings you to the front and you're dead. But you just need to get used to the controls. When you do, you'll play just fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Way TOO Charted

posted by BotanicalPoison (CENTENNIAL, CO) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I don't personally get why this game was so highly rated and raved about. I rented it, got almost all the trophies, played all the way through, and I still just don't understand.

If you want a true assessment and you're like me (tired of the slew of shooters that hit the shelves on an almost daily basis), hear me out. This is a shooter cleverly disguised as a platformer. The platforming sequences are not difficult or puzzleworthy or even difficult, it's most climbing from one surface to the next on a set, easily recognizable path.

The game is so rife with shooting sequences that you have to wonder if a small mercenary army even HAS that many people working for them. And calling this UNcharted is a far cry from the truth. There are so many mercenaries littered across the islands and ruins that they could form twenty or more ten man geographical surveying teams to MAP the bloody place.

The sequences at times don't even make sense. At one point in the game, you go behind a wall into a tomb-like area where Drake himself says "They don't even know about this place." Shortly after, you find hordes of the mercenaries waiting to shoot at you. Okay, I thought ... they didn't know about this place?

Not only that, but they somehow managed to turn a mythological staple (El Dorado) into the curse of the Mummy Zombie. So no longer is El Dorado a city of gold, but rather a city of zombies.

There is not enough room to fully write out every question I have about the logical pitfalls in this game, but every one of them that I have are things I noticed in passing while playing, not something I thought deeply on.

Hate my reviews or love them, there you have it. In the end, the games graphics were top notch and the movement fluidity were great, but what do you expect of a PS3 game? This ain't no Xbox. But overall ... not ANYTHING NEAR deserving of the reputation it got.

Still good, but not ... ZOMG. Average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Move over Lara Croft

posted by Omen159 (SMITH RIVER, CA) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

OH YEA, now this was worth waiting for. Excellent fighting style, most realistic movement I have seen yet, he stumbles, trips and moves life like. True to life gun fights, as most games go you can aim around the corner at your target without your body exposed to your enemy, not this game, If you want to take aim at someone you have to stick your body out and around the object you are hiding behind, aim, and fire, be quick they know where you are.The sounds are brilliant with surround sound, this is a must have for action gamers everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BadAss!

posted by Jadeim (SAN ANGELO, TX) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game is the best single player game I've played yet on the PS3. The Graphics are amazing, the storyline is awesome, and the gameplay is great as well. If you havent played this game yet, its a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would have been unimpressive 10 years ago...

posted by chiachuck (SUNBURY, PA) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

In the 8 hours or so it took to make my way through Uncharted, I couldn't shake two nagging thoughts: 1- Am I still playing the tutorial?, and 2- Didn't any of these people play games like Tomb Raider, or Thief, released 10 years previous to this?

When the credits rolled, I was utterly speechless that someone could release a game THIS shallow. Uncharted consists of simply moving from point A to point B, with some shooting in between. Nothing more. No REAL platforming, no REAL puzzle solving, no REAL treasure hunting. Nothing.

Now, lest you think of me as someone simply trying to be the one "cool" guy who didn't like the game, allow me to give some examples.

As far as puzzle solving, I can think of about 5 or 6 puzzles in the entire game. Each one of these consisted of Drake pulling out his notebook, opening to the page for you, and showing you a "clue" that left virtually NOTHING to figure out. Seriously, I'm not expecting a "Myst" level of puzzle-solving, but if you had problems with the puzzles in Uncharted, you are either too young to be playing a game rated "T" or your biggest concern in a day's time is getting pudding stains on your straight-jacket.

What about treasure hunting, you ask? By "treasure hunting", of course, I mean in the process of walking a near straight line from point A to point B, if you happen to see a 5 yard section off to the side, there's probably a piece of inconsequential treasure laying on the ground there. I hardly looked for the stuff, and finished the game having found 54 of 60 pieces. And what do you do with this treasure? Nothing at all.
Look too long for treasure, and the game will pop up a "hint" which will point you directly where you need to go, you know.. if that 30 yard stretch was too confusing for you, adventure-boy.

You CAN, however, unlock pics/movies of the programmers. My favorite was them practicing yoga, presumably to limber up for long sessions of patting themselves on the back...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Now THIS is NEXT GEN graphics!

posted by hart316 (SAINT JOHN, IN) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

20 out of 31 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

BEST next gen gfx I have seen yet! Makes gears of war for the box look like a ps1 game compared to this. The gameplay and story is AWESOME! I like the challenge, otherwise I usually beat games in a few days! I suggest setting the difficulty on Hard for the first time you play it... otherwise it may seem too easy, OH... and I turned off the hint (under the display options) otherwise it takes the fun out of trying to figure things out yourself. BEST PS3 game to date...best next gen gfx to date too. A MUST RENT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WOW. Simply amazing....

posted by Carrots (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

.... at how over rated this game is.
Alow me to describe it;
Decent 'story', Terrible controls, Swarms of the same enemy over and over again, Head shots hardly ever count, laying into a guy with an Ak47 has hardly any effect, repetitive scenery, bad aiming system, and horrible jumps, stuck in a maze, no option but to follow the EXTREMELY linear progression and map (meaning, you cant just climb on anything.)
The guy can only jump about 2 inches high, unless he is 'suppose' to attatch to it. Then his 2 inch jump turns into 2 feet. Grrr. Its very easy just to walk right off of the edge of a ledge, meaning, Time to start all over.
Sorry, but I didnt like this one. I didnt even think there was much eye candy.
-Carrots :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome storyline ...not so awesome ending!

posted by porters821 (FARMINGTON, MI) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune is one of the most beautiful games I have ever seen. The graphics were great and the scenery was amazing. I’m not sure if this game won any awards for its graphics, but it definitely scored a few style points with me.

Now on to the storyline….

The story follows Nate Drake (a witty descendant of Sir Francis Drake), Sully (Nate’s friend), and Elena (a TV reporter) on their journey to find El Dorado (believed to be a city of gold). These get rocky right at the beginning of their adventure together when they are attacked by pirates in the game’s opening chapter …and things don’t get any easier for the team from there. As the game goes on, they are shot at, potentially double-crossed, and captured by treasure hunters seeking out the same fortune as Nate’s team. The story is very interesting and it is easy to get caught up in.

As for gameplay….

Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune is pretty much ducking behind cover and shooting your enemies before they shoot you. There are hidden treasures along your journey; and if you plan on playing this game multiple times, it is in your best interest to find those treasures so that you can unlock some pretty nice perks (i.e. unlimited ammo, one shot one kill, etc.). Gameplay is simple, but fun.
The one thing that really ticked me off about this game is the finale. After all of my running & jumping, ducking & shooting, the game ended with a Quick Time Event??? I wasn’t expecting an epic ending, but at least give me the opportunity to actually fight my final enemy!

All in all….

It’s a good game. Just based on my value of this game’s beautiful scenery and its movie-like storyline, I will definitely be playing Uncharted 2: Among Thieves!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game that Takes a Plunge

posted by Sebastian (SEBASTOPOL, CA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Uncharted is a great game with great graphics. The controls are smooth and you can get lost in the game very easily. I highly enjoyed the game and would have given it a ten until a few chapters before the end. All of the sudden, the game takes a slight Resident Evil turn, and not saying that's a bad thing, I found it didn't fit with the rest of this game. I waited a few days, went back and beat it but it had lost its spark.

I highly recommend you rent it though, even if it is just for the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Storyline and action but missing something..

posted by steals99 (GILLETTE, NJ) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Pros: Great Gameplay, Good Controls, Amazing Graphics, Great Soundtrack, Interesting Storyline, Good Combination of Puzzles and Action.

Cons: No multiplayer function, or online functionality.

Conclusion: Overall this is an excellent game to play, it draws you in like a really good movie and displays the PS3's ability to handle a variety of graphics and enemies. However, once you finish the game their is no real reason to replay it. If this game had a multiplayer function, I would give it a 10. Any player will enjoy the overall game, the only weaknesses to the game is the replay value. I wish I would have rented it instead of purchasing it. I would highly recommend this game. If this game was created prior to the online and multiplayer functions of today I would have given it a ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse