Buy Tomb Raider for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tomb Raider

Buy

Used: $9.99

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
9.0

6654 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Now This is Tomb Raider!!!

posted by iMattheW (STOCKTON, CA) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

50 out of 52 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I'm going to be very short on this review, I want you guys to find out how amazing this game is on your own. Oh, and before I start if you love the Uncharted series, and some Gears of War gore, you're going to enjoy this!!!!

Pros+ A beautiful and exotic open-world location.
The pace of the game, will have you glued to the T.V.
Lara Croft Is LARA CROFT!!! Believable in every way.
The games storyline is rich and deep. Heart-Racing.

Cons- As I was playing I didn't find that many bugs just a few.
It takes a while till the game actually starts.
Lastly, just the multiplayer was a bore. Not Interesting.

This was an amazing experience, and I am definitely itching that they keep this series going. It was dark, bloody, and heroic everything I wanted in a Tomb Raider. If you were ever a fan of the classics' prepared to be in aww..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb Raider is officially back

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 21, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You have to tip your caps to Crystal Dynamics on this one, for giving Tomb Raider its much needed resurrection. They dug this game from its own tomb and revitalized it with an amazingly fresh new take that was almost perfect.

The new Lara Croft is modern and realistic. She is Indiana Jones stuck in a supermodel's body, and her passion for archeology and exploration could be described as insatiable. It's modern day and Lara and her ship's crew come to a halt, not knowing where to go next on their treasure hunt. They want to head to Japan but Lara (and maybe other supernatural forces at bay) has a feeling to explore the Dragon's Triangle. This is a rip off of the mysterious Bermuda Triangle.

Their ship of course crashes on the string of islands, and your adventure begins. You quickly realize that strange powers roam at will here. Mysterious things happen and the island is inhabited by a crazy cult. It plays out very much like a mix of Far Cry 3 and Skyrim, with a splash of Assassin's Creed.

The first thing I noticed is that Lara's movement is unlike any other character I've controlled. Her actions are amazingly lifelike, and she maneuvers like a true human, showing emotion and pain often too. The look is very polished, and the graphics and sound are also terrific. Combine that with a hugely lengthy campaign, and you have one of the best games of the year hands down.

The islands are busting with life, allowing you to hunt and skin animals, upgrade a ton of things like your weapons, bows, arrows, knives, backpack, climbing skills, crafting, etc. The skill trees are deep and fun to upgrade to your liking. There are hundreds of hidden collectibles, cave to explore, side quests, main quests, loot, salvage, and XP to collect. Puzzles also play a major role in gameplay as expected.

I don't have enough room to praise this game, but it's one of the best campaigns I've ever played. Online MP is also pretty fun. A MUST PLAY!

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Reboot Worth Raiding.

posted by Nexvix (JASPER, GA) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Back in 1996 the original Tomb Raider was released on the first Playstation with wild success. Now, 17 years later we are treated to the reboot of the franchise that goes by the same name. Developed by Crystal Dynamics and published by Square Enix, Tomb Raider puts you in the boots of a young, inexperienced Lara Croft as she searches for a lost empire within the Dragon's Triangle just south of Japan. Things quickly go awry as a storm hits the ship, beaching Lara and other crew members on a a nearby island that is as diverse as the characters. With dense jungles, snowy mountain peaks, and cities from a forgotten time, the island lends itself to Laura's arsenal of abilities, some of which she learns through a level-up system that doesn't take away from the game. Along with her new abilities comes new weaponry which are also upgradeable with the game's currency, scrap which you obtain in small boxes, off of bodies, and through gathering the plenty of well placed collectables. Tight controls make for some fun and exhilarating action sequences along with enjoyable platforming that feels as if it is your fault if you didn't make the jump. The game also features a multiplayer that uses the exact same mechanics from the singleplayer, but feels a bit tacked on for the sake of having it. The modes are the usual team deathmatch, and free for all;Though it also includes "Rescue" in which one team tries to capture medical supplies while the other tries to stop them, and "Cry For Help" which is basically territories. This game isn't perfect, however, with quick time events and multiplayer that seem unnecessary, characters that end up being very predictable, and the beyond ridiculous things that happens to Lara make this game miss just shy of the perfect mark for me.In conclusion Tomb Raider is a fun ride with amazing visuals, controls, and a story that kept me enthralled for hours on end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!

posted by Brittmint (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a beautiful game....amazing graphics! You get really immersed in the game. I found myself holding my breath when running, dodging bullets, and jumping. It gets almost stressful. It has a good story line however, I did see a couple glitches. (flashlights and guns hovering in mid-air, and several times I know I should have made a jump or grabbed something and I didn't.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

xbox 360's best

posted by silverpanda (MANTECA, CA) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was literally the best game i have ever played for xbox 360. I recommend this game to everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tomb Raider Replay Value.

posted by Fisheyman42 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tomb Raider is a very exciting game to play...but only for the first time.

Great gameplay, exciting plot, and great acting. Tomb Raider feels more like a movie than a game.

The graphics are decent and the multiplayer is atrocious. But I imagine most people play Tomb Raider for the single player mode.

Single Player is a lot of fun and once you beat the main story line, players are given the option to return to the island and complete any unfinished challenges and collect any remaining relics and documents.

But once all of this is completed there is nothing else left to do.

Occasionally, some enemies will return through various parts of the Island but only a few at a time.

You can start a new game but you'll have to start from scratch as you won't be able to carry your weapon upgrades and skills over.

So there you have it. The Replay value of this game isn't all that great.

I highly recommend renting this game but not purchasing it.

If one insists on buying it, I would wait a few months after release date for the price to drop a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Never have a cared so much for the protagonist.

posted by f1r3br34th3r (LAKEWOOD, NJ) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like a great book was nearly impossible to put down. However just like a book you don't really wanna keep it after you finish. If your a completionist this is a game for you to buy. If your looking to avoid the sunlight for a whole weekend i totally recommend renting this game from gamefly, beating it and sending it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I've ever played!!!

posted by xxstract (BEAUMONT, CA) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's basically an interactive movie. You def feel everything she's going thru. A+ game man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I've played in awhile!

posted by Anubismedia (LANETT, AL) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an awesome game! Its the best one I've played since the original Resident Evil. This is the first time in a long long while that I've actually been on the edge of my seat in fear of what might happen to the main character. A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great but lacks replay value

posted by Stea1thKoala (BRONX, NY) Mar 9, 2013

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is like a micheal bay film lots of explosions but it also keeps the tone of all lara croft games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

solid game

posted by schwaggnificent (SANTA FE, NM) Nov 3, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is what I have co me to expect from the tomb raider franchise.. I purchased the game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game....

posted by pete311 (MANCHESTER, CT) Aug 28, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had me glued to the TV until I finished it. After I finished it, I played through it again to find every hidden item and visit every nook and cranny in the game. It kept me coming back for more. The only downside is that the multi-player stinks. This one is worth renting for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Adventure you want? You'll find it Here!

posted by tmccoon (PORTLAND , OR) Jul 12, 2014

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ever since beating Indiana Jones and the Emperors Tomb 4 times last console generation on PC I was never able to find another game that had the archeology and action/adventure that worked for me. This game meets that requirement and goes beyond what I have seen a Single player experience do. The game is so well done in every aspect making it a truly immersive experience. Give it a Play, Crystal Dynamics has a gem of a reboot on their hands.

Gripes- Gears of War 3 level blood
Cursing.
No filter so don't play around the kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shockingly excellent

posted by HUGETRFAN (OAKLAND, NJ) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a HUGE fan of the franchise. I have actual leather custom-made holsters and airsoft pistols. When I saw this presented at E3 I SERIOUSLY had doubts. It wasn't "Tomb Raider-ish". The demo they presented didn't look nor have the feel. I wanted the franchise to stay true to the previous games with the exception of Angel of Darkness. Yuck! But wow...I was so wrong. The 1st few minutes of gameplay has me hooked. My sincere apologies Crystal Dynamics. And yes. It took me all this time to try it out. I don't have complaints but perhaps they could've or should've done what they did with Underworld. Enabling Lara to shoot while balancing or climbing. Perhaps they have that function in the upcoming. And hopefully she explores tomb(s) in the next to stay true to the franchise. Hense "Tomb Raider".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb Raider

posted by Jamesboi3 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very good game. Deserves 9 out of 10 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicting!

posted by killakam (ROCKLIN, CA) May 10, 2013

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This game is impressive in many ways..
The loading times are FAST and the graphics look beautiful!
The fast looting makes gameplay quick and it TRULY feels dark and creepy and multiple places in the game... it does a great job in being dirty and crude with the gore and language..

The multiplayer was a lag-fest so i couldnt play much online, although the concept seemed cool. The real treat in TR is the amazing story of the campaign and how things started for Laura Croft... some parts of the game feel like assasins creed but much smoother controls!

I didnt give it a perfect 10 because of lack of replayability....once you beat the game there really isnt much to go back and do and they dont fill the maps back up with enemies so it gets boring wandering around collecting the last few caches.

The achievments are cool, all mostly generic and similar to what you find in a game like this.. I am sure we will be seeing either expansions or another full TR game soon.
This is THE game of the year so far....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lara Crofts Epic Evolution Story

posted by Nykon0 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, DO NOT be turned away by other reviewers that rated the game LOWER for minimal reasons. This is a story, the beginning of Lara Crofts famous nature as a Tomb Raider. With That being said, i'll keep the small insight short and interesting

Square Enix brought Lara Croft into a much needed light of her early raider days. Before the Icon status , Lara was an explorer and didn't have all the skill we know her for at some point. This game IS that point. Often times you feel for her as a character: From her gasps of shock, to her crying and sobbing from pain or just sheer trama off the situation(s) she goes through. This is classic tomb Raider at the core, but with amplified visuals, awesome voice acting, and a stunning score all wrapped up in a cinematic roll of goodness. You'll go on the trails of how Lara became the tomb raider we all know so well, from the beginning when she was but a curious young woman that wanted to explore ancient places. I'm along the lines of some of othe reviwers on here that say you NEED to try it for yourself to get the whole experiance and why now? if you Know the TR games, why not see where the stomping ground got grounded for the iconic Tomb Raider?

Sure many games have been made, and more will be made, but there are games like this that surface that tell a good story. Weather it of characters we are new to, or characters we are familiar with already(such as Lara), only a few of them will REALLY be worth your attention(and money). This, fellow gamers, is one of those games that is(i believe anyway) worth the time if your a TR fan or just like a good story in general for video games. Definately a rent game. Turned into a Buy for me =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb Raider Prequel

posted by crutchmann445 (CENTENNIAL, CO) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just finished this game on Easter Sunday and I could not put it down. I have played many tomb raider games before but nothing like this. The developers of this game took their time into making this into a great game. This game sucks you in and makes you want to finish it.

You really DO care about Lara Croft and the other characters she's protecting in this one; more so than the other games you've ever played before. You feel like you share her ultimate goal in survival and getting home. There are brief glimmers of hope and than it all crashes down. There were many moments I started to cry because I wanted her make it and I was dying to make it to the end to see how it unfolds. This feels like a movie you're playing by the way this game is designed.

This game is a wild ride that never stops. It'll make you cry and make work hard just to get to end. It is a beautifully game visually. This game worth the rent and so worth the playing time. If you read this review I hope my advice is taken and you play this game. I promise you won't go wrong. I really enjoyed this game and if you're a tomb raider fan I know you will enjoy this game too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yes!

posted by DoubleStops (KENNEWICK, WA) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I must say the single player aspect of it blew me out of the water. The puzzles weren't too complicated but complex enough for you to use your brain. The combat system can use a little more work even though I do enjoy the features that it already has. The voice acting was superb they definitely choosed the right casts. My only complaint is the multiplayer. I don't like it. Some other people may find the joy in it but I can't. None the less that still doesn't steal the thunder away from this game. I love the story so far and can't wait for the next game. Crystal Dynamics has establish a great relaunch to this beloved series but they have much work to do for the next Tomb Raider and I can't wait!
Also, I have to give them props on the new look for Lara. I'm glad that she doesn't have a skimpy outfit with sized Z breasts. It was a turnoff in the previous games but now she looks more desireable, more powerful and badarse. She's now an actual character with a story, a heroine, rather than just a $3x symbol in the previous game. And that is more of a turn on than her butt taking up more than half of the screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you don't like this game U WON'T LIKE A

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Mar 8, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games to come out. Graphics are great, story is great, pacing is awesome, controls are smooth, GORE GORE AND MORE GORE. i have never had so much fun with a bow and arrow as i have in this game. If you played the old Tomb Raider games, forget them. This one makes them feel like a joke. This game is so so so great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unbelievable!!

posted by proloz (WESTERNPORT, MD) Mar 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I played the original Tombraider on a Sega Saturn back in the day and was blown away by it. It left a lasting impression and is still my favorite out of the series. With that said, this TR is a whole new beast. Square Enix did a fabulous job with it, but it's not really like your old TR. If you hated the puzzles from the earlier ones then you will like this.....tombs are optional and hidden, not a required part. There are no medipacks and that makes me a little sad in a way. There actually isn't much in common with the old TR's really...sure you slide down inclines, jump, shimmy, but it's not really like TR at all. In a way that's great for the rebooting of the game---a fresh go at things. I liked the puzzles and block pulling from the older games, but this game has a good flow about it and sucks you in before you know what's happening. We have two xbox's...mine and my husbands, and he stole the game out of mine last night and has literally played it all day today, and he plays nothing but racing games and COD. Honestly, try it...even if you are unsure about it. I promise you'll love it. It's amazing! The only real disappointment to me was that Lara Croft looks like a totally different character...she looks like she belongs in a Final Fantasy game, which makes sense since Square Enix is in control---I just think they could've made her a little more like the Lara we all know. I think the voice actor did a great job, but her accent was just not the same as past games even though she's British. The multiplayer maps are FUN...fun, but the guns are frustrating. Pretty bad actually, and if they aren't upgraded then forget it....the people with the upgraded weapons kill you FAST! I never got so stuck that I had to get help like I did with the very first TR...and back then it was from a guide book because not everyone had internet back then. While the game is a def 9/10 I kept one point off for LC not really feeling like LC. Gameplay rocks though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by nighthawke (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

SFX are too loud and can't adjust volume of sfx and Voice separately. :/

Very similar to Uncharted and Assassins Creed in terms of game play. Not a very long game, but probably the same length as Uncharted. Lots of little things to collect to get 100%, so that adds to the length a bit. There aren't really any puzzles like in the original tomb raider series. Not that i was a big fan of those anyway. I really like that they made Lara a little more believable in body proportions, the other games were just absurd.

Over all really fun action/adventure game definitely worth playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow i am speechless....

posted by Zdrunkguy (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The delivery of gameplay, excitement, storytelling and acting..... two thumbs way way up!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb Raider

posted by Sassy1 (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

One word - AMAZING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PLAY THIS!!!!

posted by HOODEDHOODLUM (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

THE BEST TOMB RAIDER EVER.THIS IS A MUST PLAY.STORY IS A LITTLE CORNY BUT THE ACTION IS AWESOME!!!! MULTIPLAYER IS PRETTY FUN TOO I MUST SAY. ALL I CAN SAY IS YOU WONT BE LET DOWN BY THIS GAME IN ANYWAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse