Buy Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier for PS3
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

3190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game....but some bugs

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
This is a great blend of shooting, stealth, and tactical gaming. I enjoyed this game as much as any in recent memory. Since it is designed for tactical gameplay you will die if you don't stay in cover and use the high tech gear. The game is definitely not easy and the 12 campaign missions took me about 10 or so hours to complete on veteran (middle difficulty).

I played guerrila mode and it is definitely challenging and much better with friends than going alone. You will die....

The problem right now is the multiplayer. I bought the game so I've got the online pass. Unfortunately the community of gamers is already small and there are plenty of bugs. Things like taking for ever to deploy, shooting people who don't die, and even my PS3 hard freezing.

So I'd say rent for now and maybe purchase once they clear out the bugs. I think the game will have a dedicated, but relatively small community. Which is a shame because this game is every bit as good as COD (and I'm a fan, not hater of that series).

Pros
===============
1) nice graphics (few texture & framerate issues)
2) good controls/camera as far as 3rd person goes
3) exhilarating gameplay (always on edge)
4) the gunsmith system is kind of neat (lot of custom)

Cons
===============
1) really my only complaint is that the game has some bugs in the campaign (NPG getting stuck where you have to regroup) & multiplayer seems very buggy at the moment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Long Awaited Refreshment

posted by OscarQ (CUTLER BAY, FL) May 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I have not played the full game yet, but I have done my research and have played the beta and I have plenty to say about this game just from that knowledge.

Ghost Recon Future Soldier, first off has an AMAZING weapon customization system. With no doubt, the best yet. You can alter grips, stocks, magazines, barrles, underbarells, sights, and more. No game has ever given that much accessibility to a weapon. And there must be nearly a hundred different things to put on your weapon across those parts. And the graphic detail of the weapon is outstanding. Not to mention, there is a character appearance customization system along with that, and probably very good in itself.

The graphics overall, like most games these days, are fantastic and up to par with any other shooter out there. Sound effects are also excellent.

The game, as you probably know, features a campaign, coop, and multiplayer. I believe the coop is playing the campaign with others. From what I've seen, the campaign is awesome. With all those fancy gadgets that emphasize "Ghost" and "Recon", theres a ton of neat moments to be had. The multiplayer from what I've seen and played is fantastic. Very fluid play, good maps, interesting game modes, and it takes about 2 to 4 shots usually to kill someone. And 1 or 2 with a sniper.

In game, you can switch your shoulder view left and right so you can tactfully come around corners and be able to see. You can crouch, prone, and stand. Online, if you stay still with any class, your cloak will activate and you'll become mostly invisible, however if you move or shoot, the cloak will be disabled. I believe you can upgrade the ability for the Recon/Sniper class. So thanks to that, and the contents of the maps, stealth can play a major role in the game, as well as caution.

Ghost Recon is extremely refreshing and makes a great, long awaited alternative to COD. I personally can't wait to get my hands on the full game. See ya Future Soldiers out there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as good as I thought, but solid

posted by jsmooth2010 (TYLER, TX) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Seeing this at E3 last year, it looked amazing and like it could be one of the best games this year...but no. It's ghost recon though, and like the last 2 games, it's really cool. There is a lot of sneaking around in the game, but action sequences as well. I also used the 3d which adds a nice element, nothing crazy though. I really enjoyed this game. It's also like a split 3rd person/1st person when you shoot. The online was ok, renting it, you max out at level 5, which took about 20 minutes haha but still cool to try it out, anyway I recommend this game to anyone who wants a good shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ghost Recon: Future Soldier - A Gamers Review

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) May 24, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is 3rd person shooter that lays down groundwork for future games set in the future. It's based on Russian Military rumors centered around one group of GHOSTS bringing the whole plan down.

Gameplay - Future Soldier, at times, tends to feel like 2010's yearly hit, Splinter Cell Conviction. It is superbly paced with a solid story and an interesting control system.

Presentation - GHOSTS fill the Ubisoft world with camouflaged invisible gear and stealthy weapons. Your team's objective is to go in, extract every person of interest, interrogate, and finally abolish the big Russian plan.

The Verdict - With good stealthy gameplay and original graphics Ghost Recon: Future Soldier just barely saves itself from the terrible frame rate. I give Ghost Recon: Future Soldier 8.5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Expectations but fell short!!

posted by gait79 (VALLEY VILLAGE, CA) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will make this plain and easy to understand as possible!

Pros: 1. Gun customization. No doubt the weapon customization is the best part of this game. Being able to switch loadouts for every situation is definitely a plus and something other gaming franchises need to serious consider in future shooters.
2. Character tech. The tech being used by the soldiers showing off the advances military grade suits and other stealth tech was amazing.
3. Coordinated assaults. Being able to coordinate take downs from various angles and locations was really nice in the campaign mode and for the gamer with patience that enjoy stealth it gives everything you might want.

And that is where the pros end!

Con:1. Incredibly repetitive. Every level of the campaign ends the same way, with a big battle between 4 U.S spec ops soldiers against 50 and a big boss to take down! After the first couple of times it begins to feel a little silly and like I was playing an arcade game!
2. With a few glitches added in like not being able to even see the guy shooting a rpg at you from atop a building, I must say I cut the campaign short and switched to multiplayer.
3. Multiplayer. Huge disappointment! the maps were so small and the weapon aiming was difficult to say the least. I am more of a Battlefield kind of guy over COD. This game was very much like COD in the map size and feel of the mutiplayer minus the dropping of care packages. It was very much run and gun without any real strategy to even be attempted. Since the respawn points are pretty much set, it is very easy to just sit on the other teams respawn point and light'em up!

Final thoughts:
I really pushed to give this game a 5! with a couple tweaks I could have maybe given a 6 but nothing beyond that!
It had very high hopes and set lofty goals but didn't even come close to living up! It at best is a rental, but even then I didn't finish the game or even care about my rank on multiplayer and returned it after a day and a

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hmmm...

posted by whatup5656 (DOVER, DE) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Got the game in the mail. Super stoked to play it. Got through the first few missions, feeling pretty good at this point. After the first few missions, I found myself saying REALLY. Why is this mission the same as the last one and the one before it? What happened to current games? Back in the day we had games like Conflict: Global Terror. Very basic game with awesome gameplay. Now we have games that try way to hard to be the best and come up way short. Ghost Recon has come a long way since the first two but at what cost? Gameplay has been reformed to be scripted but we now have weapons customization. Why? I like random crazy stuff to happen when I'm playing. Isn't that the whole point? To make me feel like I'm in another world? The game made me feel like I was watching a movie. If I took a left turn...there was an invisible wall keeping me from going any father away. Put something there. Make it feel like a game that I can brag about. Give me something memorable. Not this $60 worth of stuff. Being a gamer for nearly 15 years, one can see the change in gameplay style and what the great games are. Starcraft series, Battlezone series, Baldur's Gate series, Champions Return to Arms, Command and Conquer series, Roller coaster Tycoon series. All the games before 2003 where games we are still playing TODAY but why is it that developers keep making games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

COD Fanboys, Keep Hating....

posted by Socom_Vet (CLOVER, SC) May 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off this is a good game dispite the fact that some COD fanboys are giving it a bad rep. For those few that are complaining about the graphics, I suggest that you consider upgrading to a high quality HDTV, because this game looks great on my 50 inch plasma. This game takes players around the globe, from stealthfully infiltrating deep behind enemy lines in various 3rd world countries to rescue VIPs to an all out assault in Moscow, Russia. All in an attempt to avenge the deaths of another ghost team. The multiplayer aspect is also great, only a run & gun COD player would dislike the online, but if using tactical teamwork to take down the enemy and complete objectives is your thing, this game is definitly for you. The thing I like most about this game is the gunsmith, which no other shooter has come close to matching the amount of attachments or the different combinations that can be assembled. Weapons can be modified to match any and every combat situation from CQB, to medium and long range engagments. A_P owns.... Get sum!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Out of the shadows? You are a shadow

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) May 25, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ghost Recon is one of my favorite gaming experiences since the first on the original xbox. I loved the stealth, the ability too coordinate and destroy the enemy. I also loved the freedom of movement the first games allowed, something GRFS is severely lacking.

The campaign was enjoyable but linear in most parts with waypoints guiding you by the hands. I hate that IMO. Developers as of late are either getting lazy, or are afraid they will not sell for bug bucks if they make things too difficult. As a first generation gamer, this is no good for me. I played my first playthrough by myself on the hardest difficulty and found out how cheap the game could get from enemies glued right on you even though all three of your squad mates are in front you shooting at the bad guys to getting shot behind solid cover. A cheap way too make a game "difficult" which on hardest difficulty, was not that hard at all. Not having matchmaking for coop campaign either is a real bummer. Not all of my friends bought this game and that is all you have a choice for too invite. Unacceptable.

What makes GRFS a real gem is the MP and Weapon Customization. Online PvP play is a lot of fun and a great challenge when pitted against clans who PTFO. The modes stand out against anything that has been released in the last couple of years and will keep GRFS going strong for a long time.

The voice acting was superb, the graphics are good, and gameplay is smooth. I personally play GR for the campaign, and not being too play with randoms on it is no good. The MP however will keep me happy for a while. I have mixed feelings about the bugs, they really don't hinder your experience at all, but are very noticeable.

All in all, GRFS is a solid game. The future tech and gadgets are a blast too experiment with and having the ability too customize weapons and load outs changes your game experience multiple ways and gives you variety. The ending confused me, so we will see about any "future" installments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

broken annoying. Enjoy long cut scenes! Cant SKIP!

posted by konotori (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am going to make this short and sweet. This review goes for both Ghost Recon and Max Payne 3. Unlike all the paid reviews on here that cloud judgement of the everyday player. There is no way this game should have got a rating of 7 or higher.

The game is broken in several ways. Games these days need to flow like Gears, Mass Effect, COD even. The patience of todays gamers have very little attention spans. The game may have been descent but you lost me on the long scenes. THE CHOICE TO SKIP SCENES BY THE PLAYER SHOULD NEVER BE LEFT OUT. F%$ING ANNOYING GAME. I rarely send back a game unfinished, but add this and Max Payne 3 to the list. Because they both suffer the same glitches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RENT THIS!

posted by dantheman000 (MIDDLETOWN, MD) May 29, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I don't usually leave reviews but this game deserves a good review. One of my favorites. 13 missions long so kills a lot of time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Game Until..........?

posted by chimptor (SHREVEPORT, LA) May 31, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ghost Recon: Future Warrior: this could have been a great game had it not been ruined by bad planning. This game begs you to hate it, HATE IT!!!!! When I first started playing GR:FW I was thinking, hey, this game is right up my alley. A sniper heavy stealth FPS, great!!,  but then it deteriorates into a pointless secession of dying, retry, die again. Three shots, that's all you get, three shots and your down, go down three times and game over. Just stupid. I'm playing, or was playing, I have bailed at the end because it's impossible to finnish!!!! IMPOSSIBLE!!! For those who do finnish, I congratulate you, you are a better gamer than I. I am playing on easiest setting because I enjoy the gameplay not the stats. I found in this game that easy means crushing! You get no break for playing the easy setting. What I object to the most is the overwhelming enemy forces that your up against in the game. The end fight is redicliously one sided. There are no less than 15 enemy firing at once at you!!! And you are expected to run down two bad guys kill one while chasing the other one not letting him get too far away or else, bam!!!, game over. Of course the guy you're chasing is so far ahead that if you bother to stop to fight your way through the bad guys,you guessed it, game over. It's a built in no win senareo!!! An that's what ruined the game for me. I'm right at the end, I've made it through all these triles and at the end, bubpkiss!!!!! So be warned you may find it very frustrating as I did. Great game up till then. Shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

65 dollars??

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

wow another overcharged game thats not worth 65 dollars graphics are outdated theres screen tearing glitches lagging a.i is dumb on harder difficulties just not worth the money rental only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by Gunther13 (CARTERVILLE, IL) May 25, 2012

Member since May 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Besides the horrible graphips, the sneaking around restarting spawn point 17 times because some bad guy would find a dead body, even though I was shooting him, is not my idea of fun. The campaign in this game sucks. It is clearly made for multiplayer and well, without the code, that isn't really too fun either. If you enjoy getting trophies for games, you also might want to pass on this one. I suppose if you played this for multiple hours upon hours it might grow on you, but as it is, I sealed the envelope and sent it back without even finishing the campaign. Didn't like it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GHOST RECON FUTURE SOLDIER

posted by halloween84 (SMITHFIELD, PA) May 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really like this game alot i have never played any of the other games in this franchise but from what ive played i give it a 10 pretty awesome and the gunsmith rocks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worlds worst game

posted by ericmc911 (SPRING, TX) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this was the wort game i ever played in my life

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Perfect, But its Fun

posted by sheikh_omar (ESSEX, MD) May 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've never played any of the games from the Ghost Recon Franchise until now. So i have no bias from that perspective. I'm an old SOCOM player. Since that franchise is dead, I 'm giving this a try. And I have to say my expectations were not very high.

The campaign for this game is basically a cookie cutter of most of the previous shooters you've played. Graphics are just ok, Gameplay is solid, Sound is Good. Some frame rate issues in the campaign cut scenes. The multiplayer however kicks booty in my opinion. It's a little laggy as most all are, and does have some bugs that need to be fixed and can be fixed in a patch. Such as joining an existing game with a party really seems to create a lot of lag.

But if you like to play a more tactical type of game and not just everyone running around trying to get the most kills, you'll like it. You have to work with others to be successful and have fun. Which is what I miss most about old school SOCOM. A little communication goes a long way. So i give this an 8. Not perfect by any means, neither was SOCOM 2, but I have fun playing it, and isn't that the point of gaming?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Single Player Campaign-YES...Multi Player-NO....

posted by Darwin67 (LYNNWOOD, WA) May 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

As an avid player of all the other previous Tom Clancy titles, there was little doubt I would pick this one up. I've waited quite a while to see a re-emergence of Ghost Recon.

The single player campaign was good, albeit linear and the ending was 'meh'....nothing earth shattering. The game play was smooth but the graphics were certainly a disappointment given some of the more spectacular graphic heavy games that are currently out on the market (surprising actually). I was able to finish the SP campaign in a little under 6hrs, but in my opinion I can see this having some really good replay ability since I will certainly attempt to work on my stealth infiltration techniques . I'm currently playing in Co-Op mode with a friend and we're having ALOT of fun....LAG FREE fun, which is a welcome break from MW3 and all the severe MW3 lag issues that makes MP nearly unplayable at the moment (ps3). Gorilla mode I've found challenging, but fun.

As for the Multi-Player in the game....on the PS3 it's just not worth my time. There are very few players (on average, less than 20,000 at any one time)....I would hazard a guess that once someone starts playing MP, unless you have a 'clan' you are going to be spawn trapped and will never emerge from your spawn without dying, and like me basically write off the MP all together, which is a shame because with some tweaking it would be kind of fun, but as of right now it's kind of pathetic.

I gave it a 7: Good SP, Good Co-Op, marginal graphics, poor Multi-Player experience, Gorilla Mode is fun, high replay ability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Future Soldier REVIEW

posted by Dae_Mar_98 (SCOTTSVILLE, VA) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Well... I bought this game at Wal-mart (NOT IMPORTANT) But still this game is good. Not Perfect but good, Way better than Advanced Warfighter 2, You play as Kozak, Along with your teammates Pepper, 30K. And Ghost'Lead. Either way you can expect better results than All the other ghost recon games. The story is nice and solid. The multiplayer is awesome. The Guerilla mode is awesome....but if your going to play with other people do it online. thats what I do. Playing with someone at home on a 2nd controller SUCKS because it has that whack MW3 Special Ops Camera....Uqqqh! but either way. The gunsmith is cool. its not like the gunsmith from Army of Two: The 40th Day but it is cool.
Love This Game Or Hate It... Either Way you read this review...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not good the last recon was better

posted by coolfool21 (PHENIX CITY, AL) May 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

simply put the story mode was good but the multi-player sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

CoD WHOOOO?

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) May 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Best war game of the year!
If you're sick of CoD or just want a change it's PERFECT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Newbie in training!

posted by CustomSyst (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) May 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is very addictive with all the covert stuff going on, makes it very hard for you not to like it. It has its downfall though, you have to have Internet connection for it to work. The game has to link up to a server first before you can even get to the main menu. But once you get pass the server the game itself is a lot of fun. Seeing how you have to be connected to the internet, I gave it a rating of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by rencho1 (BENSALEM, PA) May 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Best game of clancys' by far!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Shooter

posted by Darren4730227 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This really a great game. Best shooter game out right now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Limited move

posted by scorcher007 (FORT MYERS, FL) May 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I rented this game so I could use the move. I was looking forward to resistance 3 type action. Tom Clancy says it all tho... slow movement 3rd person shooter with high emphasis on tactical warfare graphics are lacking and cut sequence is half the game. So If you like that you'll love this game if you prefer fast FPS get any 3rd installments of the trilogies BF3, MW3, R3 or KZ3. Happy hunting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant continuing series

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) May 24, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Anyone familiar with the series... Doesn't need any introduction to the title. Ghost Recon future soldier puts you into the perspective of a future covert soldier. Playing in third person shooter, even if you don't have a 3d TV. You will still be impressed with the graphics and all the cool things you will see.

You play as a covert soldier, in the ghost recon squad.
Gathering data and eliminating threats is the key objective. A squad of other covert operatives were discovered and killed... From a data source somehow leaking into enemy hands. Your squad objective is to backtrace and tie loose ends.

Ubisoft sure knows how to keep you holding a game controller. Tom Clancy builds a story and places tech in your hands that keeps you wondering what happens next. Not going pure CGI cut scenes as well and keeping this title traditional... Really made this game fun.

You get to play multiplayer, but you cap off at level 5... It is still enough to get a feel of what the online play is like. No online co-op... That is only if you purchase the title.
I preferred single player... Multiplayer... Just felt clunky and most the time you'd be watching everyone like its a escapade of bunch of chickens running around with their head cut off... STILL has very awesome graphics, but the key-objective of multiplayer isn't clear and you spend majority of your time finding `that one good spot and camping in it. I still got a good number of knife kills and running around blasting people with a shotgun was fun. I really wish they would just made a capture the flag... So I would know what to do and everyone else could catch on a tad easier. I really wish I could played the co-op, cause the story is very versatile and numerous of ways the play the story are implemented.
Maybe the title should have played pure co-op but then some may like games you use all your tools and use hive mind tactics.

Check out this title though... Its an epic one you'll be wanting more of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse