Buy Thor: God of Thunder for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Thor: God of Thunder

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, 3DS, DS
GF Rating
4.2

1216 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst 360 game?

posted by Carnage78 (LAWRENCE, KS) May 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I will start this off by saying that I am a huge Thor and Marvel fan. I loved the Marvel Ultimate Alliance games and love the characters. That being said this game was the worst game I have ever played on any console. Pointless button mashing,terribly executed combos,clunky,unintuitive controls,a terrible camera,bizzare checkpoints and frustrating degrees of difficulty make this game unplayable. Please dont rent this game. I now have a few more silver hairs from this horrid expierience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad control

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 6, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

25 out of 28 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Interesting game, I assume follows the movie. there are a few problems with the gameplay. First, the graphics are not really all that interesting. You get an idea on what the background looks like, the doors are all uniform, the bad guys are all uniform. Graphically it does well enough to tell the difference between you and the bad guys. Not really anything else nice to say about it.

You get different moves, that you unlock as you play, using points that are on the rather difficult side to get on purpose. Otherwise the controls are incredibly basic. You get jump, crouch, power and attack buttons. there is a semi annoying ranged attack that may or may not hit anything. Ranged attack might work, if you bother to get a target selected, not easy to do, seems to be tied in with your movement stick. I don't understand that either since it claims to be based on your right stick.

Beyond that, it's your basic button mash, if it works. There is a special attack that takes out armor on your enemy. Doing it is melee, melee, power in that order. It honestly doesn't really work that often. Apparently it is all in how swiftly you can do the three button presses.

Combat, is literally nothing more than mashing melee attacks until they force you to do something else. Which is semi often so you at least have to stay awake. Not to say the game is particularly fun, unless you really enjoy watching a guy running around using a hammer. Not worth a rental unless you want to watch the guy using a hammer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too bland

posted by violableishere (BRUNSWICK, GA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thor looked as if it could be good but i just thought it felt too bland and unoriginal. I could play as this same guy in ultimate alliance and get an awesome experience but this just sucks. It gets credit for action, there is a pretty good explosion every time you unleash Thor's might but besides that, everything is basic. You have a button masher with an awkward range attack that i found impossible to use so i couldn't proceed pass the second level. The graphics look like they are from the PS2 era and the controls are very weak. I would not recommend getting this unless you like Thor enough to go through teeth grinding stress.
graphics:4
gameplay:5
controls:2
lasting appeal:3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thor: God of TERRIBLE!

posted by Biggens91 (LUMBERTON, NC) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, this is my first game review since I've had Gamefly. And the reason why I'm doing it now is because this game is just horrible. The graphics blow. The fighting is the same. It's just a bad game. Me being a fan of MARVEL comics I thought I would like it. No. Just no. The movie is a 1000Xs better. So I recommend just sticking to the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Horrible game. The moves the character makes doesn't help out at all on some levels and the moves you are supposed to make aren't explained with enough information.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse Marvel game ever!!!

posted by leofletcher21 (BRANDON, MS) Jun 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a waste of your time. Do not waste two days of your life waiting for this game to come in. Two hours of playing this game i sent it back the day i got it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weak

posted by gokusubzerocold (BELLFLOWER, CA) May 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this game deserves one word, WEAK. i didn't enjoy this game at all. the first 15 minutes of playing, i thought wow this game is so boring. it made me sleepy playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Thor god of Bummer

posted by warchiLd9 (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) May 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nothing to really say about this game. Just another generic movie spin-off made by one of those developers who dont care about the game and just want to finish their contract. Graphics are about 5 years dated, gameplay works as long as you stick some combination of quick attack and power attack, trying something fancy, like a ranged attack doesnt go well. Enemies are mindless and completely generic. Overall not worth making to begin with in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just another tie in movie game

posted by sethdaman (HAMPSTEAD, NC) May 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The title says it all it has some fun moments but some are boring. Te gameplay is okay and graphics are like a 2007 brawling game like marvel ultimate alliance. Fun bosses and it reminds me of a bad god of war. It has its ups and downs but the fun is limited extremley. I was excited to play it but it is no different then when transformers to came out for xbox360 or when tron came out for xbox360. The best moment was bashing skulls in with my hammer but the voice acting is ok and sound effect are slightly low quality. I wasnt crazy about the movie either but i am a very bias person

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Childs Game

posted by jpop8807 (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

This game to me comes off very childish. The graphics leave much to be desired. This like most comic based games has lots of hacknslash gameplay. Yet unlike games like Spiderman, and Batman this game lacks a lot in depth. This would be the perfect game for a child with add.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Movie Licensed Games=The Bane of My Existence.

posted by UltramanMatthew (HUDSON FALLS, NY) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Oh boy...we all know where this is headed, don't we? My first review was with RTH: Retribution....this is just a bit better then that TRAVESTY. And even then, just a bit.

Movie Licensed Games are a more or less a travesty in the Video Games Industry....with the rare exceptions of 007 Goldeneye and Peter Jackson's King Kong (the latter to an extent).

Thor: God of Thunder is as generic, boring, uninspired, and repetitive as you would imagine.

Kill a group of enemies (usually the same ones with different textures, whoopie) and advance to the next room. Rinse and repeat....FOR THE ENTIRE GAME.

The story doesn't follow the Movie's (Iron Man did this for parts of his game as did the Incredible Hulk, and Captain America's game has a different story completely) and if this was in the hands of a better more competant producer, this could've actually had some promise.

I could've dug going to all the different Realms if they weren't a generic Ice/Forest/Lava World in that order...I feel like I'm playing a shoddy Megaman Game that never existed.

Thor's hammer has no weight (ironically enough for a 1,000,000 ton hammer) and I felt like I was hitting the AI with a wadded tissue paper.

The graphics are worthy of an early, muddy PS2 game; Thor's lightning FX looks downright terrible.

The voice acting is....meh; nothing great, nothing terrible.

The gameplay is boring, repetitive, and just plain uninspired; just trying to be Dante's Infenro or God of War, and failing miserably.

The story could've had promise if the game was actually fun to play and everything didn't feel like a cardboard cutout Action Adventure Mimic DMC/GOW Game.

The 3D Gimmick is getting really old; granted you don't get a pair of glasses with Gamefly but it doesn't improve the experience any.

Don't waste your time here, if you want a good Superhero Game try the Arkham Batman Games, or Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, or even Captain America: The First Avenger.....just not this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yuk

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2004

Wish Odin could have prevented this from being made.
Boring story and boring concept.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

thor

posted by olumese (ALLEN, TX) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

that game was horrible it sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thor: God of Broken Controllers

posted by Knuckelsix (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

Awful can't even begin to describe this game. The controls sometime do not work and the hit detection is so off you have no clue at times how you were hit or if youre even hitting an enemy. Also onceyou complete thegame and start a new game+ it doesr even matter how maxed out you are because the hardest difficulty is just plain cheesy and broken. I got the full 1k but it cost me a controller I flung at the floor with rage atthis broken game. This game is just god awful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

thor

posted by TAKmymainman365 (TOMBALL, TX) May 17, 2012

Member since May 2012

THOR is amazing any body who likes playing as a god or an avenger thi s is the game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is Alright

posted by nicsorensen (SAN JUAN BAUTISTA, CA) May 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

It's a fair game. it got boring really quick. I rented this game because i knew it was gonna suck. Was not too shabby

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

thor

posted by steelersfan1 (SANTA ROSA, CA) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

this game sucks that all am going to say but it was fun play a different game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thor

posted by redwards22004 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Ok game! Needs better graphic and gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Much Fun

posted by Collazo119 (MONTGOMERY, NY) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Although it has a very easy learning curve, this game had very low replay value.

Most boss battles were tedious and time consuming at best. And several boss battles were followed by another boss battle.

I am all for button mashing as long as there is some enjoyment in it. I couldn't even finish the game.

This is just another typically horribly made movie-licensed game, and not at all on a par with "Captain America", which was excellent, by the way.

I say skip it altogether. It's not even worth the achievements/trophies gained for finishing the storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I'd Rather be Struck by Lightning.

posted by TheClear (ASTORIA, NY) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Like another super-hero tie-in game (GL) The titular character cannot fly. It's THOR! Game is painfully repetitive, the cut-scenes are lazily executed, the upgrade trees do nothing but make normal attacks more damaging, the bosses are WAY overpowered making replaying the fight many, many times necessary. So many I got tension headaches.
Normally if a "bad" game was causing me this much grief, I lower the difficulty. Well you can't do that in TGOT. Which I feel alienates more casual players.
This game was NOT FUN. That is my point.
Green Lantern was bad, but I enjoyed getting bigger and badder constructs.
Captain America was boring and repetitive with a lame upgrade system, but the fight system was great (if repetitive and way too close to Arkham Asylum to go unnoticed), and there was something so satisfying about smashing people with that shield.
Unlike the aforementioned title, "Thor: God of Thunder" had no redeemable qualities. If you insist on playing through to the end, pick up a mouth guard, or you'll find yourself grinding your teeth down to the root.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Thor is not hardcore!!

posted by Adamant_GAmer (GLEN CARBON, IL) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Man, this game is a complete waste of time. It's really difficult to hit your opponent and even on the easiest difficulty the game is super challenging to connect combos and use special abilities. I give this game Two thumbs down!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

HAVE TO AGREE WITH OTHERS

posted by g4m3srock (GRANGER, IN) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

I'm pretty good at playing games like these and for some reason i can't get past the last part. One of the most irritating things is there's this move called, Hammer Slam, and to do it, you have to press B+Y. Sometimes its doesnt catch both and you end up using a charged power attack. If the fighting was better, i would be able to be this on the hardest difficulty. And if you are playing this now, or gonna attempt to play this, there's this part where you go into a tunnel, about halfway thru the game, the entrance closes in front and behind you and the walls start to close in. There is no signal on what to do and keep dying trying to smash walls. Finally figured out that you need to smash thru this floor that is slighty discolored.....which helps alot!(sarcastic). And now im stuck on this part where you have to beat this ice guy at the end before the city falls and about 2 hrs of nonstop attempts and many of those attempts i got very close, i figured out that i dont have enough time. You can build up time in the earlier rounds you do which i couldn't do. I didn't make two game saves so now im basically screwed. Sending it back. Ill give it a 4 for its efforts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by thanemcc (CHEVY CHASE, MD) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Typical rush to production video game/movie tie in. Copious bugs, irritation control system and just not an enjoyable game.
Would recommend Spiderman series, wolverine series and of course Batman as being a better game play experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good not great

posted by Nick92970 (BURLINGTON, NC) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I think people didn't give this game a chance its fun and you feel like Thor the only problem is you don't fly they have these jump fly points I do like the enemies though theirs frost giants, trolls, and infernirs (fire demons)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hello

posted by icecreamman (MOBILE, AL) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

It Was Pretty Good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse