Buy Street Fighter X Tekken for PS3
view large frontback

Street Fighter X Tekken

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

1595 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by smatrai (LEVITTOWN, NY) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game off of redbox by the way I a m a huge fighting game fan.I like Tekken,Soul Calibur,Street Fighter etc. This game was good it seemed like a cross between Marvel vs Capcom and Street Fighter with a little Tekken in there.I did see with the juggling properties that they did however incorporate Tekken in ther fans so don't cry.For the averege gamer this probably is not the game you want to buy because like other fighting games it often takes a strenous amount of time to master the combos and master all of the moves and strategies of all of the characters.The Graphics are really good though it looks like they designed all of the characters and stages much like in the latest Street Fighter additions.Here is the all round deal with fighting games.

1.Time and effort

2.Patience

3.Losing in online play a lot is normal at first.

4.You may need the strategy guide.

5.If you are a COD player this is a huge transformation for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cole and Megaman - And Surprisingly A Lot More

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I rented this game to play as Cole and Megaman, being a big fan of the Infamous and Megaman series. I've played Street Fighter before and thought it was decent but nothing I'd ever put $60 on. This game introduced me to Tekken and I think I may like the characters from that series better than SF - who always came off as stereotypes and clichés to me. Marvel vs Capcom 3 introduced me to a bunch of cool Marvel characters that I never knew anything about and this game did the same for Tekken. I may have to play the Tekken series now.

The gameplay is very close to Street Fighter 4, but it seems more accessible. Combos don't seem as difficult. Characters don't feel stiff when you've just started the game and haven't learned any of the more advanced combos. You'll probably still get destroyed in the multiplayer by people who have spent weeks worth of hours playing this game, but at least it feels like everyone stands some chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by ReviewerZ (LIVINGSTON, NJ) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I grew up with Tekken, but I wasn't a big street fighter fan. However, this didn't stop me from playing Street Fighter IV when it came out. Street Fighter X Tekken is a game that combines two of the best fighting games in the world into one package. This game may be a little difficult for people have or haven't played either of the two series, but once you known the controls, it's a piece of cake. Good game, but practice a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I'm Losing Faith in Capcom's Abili

posted by Gobind05 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This review is purely my opinion and based on how much I enjoyed the game. With that being said, I'm a bigger fan of the Tekken series than Street Fighter. That has not stopped me from playing the Street Fighter games at all. I've been playing since Street Fighter 2 back on the Genesis.

The Good:
- Great graphics
- Huge Selection of Fighters
- Smooth Fighting
- An actual story
I will say this. If you are getting this game for a single player experience, you will be extremely disappointed. The story is pretty weak

The Bad:
- The game isn't fun
I was super hyped for this game to come out and when it finally did I felt let down. The fighting is smooth but broken. The combo system felt like a cheap version of MK3. You can do combos for days with ease and if you get a person in a corner... it's over.
- Balancing for Online
This game has so many cheap moves that its stupid. These are in turned exploited online. Capcom has made the game in a way that allows cheap players to excel by doing the same move over and over again. There aren't any True Combo breakers so you will just have to deal with being destroyed until you learn how to be cheap. If you don't believe me, go play a day of Online. You'll see.....
- Most Tekken fans will not enjoy this game
As started above, I love Tekken. I was hoping to hop on this game and have a bunch of fun....this was not the case. Yes, it is cool to see them in the SF world but playing this game only made me wish there was a new Tekken game out. Playing each character only made me wish for more fleshed out gameplay.

Summary:
This game was a huge let down for me. I was expecting some thing awesomely unique like MvC or CvS but.....we got some a game that is just a dumbed down SF4 with Tekken characters. This game is not worth your $60. If your REALLY into fighting games, then try you might like it but for most people they will be disappointed. I hope Namco does a better job with TxSF because SFxT was bad in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Street Fighter Vs. Tekken

posted by TheDarkWarrior8 (MASON, OH) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It was a good game and no doubt fun. But the only problem I have is it doesn't have a "story mode" though if you want the story you can play online and turn off game requests. Being a big fighting game fanatic, I felt that it didn't equally live up to each title. I think I am a average player, having beat some fighting games in one day, but the this game is overcrowded with foreign players that dominate continually, which can be no fun. But then again maybe this inst my game. Either way its a decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

How completely disappointing....

posted by Oleander (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a HUGE Tekken fan! When I first heard the news back in 2010 about the Tekken cast and the Street Fighter cast coming together in the same game, I was in heaven! I had always thought having these two come together would make an epic game! After two years of endless waiting my heart has been crushed! This game is sooo disappointing in my opinion! I cannot speak for everyone of course... Anywho, being a Tekken fan and having to play in 2-D with the horrible water color look of Street Fighter.... Can't do it! And why is everyone speaking Japanese?! Ken speaking Japanese.... right.... The whole gem idea feels cheap! I take that back, it is cheap! Activate a gem and all the sudden have all this strength you didn't have before! More ways to make it less of a challenge! Over all the game is just like playing Street Fighter 4, only difference is you have poorly 2-D Tekken characters splashed in water colors. In my opinion, if you are a Tekken fan, this game is not for you! The only reason I gave this game a 6 is because of the idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Weak Fighter X Tekken

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Mar 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ho-hum.

Oddly enough, this game wasn't that enjoyable. It's strange, because time and time again, Capcom releases and re-releases the same game, over and over and over and over again, and it sells a million copies, gets rave reviews, and does remarkably well. But for some reason, SXT just feels... off... Graphics are good, gameplay is fine really, lots of character favorites... but it just feels bland. Like something's just not up to par. What? I don't know.
Combos are good. Gem system is, okay, but I would have preferred something along the lines of SFIV or MVC3.
The stor-...nevermind.

After all of the Super/Ultimate/Collectors/Final/Epic/CashGrab/Remake/Arcade/Console/Komplete/Ultra/Turbo Editions Capcom has pushed out, maybe the formula is FINALLY feeling tiresome.

I'm not sure that Tekken X Street fighter will be all that different of an experience, but, this one just wasn't that great, unfortunately.

BUT! It's GameFly!!! And that is THE ONLY WAY to justify playing this/these games. Seriously, anyone who payed full price for this, or any iteration of SFIV/MVC/MK or the like, is just wasting money. GameFly it, play it, don't get brainwashed into spending $$ on BS DLC that doesn't do anything, and in 6 months you can GameFly the same game with cool word in front of it and enjoy all the DLC and more later without having to spend the money.

Not that this game is particularly worth playing in the first place, unless your a huge fan (in which case you already bought the CE and Arcade Stick...), you've played/enjoyed the others (Moi) or you simply have nothing else to do but Hadoken kids online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Capcom has lost their mind for charging $20 dlc

posted by SubZeroGoku (BELLFLOWER, CA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As I stated on the Xbox version, this game is pretty tight just needs more characters. Capcom is supposed to add dlc they mentioned. Well Capcom has replied to all the fans stating that "on-disc" & "dlc" downloading would make no difference in pricing since they aren't ACTUALLY on the disc anyway according to digital downloading laws. That sounds & was so stupid of them to say. So they're charging you guys to add extra characters to your OWN game??? How stupid is that? Not only is it stupid but it's a lie.

People wake up! DLC was once good old classic CHEAT CODES! So why should people pay for it? On top of that, why should people pay for something that should be free after already spending so much just to get a game?! Digital law has NO control on what they add to THEIR game forget the lies they're telling!

People are seriously out of their minds for even going along with what they're doing and saying. If we stand up to all these gaming companies we can fight to get free DLC, well free CHEAT CODES!! I don't mean physical fight either, I mean fight by shortening their sales by not falling for the bull droppings these game companies are trying to pull! They don't care about the fans, they care about money!

If you're a true gamer you're with me. Stand up to stop all of this charging for a game that was already $65 sometimes $150 (for collector's edition games)! Time for this to end!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Where oh where do I begin?

posted by KingLawXXI (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Let me start this off by saying I am a huge SF AND T fan, so I can give you my perspective on gameplay coming from bith series. First of, SF. I main Akuma/Sagat (B Rank)in SSFIV AE 2012 with a little Abel/Ibuki/Seth (Mostly C Rank, lol)thrown into the mix for flavor every now and then, so coming from that I figured I would be able to adjust easily, and for the most part I was right. The combo mechanics are almost identical to the point of being more reminiscent of an update to sfiv more so than an original game. That being said, the combos are slower, more stiff, and mostly auto pilot like MvC. The fact that there are literally buttons to automatically dish out full combos is laughable and when playing on a controller it happens accidentally very frequently so if you are not going to make the investment on a stick don't bother. As a matter of fact, I found the game borderline unplayable with my standard ps3 controller and could only play with the stick due to problems reading the inputs and such. I never had this problem with sfiv so i feel like they took a step back, but once again, playing with a stick will make this a non-issue for most, but that's a heck of a slope to climb for someone who might just want to rent the game through gamefly and not play competitively. When comparing this game with Tekken...well...there is nothing to compare. It's only tekken in name. They really could have done more to draw out the tekken influences, like maybe add rage mode from Tekken 6, or make the tekken characters feel different, but as it stands, pretty much all they did was add a poorly implemented "juggle" system that pretty much exists only to flash up combos, considering they are almost impossible to drop and don't have much variety like in Tekken. Moving on, the online is INCREDIBLY laggy which is unacceptable for a game that requires precise timed inputs. SCIV's online in comparison makes SFxT's look terrible. Add in disc locked dlc characters (smh) and SFxT gets a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not for tekken fans

posted by Rosloyoy5 (WATERFORD, MI) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This game uses the street fighter fighting engine, for all characters, so those coming from tekken 6 or 5 ressurrection won't find themselves at home with the controls. However those who are used to SF4/arcade edition, will feel very comfortable with them. This is a street fighter game with tekken characters thrown in. When you play as them, they do not feel like they did in previous tekken games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

never should have had tekken on title

posted by mexifrench (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is a garbage attempt to get tekken players to switch to street fighter, horrible game play and makes no sense to have two characters on team since only one dies and you lose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This IS a good game!!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I do not know where all the complaining is based from, and what history most of these reviewers have in the fighting game community but.... Lately before ANY capcom fighting game is released it is heavily tested in the tournament community, and capcom has had a history of dealing with the issues on a timely basis. This game is a lot of fun, the only downside is going online or playing against people that have had more time to learn the details than you. One of my friends have a rule about capcom games: "If they do not pick up the game on the first day, they will not go online because of all the people that have a huge time advantage."

This game was made for the fighting game community!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pointless and Derivative

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Mar 8, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Overused characters, incomprehensible control map, and bizarrely unintuitive "gem system" makes this more or less unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Capcom Vet

posted by 6789ad2811 (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Being a Capcom/Street Fighter fan it was a real adrenaline rush waiting for this game to fill my mailbox. All the charecters you expect to see from both worlds are there. Brining them both together is something that I always imagined what would it be like.
A new gem system has been added to this production of Capcom. Speed, strenght, defense and many others you might find a necessary or just great to use. Either way it is one thing that will keep you playing for awhile. Thier is just one catch. Some of the more valuable(your chose either way) gems you have to buy to own. If you do not check to store you could be mistaken and keep on playing thinking viewing them as a reward.
Getting the chance to beat up on the vets from both games in a single match is awsome. Some teams you could never imagine unless you played them are possible. Thier singnature moves just scream thier names out. (not literaly) For example any Capcom fan knows who executes you with a raging demon and who packs a punch with a demon god fist. They are all there along with great and humorus movements from other characters you might recongize in the back round of every stage.
Challenges are a extra plus that will keep you entertained for a long time. The fast paced action that is common among the earlier renditions of Street Fighter games is no longer there. Button mashing is nolonger effective. If fighting is all you like thier is a good chance you might like it.
I have been playing one of Capcoms longest and probley most famous fighting games since it came out in the early eighties. To get a charecter is nolonger a test of skill but of how deep you pocket is. It is like bying a grade on a math test. Though It sounds great it is not earned. It almost feels though the gamer is not the main issue anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beat em up!

posted by chiaroscurosity (MONTROSE, CA) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Being a classic Street Fighter fan, I had to get used to the 3D aspect of the characters and the gameplay in this new iteration. It is still fun and the character adaptation from the 2D side scroll to 3D side scroll is good. Worth a rental for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Street Fighter X Tekken

posted by alazandria (MEDICAL LAKE, WA) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Nice Cross Gen game with stylish graphics. Characters have swap costumes that are available for purchase with different mixtures to have the look of another character. The fighting is fun as there are cross, partner, and "pandora" attacks. During pandora mode, your character is invincible for a short period of time at the expense of both characters. When the timer runs out, you will lose unless you have already finished off your opponents. However, there are storylines depending on each character/team you choose. Some of the dialogue is funny. Special characters include favorites such as Pac-Man and Megaman

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game

posted by Filthylooker (WORCESTER, MA) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

decent game but you have to pay to unlock the other characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

medium

posted by DT1990 (CUSSETA, GA) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

not as good as the old street fighter games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent game; better with multiple people

posted by htmn2054 (RED HILL, PA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

My experience has been that fighting games such as this are better when you have people to play against online or in person. Unless you really make an effort to learn all the button combos by memory and study the way cards/special abilities should be used, this game is not quite as fun for the casual gamer.

The game was pretty good and I enjoyed the action, it just got boring fast with no missions or storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good...but with a few comments

posted by ilawson94 (EAST BETHANY, NY) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Overall this game is very good and an entertaining way to kill off some time when boredom sets in. In order to enjoy this game fully though, you will pretty much need to suspend any and all common logic that would normally exist as this game follows none of it, which results in some good and bad things.

Pros:

There is a lot to like in this game, from the large playable character roster (somewhere around 40 I think), to the ability to use two of them at once, to the exhilarating combat and scenery, this game shines. The manic styles of the characters, fight zones, and combat techniques all make no sense and yet seem to fit rather well together. They also make most of the powerful combos easy to pull off (once you figure out what the symbols mean). The tutorial and missions help you to freshen up your skills and provide unique challenges when straight up brawls get too easy or tedious. Pandora ability looks awesome and adds a do or die angle to the fights.

Cons:

With the total suspension of logic involved in this game, there comes a few issues as well as benefits. While the game does fix the issue of some fighters being able to just spam attacks like projectiles to win, some characters can still rapidly produce attacks again and again that you yourself cannot do nearly as quick (one of my fights with M. Bison resulted in him almost exclusively blitzing back and forth with his Psycho Crusher move). The Power-Up Gems concept, while having occasional use, does not feel panned out enough and is very annoying more often than not. My only other complaint is the complete and total lack of explanation as to how the two franchises come to meet. Others at least try to piece a reason together but this one makes zero attempt at it.

Granted most of my complaints come from me being a bit of a content snob as a gamer so overall these are relatively minimal issues in the grand scheme of things. All said this is a great game to kill time for and I still highly recommen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Street Fighter X Tekken

posted by Hershey0611 (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game was not what I thought it would be at all. I mean it would of prob been nicer to play online but it still didnt keep interested. I thought It would make me happy like when I was a kid. SMH!! NO! Hopefully the next game will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

StinkFighter Ruins Tekken

posted by m0okasaur (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Capcom's attempt at ruining the Tekken Franchise, it Glitchy and "crappyCombos. I am giving this won back without even finished all of the Campaigns. Also, you don't ask people that just dropped $50+ on your game to download Characters. Boards, Upgrades, that's acceptable, But not for characters, no. Sorry. Capcom fails again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by bigd7997 (DURHAM, NC) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

if u r a fan of the street fighter and tekken series u will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Streetfight x taken is good

posted by LightAngelxX (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I like Street fighter x taken is a good fighter it is good for those fighter who like Street fighter and taken hope you like this it is a very fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game!

posted by jasonpm (LILBURN, GA) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is fun both online and offline the graphics are pretty the gameplay is great i loved ever minute of it. If u like a good arcade fight RENT this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse