Buy Spec Ops: The Line for PS3
view large frontback

Spec Ops: The Line

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.5

3009 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Story is this shooter's strongpoint

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 28, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Spec Ops: The Line" appears, on face value and in terms of gameplay, to be just another military shooter, though this is in 3rd person instead of the favored FPS. As a shooter, it works well enough. The aiming doesn't always snap to its target, but it works more often than not. Same with the cover system, which only fails on occasion. Shooting and using grenades are easy enough and use familiar controls to anyone who's ever played a COD or a Battlefield. you can only carry two weapons, but they can be a similar type, as you not limited to one pistol and one long ranged weapon. Melee is okay, though you won't use it often, and your team's AI is generally competent. The enemy AI isn't the smartest, but they're not the dumbest either. The game's 15 chapters (plus an epilogue after the credits) will take most about 6 hours to play through. There's intel to be found, which is worth finding in that it adds to the story. And then there's the story, and what a story it is. Inspired by Joseph Conrad's novel "Heart of Darkness" and the film "Apocalypse Now", the story takes you on a dark journey through the sand ravaged streets of Dubai (which is rendered beautifully). What starts of as a recon mission quickly turns to a rescue mission and then an all out fight for survival. On your journey you'll be confronted with making choices, but none of these are your typical right or wrong moral options. In each case you may find your choice and its consequences disturbing, which is the game's intention. Good as this was done I would have liked to see a bit more options, but it was effective nonetheless. The choices affect how your teammates react to you and the game's ending, so that may be incentive to replay the campaign. I only played the single player campaign, but there is multiplayer for those who enjoy that. All in all, this game is well worth playing. The graphics are terrific, the voice acting superb, and the soundtrack is great. A must play at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spec Ops: Draws the Line.

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Jun 29, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Spec ops is one of those games that make you go through all of the motions but more importantly and shocking, too me at least, is that it makes you go through all of your emotions as well. You will feel enraged, sad, guilty, and happy and you won't know when it hits you..until it comes across your chin like a hammer.

The story in Spec Ops is by far one of the most gripping, confusing, and intense experiences I have had with gaming in a long time. The moral decisions you must make are gut wrenching, even the ones you have no control over. Spec ops pulls you right in, chews you up, spits you out, and goes for seconds. My emotions were messed with so bad...and I loved every minute of it.

Forget the shooter aspect for one moment and immerse yourself in the dialogue. Listen..very carefully. Even though the visuals are great, it's the sound, the atmosphere draws you in. The radio man messing with you, your squad mates losing faith, your mission getting more and more irrelevant, Dubai truly becomes (h)ell.

The mechanics are a bit flawed, the controls will take some getting used too. None of that matters. Get yourself ready for one of the best story shooters I have ever played. Spec ops takes itself very seriously and draws a major line not yet set in shooters of the past. (you kill A LOT of American soldiers).

When all is said and done, when the smoke and the dust clears, Spec ops will have sent you on a rollercoaster of emotions, make you actually THINK, and the ending ties everything up very nicely. Yager has some true talent on their development team and I cannot wait too play more from them.

If there was ever one game you should not miss just for the campaign, this is it. Multiplayer is bland on the unlock system will keep you around for a little while. Nothing new there. Where Spec ops really shines, is the single player, your jaw will drop harder then a bag of bricks and your soul will be twisted into ways you never though possible....from a video

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice (9 out of 10)

posted by Zentech (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game quite a bit. Fun and fast paced. I do think that the campaign was a bit short but the game is good enough to play again. I like how you have to make different choices for different trophies. All and all it is a good game. The story is good if you pay attention and the gunplay is pretty sweet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spec Ops: The Line

posted by max12345678 (FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Must I say to start with that Spec Ops: The Line is one of the best shooters I've ever played if not the best...This game from the beginning is a electrifying intense third person shooter, it wins on all levels with phenomenal voice acting from nolan north and others! The action is well paced and never excessive to the point of being cliched... it's extremely brutal with some very cringe inducing yet satisfying finishing moves along with an abundance of heads exploding!!! Spec Ops also has very epic multiplayer, this game is one of the best of 2012 so far with a very fun and shocking look at war games with moral choices that affect the story throughout, I love this game!!!! Spec Ops: The Line Gets a 10/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very engaging story

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 29, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Overview
=================
As others have said this is one of the most engaging stories for a shooter. In short things are a mess when you get to Dubai....you don't know who is running things and why everyone is trying to kill you. The game keeps you on the edge with the action and the story.

The campain is where this game shines. Unfortunately I'm knocking it down for control issues. The "X" button is used for running and cover. Unfortunately it was designed to keep you running until you perform an action to break the running which can cause you to get shot. Also the "O" button is used for melee and vault. Which will cause you to accidentally perform one action when you meant the other.

Also the multiplayer was pretty bad. It was very generic and affected by the same control issues. The community is already really small (forgot about it in a few months). Also, when I got done playing my first match I was disconnected from the server and lost all of my XP.

If you rent for campaign it is great....if your focus is multiplayer skip it. No "online pass" at least allows you to try the multiplayer without forking over money.

Pros
=================
1) engaging story
2) some neat sand and light effects

Cons
=================
1) control issues
2) poor multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Shooter Of The Year Thus Far!

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From second number one this game GRABS your attention! I may be a little partial because I'm a HUGE Uncharted Fan & Nathan Drake's voice actor (Nolan North) is a main character in the game which I think is AWESOME! The story is awesome so far. I will be holding onto this one for awhile & probably trophy hunting it! A definite MUST rent, at the very least! 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

love this game!!!!!

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jul 2, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yet another pretty awesome TPS game to add to my long list of likeable games. The graphics are pretty solid andthe game play flows pretty well. I love that it takes place in a supposedly soverign nation. I like ths game alot. It's fun and fast paced and a great rent. if you like TPS games, you'll like this one too.
Of course there will be haters that say this game sucks because so many people find one flaw in a game and automatically give it a bad rating, but trust me the good reviews will far out weigh the bad ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by fleagle7 (BOLINGBROOK, IL) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I picked this game up a few days after it was released and I really like it. The choices that you have to make are never clearly right or wrong so that makes it quite interesting. It has a really good story and one thing that I found really cool was the fact that the main character changed throughout the game, not just through appearance but in the things he says or the executions that he performs. In the beginning, whilst performing an execution he would only do what is needed but by the end he would beat the living helll out of the downed enemy. Overall, I really liked it and I love the fact that it actually made you feel something, the only downfall was that the campaign was short. I say a rent or buy for sure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Understand what it is and you'll enjoy it...

posted by ptrac (HICKSVILLE, NY) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is not a military shooter in the vein of Call of Duty, Battlefield, etc. The closest comparison in style and gameplay is Gears of War. It focuses on an engaging single player campaign, which is refreshing. Its relatively short, you could blast through it in 8 hours. The story is compelling, and as it gets towards the end it starts to take some serious cues from Mass Effect 3 (coincidence?). Decisions are a big part of the game. The controls are the only real issue with this game. The cover system is not smooth by any means. And the constant need to heal your squad mates who make REALLY stupid decisions will often result in your death. But, I have yet to find a cover based game that feels comfortable, smooth and non-linear. There are also some issues where it seems the difficulty spikes are too great and ruin the flow. This game is more for an overall experience than it is a ground breaking gameplay release. It does what a lot of great single players focused games like Uncharted and Mass Effect do, it tells a story and uses the gameplay to help you move it along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must Play Game

posted by Trini_Versity (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Story Line and emotional content portrayed in this game is amazing. From being on your own to command your two man squad. Its a game that has a very interesting story line. Play on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Excellent Deconstruction of the Modern Shooter

posted by Jesse96 (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game. Oh man, this game. This is probably the only military shooter I have played that actually caused me to experience emotions besides "America, woo!".

This game starts out like that, for the first few minutes. Then, after killing the only generic foreigner soldiers in the game, you find out that things have gone horribly wrong in Dubai. Horribly wrong, in addition to the giant sandstorms and failed evacuations leading to the deaths of a lot of people.

The strongpoint of this game is its story, how Walker and his team adjust to the horrible world that is Dubai, tracking a man's descent into insanity.

The gameplay is pretty standard for a cover-based third person shooter, but this fits the theme of the game, letting you be immersed in the fast-paced gun battles before yanking you back into the narrative.

The multiplayer doesn't matter, as it was tacked on by the publisher because they thought the game wouldn't sell without it. Like, the developpers had finished the game, and the publishers outsourced the creation of the multiplayer to another studio who made it bland, generic multiplayer. Stay away from this, it holds no appeal.

The appeal comes from the amazing and cinematic story of the game. This game crosses a lot of lines, it has quite a few very disturbing scenarios and images. But these are not just there for no reason, everything that happens here has a reason and this is a very mature storyline.

Anyway, this game is fantastic, play it soon, you can beat it in an afternoon or evening and it is definitely worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exceptional TPS

posted by Jman329 (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lets get the negatives out first. There is a LOT of sand. Alright, well this game is a smooth, fluid control and gameplay game. Also, mostly every chapter you are forced to make a decision that alters the path of your story. To Uncharted fans, Nolan North does a great job in here. It was a sleeper for shooters in 2012. Multiplayer is good but could be better. I give this game a 9.0/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Controls than Maxpayne, better story too

posted by neoVVL (SEMINOLE, FL) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not much of a fan of 3rd person shooters, but this game is really good. The story is great and you go though the game thinking, am i really a good guy? Graphics are up to date but not great, gunplay feels realistic, overall a great 3rd person shooter even if you aren't a fan of the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I was fairly disappointed

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Trophy hunters beware, "very hard" was probably one of the most infuriating things I've experienced. It does have online MP, but no online trophies (which I'm happy about).

To Reviewers:
Please base your reviews on playing on all difficulties before writing a review. Some games have a lot of problems that may go unnoticed on easier difficulties, which leads to the game being misrepresented (looks better than it actually is).

Basic Concept:
Spec Ops reminded me a lot of Uncharted just with a military theme attached to it; 3rd person shooter with cover usage. Unfortunately, unlike Uncharted, there is not much variance in what you're doing from chapter to chapter. It is more or less segment after segment of shooting waves of enemies, and that's pretty much it (although there are a couple of parts where you get to use a vehicle). However, I did find the scenery to be one of the few things the designers did well.

Story:
Although other reviews like to term it "engaging" I don't feel it really was. It is certainly interesting in comparison to most military-themed FPS games, but at the end of it I found that it made little sense when I tried to consider the entire storyline. The game is fairly violent and grotesque at certain points (I would say more than most), so be warned if you have reservations about that. There are "choices" but only 3 or 4, and the final one is the only one that changes things (the ending).

Problems:
If you do stick on Normal or Easy, the game is only around 6 hours if you stretch it. Problems that arise while playing harder difficulties (it's more pronounced on very hard) include:

-Horrid checkpoints
-Stupid suicidal allies (if they bleed out it's game over)
-Poor grenade indicator/grenade throw range
-Being shot through cover
-Poor cover placement at times
-A severe lack of ammunition in certain segments

I do think the game plays well on lower difficulties, but unfortunately if you stick to just that, it's fairly repe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nothing special

posted by matt6g (WARREN, NJ) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing special. It is a generic, war-based 3rd person shooter. The levels are short and boring and have a normal "start to finish" layout. Broad storyline. The cover system is awful, enemies are oblivious and foolish, not to mention the AI director is garbage. The graphics aren't very impressive either - fine lines are very edgy and unclear, and every object seems "glowy," it doesn't look good. This game doesn't have much to offer, don't waste your time waiting for it to come in the mail! Get something that is worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Annoying!

posted by fastdc5 (VISTA, CA) Jun 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

So frustrated. while sprinting and whole screen wobble and makes my head hurts. While in lobby waiting for game to start if the host (who ever screen name has a house icon next to them) leaves the game, you got disconnect saying lost connection to host and it return you to main menu and you have to start all over going back in multiplayer game and it KILLS lots of TIME! So slow you have to wait almost 4 minutes for map vote to end and start. I don't have all day. Not a fun game since this game only makes people camp by hiding popping their head in and out like a squirrel in the hole.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disapointing

posted by Scalari (ALEXANDER, AR) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the previous titles. However, this one had just a horrible story. The stories main Idea was great but how they executed it along the way was so poorly done that I got 90% through it when I had enough. The controls were great but when it comes down to the game as a whole this was poorly done. If you can get through the poorly done story and the constant reminder of burning children then you should like the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Spec ops the line

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game is wack why did u ruin this franchise. targeting is terrible! the AI is better than the person u control in most cases. this game should take notes from MW3, Ghost recon & Splinter cell. Do ur homework better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I give the game a 4.5

posted by Ralphdaniel01 (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

I honestly expected more of this game the story was lame, and for the first time in a long time I was lost through the whole campaign none of it made sense..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont waste your line

posted by gagandeep (SANGER, CA) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

another go here, aim shoot kill. no plot no brains. be ready to die over and over at times. and just when u think its over it drones on. one of those games that uses violent themes to mask its lack of replay. And why o why does a game so violent question videogame violance? this is for people who love shooters. but there is no depth hear only death with a witty tag line. rent at your own risk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth renting for the stoy alone.

posted by x40x (PORT JERVIS, NY) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This is a definite must play. Without spoiling the story the first half of the game feels like your modern warfare/gears of war shooter until about halfway through. Then this game shows what makes it a must play. Must note, if you thought the part in Modern Warfare 2 where they shoot civilians in the airport was distasteful than this game isn't for you. I give this a 9 because the campaign is relatively short taking a few days and the story is so great but depressing at the same time you won't want to play it again making it a great rental for gamefly customers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It was actually a good campaign plot

posted by NTNSE37 (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Nov 2009

I didn't really think I was going to get any amusement out of Spec Ops nor a whole couple of days. I was quite impressed with the graphics and smoothness of the environment. It totally caught Dubai in a catastrophic environment very well and the cutscenes were quite intriguing! However, I have to say that when running for cover or dealing with the cover system it got aggravating to deal with in hostile moments. It definitely surprised me that the story was going to be so strange but nevertheless it had me wanting to finish just to see what the deal was. I probably would never buy it but to me it was worth the rent and a couple days shooting through it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting Story

posted by BungaHead (CLINTON, MO) Oct 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Good:
Interesting Story & Narrative
Short story/campaign (I completed 4hrs30min, others say around 6 hours)

Bad:
Sticky Controls
Cover mechanics

For me, that is what the game boiled down to. Good story but I often ran into problems with the third person controls that made it frustrating for me enjoy a fluid experience but overall I did enjoy this game.

These characters first start out as generic copies of soldiers but soon thrusted into the action with choices, of your choosing, that will mold them for the rest of the game.

You command your squad to help out when you are either hurt or out of ammo (which is limited in this game, pick your shots carefully) which is a fantastic feature and option to have when you are under duress.

Multiple endings/trophies for the choices you make was one features that stood out to me. Giving me incentive to replay and make different choices.

Overall, I did enjoy this game, and the story & ending saved it from itself. A overall short & above average game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by reason702 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 22, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

For people that had played ghost recon,call of duty campaign this game you must check out great story and great gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8.8

posted by Kratos_man (SEFFNER, FL) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

vary good shooter have funny humor thru out it 2 + thers a vary small huntin game in it it feels like same of the pepol from far cry3 & black ops 1 helped n this 1 good for trophies : ) recimend playing on normal

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse