Buy Sonic Generations for 3DS
view large frontback

Sonic Generations

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.1

619 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Impressive handheld title.

posted by rhythmguitarhv (SPRING BRANCH, TX) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played the 360 version prior to this one and finished it. I was expecting a much more dumbed down experience with this one than it was. It looked very similar to the 360 counterpart. It has different levels, which is why I rented it. What it's missing from its brother though is the shop to purchase goods such as extra lives. This absence is why I stopped early. It was manageable to move forward, but annoying to lose lives to unexpected uncontrollable mystery instant death pits. Then you lose your checkpoints and restart the level with three lives.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really really fun

posted by SuperLuma (WARWICK, NY) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is REALLY fun. I spent hours on it. Yeah, the game is short, but its got very high replay value and a VS mode, so you'll be playing for a while. The physics for classic sonic are more accurate to the genesis than the consle version of this game. Overall, its a blast :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

short

posted by summer2012 (FREDERICKSBURG, TX) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was very good but really really short otherwise the best game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thanks for all 20 Years, Sonic!!!

posted by YoshiFanUltra (MARYSVILLE, WA) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Most of the Sonic games I've played are very great games, but this was BEYOND EPIC!

Good parts:
1.) Most of the music,
2.) The controls,
3.) The third act of every stage,
4.) Customizing a Sonic Fan Card,
5.) Unlocking songs for past Sonic games,
6.) The graphics, and
7.) (This was the best part) The boss battles.
I greatly enjoyed beating the bosses in this game, especially the second and fifth.

Bad parts:
1.) Some of the music,
2.) The difficulty of most of the stages,
3.) Most of the missions (because they are a bore), and
4.) The pure difficulty of the 4th boss (If you've beaten Sonic Adventure 2 (original for Dreamcast or Battle for Gamecube) then you'll know what difficult bosses are, but trust me this is beyond hard) and of course
5.) The end credits (They are always so long and boring and we always have to go through them).

Mostly, this game is a lot of fun. If you own a Nintendo 3DS, you NEED this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by KyleTheGameman (BLOOMFIELD, IN) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i luv this game..... i wish i would have tried it a long time ago....... i figured that it would be like the other ones but i tried it and its so different and awesome!!!!!!!!!:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally a great entry!

posted by alex1609 (WESTON, FL) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This review I write having only played the 3DS game, though knowing that consoles and PC version are superior in some aspects.

Plot: Ok, I'm not going to get too strict on this one as the plot is just there to justify the running of two different Sonics through nostalgic levels. However, I believe the storytelling could have been more interesting having two screens or even making better use of the 3D this system is capable of.

Graphics: Ok, this is where the game shines. The 3D feels right with both Sonics, even though Classic Sonic levels are only played in old fashioned 2D. Villains and scenarios from classic levels have been greatly recreated in 3D and the artwork prizes for each mission are very well presented in a sort of memorabilia gallery.

Sound: Alright, music is catchy. Voiceover is as good as Sonic games are used too. Sound effects fit well. Boss fights however I feel needed something more memorable. Remember Sonic Adventure songs? That would've made my day.

Gameplay: Well, as always the gameplay is enjoyable yet it suffers from small details. Personally, I felt that Classic Sonic was a bit downplayed here. His levels somehow feel more difficult; perhaps, is because Modern Sonic is given so many moves. The boss levels also felt a little bit disappointing. Again, Modern Sonic bosses were more interesting. Finally, the Special Stages were again a slap in the face to Classic Sonic. I understand, Modern Sonic is the only one allowed to boost, but it could've added up to the experience if you could choose which Sonic to use and give Classic Sonic something different like boost rings or a hoverboard (thus getting the chance to include the Sonic Riders in the game too).

The game is really good, but again as many of Sonic's last games it doesn't make it to the top. The high score is because the game does a really good work putting several levels of Sonic history together for an enjoyable experience. Now give me the next Sonic Rush 3D!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Where are the chili dogs?

posted by bortbort (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you like Sonic and you like the 3Ds, this is a pretty great game. Seems like most of the big screen stuff transfers to the small screen very well.

If you don't care much for Sonic, but you like the 3DS (like me) this game is so-so. The 3D effect isn't really geared towards fast moving side scrollers. Looks great when Sonic's in loops or the camera is from behind in the special stages. 3D isn't meant for speed, it's more for perspective and depth.

If you like Sonic 1 or something then get ready to be really annoyed when you have to do precise jumps or you'll fall off a cliff and die. No "just hold right and jump" in this game, particularly the later levels.

If you don't like Sonic or the 3DS, what are doing? Stop wasting your time looking at this review. Go outside, get some fresh air. It's nice out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome! one of the best sonic titles yet!

posted by SonicFan2 (BROOKFIELD, MO) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best sonic games i have ever played! it's even better than sonic unleashed! i love playing through emerald coast as classic sonic, it just feels right to finally be able to use the spin dash again! Good Job Sega! keep these coming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by seanc123 (LEOLA, PA) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i like this game but when you play as the new sonic you cant do 3D like you get to go wherever you want like the ps3 and xbox360 but other than that i liked it and i also like how it has online mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too short

posted by blktz5 (PUEBLO, CO) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game was very disappointing, was able to complete the entire game in about two hours. Was not worth the time, glad I did not purchase such a short game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is the best ever!!!!

posted by supersonics Dec 3, 2011

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Well i have been a sonic fan for years and this game has the best game play ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If you liked Sonic Generations...

posted by TheSonicgamer (MIAMI, FL) May 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

This game is a good, though not great, addition.

The Pros
Beautiful graphics with consistent frame rate.

The graphics aren't great if you stand around and really examine them, but when you're whizzing by them at super sonic speeds, Sonic Generations can look really good. The frame rate doesn't drop when you're speeding past 100 things at once, and all the stages pay homage to the original stages from previous games. You'll recognize bumpers from Casino Night zone, bouncing mushrooms and levys from Mushroom Hill Zone.

Gameplay is simple, but fun.

The controls aren't drastically different then the console version. Run, jump, boost. Some features, like being able to customize both Sonic's with abilities and doing midair tricks to fill up the boost gauge are completely absent. That being said, playing as Classic Sonic will still feel like playing on the Sega Genesis, and nostalgia abounds. Playing as Modern Sonic is still a roller coaster ride where you feel the thrill of boosting through the stages at supersonic speeds.

Cons

Extremely short

I beat this game in a day. What I didn't like was that while there were three stages in the Genesis era, there were only two for the Dreamcast and Modern eras. It felt as if they weren't really putting a lot into this game, which is understandable, given this game was released shortly after the 3DS was launched. What made the game feel even more rushed was that the rival bosses, Metal Sonic, Shadow, and Silver, each had their battles on a stage in their era, rather then their own stage like in the console versions.

Missions feel useless

I did NOT feel like doing any of the missions the game unlocked as I played them, and neither did the game give me any incentive to. The replay value of this game, like the console version, comes from wanting to master each stage and get as high of a score as possible on each of them, rather then doing these missions.

Final Verdict

Bad game to buy, but a good game to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Maybe not the best, but still a favorite :)

posted by Kittynic526 (VINELAND, NJ) Nov 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

I thought the game was pretty good considering it was rushed. Dimps was given a really short time to make this game and probs could've been better if given more time. You still play as classic and modern sonic, and run around entirely new levels. I really enjoyed the updated soundtrack and visuals of the game, it gave me that blast from the past I was looking for. As you go along with the game you unlock new abilty's for both classic and modern sonic, plus missions you can do when your bored playing the actual game or if you already beaten the game and want to find something else to do when you don't want to keep replaying the levels. Let's talk about the gameplay. Classic sonic plays just like he has in the older games, he spin-dashes, jumps the same, and runs like he has in the olders games but could've been faster. Modern sonic also has 2d levels, expect he's basically boost to win along with homing attacking, jumping from time to time, sliding, and stomping. This style of gameplay can be very slippery at times, and could cause a cheap death from there and there. I really enjoyed how the boss fights has their own type of difficulty, but some can be to easy, or to hard and especially the time eater boss at the end of the game. I really hated the gimick of the hands coming right in front of your camera and you had to use your speed to dodge it. It got fustrating, but I eventually beat it. Overall the game has descent visuals, good gameplay, and nice boss fights. The game can have slippery controls, hard boss fights, and awkward stage design when playing for the first time. The game is a must buy if your that hard-core sonic fan who wants to play a descent handheld. Good job Dimps. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

To Play Through all His Eras...Glorious

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

No matter what the critics say, this is one good game. It's awesome to finally play as classic sonic once again, and through both art styles do you find two variations of each stage that a true fan would remember from all the good times. The multiplayer is also very good, almost like the multiplayer of Adventure 2. I totally recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a pretty good port but falls short

posted by apecape92 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This port of Sonic Generations was okay at best. The things I didn't like about this port is the game is very short that you can finish the game in about five sittings. The good things about this port is the graphics and the music (although most are remixed themes of past sonic games) and the controls are great. Although I recommend the console port a lot more but for die hard sonic fans will enjoy this one two and I conclude by giving this game a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute game for throwback Sonic fans

posted by Izzy_Duzit (MIAMI SPRINGS, FL) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

Those who have played the classic Sonic games in the 90s will have a bit of a trip down memory lane playing this one. The core gameplay is virtually the same (i.e. zones each w/2 acts, bonus stages, and boss battles). New additions include: unlockable missions, time attack mode, boss races, new moves, and alternating playable characters (specifically original Sonic and future Sonic). The graphics are pretty good and the game utilizes the 3DS features fairly well. The game is rather short but the ranking system for each completed stage and unlockable side missions somewhat compensates for it by adding some replay value. Overall, the game is solid rental and pretty enjoyable for Sonic fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent for Sonic first-timers!

posted by budwheizzah (mont royal, QC) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

So I was one of those kids that had the NES and the Super Nintendo, but I never owned a SEGA system, which resulted in me never playing anything in the Sonic franchise.

Well, for a guy like me this is a pretty good buy! First off I was sort of baffled at reviews calling this game easy - as if the reviewers had not gone very far into the game themselves to find out it does carry the classic Sonic difficulty. I finally tried the original games on an emulator and this one pretty much follows the trend... a hard and pleasantly frustrating game that calls upon your gamer reflexes and focus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic Generations

posted by RezAching (KNOXVILLE, TN) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Buy the console version. This one is just a worst version. Unlike Sonic Colors DS, which is good on it's own. Of course, it's still very good. The differing levels are enjoyable, but not worth buying another game. That's why I only rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

big disappointment

posted by mackado (HARTSELLE, AL) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Now when i got this game I just had a 3DS no 3DS games.I had saw gameplay of Super mario 3D land,The Legend of Zelda OoT 3D,And Starfox 3D.And they looked like they were played on wii.The graphics were outstanding gameplay looked perfect.Now I had saw gameplay of sonic genaraitons. But sadly i saw the PS3/Xbox verson. I thought all versons were the same. When I got it I saw The great graphics but the cutsene was in text not voice.I was puzzeld.Well classic sonic came first it was 2D gameplay as i expected,but when it got to normal sonic it was 2D to.The gameplay was just like the Sega genisis gameplay!!!!!If you want to try it get the X box/PS3 verson. rent 3D and you got a ripoff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It was great, yet it was somewhat bad.

posted by sonicandchao (CABOT, AR) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I mean, the stages we're great! It even had the hard stage.(Radical Highway, Crisis City for the seperate systems)
Though the 2D stages for Modern Sonic was somewhat annoying. Though bringing back the Sonic Heroes Special Stage was a great idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A POOR GAME

posted by seibert999 (FLOWERY BRANCH, GA) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

In my opinion, this game does not deserve the sonic generations name, this game is incredibly geared toward the old audience and completely forgets about the new audience, the graphics look nice and it controls good, but the gameplay on each level is no different, making it repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Sonic Rush in more ways than one

posted by Axlkaitoshin (NIXA, MO) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I like most of the other reviewers of this game have been a Sonic fan since the beginning, I've liked most of what has come out outside of the infamous Sonic 06 for PS3/x360 so make of this what you will.

To be honest, I loved the console version of Sonic generations, one of the best Sonic games in years, however this version just simply didn't do it for me. I am not faulting this game for not being up to par with the Console version in terms of specs but as a portable sonic game, as I loved all of the portables on the GBA and DS prior to this one. The bottom line is that every aspect of this game felt rushed. The genesis based Classic levels were carbon copies of the original stages and the rest of the classic designs were plain and unoriginal. The Modern stages actually fair a bit better as they are remixes of the stages and longer than their classic counterparts. The problem all and all is that the game just looks and feels rushed. The graphics while not horrible, in comparison to other 3ds games they are well below what others have already done. Worst of all, the game is short with little to bring one back like the console version. Beat the whole game begining to end in one sitting of less than an hour and a half.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Overpowering Sonic

posted by Thegameagent (SANTA CLARA, CA) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Ok this game was crazy,good, and bad at the same time.i loved the way they did the 3D in this one but it was over powering and hard to react to when going as fast as sonic does i thise title. The oposeing retro style parts wer way fun in 3d aswel as realy fun to play love the music loved the new levles but some parts of the game wer just buggy and sometime felt unfinfished.

in the end it was a good,bad crazy game that i dindt like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sonic Generations a 3DS flop

posted by damesofpk (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Not many characters to describe why this game is bad but the unoriginality of levels horrible designs not much of a difference between Sonic's should be enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »