Buy Sonic Generations for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sonic Generations

Buy

Used: $24.99

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, 3DS
GF Rating
7.6

2417 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"Sonic Generations of Bliss"

posted by R1V3Rr4t09 (FALL RIVER, MA) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Finally a Sonic game worthy enough to be played. It's been a while since we've seen our blue blur of a hero take the plate back to his roots (excluding the disastrous Sonic the Hedgehog 4) and the feeling never seemed so welcoming. With classic levels like Green Hill, Chemical Plant, and Sky Temple redone in eye popping 3D, it's hard to imagine that such an iconic franchise had to wait this long for a reboot. But the reboot was well worth the wait. Now you are able to control both Sonics, from past and present, in the most well tuned physics the series has seen since Sonic Adventure. On top of classic levels, many of the newer generation levels have been redone as well, only this time around they don't seem as clunky or difficult as their previous predecessors. Everything in this game shines like gold from challenges to boss battles. The only thing this game lacks is the option for multiplayer, but when you actually play the game and get lost with nostalgia you begin to wonder, 'who needs it'. Truly a masterpiece in a series that has produced many follies in it's past, and one that deserves recognition from it's ever loyal fan base. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic Old And New

posted by DuskElezen (PINE BUSH, NY) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hello My Dear Sonic Fans! Today I'm reviewing the newest addition to Sonic Saga of games!

The Good Retro: Good back to the basic feel of Sonic that Sega/Nintendo has ruined for a good while. great levels a real nostalgic feel for anyone born 1980+ or who played Sonic on the Sega and Genesis, the original levels from Sonic and Sonic 2 each down to the slightest detail of the original making me feel as if I was younger. doesn't disappoint in the slightest however anyone who hasn't really enjoyed the original Sonic wouldn't really enjoy this part of the game. 20/10 for bringing back the original and still making him the best!

The Good Newer Sonic: Brings a few good levels from the newer Sonic games my favorite and still prob one of the best is Sonic Adventure 2 battle level's I have found that each and every level is epic and action packed and a fun experience even made levels from games I didn't even like more fun! not much I can say when the newer Sonic has a bit of hit and miss games but don't let that understate the levels are FUN!!! 10/10 on the scale for redeeming this new generation

Gameplay: The game play is original for Sega/Nintendo which is a first!!! you can play as Retro-Sonic and Sonic on levels like "Green Hill" also great ones from Sonic Adventure 2 Battle I enjoyed Retro Sonic on this one, has great repeatability which is a first for me! 10/10 Gameplay.

Story: Great for Retro-Sonic while redeeming for Sonic's past games like Sonic and the BlackKnight. 10/10

Controls: This was something I had an issue with while great! I felt as if it was too touch-and-go? I don't think it will be easy for everyone as I felt my reaction was faster than the game could react to.

Over all: Great gameplay, Great story, Controls touch-and-go, Back to the basic's with Retro-Sonic and Sonic all the levels while short are fun and fun to re-do, not many bosses, and bosses are simple, but lack in numbers, over all I liked it, just wished each level had a boss b

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME GAME!

posted by ALBERTASH (DOLTON, IL) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

SONIC GENERATIONS IS AN AWESOME GAME FOR ALL GENERATIONS OF GAMERS! THIS GAME BROUGHT BACK SOOOO MANY MEMORIES, WITH A SMALL KICK OF NEW REMADE STAGES, IT STILL BRINGS A CHALLEGE! THIS GAME GETS A 4 OUT OF 5

we miss those stages where we can get the rings and earn the power gems.

inside the mini game (Sonic1) we are missing the thrid button. which might be the C button.

why we have to beat the game to unlock super sonic?
on xboxlive why cant we have realtime racing?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another passable title from Sonic

posted by sinyx (GREENVILLE, RI) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was a cool idea that got muddled along the way. Rather than give you a classic Sonic game they tried to merge modern Sonic with the classic Sonic.

The first act is done like the old games but act 2 is is like the new Sonic games. The problem is when they try to make classic Sonic take on the modern Sonic levels, even going as far as to give him a skateboard power up. They even go as far as to switch between the 2D and 3D in each act to throw you off.

The "classic" feel is also lost, don't expect Special Stages or anything along those lines. Instead you get to meet all of Sonic's more annoying pals in a series of mini games and challenge levels that you must access through a maze like hub world. These aren't optional as you have to do some to progress. Most end up being bland and boring, a few of the battles are fun. Over all nothing here that reminds me of old Sonic at all.

The controls are solid and work just fine, both Sonics play about the same.
The sound is great as well even letting you change the music for each level.
The graphics are just about what you saw in Sonic Unleashed, that is to say nothing new or jaw dropping.

This is overall a lack luster game that was just pumped out to capitalize on Sonic's birthday. Rent it don't buy it, little to no replay value really only for the hardcore Sonic fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nostalgia at its finest.

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Oct 31, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

20 years, thats how long this hedgehog has been around us and while the first few titles were amazing(Sonic 1-3, Adventure 1-2,Colors), others had too much fur/swords/wiimote shaking. This time SEGA finally answered our prayers for a perfect Sonic game, enter Sonic Generations. Without spoiling the plot too much, lets just say Sonic gets sucked into the past by the Time Eater and meets his past self and they go on an adventure to save the time stream.

And here's my verdict:

The Good:
-Levels, SEGA did an incredible job putting one zone from each of Sonics adventures in glorious HD! Plus you play them as Classic and Modern Sonic with 2 different dimensions of play, AMAZING!

-Graphics, every stage, badnik, boss, character looks incredible!

-Replay value, trust me you're gonna want to play each stage over a few times just to take another path and find hidden goodies and get those bonus stages!

-Soundtrack, whether it be your favorite tune from Green Hill or the fast track from Planet Wisp, you'll love every second.

The Meh:
-Bosses, while they did bring back bosses from previous games, they aren't as fun as they used to be, I don't know why, but some of the bosses are kinda boring.

-Speed, while you move around the stages, you might stumble on walls or objects a few times, it kills the intensity of the stages sometimes but not drastically.

The Bad: NOTHIN'

Overall:
If you actually enjoyed the Werehog, Secret Rings or Black knight games, you wont like this game at all, but if you're a fan of the retro Sonic games, like me, you will not only enjoy this title but realize how old you got since you played Sonic on Genesis!
BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally...A good Sonic for this generation.

posted by mryams (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I have to admit; I had fun. It has been a long time since Sega had put out a decent Sonic game. But to call this a brand new Sonic could be cheating the audience.

Sonic Generation his a throwback to the good ol' days of Sonic. In the game, there is a rip in time that puts both Sonics(and Tails) into a limbo like area. This white space is filled with areas from Sonics past and to get things back to normal, Sonic has to complete two acts in each setting. The acts are done in one side scroll, and one in 3D format; to complement both era's in the franchise. To put it mildly, you play the same act in two different perspectives. As you beat each area the color comes back into the world.

It's clever how the developers took some Sonic games that used the 3D format and transistion it to how it would have looked back in the Genesis days amd vice-versa.

If any complaints could be made it's the bad dialogue that throws it off a bit; but no Sonic game ever had great dialogue in the first place. Like most of the recent Sonic games for PS3 or XB360, the game tends to be to fast for it's own good. There are moments where camera angles are not in the best positions in the game, but don't let that affect the way you feel about the game in general.

Also, don't expect this game to be long. It will probably take you about 6 hours to beat the game; however, if you're a completionist then it can last a while. They also tacked on multiplayer, which is nothing but competitions to rank higher on the leaderboards; example, timed levels to see who makes it to the end fastest, etc. It seemed silly and really no point to add it, but it's easy achievements at the very least.

To conclude, I liked this game alot; even if for the nostalgia factor alone. Not sure if it's fair to peg it as a new game since the levels already exisited in another format at some point in time, but enjoy it none the less.

8/10

Bryan Dull, writer and author of "Solstice"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who Like Chili Dogs?

posted by Haven00 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

There are few words to sum this game up. The easiest being "The Sonic we know and love is back!".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by coachron50 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is extremely fun and sega made a pretty awesome idea to make the classic sonic levels into modern levels this game is one of the best sonic games you could ever get

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best Sonic Game Today

posted by InToXiCaTeD (MODESTO, CA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This sonic generation first thought of the game was gonna be another sonic fail at a game but I was completely wrong. The graphics kept to the classic but than again with a twist of Modern day graphics. I don't know how to explain it but it is by all the best sonic game today I do recommend on renting it but sonic games do die out in time. So borrow it from a friend, Rent if from here like did (gamefly serice), or buy a cheap copy from someone on the web.

I do recommend people playing this hands down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissapointed

posted by Halo304ever (MERRITT ISLAND, FL) May 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Although I did find some of the modern stages to be fun and the graphics to look nice that's about all I enjoyed. I did not like classic sonic's levels at all and If I wanted to play in that format I would play the original sonic the hedgehog. There are only a few worlds and you can end up beating it in 6-7 hours. There are challenge missions but these are boring and do not feel rewarding in any way. Though it is better than the recent sonic games it still is nothing compared to Sonic adventure 1 and 2 and I think I'll stick to those until a GOOD sonic game comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Impressed.

posted by bspradlin2012 (ALBANY, OR) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I loved Sonic as a child, and I was so thrilled to rent this game of Sonic Generations. But I am just not impressed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bravo. Sega has redeemed themselves.

posted by Aquateen (WAYLAND, NY) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I gotta say, I wasn't too impressed with some of SEGA's first few attempts at bringing Sonic to the next generation, but as the years went on, they improved, slightly. Then Sonic Colors hit, and then there was hope. They actually did something great. Now Sonic Generations is here, and I feel like I've been reintroduced to Sonic. Sure, it only has 18 levels, but I think it has I replay value. SEGA kept it simple, with simple controls, and a simple story to follow. SEGA, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bored after an hour of playing.

posted by DinoMyte (DANVILLE, CA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Are we all talking about the same game here? How could this game get better reviews than Rage or Fallout? I've been playing this game for a couple hours now and it has felt like a chore. I keep hoping for the gameply to change at all and it hasn't. This is nothing new people. All this game is is taking the sonics from the Sega Genesis and combining it with the Dreamcast versions (Sonic Adventure). Except you dont get to raise those cute little guys that can be angels or demons. I was really hoping for more here but I am ready to send it back already. If you've played the other Sonics and like repetition less than a 4 year-old then don't get this game. I've seen and done all this before, many times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a blast from the past

posted by trickflowing (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

this is the best sonic game that i ever play way better then the other two i think you going to enjoy this game i like the levels and the boss fights i like that they being back the old sonic the story is good the Graphics is great i play this game to the end and unlock the staff you get in the game what a good Anniversary for sonic if your a sonic fan this game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 out of 10

posted by ugaines (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

great game kept it for 3 months such a enjoyable game loved it hope sonic lost world suites well but my account got renewed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPICNESS!!

posted by GamingChamp01 (UNION CITY, OK) May 21, 2013

Member since May 2013

A anniversary game that's 10000000 times better than Sonic 06. The graphics are AMASING!! the storyline is awesome and not confusing. The stages are absolutely EPIC. The soundtracks are...so EPIC I sing along to the songs each time I'm in a stage. The boss fights are fun. And during the game no problems or glitches occurred. The controls are alittle slippery but still fun. I recommend to Sonic fans don't rent it, BUY IT!! It's will be the best Sonic game you can possibly play!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic Generations Fun Foundation!

posted by Mr_Netties3 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Sonic Generations is a fun game for the whole family. The gameplay is a fantastic mix between the classic 2D Sonic action Sega gamers played back in the day and the 3D action most Sonic games have now. The pros of the game would be that each game can relive the awesome 2D gameplay that most played on Sega, and players that have not played Sonic games 1, 2, and 3 can experience it for the first time. The cons of the game would be that in the 3D environment you spend 80% of your time in 2D mode which can be perpetually frustrating, there was not a lot of story mode levels and you spend most time doing the challenges. Even though there were a few setbacks in the game, that did not stop me from having a great time playing it! i loved the story and challenges and deafeating the mini bosses to get the emerald! although i wish Sega would have had kid sonic talking I still loved that they brought back the character that started it all. Sonic Generations is a game that will take you back with its music, flipping action, power-ups, and same old hilarious bad guys. I give this game a 8 out of 10! good job Sega you finally made a Sonic game that did not make me want to return the game (i did not beat) to the store i bought it from!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The come back of our hedgehog friend!

posted by arkhamcityis4me (CORRYTON, TN) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Its been a while since a pretty decent classic sonic game since sonic colors. When I hears that there was a new sonic game coming out that would have classic sonic in it I got really excited! The games graphics are amazing filled with lots of color and the come back of classic sonic is awesome. The only thing I didnt like about it was that it was extremely short! I beat it in 2 hours......THAT IS SHORT! I dont like short games. Luckily this game was really fun and once again the graphics are a really nice colorful touch

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sonic has been risen! YAYZ

posted by sonic1991 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

The best sonic game since 2001 if you didn't know already it has classic sonic wich is very cool. and finally sega has given us a truly epic sonic game. sonic is back and faster than ever. first of all sonic is split into 2 parts, classic sonic is well classic. modern sonic is switching between 3d and 2.5d. and you save your friends from being frozen some i wish could just stay frozen, for example kirk thorton shadow. You got this sonic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sonic Gen and no not 2006

posted by MaxGLEE1030 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 7, 2012

Member since May 2011

Hello and here is my review of Sonic Generations lets first start off with the story. Sonic celebrates his 20th birthday or if you want 21 birthday and all his friends are there but some shadow creature named Time Paradox kidnaps everyone and everything around him. sonic is in white space and they have to stop Time Paradox and restore the white space. The graphics for this game are Good, Great, Awesome, Outstanding, Amazing also i had to. But for real it looks great everything is detailed quite nicely. The music oh where do i begin it is fantastic ever song gets 2 remixes for act 1 and 2. It sounds so awesome even some auto tune which fits great my favorite would be a tie between Super Sonic Racing and City Escape. The gameplay is standard sonic fare but with a twist you can control two sonics classic and modern and each stage has two acts to complete from Green Hill Zone to well City Escape. The gameplay for classic is 2D side scrolling its just like playing old school sonic. The modern is well 3D platformer where you speed through levels standard stuff. They also have familary boss battles like eggman for example. It has very few problems everything works the way it should. Replay value you can do extra challenge acts which when you beat them you get extra music tracks and artwork. You also collect red rings in the standard levels and get the same thing so there is a lot to do. My advise I would rent it first since it is pretty short the main game not after game but if its really addicting a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Great, Not Bad

posted by coltonrahn (ARRINGTON, TN) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Good game if you love the sonic series, but it gets very repetitive. There are a few different things and challenges, but overall, it's the same as every other sonic game from the past, just a different story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best sonic game?

posted by level69troll (DAVENPORT, FL) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I honestly think this may be the best sonic game ever. He's a had a rough last few years, and this game takes the good things and packs them together with the old. You have the blazingly fast day time levels of unleashed, mix with the old classic levels of the original games. The music will take down nostalgia lane, and being able to play any music over any stage is a plus. My only gripe was how short it was, but theres a load of extra challenges per level, red rings, and leaderboards. The graphics are vivid, bright, and nice looking, and the levels expertly designed. There are so many routes through levels and everything it's hard to even explain. If you're like me and gre up on sonic, and have hated everything since Adventure 2 Battle like me, this game is perfect for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun

posted by Chowchow (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

It's amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic in the past.

posted by Ninjashadow5213 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Aug 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Sonic generations would have to be one of the best sonic games ever made. Taking me back to some of my favorite stages from my favorite games like city escape from sonic adventure 2. This is a must get and even buy game. Classic sonic can get annoying though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nostalgia at its finest

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2007

Sonic Generations. while nowhere near at the caliber of Sonic Adventure 2, is a great iteration to a great series. It has been quite awhile since we saw a genuinely good Sonic game, but it has finally arrived as a crossover between old and new. The only place to go from here is to take this formula and add Chaos and a more open world to make a perfect Sonic entry.

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse