Buy Shinobido 2: Revenge of Zen for PS Vita
view large frontback

Shinobido 2: Revenge of Zen

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

125 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Stealth Fun

posted by El_Cid (BOSTON, MA) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a ninja hack and slash game, then get Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus. Shinobido is not for you.
However, if you're looking for a ninja stealth game, akin to Tenchu, then get Shinobido. The stealth kills are satisfying, the graphics and audio create perfect atmosphere, and the game play is a lot of fun. You get to the point where you feel like a pretty sick ninja.
I hear the same complaints over and over again. Like there are only several locations. That's true, there are not a lot of different locations, but the enemies are always set up differently for each mission and have varying degrees of difficulty. People complain that the combat isn't great, but honestly, these are people who do not seem to understand that a ninja is supposed to go unseen. I find it far more fun to eliminate everyone silently then attempt to fight anyone. You aren't really supposed to stand and fight in this game. And lastly, people complain that the controls are bad. In this I simply must disagree. Do you remember playing the original Tenchu? Those controls were extremely cumbersome and slow. This game improves upon them vastly. Just follow the training missions and you'll be gracefully dashing along rooftops and dispatching samurai in no time.

For those of you looking for a Tenchu-style ninja assassin game, look no further. Shinobido 2 is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A game for specific tastes!!

posted by SionPhoenix (LIZELLA, GA) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok guys, I wanted to get in here and fill in a few gaps about the reviews that are coming in here. First off, this game is the Tenchu series, but when Spike lost the name to another company they restarted the series as shinobido. Second, this game will play exactly like the previous Tenchu games, because as I said it is Tenchu, so don't go looking for hack and slash, fast pace, ninja gaiden style gameplay, because it isn't, El_Cid put it pretty dead on, this is a true ninja game where the idea is stealth, no hand to hand unless faced with a boss where you can't avoid it. I've been a fan of the series since Tenchu 1 and I love trying to find new ways of stealth killing helpless victims, so I know what to expect when I see this game, but for someone unfamiliar to the series, it's not the usual "ninja" game we are used to seeing, in here you are ninja, master of stealth and terror of the night!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For those that love to do missions over and over..

posted by agustinromanii (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I think my title pretty much sums this review. I didn't like this game that much mostly on the maps of the missions that is assigned to you. The missions are very repetitive and the maps are ALL the SAME!!!!, nothings changed!!!. There is about 4 different maps in this game with different difficulty levels. The alchemy for me was very confusing and the constant long letters that are sent to you are too excessive and annoying. The controls were ok, and the graphics seemed to focus more on the main characters. I didn't have motivation to beat the game, only played it for 4 hours. This game deserves a 5 on my part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by fatmatt (ALHAMBRA, CA) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game is fine but not worth $40.graphics are good.
dont like the fighting in it.its hard to control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Underrated

posted by VitaPs4Review (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game does not get the credit it deserves. Better than Ninja Gaiden hands down.

The graphics are average but they are good enough to look at and still enjoy. The game at some points has some camera problems where you are trying to fight but cannot see anything because a tree is in the way but I have come to expect that from games with this type of camera angle.

The gameplay was some what repetitive and a lot of the things you do are the same thing over and over again and this is the only thing I feel that holds the game back. The certain type of missions always has the same things in the same part so you know exactly where to go which is kinda lame but this game makes up for it with challenging boss fights. The dynamics of your player was pretty awesome though

The story line was great and creative. It was not over complicated to the point a beginner gamer could not play but offered a decision on which way you wanted the game to go. Choosing between 3 forces and fighting for who ever want until the opposing forces dwindle down to nothing why at the same time you are fighting for your own personal story. The story is not the most in depth of emotional but it was good for what it was. This game took up a good few hours of my time but could be beaten a lot faster if you choose a cause to fight for and take out the other forces straight from the start, which I did not…I started off fighting for everyone. Good game and I hope they make some improvements and release another Vita title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Jun 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

but camera can be annoying on rare occasion overall though grea game to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »