Buy Saints Row: The Third for PS3
view large frontback

Saints Row: The Third

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

7247 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Over the top in all the good ways.

posted by IrishNinja3010 (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Start with a bang, then go from there. That's the best way to describe it. The first mission shows exactly what you're in for with this game, involving a bank heist while disguised as, well, yourself. Subtle. Move on to jumping out of a plane, falling through the wreckage while shooting bad guys to catch your homie, dropping them, then (um, skydiving?) through the same plane before finally touching down in Steelport, your new hometown.

From shooting mascots during Genki to beating gang members to death with a giant purple...marital aid...this game is everything you'd expect from Saints Row, and then a bit more. The vehicle customization is back and better than ever, the gangs more ridiculous and awesome as ever, and all the best activities and diversions (with one exception) returning, this game is literally all about a good time and then some. For pure, unadulterated fun, there's no better game out there.

This game is in my permanent collection, and for good reason. The visuals are solid, the gunplay has been improved, and the controls are tight. Simply put, this is the most fun I've had with a game in years, and you would be doing yourself a major discredit if you don't at least give this game a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RENT BEFORE YOU BUY

posted by MrFloydAFA (MCKINNEY, TX) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

30 out of 35 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First off, this is an awesome game with a ton to offer, especially offline. The Campaign mode alone is very large and has some awesome aspects from jumping out of a helicopter to a penthouse roof and mowing down gang members upon arrival, free-falling out of a jumbo jet while avoiding its cargo, and 'surviving' an onslaught from the futuristic swat team. The other offline mode is the 'whored' mode which is essentially a random arcade survival mode with endless rounds that produce a unique challenge every time.

Don't get me wrong, this game offers endless hours of fun and gameplay, but the repetitive vulgarity and unnecessary off color situations detract from the game.

The M rating is an obvious hint from the get go, but the primary difference from it's main competitor in the GTA series is that there is no realism to the game, to include the weapons and gun play. This can be very fun for a while, but becomes frustrating during the more difficult gang fights as your are overwhelmed fast with the ridiculous firepower and are essentially forces to duck and run until health comes back.

The graphics aren't a whole lot different from SR2, but you can definitely see the similarities in the character models in GTAIV and the blur effect in vehicles. It is a definite step up from the previous two, but still has more of an arcade feel to it.

This game was loads of fun, but i strongly suggest renting and testing if the over the top humor and gameplay is what you are looking for as I feel many GTA fans will get bored. Overall a very well made game, just try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game of Laughs

posted by SIRPLAYSALOT (WABENO, WI) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No Drinking Milk While Playing This Game... Don't Believe Me, just try it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Screen Burn

posted by acetybalt (BOISE, ID) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game, the graphics were crisp, the game play smooth with very little glitching, and the story was enjoyable.

My only real issue with this game, was it caused screen burn very rapidly. I have played well over 200+ hours on my TV with no issues, until I played this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by Rafael09 (JACKSON HEIGHTS, NY) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The storyline was great. Full of jokes and action. The best part is once your done with the story there's still a bunch of stuff to do in the game. So it'l keep you busy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!!

posted by rahshimie (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just too much fun. Way better than Grand Theft Auto! The radio station is awsome! My new favorite song is Ball and Chain, by Social Distortion, (which was on the game) The action is just out of this world. Best of all it is hilarious! Some funny parts that I can think of at the moment is when Pierce and Oleg's chess game gets messed up 3 times, so they never actually finish the game. The hardest level to me was the fire wall one and funny when my character was turned into a toilet and a blow-up doll. If I teel you everything I like about this game, we'll be here for a while. So go check it out if you haven't played it yet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SAINT ROW

posted by christopherba18 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game for the time i had it. Customization in car character and gang outfit was great. The only thing i dint like it was how short the story mode was. I completed it in less than 10 Hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saints Row The Third

posted by dayjimbr (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really funny... I had the second one and I love it. This one is even better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Huge Upgrade!

posted by Stevenskuller1 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Saint's Row Series got a huge upgrade finally! Overall I see that the game has better graphics, story line, car / air craft handling and many more outragous clothing, customization for cars, character cribs and much more. This game is worth renting and even worth buying. I mainly joined Gamefly just to rent this amazing game lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Review On Saints Row the Third

posted by eddydiaz108 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best Saints Row game you will ever play in your life. These graphics will blow your brains out. Oh, I can't forget about the brutes. Those guys are nearly impossible to kill. But the upgrades you can do on your cars and weapons are unbelievable. So when you get this game strap your seat belt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow, Nice~!

posted by CandiandOriana (OCALA, FL) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, of course -THE GRAPHICS- were to be amazing~
That was already the main talk about this game. There is alot more to it though! The gameplay was great, the storyline was straightforward and pretty much went along with the theme of the game and it still hit home for us personally as Saints Row Lovers~
What's weird was that usually my mother cant put the game down (refferreing to Saints row and Saints row 2) but with the third she could easily discard it from her mind and choose a different game. (Just for the record this is her daughter writing the review~) Knowing that I think that something is missing from this game, cant tell what it is exactly but to us hardcore gamers, it needs a little something more~! :)
Im not giving it a low rating because of this though because I just love Saints Row, but this could help in thier future progress in sequels or whatever~ So yeah, it deserves a 10 still, maybe a 9, but im too weird to give it a 9 so LOL, in your face! XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST

posted by AlexTHEGR8T (KERNERSVILLE, NC) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THE BEST PLAIN ND SIMPLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is the best

posted by jarod254 (texs, ca) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i want this game kas it look fun and get ing cheats cods
and thir pepolein to zombis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SWEET

posted by Clerksboy2 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok first off, you have to get used to the controls.
Awesome and humorous fun!
Cant wait to try it with cheats!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ridiculous fun

posted by pablosan2011 (WILLIFORD, AR) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the most ridiculously fun games ever. It kept me very intrigued throughout the entire campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SICK!!!!

posted by BANDIT345 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

non stop action since the first level no matter where you go you have like 50 dudes chasing you down wether they are rival gang members or cops this game is awesome if you like saints row you will love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The most fun you will have

posted by GreedSama (WESTLAND, MI) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

45 out of 57 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game feel like it take you back when you played for games for fun.They throw you into the game and you can do what ever you want right off the back.There are some things that you have to unlock but other then that mostly everything is already out there for you to play with.There are a lot of new and some returning side missions and jobs like Professor Genki's Super Ethical Reality Climax and also a fan fav Insurance Fraud.

In this game you are free to do what you want don't want to do a side mission then don't do it and go to the one you want to do. YOU don't even have to play the story. You no longer need respect to move on with main storyline, but you still can earn respect in the game as it is used to upgrade you weapons and other items. Respect can be earned by during the side mission/Activities. Also you can create your own main character. You can get a head start on it now by downloading the Saints Row Initiation Station that is out for PSN/XBLA as you wait for your game. Overall Saint Row the third is just game that want you to sit down and enjoy playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Funnest game of 2011

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

26 out of 34 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Saints Row 3 is one amazing game. It's a game that's not only fun to play, not just an awesome genre, nut a game that never seems to get old no matter how long you play it. That's a great thing in my book. Saints Row 3 is the funnest game of 2011.

You can do pretty much anything in Saints Row 3. The game really shines in the realm of customization. Your character can be customized however you like. If you want to be just a normal person go ahead or if you want to be a topless girl with small panties you can do that too. It's stuff like this that make Saints Row unique. The missions are action packed from the getgo. The games main story will take the average player around 20 hours to beat, there are also a lot of sidemissions in the game.

The minigames in this game are ridiculous. One will have you running head on into live traffic to hurt yourself as much as possible, the more you get hurt the more money you earn.

Overall SR3 is a must have game. It's an experience that's so addictive and over the top that you'll just never want to put the controller down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game. Can do pretty much anything

posted by theshowfan15 (MILFORD, NH) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is an awesome game. I have completed all the missions 6 times. There is alot to do in this game. Like most people are saying it is similar to GTA. True but there are some things u cant do in GTA that u can in SR:TT. U can Have a male/female character, african american, asian, caucasian, and hispanic. Each gender has 3 different voices. A bunch of skin colors are available too. Metallic, to pitch black. U can even have a zombie voice. This is a lot of fun. If u are a GTA fan like me i would rent it first. I bought it in the beginning and have been addicted to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saints Row the Third Review

posted by smith0998 (FORT MYERS, FL) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was so much fun. It has greatly improved from its last release Saints Rows 2. The story line of the saints gang is less likeable as they were in the past. It's more like fights for city territorry instead of killing and interriganting gang members trying to take over the streets. But enough of the bad news. The game is mostly made for the gamer to have as much fun he or she can possibly have. The graphics in the game have also improved greatly with better vihicles,weapons,characters, and the newly designed Steelport City. Character costumization has greatly improved to make it look like you are in the game. Over all i give Saints Row the Third a 9 out of ten. I hope that other gamers have as much fun with this game like I did. Follow me for more reviews and videos. Also leave comments for me to review any other games you may want to rent or own. Have fun gaming and enjoy 2012.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pure Awesome!

posted by wonderingkitty (YUKON, OK) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Saints Row 2, they were trying to hard to be serious with the gangsta ish. Love how this was all comedy. Funny as ell. EPIC game-play, wish story mode had lasted longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Improves on some faults, messes up good ones

posted by SyIzumakai (SOUTHAVEN, MS) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I love Saints Row 2. In my opinion, it was like GTA when it was good (Vice City) but better and customization made it one of my favorite games ever.

Saints Row The Third seemed short with a weak story, a wee bit repetitive, some of the model changes were really upsetting (Dang it Shaundi!) . With F-bombs being thrown everywhere, the fights seemed unfair and many of the activities seemed impossible and there were times that I felt like just shutting off the system because I was frustrated from dying too easily.

That being said, I still enjoyed this game. Once you get pass the rough edges, it's charming and addictive. It's obviously not a game you should play in front of kids, the M rating is enough proof of that. I'll be honest, I needed the co-op on some of the missions/activities, but it made it more fun! You don't need respect to progress in the game anymore, but boy you better use it and money wisely for your upgrades. Some of the dialogue had me in stitches at times, but yes some toilet humor is common in it.

I don't think it's worth 60 bucks, but I do think it's worth a try for anyone who likes sandbox games and the ability to just have fun and mayhem!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same old stuff

posted by OgRich_1988 (BAY MINETTE, AL) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is so exciting when you first start to play..... Then you realize your doing the same thing over and over and over and over again!!!! This is basically grand theft auto in purple. Not thats its a bad game, but you get tired of it very fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

These Perfects Are Suspect

posted by DoubleR_Boss (MONROE, LA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

First off let me start off by saying that I have only played Saints Row 2 and I loved it! In fact Saints Row 2 made me think that Saints Row The Third would take GTA's crown. I was sadly mistaken.
The thing that killed Saints Row The Third for me was the story. I can't possibly imagine ANYONE giving this game a perfect score with the horrible story Violition glued onto it. There will be times you have no idea whats going on and other times you wont even realize you have killed an important bad guy. Watch, you will see. Also the soundtrack was horrible. And SR2 soundtrack was amazing! Last but not least you are not able to play co-op without paying $10. And SR3 city is dead and boring, unlike Stillwater.
Please, this is coming from someone who LOVED SR2, do not get your hopes up and believe these suspect perfect reviews. It will be a dissapointment if you are a die hard fan of SR2.
PSN DoubleR_Boss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than GTA!!!

posted by Scytche559 (PANORAMA CITY, CA) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is my first time playing one of the Saints Row games and this game is excellent!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse