Buy SSX for Xbox 360
view large frontback

SSX

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.7

2779 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A leap in the right direction ---->

posted by blackphantom208 (ATLANTA, GA) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been playing SSX for the past few days and I have to say it is truely amazing... I'm lovin it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome game BUT.......

posted by omithealien (SANTA ANA, CA) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. I remember playing SSX on gamecube and it rocked. This one is really, really similar mechanics wise but has more features (a good thing). I gave it a 7 but I would have given it an 8 if EA Games wasn't greedy and did the whole "Online Pass" stuff. Still a great game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very limiting and money grabbing

posted by Toiletboy (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A huge part of this game is the world tour. You can't select which character to use, board to ride, etc etc. game is more focused around trying to one up this griff guy instead of just shredding. Huge fan of the series but hated this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is not tricky!

posted by yzwreckin (CAMDEN, MI) May 31, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remember how much fun the old SSX game used to be, and had looked forward to this game when I heard it was coming, but boy was I disappointed. It's almost like they made it too easy to do tricks and land them, and it quickly becomes boring when all you are doing is button mashing, and still land everything. Now I didn't play the game long enough to know if they still had some of the cool things like half pipe, like the old game, but it was just too boring to play it long enough to see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Disappointing

posted by amarine88 (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 18, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So the soundtrack is amazing, one of the best I've seen in a game, but the gameplay is lack-luster at best.

First of the "story" mode, which doesn't have a story just a series of challenges to unlock everything, takes 4 hours.. if you aren't good. If I beat everything first try it probably would have taken me to 2 hours to unlock it all. Also there are glitches that make you have to restart races because you get stuck constantly.

Then there are the gimmicks, and oh my does this game have gimmicks. There's a challenge you have to do multiple times where everything is dark and you have to use a headlamp to see, except the headlamp is super dull so you basically have to restart the course until you memorize where the gaps are and what will kill you. The wingsuit is just as stupid and so is the oxygen tank (which you only use once).

I got this game at noon today and it's 4pm and I'm ready to return it because I've beaten all the challenges.

Bottom line: I was very excited to get this game but am so utterly disappointed by it I never want to play an SSX again. The game feels rushed and needed about another 6 months of design and story work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW! Best snowboarding game to date

posted by LordCC18 (DOUGLAS, AK) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have 1 word. WOW! This game is so awesome that the replay value of this game doesn't get boring. This game is well worth getting by renting and buying. I went straight buying this game after 2 hours of game play and still having a blast. They so upgrading the system to where you can race other people's ghosts on tracks online which got me to get this game and realized SSX has raised from the dead.

A well thought out game and have to give props to EA for them doing a good job. Lately they been releasing decent sporting games (Minus Madden) lately and hope they continue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

finally a good snowboarding game

posted by daveballs (HAMILTON, MT) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is crazy fun, the tracks are all unique and look great, plus the deadly decents add a different spin on gameplay and keep things interesting unfortunately there is really much here for multiplayer,some of the later survival tracks get pretty frustrating and there isnt alot of custimization for characters. but these are minor complaints i highly reccomend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quality game, only a few down sides

posted by RothKyle (LIBERTYVILLE, IL) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

For the hardcore gamers and the new recruits alike, all players will enjoy this game. I remember playing SSX Tricky back when I was a kid, and to be honest, I thought this game would be a let down to its former glory. However, EA has surprised me and released this beautiful game. The graphics are surreal, the gameplay runs smoothly (flawless is a better word), and the soundtrack is the best I've seen in a game thus far.

Landing huge, Super-Tricky Mega Combos is just about the best feeling in the world, and there is enough of that feeling to pass around in this game. The trick runs are crazy fun, and comparing your scores to your friends is really cool.

The races, however, I think could have used a little more work. When you race against AI, it can be a little difficult. The idea is that you want to beat them to the bottom of the mountain, however, If you want to do that you need to go fast, to go fast requires BOOST, and BOOST requires you to do tricks. Sometimes, I actually find myself accidentally doing tricks just to gain BOOST, and that in turn can actually slow you down.

Also there is no TRUE multiplayer, instead, you race against your friend's ghost. This, I thought, is super cool, however many people are disappointed that you cannot race in real time against other people. However, there are always fun tournaments for you to take part in, and it's an ever lasting struggle to gain dominance on the mountains over your buddies. I enjoy EA's version of multiplayer here, and I think you will too.

I recommend BUYING this game. It is endless entertainment for everybody who enjoys a good gravity breaking thrill game. 8.5/10 is my score for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that fun

posted by laurenpdot (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

If SSX was trying to make a realistic looking mountain drop course, then great, but nothing about this is that FUN. The original SSX was full of fun rails and ramps and half pipes....this has none. It's all back country riding (which was the least fun part of their previous games) and that's it for this. I was so excited to play, but was very let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Finally... Amped no MORE! SSX!

posted by joshfarc24 (RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

After downloading the demo I knew this was the type of game you could spend a lot of time with, just mastering the tricks and combos into the millions and millions is a controle scheme that takes time and is fun to get used to playing. The game itself is great, with the google earth like menu traveling around the world to mountains and choosing the runs or drops. Online is great, race friends or trick out with friends anytime you want to, even favorite and rate the runs and mountains to quick travel there.

Beautiful graphics... simply put. Looks beautiful at 1080p on my 47" and it runs at 50-60fps constantly as well. Really a huge step up from Amped or Shaun White Snowboarding.

This is the "Skate" of the Snowboard world of gaming now. SSX is a keeper for all types of fans. It may be mindless fun at times, but to become a top player and master the controls and game are the opposite of mindless.

8.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

refreshing!

posted by stircrazy001 (BUCYRUS, OH) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented this game expecting alot of the "same old thing". I was pleasantly surprised to find that it has a lot of new twists and turns in its new routes along with the new tools that are available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ssx-exy

posted by PorcoRosso (MORGANTON, NC) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I dont like sports games, and ive never played an ssx before, having said that its truly a blast. It gives you an urge to beat your friends and try to score as much points as possible. With a sick soundtrack and tons of maps, you wont be finding yourself sending the game back soon. Its hard to point out why i believe its awesome, the game videos make it look decent, but when your actually playing it, well its just plain fun, give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EA lowering the bar again...

posted by xiaolinstyle (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

SSX on its face is a fun furious over-the-top trick laden blast. A deeper look, however, shows that once again EA is trying to redefine gaming in thier favor at the expense of gamers.

The single player campaign is quality gaming, a definte throwback to the days of SSX Tricky, and quite alot of fun. Graphics are (mostly) decent. Sound and music are quite good. Many tunes are catchy and fit the atmosphere that EA has created in this new installment. Controls you are given work quite well , weather you choose to use buttons or analog, you will be hard pressed to find fault with them. As a bonus EA has even given the option to use the "classic" Tricky controls. There are a number of old favorites and new characters to unlock as well as 'gear' for each of them. Some of it being cosmetic only but quite a bit of it changing how you play entirely. Some drops even require certain equipment IE: Wingsuit.

The "mulitplayer" is, unfortunately, where you will find yourself at a loss. I personally was greatly anticipating going online and playing with my friends in races , trick slopes etc.. However neither you or I will ever be able to do this. EA ,supposedly using ideas generated from Autolog in NFS:HP, has made a very poor attempt at redefining multiplayer to mean you will only ever race/ trick against Ghosts. Yes thats right, no live match ups EVER. You race , run trick slopes, survival runs etc against prerecorded 'ghosts' of your friends times or scores. This is NOT mulitplayer. This is single player against ghosts.

I cant say as Im surprised that EA has done this. They do have a history of general doucheyness. I for one refuse to accept thier defintion of mulitplayer. I recommend that you do as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What Happened to ssx

posted by MotorXman (FORT COLLINS, CO) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game has an amazing soundtrack but thats just about it. If you like flicking the right stick while watching your character go down a hill, then this is the game for you. But it doesn't have enough to make me play it more than a couple days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SSX- IMO

posted by CrinksArmada (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you miss the old SSX3, then this is no substitute. If you like crazy tricks and flying down mountains this may be your game. Limited customization and constant death where the downfall of this game for me. The world is down beautifully and any normal gamer will love this game, especially for the online portion. But really, the online portion is all this SSX has to offer. It definitely has a high standard for difficulty, maybe they shouldn't put a endlessly deep canyons on every level. One flaw in your approach on a ramp could send you flying into an infinite abyss or flying for the restart button. You could press the rewind button, but it generally sets you back a couple spots in the race. Which tends to drop you from the running of your original goal. The gadgets you get throughout the game seemed to me like more of a hassle. (use these or you will fail) The only one I ended up liking was the flight suit, it's a cool concept but it didn't seem very thought out. With all the crazy unbelievable moves you can do in a game like this, why make the player cling onto extra gadgets? It would be so much more enjoyable if you didn't have to rely on stuff like that to blast down a mountain. I ended up going back to previous SSX games and having a lot better time playing them.
So in the end:

Pros:
-Awesome Graphics.
-Tons of online fun.

Cons:
-Not enough customization.
-Too many restarts on single player.
-Too distant a game from originals.
-Energy Packs, Really?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EA ONLINE PASS

posted by dkrickard (FARGO, ND) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

10 out of 21 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Whoever invented this i hope dies a slow painful death, then gets resuscitated, and dies an even slower, more painful death

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

i really wanted to like

posted by ravenjrob (EASTABOGA, AL) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i was really dissapointed in this game. the controls are good, other than that it sucked. the tracks are poorly set up, and the game is about everything but tricks....super difficult at times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for 10 minutes

posted by gearslovingun (WYANDOTTE, MI) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this thinking that it would be fun like the good old days. Only cool part about it is when it remixes your songs off your hard drive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor Excuse for an SSX title

posted by Paykosys (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For those of us who remember the days of "SSX TRICKY"
be forwarned....While all of the characters are in this game they are in name only.

And the biggest dissapointment of the whole game is that there is no true multiplayer. EA's poormans excuse for mp is a ghosted representation of a friends run, and that is all you compete against along with the AI.

If you're looking for the SSX we all remember stay with the PS2 version of the game. Otherwise this is just AMPED with a slight SSX feel.

Save the $60 dissapointment and rent it then send it back for another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible version of SSX

posted by cyberevolution (BELMONT, CA) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I LOVED the original versions on the PS2 and I was super excited to see if finally coming out on the current gen consoles. However, after receiving it and playing it for the weekend, I had to send it back completing only about 20% of the game. This version has simply just lost the "magic" of the originals. It's too complex, the characters are too shallow and the gameplay too erratic. This version simply loses the charm and the "coolness" of the original. a big FAIL in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not as good

posted by da_mesikan (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) May 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

game play is alot harder than the previous SSX games. my 9yr old son was so frustrated that he could barely make it down the hills.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Isn't The Same

posted by airwalker810 (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To anybody that played the original SSX games for PS2, stay away from this game. They tried to make it more realistic... in an SSX game. They have all the crazy tricks, but without the crazy levels to play on. Not to mention they went lazy on the trick names. Before, when you did a Misty 1080, it had its own nickname, now... Its just a Misty X 4. How utterly boring. To be perfectly honest, it takes me out of the game when I'm doing a quadruple backflip method air, down a 'relatively' regular mountain. Bring back the ridiculous levels where I'm snowboarding through a city after an avalanche or a techno pinball machine in Tokyo, and I MAY pick up the next game. In addition bring back standard races and trick challenges, this new format doesn't work. When I don't even win a race, it says that I was successful... what? Maybe my nostalgia is getting the best of me, but overall, incredibly disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks!!!

posted by ZombeCiircus (DAVENPORT, IA) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I Was So Disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good with the bad

posted by maverick213 (CARY, IL) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game can be oh so frustrating. Mastering the tricks is a joy, the various slopes are a blast, the sound is good and the graphics are above average. However, want to play with your friends? Nope not going to happen you race ghosts. Want to customize your "own" character? good luck. Like having a camera that works? Well sometimes it does and others the camera fights you as much as the mountain side does, particularly if you get turned around. Like falling into onforseen holes? great cause you WILL do it, alot. Many times you launch trick it out only to find on your way down you are over the side of a cliff with no way to stop unless you "rewind".. This game is good but it could have been great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Online pass

posted by basketballrene (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I hate you EA. 7-8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse