Buy Resistance 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Resistance 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

6632 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really good but,ONLINE PASS!!!:(

posted by Had1983 (BUENA PARK, CA) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

52 out of 57 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Just got this game from REDBOX in the morning since gamefly didnt send me it out when i had and game slot open and this was still my top game....:( ah well... ive played it for over 7 hours non stop,and one word its amazing,seriously the best weapons ever thought of in a game series are in this game, the weapons are a blast to use and killing enemies with them is so much fun,

Now if you played resistance 1 and 2 ,you will notice they have polished this game out really well graphics are really nice and vibarant,not as good as kill zone 3 but upto the mark for sure.

Gameplay is so good,weapons are amazings and responsive,all sound amazing, story is good,plenty of drama and cut scenes and dramatic twist and turns so will keep you hooked.

i loved the Menu of this game,so much information and trophy information and all the journals and guides enemy information,,best menus ive seen in a long time.
Sound track is really good keeps the atmoshphere creepy and tense loved it so far,
Now the bad part comes...
ONLINE PASS...Yes this game has an online pass,this games multiplayer cannot be accessed unless u have the online code with costs about 10 bucks in the PS store which is not right come on,let me try the multiplayer first atleast and cap the level for people without a code like homefront did and other games ,then if i like it i will buy one,but no this game stick it up you to buy one and does accept u rented a game which is sad, might have resulted in me not buying the game since i dont know what the multiplayer is...SAD!!
Game also has a co op Campain mode so which allows u to play the story with a friend online with a pass.
Overall ill give this game a 8 out of 10 just on the basis of single player story mode, which is a really good score,havent and wont try out the mulitplayer which is a bummer but this is a must rent for FPS fans who own a PS3 and a might be a buy if i can sneek a look at the multiplayer
PS. 700 mb patch as soon as u insert the game be ready:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great gameplay, okay story.

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Sep 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent FPS. The game play is amazing and the graphics are wonderful, just what you'd expect from a Sony game. There was no excessive loading or any glitches that I had experienced.

The story line was sub-par in my opinion. There was no carry over from the first two installments and you are a different character in the same era in the same crisis. I have enjoyed all the Resistance games and they are a little better in my opinion than all of the COD and MOH type games. It is nice to have the nostalgia from the earlier time frame in America and to combined it with extra-terrestrials. It is still sad for me to know that the protagonist is a super human machine that can carry way too many weapons and ammo and be able to save not only the world, but the universe from a highly technologically advanced species.

I would highly recommend this game especially if you have played the first two titles. You can just jump right into Resistance 3 if you are new to the series, you will just be a little confused on some of the story elements when they are speaking about the protagonist from the first two titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not as good as what could have been!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is good like the title says but not as good as what they could have made it, after a little gameplay it gets repetative and the story isnt really up to par but it is a good shooter even if you havnt played the first two games you'll still be able to pick right up on this one. All and all it is good and fun I gave it a 7 I think you'll enjoy it it just sucks to know it's not what it coulda been!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An excellent game

posted by s3rgioru3las (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really easy to get into, challenging and just a great overall experience. I loved the game though it felt somewhat short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Underappreciated Gem

posted by biscuits01 (SAN RAMON, CA) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Resistance 3 is a unique and innovative callback to retro styles of shooting mostly reminiscent of the Doom franchise. Weapons are creative, environments are gorgeous (which is impressive when you're mostly underground) and most importantly you can carry more than 2 guns at a time. Thank Zeus for that says I.
I was considering purchasing this game until I noticed an online pass was required to access the multiplayer content and considering my passionate loathing for those $10 abominations to gaming I simply could not be a part of such a scam. At the end of the day, Resistance 3 is a blast and anyone who owns a ps3 should consider this a must have. Or at least a must try if it means not giving in to the online pass scheme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

4/5 Stars.

posted by Starvois (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i got the game i was very skeptical, I'm a C.O.D player (since C.O.D 4) and was looking for something to fill the void since most of the C.O.D games are well, getting stale. So naturally when i got the game i was hoping for something that would be comparable to Call of Duty...

First things first, this completely (pardon my French) Destroys Call Of Duty! (in my opinion)

Graphics are amazing, extremely balanced, wonderful game play! i have no idea why i haven't been on board with the whole resistance series!

My only complaint (very minor) is that there is almost no aspect of stealth, and the interface is dull at best. Also if you have ever played Halo your in for a treat! the main game play mechanics are very similar. For that reason i say that this game is amazing but still just a First Person shooter, and you can (& should) expect it to not be perfect. The best way i can describe it as is: An amazing game...out of the average FPS genre.

Worth looking at if you are interested in a nice balanced C.O.D alternative!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome FPS

posted by donofblue24 (BOZEMAN, MT) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of the resistance series. That being said, this is the best of them all. It utilizes the fan favorites of both R:FOM and R2, from the gameplay options, such as the weapons circle from FOM, to the weapons, like the .44 HE Magnum. Also, the game gets better with upgrades on the weapons as you level up with them. As always, the storyline is well thought through and keeps you enticed. There is a wide variety of unique bad guys, as well, including some humans. To top it off, the difficulty progresses as you move on in the game, with the Chimera fighting more and more tenaciously as you move along. The only problem I had with this game is the inability to play it online to do connection issues, but that was a PlaystationNetwork issue. Therefore, without playing the game online, I restrain from giving it a full 10, but I'm sure that it would come close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game rocks

posted by superhitman18 (SPRING HILL, TN) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have been a big fan of the resistance series.Resistance3 has few areas that you go to like New york and more.this game is the best resistance game i have played but i hate that they changed the main person in the game but after all he would become one of the chimeran soon or later but it is a great game with the new main person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a Great Game!

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Even though I couldn't go online (because I rented it) I had a blast running around removing the Chimaera (sp?) A slew of weapons that all have a unique, fun style; a host of grenades that are intuitive about being thrown; and the combat is super-tight, and never feels dull, or "brownish-grey" I loved the beautiful sets, the character models never glitched through a wall, and the storyline was interesting enough to keep me from skipping through, just to go kill more stuff. You get a giant taser, a freeze gun, rocket launcher, several machine guns, an awesomely powerful revolver with explosive rounds, A shotgun that sets people on fire, a gun that turns stuff into a walking viral bomb, I could go on, but the weapons are only half the fun. Seriously, check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and frustrating sci-fi shooter

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Apr 11, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Resistance 3" changes things up a little from the previous installments. With Nathan Hale gone, we now play the man who killed him. Joseph Capelli is a soldier with a wife and son, and his story is a bit more personal one. The game takes you on a cross country trek in the fight against the Chimera, who are now spread throughout the United States. Controls are fairly tight, though running and melee combat can be clumsy at times. There's a wide variety of guns to choose from, and they all work fairly well for their task. Even on the easiest setting ammo and health can be hard to come by in spots, adding both a layer of tension to the game as well as making these frustrating when you're being overwhelmed by hordes of enemies. You mostly fight alone, so the hordes can test your patience. Even with this, there is a level of satisfaction to be gained for coming through a battle. Gameplay is varied, with fights through a town's streets, from a boat on a debris choked river, and from a moving train. This game really could've benefited from a save anywhere feature, but the savepoints aren't too bad. Still, you will die plenty, and replaying sections can get annoying, though it does seem that the game senses if you're having a hard time, and modifies itself after four or five deaths. The enemy AI is well done but sometimes it feels like they're cheating, as their shots always seem to find you. Combat is chaotic, and things can get confusing as to where you proceed next. Again, this adds and detracts from the game at the same time. Voice acting is decent, though not outstanding, and the music suitably sets the mood. Graphics are fairly well done, though you do occasionally get hung up on the scenery. The game's 20 chapters will take you about 10 hours or so, depending on your skill with shooters, so it's of decent length. I only played the solo campaign, but multiplayer is reputed to be done well, though it requires an online pass. Definitely worth a rent at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Sfx (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of the resistance game series, but resistance 3 was just awesome, a little different from the past two game but new character and different stories happening along the way was just a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Resistance Yet

posted by MikeHoncho42 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Resistance: Fall of Man was the challenging and dark original; Resistance 2 was the action packed sequel; Resistance 3 is all of the above. 3 is the culmination of the Resistance series and has everything a Resistance fan can want.
I'll start with the story and graphics. The story is very good and focuses a lot on the characters. I thought I could never play someone other than Hale after the first two, but Joe Capelli is a great soldier turned family man. The story is also the darkest, bleakest and sometimes, most disturbing, yet in the series. About halfway through the game, a certain main character's death is one of my most chilling gaming moments ever. The setting is great. The frozen wasteland of New York left me eager to explore, and the Grim infested small Pennsylvanian mine town had me running for my life. Graphics are great, but, cliche alert, are not as good as the benchmarks set by Killzone and Crysis. They're good, but if you've experienced better, they won't blow you away. I thought the cut scene lip synching was off, but the cut scenes are still really good.
The Gameplay is more of the same fun from the other games, but improved. The gun wheel and health bar is back, something that is VERY welcome after Res 2. The guns feel tighter and are more fun to use. Some of the new guns are incredibly fun (The Mutator) but other's will quickly fall out of use (The Atomizer).
Multiplayer is of the same quality as before, but more streamlined and focused, because the player count is lowered. I liked this because in the previous game's multiplayer, it was just to hectic for me. You of course need an online pass (which I hate), but it's worth buying.
Overall, this is the best Res game yet, and I recommend going out and buying it today; if you are a fan of the other 2, this one will blow you away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Can't play rental online without $9.99 pass

posted by ratandjmt (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This was a very good game. I played through on normal and took about 10-12 hours to finish.

If you are going to rent to play online think again. I thought I would at least be able to get to level 5 or something but you can't even log into the PSN unless you purchase the $9.99 online pass.

Lack of multiplayer for a rental is a complete failure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I swear I just Dont get tards that do reviews

posted by Asoberprep (WILTON MANORS, FL) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

How this only got a 7.7 and some games that get a 9 are nowhere as good as this one. Period this game is the best F.P.S. shooter I've played in a long time. Entertaining, solid, and the most important part FUN>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

meh

posted by dante5d (VENTURA, CA) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Decent game, i didnt feel it was as up to par as previous installments; a def. rent but no where near a buy.

Gameplay: It wasn't presenting anything new to the genre but the variety of elements and environment kept things interesting. I loved the fact they brought back a few of the weapon fav.'s from previous resistance games and the new weapons were a happy surprise. I really hated all the cheap elements they stole from other games which really didn't add any redeeming qualities.

Story: I really wanted to get into the story as much as i did in the previous installments but their just wasn't enough substance and the fact that the facial rigging/voice syncing were just ridiculously bad didnt help either....

Graphics: Graphics were up to par but not spectacular and like i said previously..... the facial rigging and voice syncing were horrendous, i really wish i could have skipped cut scenes....

Overall it was a fun quick play through but not as spectacular as people have made it up to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by WVUGambler5676 (ASHFORD, WV) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The third installment of R3 hails no comparison to R2. Sure the weapon wheel allows you to carry all the guns in the game at once but there are no epic boss battles in this game. The biggest boss battle is with a spider-like hybrid that is extremely easy to kill and to beat it all, it comes back as the last boss in the game (but not the end of the game, just the last boss battle) with the same level of difficulty. To beat it all, the ending is one of the worst endings i have ever seen in a game or even in a movie.
On a side note, i REALLY enjoyed the upgrades for the weapons and the weapons themselves. So its not totally a bad game but it is a really repetitive game. On top of that, it is a really short game. I was able to beat it in 8 hours and that was me taking my time. The second time i beat it, it only took me 6 hours.
Sadly, i bought the game instead of waiting the month or two it would take me to get it through Gamefly. I regretted making that decision as soon as i beat the game. So i thought about selling it to game fly since ive had it for only one day but Gameflys offer for trade in was only $17.50 n i just paid $60 some for it. so i guess i am stuck with it :(. My advice, RENT IT!!!!!!! DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE BUY THIS GAME!!!! It is a total waste of money! Don't get me wrong, it is a fun game but not $60 some dollers worth of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Masterpiece! As for the frickin' online pass...

posted by Centauri (MCKINNEY, TX) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

SINGLE PLAYER

The very best in the Resistance series, an absolutely delightful FPS experience. Beautiful, thoroughly evolved graphics, tight, sharp controls, amazing balance and pacing, and tons and tons of "WOW" moments. Capelli is not Hale, and who cares? Good storyline, great characters, and excellent plot developments.

I give this game component a PERFECT 5.

MULTIPLAYER

Seriously, Sony, Insomniac, a gamepass for $10? This is a clear shot across the bow aimed at the game rental industry. Well, I am doing my part by NOT buying the damned thing, NOT trying out the multiplayer, and NOT giving a rat's behind. There are so many multiplayer shooters out there, that it is not even funny.

I give this game component a PERFECT 0.

Shame on you, Gamefly, for not including a disclaimer on the product description.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't resist, plat the game!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Sep 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

The Resistance franchise has always been about showing us a gritty, dark world backed up by awesome gameplay and story. And the third entry is the best yet. Having thoroughly enjoyed both previous titles, I was really looking forward to number three. And it doesn't disappoint. The graphics are great, not quite on the same technical level as Killzone 3, but they fit the premise. But can sometimes be a bit bleak. The weapon wheel is back and better than ever, which was my biggest complaint about the 2nd game; so its great having it back. I was a bit worried how they were going to handle the protagonist switch after the end of R2, but I actually really like Joe. He's a bit more human, (obviously) than Hale, and has a good cause to fight for; his family. And you feel his distress when he leaves them. The guns have always been a shining point of the franchise, and R3 is the best yet. Featuring revamped guns from previous titles, and tons of new ones. There's also a gun upgrading feature which is awesome; more you use a gun, it upgrades. Everything about the Resistance franchise is back, but I can't rate multiplayer because of the stupid online pass. My only complain is that not all guns are real helpful, so you tend to stick to a set few and the frame-rate drops a bit when I throw grenades into big groups of enemies.

Pros: Great graphics and environments. Enemies are menacing as always, and the guns even more so. Each gun handles well, and the characters, (there's only a few) are likable and fit the world you're in. And Joseph is a great protagonist, just as good as Hale.

Cons: Some minor frame-rate hiccups, not all guns match others in usefulness. Some old-time favorite guns are missing from your arsenal. Sometimes bleak graphics.

Overall, Resistance 3 is the best of the franchise, good story, good weapons, great gameplay and set pieces. It's defiantly worth your time. Its combined the best of both first games and compiled them into one, epic entry for the franchise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Need Online Pass?

posted by belowradar (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was in the beta and really enjoyed the MP aspects that they added to this game. Had I known that I needed a stupid online pass to play this game online I would've never ever rented this game from Gamefly. Gamefly needs to be more proactive on letting their subscribers know what's going on with a game not just putting it up and letting a gamer find out when they get it to play. I pay enough to have a subscription I don't want to pay $10 more to play it online and if I did I just would've bought the game. Way to make a play for more money Insomniac. Had I enjoyed the MP enough I would've bought the game from here but right now I'm just gonna beat the SP and send it back.

Sweet melt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this is stupid

posted by newborn06 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If ur a person who just wants to rent for single player then this is a must but if ur look for a muiltplayer to play also do not pick this one up. just buy... There is a fee to play which this is getting to be really stupid with all these companys chargeing to play online.

P.s i think gamefly should lable those games which require a fee to play...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible, boring, story. FUN GUNS

posted by stinger7491 (LYNN, MA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I only played the game when my buddy came over. Rating is for story. WHAT A DRAG. We literally didnt listen to a bit of the story it was so boring. The guns, and enemies were super fun tho.

Will never purchase this game nor any other game that doesnt allow for at least a multiplayer TRIAL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok, I guess...

posted by petergro9 (MARICOPA, AZ) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After the ending of Resistance 2, I had high expectations for the next release. I almost bought it when it came out. The story is kind of boring, and multiplayer is unavailable for GameFly members. I refuse to pay $10 to play multiplayer on a rented game. Resistance 2 multiplayer could carry up to 60 players, and Resistance 3 features a huge downgrade at 16 players max. The campaign does provide eye popping settings and suspenseful adventures, but it could have been much better. At some points, you find audio journals of a character you just interacted with. Even worse, these journals are in remote, dark places where "no one comes out alive." Happy I rented it first!! I may buy it for the multiplayer when the price comes down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Resistance 3

posted by soulpatch (FARGO, ND) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Resistance is a long running and, in my mind; an ever improving series. Insomniac seems to have learned not only from their own work but from other AAA developers. The new game engine provides for some seriously epic moments. Modern graphical effects have worked their way in as well with an excellent depth of field effect along with a spot on motion blur that really immerses the player in the action and generates a chaotic feel that reminds us that this is after all, war. Intense and well paced the campaign will stick out in my mind for some time. Being a shooter the guns rightfully take center stage! Guns are upgradeable with use so finding your favorites and blastin away is a delight. The Ratchet and clank developer really nailed it with the 3rd iteration. I kept playing just to see how bad a!! my guns would become. Gameplay wise this is definitely the tightest and most enjoyable resistance yet. Nearly every gun is unique and the secondary fire for each will have you jumping through the newly returned weapon wheel. No more hard decisions when it comes to weapon management. Sound is top notch as well with explosions and fellow resistance fighters booming at times and intense moments of eerie calm that you know is short lived. The AI is also improved though ocassionaly they will have moments of dementia and not realize they are being shot at, though these were rare. The story with its new protaganist does not disappoint and will see you traveling through beautiful and varied environments, although graphic edges feel a little muddy to me. Humanity is nearly conquered and the desperation is almost palpable at times, often being reminded that in the fight you rely on others and they rely on you. You are mostly a one man army but you cant do it all alone. Awesome experience and it WILL find its way into my collection. New fans will be pleasantly welcomed, and old fans rewarded for their loyalty. Fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Insomniac Delivers Again

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Sep 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Resistance 1 was AWESOME.

Resistance 2 was good... but they screwed a lot of stuff up.

Resistance 3 fixes what it can and improves on everything overall.

Gameplay/Graphics/Design is all top notch of course.

The game still doesn't have it's feel of being in the past (unlike FOM) but it doesn't got bonkers like 2 where the game is supposed to be in the 1950's but plays like a futuristic Modern Combat shooter. Resistance 3 keeps it somewhere in between with a much more "wasteland-y" feel.

The towns and the people in them are much more interesting and involved than ever before. It's a much more personal story, although it's still disappointing that they killed Nathan Hale. And Capelli was lame in 2 but, I guess that's one of the things they tried to fix. He looks like the protagonist from Retribution now (and I wish he was) and he has a better personality this time.

The weapons are awesome. And the upgrade system is fantastic too.

I'm really enjoying this game. Highly recommended.

OH, and the multiplayer is some of the best out there!!!!! CO-OP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Your Basic Claw Game.

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As stated above this is a Claw game and by that I mean you're literally clawing to interest of finishing an incredibly repetitive game. I had a pretty decent interest level upon starting this title but by the end it had become so boring and uninteresting I was determined to finish it because I had already come too far. Resistance 2 was the better title of the trilogy and while this tried to come close it just wasn't up to par. As with the other resistance games it was the same enemy countless times again and then a few new ones introduced. The game's Boss battles with the gigantic creatures were easily what stood apart from the game but sadly other than that it all fades into the background over time and become forgetful....definately a rent but an extremely questionable buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse