Buy Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.3

5268 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not your Mother's Resident Evil...

posted by colony834 (WASHINGTON, DC) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...Or more likely, your older brother's that you used to play when you were younger. Anyways, certainly not the same type of game as Res Evil 0-5. No puzzles of any kind, abundant ammo, and no real frightening parts. BUT, I think the existing reviews for this game are harsh. It is true, the game can be a little mundane. Your computer controlled teammates' AI isn't THAT bad (however I don't think they will be getting any calls from MENSA) It is a lot of shooting, lots of run and gun. Some forced cover, which can get annoying. The story is a little weak, but I really enjoyed how they tied in the events of this game to Res 2 and 3. Zombies and others take an unbelievable amount of bullets to kill and the over the shoulder camera work is not the best in the run and gun, mow down everything in sight type of play.

A good game for someone looking for a new spin on the series and a decent shooter. Don't expect an award winner or a classic Res Evil, though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mixed feelings. Mostly leaning towards bad.

posted by j_460 (GONZALES, CA) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played all the old and new R.E games, so I was very curious about this game (despite the bad reviews). It feels like an average shooter game and the controls are on the clunky side. Is it unplayable? No but it can annoy you. For example, when you run out of ammo on your weapon in the middle of combat, it takes 2 taps on the left bumper to switch to your handgun (when it should only be 1 tap). It may not mean much right now but every second counts when you find yourself surrounded by zombies or B.O.Ws. Taking cover is also a pain in the butt because it is flawed. How? Well, it seems to only work when it wants to and you struggle with it throughout the game. It can take several taps on the A button before your character actually takes cover. A.I is also pretty bad but they're useful as they keep bosses off your back while you run around doing tasks (teammates always die). Graphics are a bit above average. If you play in Normal difficulty, you will find ammo and health everywhere. Sometimes it felt like I was playing Left4Dead because of the crazy tasks that you sometimes have to do. There are also U.S Government SPEC-OPS all over the place who you gotta fight and boy are they annoying as it gets repetitive. I gotta admit though. Spraying bullets at hordes of zombies and running into R.E characters was fun. Doesn't hurt renting if you're curious about it but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

posted by metalmaniac1980 (HEBRON, IN) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

43 out of 56 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I like what capcom did, I was actually excited about the game however there are hits and misses here. I would recommend the game, it has challenge to it, but lets get to the good, the bad, and the ugly.

The Good
- Multiplayer campaign and just online versus modes keeps things interesting. I enjoy the XP ranking system to unlock weapons as well as the ability to pick up weapons along the way when you will run out of ammo. Fits well with the RE storyline of Raccoon City from RE 1 and 2.

The Bad
- I guess Capcom to keep things interesting makes everything a bullet-sponge on Veteran and higher. the hit detection is okay, but enemies take on way too much damage especially landing mulitple headshots.
- Sprinting and trying to pick up items, well I guess thats why they have a "combat" dive.

The Ugly
- Capcom failed in my opinion with their NPC (non-playable character) teammates. While it is cool to have a "team" they bumble around aimlessly and are too inconsistent in helping allowing enemies to get easy attacks on you while simply spectating the action. Other times they engage relentlessly and get destroyed leaving you one on many, or they just get in the way and you end up wasting ammo putting it into their heads instead of zombies. I hope a patch comes out again for this fix.

Other than that this game I would recommend for any Resident Evil fan or even someone new. If you're a newcomer to Resident Evil, it won't make much sense, but still a great storyline. Its a new take on the series and one that can be catchy. I rank a 7 because of abilities and replay. Game is challenging, but I'd revamp the A.I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ehh It was okay

posted by Zimmermann (LANGFORD, SD) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

59 out of 82 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Like everyone says, it had alot going for it, but then again, people shouldn't put so much hype on a game with a new twist. That happened with Duke Nukem and I thought that game was alright too because it was a classic style shooter and not all of this CoD aiming, but that's beside the point. ORC is a Resident Evil game for Resident Evil fans, to me. The graphics are decent, but nothing to brag about. The voice acting was at least better than RE1 (lol). Anyone who bought this without experiencing the other RE games definitely made a mistake and should just wait for a fully Capcom made RE game (Resident Evil 6) because Slant Six made this, Capcom only funded it and licensed it, So I think all of these 1-4 ratings are completely exaggerated and people need to calm down. This game wasn't perfect, but it isn't trerrible. The only AI that is completely terrible is your AI partners, the other AI is okay at best, How do you solve this problem? Play co-op! People just need to lower their expectations a bit. There's alot of onscreen enemies (not Dynasty Warrior amount) and the AI is most likely stuck trying to decide whether to kill you or the zombies and the zombie are stuck between you and the miltary. So cut this game some slack because if you were in this situation, you honestly wouldn't know who to kill and your overconfidence won't save you.

So if your an RE fan: Get it
If you only play Cod or have a total of 10 or less Xbox games that don't have any RE other than 5: Don't Get! Rent it

I've played more than my fair share of games (217) on my xbox and I have seen some bad games (DMMM: Elements, KUF: Circle of Doom, Duke Nukem: Manhatten Project).

So don't base rent or buy completely on others' reviews, go buy your own review. If you like it, who cares what others think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not terrible, just very flawed

posted by KamenRiderZero (KEENE, NH) May 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

21 out of 29 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

as a Resident Evil fan who could never get the classic "tank" controls, I had high hopes for Operation Raccoon City. Unfortunately, it's a giant mess.

1) AI partners are brain dead morons. They will run into walls, run into your gunfire, run into fire, and die a lot. They also rarely heal themselves or you.

2) even on casual, enemies feel like cheap overpowered bullet sponges

3) AI cannot revive you, so if you aren't playing multiplayer be prepared to see "You Are Dead" on screen constantly.

4) glitches aplenty

5) pressing the A button while sprinting will make your character dive awkwardly to the ground, which gets real irritating real fast when you want to grab a green herb to heal

6) just feels unpolished

7) unable to upgrade mid-level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME LIES NO SPLIT SCREEN

posted by Neko1337 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

2 player co-op no longer reffers to split screen 2 player in gamer terms. thats BS. I think companies should HAVE to put ONLINE by the multiplayer on the box. Putting 2 playes anywhere on the box when the game does not have split screen is FOUL AND MISLEADING. Thank you game fly, i would have been furious if this had been a purchase and not a rental.. haahahah. I'm gonna go re-play Rez 5. Cant wait for 6. >_<

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid co-op but may disappoint RE fans

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Mar 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Slant 6's unique take on RE plants you in the shoes of the enemies you normally kill. You're gonna want to rent/buy RE:ORC for the 4P co-op campaign and 4-8P online MP modes...simple as that. There are 6 unique characters for you to develop, and here's a brief description of each classe abilities:

The ASSAULT class gives you damage boosts & body armor and give improved power and aim. SURVEILLENCE allows you to see enemies, secrets, and zombies on a radar along with spotting thru walls. RECON is about stealth, camoflauge, quietness and moving fast. MEDIC can carry more sprays and resists, spawns with health, etc. SCIENTIST can poison others, resist poison, see enemy weakspots. DEMOLITION is ammune to explosives and can plant trip mines & wires, etc.

These deep and customizable classes all carry over XP through every single mode. So you really have 6 guys to completely level up and experiment with new strategies. BUT....if you don't have human allies to play with during co-op, the campaign takes a dive. Some boss battles are brutal.

Good thing the multiplayer is good, and that was my favorite part. Each mode like team attack (TDM), bio-hazard (Capture flag), etc. have maps filled with zombies also... So you have to avoid/kill zombies, but also kill the other team's members. So the strategy of when to shoot, when to kill or run from a zombie, etc. are awesome.

The addition of the team attack mode alone made this game worth it's weight. Do you shoot a swarm of zombies to give away your spot on the radar, or try to run away? Do you sprint (which gives away your position) or do you creep like a zombie to blend in? You can also choose from like 50 guns also, so you can run'n gun or snipe or shotgun in camoflauge.

Slant 6 more than delivered a solid third-person shooter, but RE fanboys will cry no doubt at the significant changes here and lack of any RE plot. Just wait for RE6 already in dev. to get that.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing!!!!

posted by Samwam13 (RENO, NV) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Awful game, I am so glad I rented this game over buying it. I've been a resident evil fan for years and I can hardly believe they could make such a waste of time. I would describe this game as left for dead mixed with awfulness. Just save your time and energy for a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as I hoped

posted by LookAtThisClown (WESTLAND, MI) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was excited upon reading about this game, then I played it.

First off the story is fun though short. It's neat to see the events during RE:2&3 from yet another perspective. The controls aren't the best but they're manageable.

If you play campaign by yourself be prepared for some very annoying AI at times because you have to have 4 people through the entirety of the game, there is no controlling the AI and they love to die.

Didn't play much multiplayer so i won't say anthing much about that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City review

posted by samurai_kyo45 (THORNTON, CO) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I kind of had high hopes for this game but after playing it all I could say is part 5 is still better then this.

Good
You play as the bad guys and run around in the city.

The crossover of resident evil 2 and 3

Bad
You can unload large amount of bullets on an enemy and it feels like your not doing any damage to them.

The hit ratio makes me mad a guy hinds behind a box you unload on him and you don't hit him on the dot even with a sniper rifle.

The lickers and hunters takes forever to bring down wich i don't really like.

Your A.I. partners are useless the A.I.'s in left for dead are more helpful then your umbrella partners.

The perks for your teammates I wish they could been more better there are maybe one or two you would only like.

Overall this game I have to say I would blow only $20 for this game just for a collectors. The only other way how they could make this game better if they fix most of the stuff i say I didn't like. Give or take this game i figure they made it for online play now I would like to see what they are going to do for the gold edition for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by XxCrOwXx66 (ELMIRA, NY) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The story is rather short with little reason to replay it for any reason besides the fact it's a good retelling of the original story and it has a huge xp payout. The graphics may not be as good as crysis 2 or bf3 but they are still very good. The sound is very resident evil the zombies hunters lickers and tyrants all sound as they should. The AI is NOT as bad as people try to make them out to be. And as for the gameplay well it is not resident evil 5 and it doesn't pretend to be this is purely a zombie filled tactical shooter. The multiplayer is among the best as far as 3rd person shooters go just don't expect to be pulling tactics from CoD as running into a team of 2 or more enemys at one on your own will often end in your death or your withdraw. The only gripe I have with this game is how they don't give us the spec ops story yet as the story will roughly take 4-5 hours depending on how fast you run through the missions. All in all a good game and a welcome addition to the resident evil universe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by omnione (MARGATE, FL) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i actually thought the game was amazing.great concept.its nice to be the bad guys here and there. also the different attbutes each member has is awesome
only downfall is the short story mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been so much better.

posted by Destro (LAMBERTVILLE, NJ) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This might be a fun game with a group of friends, but it definitely won't last long. The storyline is fairly terrible, but it has its moments. Extremely disappointing ending, mainly because it could have been so much better.

If you really have no other games you want to rent, then give it a try, otherwise I'd consider getting something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not my favorite

posted by dfresh2k5 (AKRON, OH) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

i was not al all impressed with this resident evil game, i was upset with the fact that you can not play local multiplayer. i guess i am just a fan of the outbreak style games, really looking forward to res 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its SOCOM with RE characters and Zombies

posted by Robob (RUTLAND, VT) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The only way you will know this game's connection to the RE universe is because it says it on the cover, game plays like socom on PS3 with some resident evil characters slapped in and zombies running around.
Hit detection is off, guns lack power, AI is horrible, cover system is annoying, and its only bearable playing with a few friends, not worth it solo.
TLDR- Rent only if you love Resident Evil and return it when you feel dirty afterwards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

At least they tried something new

posted by ChuckD (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Got re orc today, jumped straight to multi-player was initially very impressed. controls feel pretty good(best of any RE to date) You move very naturally even moving into cover. finally you can move and shoot simultaneously. added sprint and a feature allowing you to snap around to any direction.
The first few games i played were pretty fun an experience like nothing else ive ever played

Loved the concept... now the not so good

after a few games you relize that it takes more than an entire clip to kill other human characters (more like 2-4 entire clips being very accurate focusing on the head) and you can only carry 120-150 rounds. so its impossible to kill 2 people without running off to find an ammo crate.
Character movement is really stiff meaning that when an enemy is strafing left and right in front of you they are very hard to hit, made worse by the 3rd person view and crazy auto aim system put in place to try and counter this.

so all in all, good idea... poor execution...

still worth a gamefly tho!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

even worse than i thought it would be

posted by monkeycat (BRANDON, FL) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

yeah, i thought this would be mediocre at best...what with fanboys on one side decrying it a classic and haters on the other side denouncing it as the worst resident evil ever. i was wrong: it's far from mediocre...its TERRIBLE! i have played every single resident evil game across every single platform so i am not saying this as a misinformed gamer either. (i even loved the much-maligned outbreak entries). this game, however, is a third-person, by the numbers, squad based shooter set loosely in the RE universe. that fact alone doesn't make it bad, it's the gameplay itself which makes it suck so bad. it just "feels" wrong, the movements, the shooting, the hit detection, the lack of ammo, the extra strong enemies, the cover system...everything. i couldn't play this long enough to get to the end but trust me, it sucks. i'm so glad i didn't plunker down the 70 bucks for the special edition like i almost did. don't waste you rental on this one, get syndicate instead, a mediocre shooter that's actually worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great for Resident Evil Series fans

posted by princessvannah (TECUMSEH, MI) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you are new to the series or looking for a third person shooter, this game is not for you. If you are looking for something new to satisfy your Resident Evil cravings and other longtime Resident Evil fans to play with, then go for it. You may not be too impressed with it, as it is not perfectly polished, but it is still a Rezzy game and has Rezzy characters. Most likely does not deserve a 10/10 rating, but I am a hige fan of Resident Evil and normally don't rate so high. So, pretty much, the game is enjoyable for fans, but not so much for the average gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What is this?

posted by Mrshutdown (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Really bad A.I., boring characters, short campaign, and forgettable multiplayer hurt this game. The concept sounds really good but the execution is not there. I'm glad i rented this because there was no way I would pay $60 for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Dead Aim

posted by MrCrypt (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

My Lord, this game is terrible. The Story is vastly thrown together in a blender. Your this squad looking for Leon, etc and something, can not have people to see stuff. I really do not know, the story was just terrible. Oh and the gameplay? Even worst. The game is very glitchly, a lot of screen tearing, bad lighting and just overall BAD. The online is almost as bad, I did not even want to spend my time playing it that much online. Overall, the game is bad. I had it for a day, BEAT it in under 3 hours and sending it back for something else. I would pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hopes Dashed

posted by nicksakk (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2004

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this but its an average game. The graphics are blurry and so is the sound. The game-play is smooth but weapons feel very weak. Of coarse the voice acting sucks. Just average but a lot better with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game! Don't waste your time!

posted by gotrice66 (ROSAMOND, CA) May 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Camera angles bad, control bad, story goofy but I could only stomach about 45 minutes into game before turning it off. First boss hit me once, and I couldn't recover because as I got up he would swing again before I regained control knocking me down again. It was like an old nintendo glitch, except I was the guy getting beat up. First time played and is already sealed up and going back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

too little too late

posted by JustaBird2 (NOVATO, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

+ interesting concept
interesting MP modes
decent progression tree
Looks like RE

- dated
controls feel like glue
horrible ai
no squad commands

From the team that made socom i would think there would be tactical focuses and squad commands. This game might have worked when RE was a slow moving game but now that they are action games it just falls flat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don't play this expecting a classic Resident E

posted by Robert9211 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fun one time through, I suppose nothing special. Game is short and very disappointing. AI is completely worthless it seems at times.. much easier with a squad of friends. Multiplayer couldn't keep me interested but what the heck it's worth a rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

RE

posted by bob1234 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am only giving it a 4 because I have a been a fan of anything resident evil but I must say this game is pretty bad the A.I. is completley worthless and dumb not so much for them helping you kill things, but for the simple fact they stand in the doorway for 5 minutes and wont let you leave and constantly get in your way. I know they were trying to go a different direction with tihis game but man did they screw the pooch on this one, I really hope RE6 goes back to its roots that everyone loved and what made me become a RE fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse