Buy Resident Evil 5 for PS3
view large frontback

Resident Evil 5

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

14291 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just shy of Perfection

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

83 out of 100 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Having a game come off the back of Resident Evil 4, one of 2005's greatest titles, is a huge thing to live up to. RE5 pushed the envelope with this installment. Capcom assured certain fear of both peircing light and pure darkness. Before you get going, you'll notice the controls are the same as Resident Evil 4. A simple and, at times, frustrating control scheme. As a personal preference, I would have liked being able to walk AND shoot at the same time.
The danger of the enemy is not in their smarts, but in their numbers. The infected will not always shuffle along; they come in all different speeds. At some points, an Infected villager will sprint at you to catch you off guard. The hit detection is amazing. Shooting an enemy in the arm or hand will cause them to drop their weapon. A few shots in the leg will make them kneel down - setting up a close combat opportunity. It did seem that in order to pull off a head shot, an enemy needs to be shot on the very top of the head; A shot in the face is no good. Mini-bosses are scattered in every level. These guys are tough. You may not beat them the first few times. Chris and Sheva can swap supplies at any time, as long as they are near each other. The only problem being the inventory menue which pops up in the middle of the screen. The game will continue while you choose your supplies, so make sure all enemies are dead. Luckily the D-pad allows for some on the fly switching. Levels are more open, so check your back. Sheva is always vigilant and will toss you ammo, and heal you when needed, but cannot be strategized with. This makes the final boss more than incredibly hard. While the game looks and plays on spectacular levels, I didnt find myself very scared while playing in the daylight. Its not a bad thing, but it may not make diehard fans feel at home. Double check every shot, each Bullet is precious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by ihatesims (LINCOLN, NE) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Resident evil 5 is probably one of my favorite games in the resident evil line. First off for those of you who say it's impossible to beat on easy, it's really not that hard. Knife is for boxes, or when ammo is useless (like zombies climbing in trough windows). If you take the time to explore the time around you should be fine.
Now as far as Sheva is concerned, she isn't really that bad. During a boss fight she will be helping you out the best she can. And it is better then nothing.
Graphics always amazing. they did a great job showing how beautiful Africa is.
Game play. Fun, there was a great world to explore. Zombies were always fun to shoot.
Story line. Usual but it works. I did like the plot twists it held.
Weaponry. Loved it
Online game play could have been a little better. But it's not the makers fault. it's the people playing.
And i do like the fact that weapons stay from one game to the next.
All in all this game is awesome. I recommend this to just about anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ITS GREAT FOR NEW RESIDENT EVIL PLAYERS

posted by megaman213 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Personally I have never played any of the other resident evil games and this was the first one I have played. I have got to tell you this game is awesome not only does it have very awesome boss battles and the weapons almost make it flawless. Not only do the zombies look great but the levels are breath taking. Plus the felling of punching a zombie is great. Along with amazing graphics it comes with a awesome story line. SO IF IT IS YOUR FIRST TIME PLAYING THE RESIDENT EVIL SERIES THEN I WOULD GREATLY URGE TO GET THIS ONE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not much has improved since #4

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Mar 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

42 out of 58 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Before I get into detail why I did not give this game a 9 or 10, let me just set the record on the graphics and sound. Really, this game is a prime example of what these next-gen systems can do. Truly outstanding art design, followed by an eerie soundtrack, and some of the most amazing shoot outs any adventure game can have. However, beneath all the glitz and glamor, this series still suffers from horrible controls that sometimes border on the frustrating. The over the shoulder camera is ok and you can adjust to see all around you. But the "tank" like control scheme that the series is famous for is not ideal for a game this action heavy. When you have enemies swarming from all sides, you need to be able to move better. It would have helped if we can get some kind of heads up as to where the zombies are. Many a times, I found myself backing up into enemies to be able to get enough shots in to the ones in front. And also the ability to not move when shooting seriously adds to the frustration level when you have a maniac running at you full speed with a chainsaw! Furthermore, a game that is so action heavy should not be hampered by lack of ammo. Some of the times I found myself needlessly running around searching for ammo or taking it from my partner. Yes, in this game you have a constant companion who helps solve the occasional puzzle and joins in the zombie killing fun. Your partner has her own inventory system that you can manage and tap into should you need something. If your online, you can have someone join your game and play in co-op mode, which I thought was way cool. The inventory system is almost identical to #4 and the same goes for how you purchase and upgrade weapons. Some great boss encounters and some genuinely scary moments make this Resident Evil worth the investment if your a fan as there is much to discover and worth playing through a few more times. Those new to the series best rent it first. Overall, a great game with some minor control issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Nice, High replay value.

posted by Lee117 (NEW BERN, NC) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When i played the demo of Resident evil 5 I thought, this game is way to scary and hard...i'll never get it. I had played Resident evil 4, and beat it so i had some experience in the series. Well for some reason i was in gamestop and i was about the buy little big planet when instead i got RE5, I sure am glad because while yes, it was hard (though in my opinion not as scary as 4) i beat it, and now i keep playing it over and over again. I recently bought the Versus mode and the mercanaries reunion off the playstation store. I dont think either is much to talk about because while battling other players its a grenade fest, so i would advise going against the GOLD Edition, but back to the replay value, you get diffirent guns and infiniti ammo for completly upgrading a weapon. Some new stuff is guns that i can recognize like AK-47, MP5, Dragunov Sniper, Desert Eagle, and something that looks like a M16, so in my opinion i would rent the game and see if it fits you, and buy it if you like it :) Plus the CO-OP is amazing (which is probably why its not as frightning, knowing you have a partner you can sometimes rely on)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a dang good game

posted by Shonuff (ROCKY MOUNT, NC) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Many say it just resident evil 4 with newer graphics. that is true but last i heard that was the best game of 2005, the game is a mix breed adding survival horror with an shooter, to compare to any other shooter would be wrong because there is more to do the run kill run (gears much anyone).I remember old resident evil games and wanted more action and they have delivered. the controls aren't hard to get use to. not being able to run while shooting adds to the tension and adds a little strategy to the mix. If your a fan of R.E its a must if your mad its not an great action game remember its not, if want that then there always FIFTY blood on the sand

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RE5

posted by dennisei (WOODSTOCK, CT) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

At the risk of being biest, I LOVED THIS GAME!!!!
I loved the story mode,the new game +,The Mercenaries mode,all the little things you can get in the bonus features,like the figurines and the infinate ammo.The only thing I have against this game is I beat it in about 2 and a half days,I just wish it was longer.And given the way it ends I am under the impression that the next game won't be as potent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best EVIL to date!!!!

posted by evil1evil (ATTALLA, AL) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome.The graphics and gameplay are a 10(a little upset I could only play this in 720P and my buddy who has an Xbox gets to play it 1080p).Other than that I have no complaints.I finished the game a few hours ago and loved it.The boss battles are epic and the controls only took a little while to get used to-I got used to playing 4 on my Wii-a lot easier,just point and shoot.Anyway, all the complaining about not being able to run and shoot,I just didn't get.If you'r a real fan of this series you'll know YOU COULD NEVER RUN AND SHOOT in any of the RE games(besides the survivor games).Running and shooting takes away from the suspence of it in my opinion(NOT TRUE IN DEAD SPACE though).The story in this one is by far the best in the series.The buddy system in the game is also a plus-thought I'd hate it, wasn't too impressed with it in ZERO.Still miss the traditional slow moving zombies though!!!!Don't know about online play-haven't tried it, I don't like people enough to play with them online(lol).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad, but frustrating

posted by Thrillho (SAN MARCOS, TX) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I've always loved this series, but I just couldn't get into this one. There are no more zombies. The camera is problematic. You often find yourself struggling to see where you're going, often while running down narrow corridors from bad guys. Also, the camera's too close. Here's my biggest complaint: you hold the left stick + X to run. To turn/look left or right, you use the right stick + X. Since you can't do both of those at once, it makes it hard to run and look where you're going at the same time. Maybe they wanted to make it harder to run from enemies or something, but in reality, you can run and look where you're going at the same time. When I'm running in this game, I have to stop every time I want to turn left or right. It just annoyed me to death. On the other hand, production quality is as high as ever for this series. It looks as good as anything on PS3. I guess I just like the earlier games in the series better. If you loved R.E. 4, you'll probably like this one. If you had a frustrating time with 4, you'll be even more frustrated with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent gameplay, horrendous story

posted by RDGarrett (PINEVILLE, LA) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Decent gameplay, though most of its excitement is subdued by its unsurprising similarities to nearly all other Resident Evil titles.

Co-op mode is fun, refreshing, and ultimately the only worthwhile reason to play all the way through story mode.

Unfortunately, the "story" is the most substandard layer of Resident Evil 5. The plot is disjointed, lacking in any foundation of its own (outside that provided by previous titles and lackluster text files), led by one-dimensional primary characters and even worse secondary characters, and riddled with stilted, cheesy dialogue.

After Resident Evil 4, which was comparatively superb, this is quite the disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

too short, not scary, hot characters, cool weapons

posted by j3cruz (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of the resident evil series, but this game was too short and not as challenging as I would have liked to be. It was also a little annoying that my partner took some of my kills. They've made this game more action adventure than horror. In fact, I can't remember ever being really scared. It was non-stop action with almost no puzzles and the storyline wasn't as captivating as RE2 or RE4. Overall it was a visually stunning game and the main characters were hot. I like the weapons and I like being able to switch between them in mid combat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

And You Thought Zombies Were Scary....

posted by GameBo1 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its been more than 13 years since the first Resident Evil game and 4 years since Resident Evil 4, so what does Resident Evil 5 have to offer to the Survival Horror series?

Story: Anyone whos played previous R.E. game knows about Umbrella corp, and since R.E.4 its been collapsed and gone. Chris Redfield from R.E.1 and R.E.Code Veronica has been sent to Africa to investgate on a bioweapon terrrorists plan to use for control of the world. This biochemical known as Uroburros works like the Las Plagas from R.E.4, but its even more powerful. Alongside Chris is Sheva Alomar, a native to Africa hoping to cure her home from the deadly virus, Chris and Sheva work for the BSAA (Bioterrorism Security Assessment Alliance), Chris is from the North American branch, while Sheva works for the West African branch. Together they must find the source of the virus and put an end to it.

Gameplay:Gameplay has changed a lot since R.E.4, it still has the over-the-shoulder view along with the laser-sight and the action commands. However there are differences made. you no longer have a large attache case, and must rely on a small non-pausable inventory screen for Chris and Sheva, but swap out more items at every completed level. The shooting mechanics work the same as R.E.4, but people still wish that you can move and shoot at the same time.

Graphics:When R.E.4 appeared on the GC, it was glorious and still looks good to this day. R.E.5 simply looks amazing. The characters look almost like real people, the enviroment and texture look firghting look realistic and even little things like rain, smoke, and dust stand out great. The graphics engine pushes what the PS3 and 360 can really do. Gamers will awe with the same feeling.

Replayability:After beating the game, you'll want to back and get the new unlockables. You can unlock features such as Chris' STARS uniform and screen filters, or you can re-enter the fray with a friend.

Overall, R.E.5 is worth the buy and the price. 9.4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but I Expected Too Much

posted by metajerk (HORSEHEADS, NY) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is great, don't get me wrong, but it's not as I expected. I dislike the controls; I feel that they stifle the action in the game. This is especially tedious when I want to move around, but can't, as I aim my weapon. Everything seems slow and inconsistent while aiming or armed with the knife. I think the controls, all types, could be better planned.

I love the graphics and utilizing the partner is a bonus. In a pinch, having your partner there to kick or punch away an enemy is most cool. An added bonus is having a live person pop in to take over as your partner via the internet. A human partner is much more reliable and quick to react. However, that can cause some frustration too if you're not as "good" as your partner wants you to be (or you think they should be).

Over all, the game is really fun and has some exciting moments, but there isn't as much freedom as in RE4. I consider RE4 the best game in the franchise. After playing RE5, that remains unchanged. So, RE5 is fun but lacks in fluidity and intensity. I had much higher expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow you people are dumb

posted by BioBen (HANFORD, CA) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

First of all let me just say everyone who rated this lower then an 8 is messed up in the head and obviously has no skill at playin a game, how can you hate the stationary shooting when all you've ever known about resident evil games is stationary shooting. Its much more evolved then when resident evil first started and all you could do was fire blankly because you heard a nois. I was ready to write off all resident evil games afeter play zero for the gamecube but then 4 came out and it was amazing, and i was crushed when they said 5 wouldnt be for the wii but thankfully i got a ps3. Now its not as good as four as far as story and unique style but it is still miles aheadof other shooters, the only downside is the nine spaces you get for items and how incredibly stupid your partner gets as you raise the difficulty, also how easy it is to get infinate ammo and once you get it how simple the levels get but still i love playing it even though i beat it

Its a near perfect game and i want to see leon back in number 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One word "AWESOME!"

posted by concem01 (LEESBURG, VA) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is a shooter game that is the most game I have played, since God of War 2. I love the fact that the upgraded weapons can be carried over to a new game, with an option to get unlimited ammo after fully upgrading the weapon.

I personally love the "gatling gun" Once you have it, it can really do a lot of damage. I must have finished the game 5 times so far and I am still hooked on playing the game to update all of my weapons.

This particular game feature reminds me of Ratchet & Clank: Tools of Destruction. I was also hooked on upgrading all my weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Solid Shooter, Nothing More

posted by Suggs22vt (ROANOKE, VA) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

16 out of 28 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil 5 lives up to the hype... if your a Resident Evil fan. However, I do have some issues with this game which I will discuss below.

The Good:
1. The game is beautiful. I'd put this on par with Metal Gear Solid 4 as far as graphics go.

2. The new "style" of enemy in this game is a fresh chance of pace from the slow creeping zombies from the early Resident Evils.

3. Being able to buy weapons after a mission and upgrade your weapon is a cool addition to this game.

4. Co-Op mode is great if your playing with another person.

The Bad:

1. Co-Op mode is horrible if your not playing with another person. The computer AI isn't great and Sheva ends up wasting more bullets then anything.

2. I'm a huge fan of the early RE games so this game seems a bit out of place for me. The enemies are cool but they're very difficult to kill which seems to be a bit unrealistic for me. One headshot doesn't kill them like in previous Resident Evil games.

3. The controls are very limited and you can only access your menu in real time... so switching guns when you run out of ammo is frustrating since you can't hit the Start button anymore and do it without the fear of being hit in the head with a giant ax. Also, most of the controls are the same that they used back on PSone with only a few upgrades... which means it won't even come close to any game thats out today. This is probably my biggest beef with the game.

However, in summary this game is still a good and fun game to play, especially if you have other people to play it with. If you are a Resident Evil fan, you will really enjoy this game but if your a person who has never played any of the Resident Evil games, you most likely will find certain points of this game very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

should have been better

posted by rambeau (PLACERVILLE, CA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Back when i played re4 i thought it was one of the best games i had ever played. So i expected re5 to be even better. however this was not so. they just took the same gameplay format with better graphics. they should have tried to improve on the gameplay. Your partner is annoying because she will either not shoot at all or waste ammo. An example of this is when an enemy is on the ground she will shoot him in the back until he dies instead of just using the knife. but if you play with a friend it is alot more fun unless that person is just as stupid. It was a game that i just lost interest in and stopped playing. overall the game is extremely disappointing and i am glad i did not spend 60 dollars on it. i recommend spending your time on a different game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Abandon the frozen combat platform..

posted by GotGame (MCKINLEYVILLE, CA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

11 out of 22 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

..and you would have an outstanding game. For some reason the developers felt that the original stiff, stationary, frozen combat stance would be continued as a "trade-mark." This poor choice of (feet unmovably nailed to the floor) combat took away from the story and graphics. Throw in some "God of War" style cinema/one hit button sequences and you have an O.K. game which clearly missed the mark of greatness. Having the latest game systems demands the latest in character movement abilities, I want to jump, spin, and run, while simultaneously shooting, not turned into a victim of Medusa's gaze.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big Let Down

posted by Nate0201 (DUMFRIES, VA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well for me Resident Evil has always been one of my all time favorite series and they just are slowly getting worse. The two player co-op forced play really ruined this for me I miss old classic RE the puzzle and thinking gameplay. I can buy any fps and it will have smoother controls and I can run around and mindlessly shoot things. The story was not even that great another thing lost in this game compared to past titles. The ending was so lame that I was going to give it a six but it ended up rating a four and I think that is generous. The graphics I will admit are very nice and you have a good range of weapons and it can be fun to give a zombie a nice uppercut to the chin. If you're a fan of older titles you most likely won't enjoy this game. If they decide to make another I hope they leave this gameply style and go with somehting new or with the classic sytle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exellent

posted by lchino (Morgan Hill, CA) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a very fun game mainly because of all the available weapons and all the damage you can do!! If it were possible i think the next resident evil shuld be alot like this exept we gamers should keep the ability to blow up zombie legs and arms... All in all Fun But Very Bloody!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hmmmmm

posted by apolm1 (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok let me slay this game right quick.....the original residents evils were so much better they were actually survival horror games. and ok so you ps3 and xbox only gamers aka the kids, who think lil wayne is the greatest rapper ever, need to listen up. this game just like 4 blow they are not original spins of the game, but yet then why are there still draw backs to the game such as you cant move and shoot....lame....its a shoot em up game now the old games you couldnt buy ammo and any stuff for that matter you had to be a true gamer.... ugh i am fed up with it lol sike this game is sick WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO but lil wayne isnt the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

VERY frustrating in-game control

posted by D1rtyyyy (METAIRIE, LA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

11 out of 24 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This was the first RE title that I played and I must say that I was quite frustrated and disappointed by the in-game controls. I love 3rd-person shooters (Gears2, Army of Two, 50Cent:BotS) as well as some FSP's as well (KZone2, Halo3, CoD4) but this game was not even close to those. The sluggish movement and slow-motion action was pittiful! I felt like I was trying to kill a 200 lb zombie with a freakin' BB-Pistol and the way the zombies walked around was like they were more drunk than undead!

This was a KEEP-IT until I played it then it was a SEND-IT-BACK! I was really siked to get it and I gave it 2 honest 1-hour attempts but I still hated it.
Sorry Capcom, but this was sub-par. Cool cut-scenes though. Save your $ and get LFD if you're a PC or 360 gamer. Otherwise, Killzone2 it!

D1rtyyyy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good game thats held by back somewhat slow AI

posted by 666Lildemo (NORTH VERNON, IN) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I havent enjoyed a Resident Evil game since Nemesis, they just havent been a whole lot of fun for me, but when i tried out 5 at a friends, i was surprised to find that it was rather enjoyable.

As a single player game, its fun if you relize that you cant count on your partner early on and kinda forget about her...in all but the most desperate spots, shes kinda useless, she doesnt heal you nearly fast enough when your almost down, she wastes ammo and healing items at the wrong times, all in all, they did a horrible job on her.

But as a 2 player game where you and a friend kick As all the way through, the game is great. When you know oyu can count on your partner, you can have alot of fun blasting through this zombie-ridden version of Africa. The gameplay was alot of fun, although with the chaingun its hard to aim to the left, other than that not alot of gripe to go here, if you're looking for a fun game to rock through 2 player with, pick this one up, If you're looking for a single player thrill, i suggest looking elsewhere, although merc mode in single can be rather fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Is this the best game ever? Or am I wrong.

posted by Pmbumfoi1 (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I may be wrong but is this the best game for the PS3. MGS4 was on the top of my list prior to playing RE5. But since this has co-op, it totally blows away any gaming experience I have had in a long time. My brother and I Beat the game in 3 days and could not stop playing after starting from mission one. Put this on the top of your list and find out for your self. The one gripe I have is how fast it may be required to change weapons while in a tough fight. Despite that this small thing can be annoying, game is as close to perfect as it can get. There is nothing more fun than using the acid grenades in the grenade launcher at point blank range and watch your enemy burn and melt to death. Also sniping is great and you can upgrade weapons. How could you go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Resident Evil 5

posted by gamer1313 (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Cons:

I have given the game the 8 due to the fact that the graffics were not as expected. They could have been a lot better.

Pros

The game was very intense...love the weaponary...
The length of the game compared to the others was good had more game time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse