Buy Red Faction: Armageddon for PS3
view large frontback

Red Faction: Armageddon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

3289 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Red Faction not quite Armageddon

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

26 out of 34 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

THQ's latest entry into its Red Faction franchise, "Armageddon", looked more promising in previews than it turned out in the final product. The previous game, "Guerilla", wasn't without its flaws but it was a lot of fun, had a likeable protagonist, a decent villian, and a fair amount of gameplay. It was a joy to run around Mars engaging in all kinds of sabotage and demolition, as the series with its Geo-mod technology did destruction well. This new game, not so much. There's still things to be destroyed, but as the action moves underground there seem to be less destructible envirronments. Movement is a little clumsy, and the snap aim isn't always helpful, as enemies tend to swarm over you. And the enemies tend to be bullet sponges, which isn't helpful either. And things get repetitive quickly- move forward to an enemy, fight swarms of alien bugs, do something to help you advance, and fight some more. Combat tends to get frustrating rather than be fun, and you rarely have enough quiet moments to do some salvaging, which you'll need plenty of salvage if you want to upgrade anything. Cut scenes are done well and the voice acting is decent, but the story (which wasn't exactly deep in the last game) is pretty thin. There's multiplayer for those who like that sort of thing, though if you rent you won't have access to the Ruin mode. Overall, this was a bit of a disappointment for me, and I felt this was a step backwards in the series. I'd recommend renting this first before you buy. If you don't have it already and you absolutely must buy a Red Faction game, I'd suggest RF: Guerilla, it's fairly cheap and a lot more fun. Still, if you have the space in your queue, you may want to give this a rent at least. With any luck you'll enjoy it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun

posted by Robscott21 (WILMINGTON, NC) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game to me was very fun. A step back though for me because I love open world games and this took that away. Fun none the less it actually reminded me of ratchet and clank with the constant upgrade stations and salvage. The online was sick too you can use the salvage you gain online in single player giving you an advantage. I beat the campaign on insane the first go through it was not hard at all then I did a speed run with the napalm cheat weapon took about 4 hours to re beat it. I would suggest this game though because it was an easy platinum trophy and it was actually fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Faction for Classic Faction Fans.

posted by Epyonblaze666 (ACWORTH, GA) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

20 out of 29 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

People really need to stop comparing Armageddon to gorilla. This was not meant to be free roam, and if you had read anything about the game before getting it, you would have known this. Red faction decided to go back to their roots as a linear shooter for this story. The first mistake many of you made was thinking that gorilla was the first game, when in fact, Gorilla is the odd one out. The weapons in this game are great, and experimenting with them alone was fun; but testing them on the opposition, and destructive environments made it even better. The graphics are reminiscent of Gorilla, and while they have improved, graphics still could have had better compared to some games out now. The story is not award winning, but it will give you some laughs, and the Red Faction lore is all there. It Wont make the game for you, but you can tell they had put effort into making it. You get to control a few different vehicles with serious destructive force, so the game paces itself well giving you different ways to kill and destroy. If you like team elements online, then the online mode is perfect for you. Think horde mode, but with aliens, and destructive environments. When getting this game you cant think your buying a sequel to Red Faction Gorilla, instead remember Gorilla was a one time spin in a different direction, and this is a game that takes the story and destructive environments from gorilla, and places it with the lore and game play from the first 2 Red Faction games. So if your a fan of red factions previous tales, and enjoy a good science fiction game with destructible environments, and futuristic gun play, then you will enjoy the next entry in this long running series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is NOT Red Faction Guerrilla 2

posted by Troilus (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you loved Red Faction Guerrilla, and were expecting more of the same but better you will be sadly disappointed.

Armageddon is essentially a first person shooter, but from 3rd person perspective. The game is much more theatrical than guerrilla. You follow a set path through the game, spruced up every so often with cinematic videos. The game is also about half vehicular combat, which are quite fun and well done.

Armageddon will average maybe about 4-6 hours gameplay. I would compare this to Force Unleashed 2, very cinematic and high quality graphical levels at the expense of content. The open world is gone, and so is the fun in destroying buildings methodically. The destructible buildings and nanoforge tech has been turned into a gimmick for a FPS, much like affecting time was for Singularity.

I imagine the deterioration of this game was due to SyFy's influence as they like to ruin everything successful they have. As you play the game you can imagine saying, mass effect was good so lets make this an over the shoulder shooter... crysis was good so lets give them crysis looking suits... THQ threw out the originality and greatness of guerrilla to try and make a game more conforming to popular shooters.

The game is worth a play through, but it is severely lacking in quality to Red Faction Guerrilla.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good...But Not Much Replay Value

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 13, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
As has been explained this game has a linear story versus the open world layout of Red Faction: Guerilla. It is a very competent 3rd person shooter, but does get somewhat repetitive. The controls are pretty tight though and all things said I'd recommend a rent (not a buy because little replay value).

Speaking of replay value it really depends what you like. They don't have competitive multiplayer, but there is infestation mode (co-op for 1-4 people facing waves of enemies) and ruin mode (destroy stuff to rack of score within a time limit). Ruin mode can only be played as a "demo" without a code that comes with a purchased game.

Pros
===================
1) graphics are pretty good
2) the weapons are inventive and have a weight and sound quality to them (satisfying gun play basically)
3) I actually preferred the linear story versus the open world

Cons
===================
1) little buggy (particularly voice clipping) & few graphical hiccups
2) little repetitive
3) no competitve multiplayer which is where I spend most my shooter time (co-op versus waves of AI could be fun with friends though)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ain't no Guerilla's in the Armageddon.

posted by SteveThe1ne (HOPE MILLS, NC) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fun, is a great synonym to video games. The Red Faction franchise has definitely shown us that destruction can as fun as random killing. Armageddon takes a new approach for the series in a linear way, but keeps all the destruction elements that made its predecessor unique. Unfortunately, a mediocre story and a lack of online features the previous title had hold this game back from contending with some other Triple-A games that are due out this year.

For my full review, check it out at GamersGameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The other way

posted by sh1zz4m (TERRELL, TX) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Short and sweet, it is a completely different game, if you loved running around doing side quests and blowing things to kingdom come then you should just go relive the first one because none of it is here. You just run around underground killing bugs and sure you can knock down the underground buildings, but is a small metal tool shed really gonna scratch the itch?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NOOO!!!!!

posted by blooby4 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

10 out of 24 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

If you are planning to get this game because you like destroying stuff and remember how awsome the Red Faction Guerilla was? THEN DONT GET THIS GAME!!!!!! Volition completely jacked up this game! This game is 100% in the opposite direction of Red Faction Guerilla

First things first, NO FREE ROAM!!!! ya i know really stupid idea.

Second: No multiplayer like in Guerilla. the only online gameplay there is is a mode called infestation, its like the Zombies from COD (not in the good way) but with aliens waves instead of Zombies and its really boring.

Third: There are no more trucks that you can drive the only thing you can control is a flying machine and a few robot battle suits which are very limiting.

Fourth: your underground. this is bad because that means no really tall buildings to make tip over. (I really dont like this because i cant ram and vehicles into a big building and make it tip over and crush tons of civilians)

So over all i do not recommend getting this game. The last Red Faction was super awsome but this one is 100% screwed up. I watched a video on youtube about this game that said "we learned from the last Red Faction that all the players want to do is destroy!" what i have to say to that is, Why did you put us underground with no tools of mass destruction in tiny caves where we will be confined to these tiny areas fighting monsters that blow up on us! Last of all i have one last thing to say, if you like the dead space series? this is your cheap nock-off brand of dead space that failed. The game still has some fun parts but over all i could have lived without it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great game but with a few very big flaws

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jun 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I loved the first Red Faction, and I was expecting better from Armageddon. The good things about RFA is that the graphics are good, nice interesting storyline to it, and cooler weapons. The bad things about this game is what gives it a 6. To me, these were massive downfalls. First of all, the campaign is nowhere near free roam to where I'm at. In RFG, you didnt have to do a mission right away, you could just go mess around and blow stuff up. Secondly, there is no just regular multiplayer to just go and shoot people and get points. Finally, there is a ruin mode where you just straight up destroy stuff, but you have to get points and you have to pay for it if you got this game from GF. It's really that great of a game compared to RFG, but it's only ok. Voltion really messed up big time. Think that they may have been underbudget.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissapointed

posted by adman3344 (DEWITT, MI) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Get another game

the previous installment was great

this linear underground piece of poo makes me very sad.

meh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If it Ain't Broke Dont Fix It.

posted by flylikeIdo (REDMOND, WA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The developers should have left well enough alone. I feel they have taken 3 steps backwards from their classic game guerilla. Other than being on Mars this game is nothing like the original and that is not a good thing.

Any developer out there reading this when you have something good its ok to tweak it and add a few new ideas but redesigning the entire gameplay, maps and enemies is a stupid idea.

Thank god for Gamefly otherwise I would have bought this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty much the same old red faction

posted by MagickMan619 (SAN JACINTO, CA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Somewhat improved playability in the story line mode, which intails a great selection of destructive weaponry, and overall smoother playthrough. There is no online competetive gameplay, which, excuse it however you may, sucks and keeps the title below its capability, and below the modern day standard. The included Infestation mode is a playable 30 level mode of surviving endless waves of aliens, while protecting objective in teams of 4. Overall, its worth a rent, maybe? kind of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good tps gameplay, great graphics

posted by bblack300 (LAFAYETTE, IN) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this sequel is quite different from the first. after playing for about 30 min , i was hooked and couldn't put it down, and completely neglected to play the other 2 games i have out

it plays like gears of war / lost planet 2, but better. the online is limited but fun, and does not require an online pass for ps3.

this game should be rated at least an 8 objectively as a whole package, The ONLY reason it isn't is because of all the idiots that rate games at a 1 or a 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dumb

posted by infamous4 (TEMECULA, CA) Jun 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Red faction is one of the WORST games I've ever played in my life!!!!!!!!! Almost everything is dumb about it. the guns are dumb the main character always risks his life which is dumb. and most of the time your in a dark place. I wasn't the slightest bit entertained. I lost intresest soon so I didn't finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

blahhh...

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Very disappointed. Nothing like the original. WHY CHANGE IT!?!? The open world was the best part!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hmm seen this before

posted by dangoboy (COLUMBUS, GA) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

have you ever played RLH (goggle it cause gamefly wont let me type the name in) red faction is pretty much the same thing..just updated graphics and let little tweak to the game play RHL was a sweet game on the ps2 its pretty much wear EA stole the idea from Dead Space from which i love as well the story is straight forward your in the red faction fight in a war for like 1 chapter then your out of the army and doin your own thing and then you help destory so werid old rock looking thing and then aliens come out and everything goes down hill everyone blames you and wants u dead and now your trying to make things right by killing all the aliens now this game plays pretty much like dead space 3rd person shooter the story isnt too bad keeps you into it but not any thing crazy at some points during the game the aliens get wayyyy too many and kinda gets a little outta control the auto aim helps sometimes but also hurts when you are trying to lock onto other things now if you have played other red faction games then you know about the world is just waiting to get destroyed this is kinda the case you can destory everything but no tall buildings or crazy stuff like that its not free world its pretty much a rail shooter go this path and then this path it has a gps type thing to help you find your way and sometimes you will complete what it tells you to do but then it keeps telling you that you have completed it so that gets annoying happened to me 4 times but nuttin i couldnt figure out pretty much this game is a blend of dead space with gears of war with red faction style destruction its a different take on the series but not bad so if you like dead space and gears or if you have played RLH then this game will be familiar to you and not a bad experince i wouldnt buy cause its only like a 7 or so hour game but im happy that i rented it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

red faction

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

this game takes to much space on your ps3 to play. i was deleting so much stuff just to try to play the game and still couldnt play it wouldnt even to the main menu. so i would pass on it if i were u you have to delet every thang on the ps3 just to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8.8

posted by Kratos_man (SEFFNER, FL) Jul 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1st time iv blayed this game in the red faction seares i realy injoyed it 1st play tru was on nomul did a half falow up on easy nice 4 trophys sherprised a litul i found all audio logs with out looking it up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love this game

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I don't know why people don't like this game but I love it pretty easy platinum its time cusming its worth renting it I think so buying not really

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, disappointing multiplayer

posted by Gamer_Guy (MURFREESBORO, TN) Jun 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Red Faction: Armageddon has some of the most enjoyable action I've ever played in a video game. While the character development is lacking and the plot is basic, the destructible environments and insane weapons will keep you entertained throughout the 7-8 hour campaign. The co-op survival mode is a blast to play with friends, but the lack of competitive multiplayer shortens the experience significantly. Trophy hunters should know that this game has a very easy Platinum Trophy. Overall a great rental or cheap purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ehhhh....

posted by wardoc (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

It's an okay game. Not much of an improvement over Gurilla at all. They took out free roam, the nano forge is weird, impossible to get scrap, and is too easy. It's an okay game but they could've done much, much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game.

posted by eriklulz (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

This game was fantastic. The story was great, the combat engine was awesome, and the destruction you can cause is just amazing. Though it would have been 50 times better if it was like guerrilla, and was open world with many side missions, I will not base my review on how it stacks up to guerrilla. Base line, this game was great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by rvalimont67 (CAMBRIDGE SPRINGS, PA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

this is one of the worst games ever it is very streaky and graphics are bad the story line is like watching a 1960's battle star galactica show .......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I liked it until....

posted by omeraga (CLIFFSIDE PARK, NJ) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I really liked it and spend so much time playing this game but the bad point and the point where i really snapped even if you save the game it doesnt start where you save i t starts at he last checkpoint and it most of the time starts usually after you pass really hard points and than you pass another hard point it lets you start all the way from begging

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Phenomenal game

posted by Vyrax (WESTTOWN, NY) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

flat out..now leave me alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse