Buy Rage for PS3
view large frontback

Rage

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

5847 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but gets boring

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

30 out of 31 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Overview
======================
Rage is more or less Borderlands without the openness, but better graphics. The gun play is solid, but the story and quests get dull and repetitive. I'd say it is a good rent, but only maybe worth a buy.

Pros
========================
1) graphics (outside of texture load issues) are great
2) guns are solid and fun variety (ammo variety)
3) decent co-op & buggy based multiplayer

Cons
========================
1) story and quests get boring
2) buggy multiplayer is limited replay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lowering my Rating

posted by crunchyedg (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I originally gave this a 9 when i first starting playing because I was taken in by the eye candy. This game has amazing graphics. No Doubt! However, I have to ask, Where's the story? Unless id plans on releasing the a real story in DLC I do not recommend buying this game. Absolutely worth renting but save your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rage: What happens if you buy it and not rent 1st.

posted by Seisen (Mesa, AZ) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For those of you who skip through the plot points, or if your eyes gloss over at a cut scene to advance the story, this game is for you. It has almost no story to speak of. The game begins with a large object hitting the earth... then you find yourself presumably in a crashed space ship with a bunch of dead people in their pods. You venture out to find you're in a dangerous wasteland and someone tells you to go with them, it's dangerous. You do. And that's about it for story. The rest of the time, you find yourself as a carrier boy, braving all sorts of ghoulish fiends to do the jobs the 'good' people of the wastes can't, or won't, do on their own. They'll toss you a tidbit for your work and pat you on the head, but that's about it.
Now, the graphics when looking straight on are very impressive and the AI does a good job of presenting you with targets that don't just stand there and let themselves be gunned down. They will jump, leap, hide, and react as if you are trying to kill them. However, all this moving causes you to have to constantly adjust your aim; this makes the texture mapping lag a bit. Between that, and the very long load times, even though you have to spend about half an hour installing it to your HDD, it can get to be distracting and irritating after a while.
You'll often find yourself driving about, though with certain vehicles you can be launched off them should you hit a stationary object, and since the vehicles can be upgraded with all kinds of nifty things, it makes driving, and racing, a nice diversion once in a while.
The game also features crafting, which lets you build helpful items, and there are different ammo types for your limited number of weapons.
In all, if you're going to play this game, don't expect a lot of plot. Save often, and prepare for long load times. It's got a 10+ hour completion time, but my guess is you'll be bored and turn it off long before it's finished. Rent it before you think of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome game gone bad.

posted by JLev007 (SALISBURY, MD) May 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

!!!SPOILER!! The ending to this game is HORRIBLE!!!
I guess it sets up for a sequel but it leaves you hanging after the build-up of the entire plot. The game was a very excellent shooter and racer. Some frustrating parts but you get through that. By the end you are invested into a bunch of the characters and then...... It was like the end of the Sopranos. At least this had a good ending song though.
Overall I give it a 7 because the environments, characters and factions, and the mixed styling of a shooter and a racer made for a fun game.
I'm so glad I have a GameFly account because at the end of this game I felt like all those guys in the commercial just flailing my arms and screaming. I have never so quickly shoved a title back into the envelope and into the mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Eye candy, but kind of hollow

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) May 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First and foremost, this is the best-looking game I have ever played. The combat is fast, the enemies are fast, and unfortunately, so is the game. One weekend, and I had beaten the main story. The vehicles handle well, and combat is pretty straightforward. The enemy's rockets will find you halfway across the race screen, while you need to be sniffing someone's tailpipe to land a shot. Enemies are the smartest I have ever seen, often hilariously shouting "forget this! I'm out of here!" after you slaughter their friends, and running away to find reinforcements. The damage system registers in a way that makes the weapons seem so much cooler: Shoot a dude in the leg, and he will stagger, limp, then continue his assault with his new found injury. Clip someone in the face with a well-placed round, and they will keep lumbering towards you like the death hadn't registered in their brain yet, before falling over mid-swipe. The greatest thing about this game (to me) is the mind control bolts. You can shoot a lower level Bad guy, then the perspective shifts to theirs, as you control him, zombie-like stumbling towards his clueless friends, before sending the signal for him to explode in a red mist, killing all his surrounding buddies. AWESOME. The NPC's are so real you can really get the feel that they are people, with stories you want to hear. But you don't, sadly. Interaction is very limited, unless they have a mission. Expect to go to a lot of the same places twice. Not really interested in the plot, because you only get drips and drabs of an overarching story that you are somehow responsible for fixing the whole planet because science government fishsticks mutants blah blah blah. Fun once, but not exciting enough to warrant a second playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good, but not a "buy" worthy game.

posted by tgainey14 (NEW BERN, NC) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you rent this, you won't be disappointed. But there are some flaws.

Right from the start, there were an insane amount of frame rate issues, it was pretty ridiculous. I was kind of upset. But as soon as you get into the game, the frame rate issues kind of become less and less present. There isn't much of a story here, more of a quest game, kind of like a people version of Dead Island. But it's still more enjoyable than Dead Island.

One of the better things in the game is the outstanding gun-play. It is so much fun to play. From the get go you are intrigued by the gameplay, but you hope there will be more. Unfortunately, you are let down. It never really progresses. The story stays linear and hard to get into.

If you love gameplay and don't really care about the story, you'll enjoy this game a lot. But if you really care about what's going on, then don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting

posted by TheJRose1984 (GREAT NECK, NY) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Worth playing if you like post-apocolaypse games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, Good Graphics, but repetitive

posted by Pung_Tap (CANONSBURG, PA) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game starts out fun and interesting, but quickly turns dull and same same. The graphics are pretty solid. The game play is pretty solid as far as a shooter goes. The game itself gets pretty boring and repetitive. Good rent, bad buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not great

posted by SushiMonster555 (CLAYTON, CA) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought the game was going to be really fun when I first got it. The weapons and vehicles were cool, but that's all I really liked.

The game feels like there is no plot. There is no drive to continue playing. All you do are quests here and there that slowly move you onto joining the resistance group and then infiltrating the enemy base. There is one boss fight that was kind of cool against a big mutant. The enemies move fast and jump around, which is tough to deal with because the weapon controls are quite slippery and hard to aim compared to many other FP's I have played.

Overall, its just another post-apocalyptic game that has no real story and crummy controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been.....

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) May 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In all fairness the graphics are ok and the "Mad Max" concept is really kind of fun. However compared to all Fallout was and could have been ( Both made by the same Company) ...this release is lacking. Limited options and side missions , no conversation / choice , no "connecting" with any characters , and none of the "Wild" things that would really take place in a Wasteland paradise. Ok to rent to spend a weekend ...then send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No soul

posted by senatoradam (SEATTLE, WA) May 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Go here, shoot this clan of people that all look the same and sound the same, go there, shoot that clan of people that all look the same and sound the same. This game is boring, there's no soul or motivation to do any of the tasks, and the enemies all look, act, and sound the same. I sent it back after a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it.

posted by FHF (WYOMING, MI) May 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was drawn in by a recommendation from a friend. When I rented the game, I was absolutely blown away by the graphics. The plot is there, easily understood, and makes sense. I loved the gun play. Playing around with the different bullets, and just busting a cap in stuff was awesome. Defiantly worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rage Review

posted by McAle (LYNNWOOD, WA) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was great for a few day game. It kept me entertained the entire time I was playing, with that said it is only a "rent" game and not so much an "own" game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No personality

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) May 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would have given this game a higher rating if the lead character had any personality. He was just a robot with no communication with the other characters, All he did was their bidding as an errand boy. The graphins were above average with slow loading times. The story itself was just lazy writing though and an isult to the audience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice Shooter/Driving Game?

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The shooting part was great, I'm not a fan of driving from one place to another to do a quest especially on a shooter game. Overall it is a nice game, I like the weapons and the enemies were pretty smart. I would definitely give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Great Let Down

posted by Knives421 (SAVANNAH, GA) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. The weapons are fun, the combat is great, and driving thru the wasteland is fun, but all things come to an end and leave you wondering WHY !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rage is almost a tech demo

posted by kenwilfy (MILLVILLE, NJ) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rage is like that hot girl that you always wanted to date in High School. You finally got a date with her and about 10 minutes into the date you realize there is nothing below the surface. The surface hotness may be enough for most people, but not me. I like games that have a story. I like games that challenge me and addict me. Rage has none of these things. The story is throw away although it could have been epic. The minigames of racing and playing cards, seem tacked on. The awesome weapons and crafting are negated by the fact that you could just use your wing stick (especially the upgraded version) and take out all of your enemies without really trying very hard. The graphics are incredible, and the environments are very detailed. However there is nothing to explore here. You pick up books with interesting titles but you can't read them, they are just something to sell and get a few bucks. That is how I feel about this entire game. It is a tech demo that turned into a game with a lot of beautiful scenes but nothing really beyond that. So if you like surface relationships and one night stands, Rage is the perfect date for you. If you want your enjoyment to last beyond the first couple of hours, choose something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly good campaign mode

posted by James5955 (FALL CITY, WA) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game about 2 days ago and have been glued to it. I read a lot of the reviews for this game right before I played it and a lot of them made me expect the game to be terrible, but I'm finding it to be pretty addicting.

There isn't much of a story to it, you're just a guy from the past that's stranded and trying to survive by meeting people and helping them out. This game is not as open as borderlands and (especially) fallout. That's not really a bad thing, depending on the type of gamer you are. My mood changes and sometimes I don't want something that's ridiculously open, just want to be pointed in the direction with kickass guns and told to kill.

That's the mood I was in when I got and played this game and so far I'm very impressed.

I'm not sure if I would buy it because I don't know how good the online play is. The graphics are great, the sounds seem to be pretty good, and there's plenty of action. There's pretty cool vehicles you get and some nice add ons for them. You can even build things like sentry turrets/bots to help you fight. There's racing as well which is pretty awesome, at times I sit down and do at least a handful of races to mix it up a bit.

This is a must rent game. I'm really glad I decided to check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent game but terrible ending

posted by rjmac (NEW HAVEN, CT) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was really impressed with this game. ID always puts out good games. But all of a sudden the game is over. It was incredibly interesting but then ends fast, and not with much fanfare. Some of the tasks earlier in the game were harder than the last one. And then it's done. Needed way more story line. Great graphics. Great weapons. Car racing was great. Just needed more in the way of plot. More cities or camps or something. There were other places mentioned but you never got to go to them. Overall though, it's a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rage-Rific!

posted by BikZippo (EAST LIVERPOOL, OH) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Have been a pretty big Bethesda fan for a while, but this really outdid everything they have made previously!
With the easy to use interface and faster game-play, plus the graphics are fantastic. Really this is a must play/own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I never played a game like this in a long time

posted by chavita356 (CALEXICO, CA) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i seriously have never played a game soo good like this one!!!! why simply the maps a re enormous, you can race, kill mutants from FPS, drive cars, race (i dont like cars and races normally) but i love this game everything it needs to have, OUTSTANDING...... cant wait for another RAGE title seriously...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best shooter

posted by richardp12344 (TAMPA, FL) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it's got that doom feel to it don't care if the story sucks it's the best shooter i've played in years a lot better than that stuid call of duty grabage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Thought's on this GAME!!!!

posted by Odin87ful (WISCONSIN RAPIDS, WI) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked it,but it was not what I had exspected.The ending was not the way I think it should have ended,but at least there is alot of action & adventure in this game & that is great for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really Fun !

posted by codkilla1 (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The game has pretty good graphics. Great gameplay but not much of a "Storyline" to it which was the downside.

But all in all i Definatley Recommend for RENTING not buying. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game of 2011

posted by joey1313 (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'm blown away by the depth that this game devilvers. Graphics are a ten. Campaign, draws you in right away and th AI is smart and balanced. I love racing and building all kinds of cool new ammo, robots and health items. Try the fat mama bullets for the pistol. It's like a game within a game within a game, what borderlands wished it could be. It's not cartoony either. totally bad to the bone and worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse