Buy Prototype for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Prototype

Buy

Used: $14.99

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

26676 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prototype Review

posted by Skiro13 (FORT RICHARDSON, AK) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

371 out of 420 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun, but a few things hold it back from being great. One thing is that the graphics are sub par, but they are not gamebreaking in any way. Gameplay is the main reason why Prototype is great. Just running into an army base, activating your claws, and go to town. But moving on, another odd problem is the pop-ins. Sometimes it gets as bad as removing entire buildings (and more than one). The musical style isn't noticable when your playing unless you like to pay attention, so nothing to worry about there. Anyway here is my numerical review of it all.



Gameplay: 10/10 (Main reason you would play the game)

Sound: 8/10 (Nothing noticable)

Story: 9/10 ( A unique spin on a government conspiracy with great twists and turns)

Graphics: 7/10 (A little weak but nothing gamebreaking.)

Lasting Appeal: 8/10 (A lot to do even when you beat the game)



Overall: 9/10 (Totally worth the buy, but since this is Gamefly, worth the rent)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give this game a break..

posted by cheesyvade (HOOVER, AL) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

213 out of 251 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

First off i want to say that i LOVE this game. Its one of the few games i actually bought the day it came out and it is the best investment of 60 dollars i've made besides GTA IV. It also kind of makes me angry that very popular game sites and magazines look down on this game because it's "too hard" or it didn't "inovate" the sandbox genre like it should have, which in my opinion, it did.

So here's a list of the pros and cons of Prototype

PROS:
Kill anyone and everything with the massive array of abilities at your disposal
Parkour through the streets of Manhatten like there's nothing to it
Turn into ANYONE
Military and police systems are very realistically used, as in if your
blazing by a patrol and run into a soldier and kill them, then they fire.
Hijacking military vehicles
WEB OF INTRIGUE which is the web of memories Alex can either collect or not in order to find out what happened to him and the city. These are memories that certain characters carry
Very involving story
Great voice acting
Realistic damage (ground and people)

CONS (none of which are major setbacks in the gameplay)
Graphics really aren't stunning, but if they were Gears of War or Assassin's Creed level, then you could not play for more than a few minutes because of the amount of people on the streets at one time.
It CAN be a bit frustrating at times. This is the most major setback because you are supposed to be "superman" basically, but you WILL fail missions, but it is very hard to actually die. This is NOT a dealbreaker though, to me it adds an aspect of panic which is what this game is about.

FINAL WORD
Graphics: 8/10: Could use polish, but are still good for this level of people on screen at a time
Gameplay: 10/10: One word- Incredible
Difficulty level: Medium
Sound: 9.5/10: Nothing TOO special here, but it is really awe inspiring to listen to the explosions you cause
Replayability: 8.5/10: There is so much to do, this really should't get old
TOTAL: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by LiLcOoPeR2 (UTICA, KY) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is my very first review, and I decided to make it on this game, because it was one of the very first games i bought for my xbox.

This game needs to be given a break. It really is a great game. The people who give this game a bad rating, and say that it sucks, they only made it a couple of hours into the game, if that.

The game play is great. The controls are just a little difficult to use. The graphics aren't the best. The story is quite long, and impressive.

I spent many hours on this game. When i finally finished it, i couldn't help but feeling that the story wasn't complete. And I was right. As of 2010 VGA's they have announced Prototype 2, I can't wait for it, it comes out 2012. But instead of being Alex Mercer, you play as a different person who wants to kill Alex Mercer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Jaded Gamer Loves the Game

posted by greenman (PATEROS, WA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

45 out of 56 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am a jaded gamer who smokes and plays games and finds non-competetive solo games mostly boring or contrived. BUT, this game is one you will have to force yourself to put down to get some sleep. As I was playing this game last night and came to the early character upgrade "moving grab" I realized that there are so many simple great things about this game!

You can pick up and throw (or consume) almost anything in the game, but at first you have to stop near the object and press the grab button. Works great, seems fine, cool. BUT after a simple upgrade you no longer need to stop moving to grab objects. What blows my mind here is this cool ability isn't a developer choice, but instead an upgrade that makes you see what simple design choices can completely change a game!

The great upgrades that completely change the way the game is played keep coming througout and I am far from bored. Try this one, but plan on losing some sleep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

[Prototype], a serious standout in the game market

posted by iTzland512 (POTOMAC, MD) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

30 out of 39 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

When I rented Prototype, I wasn't really sure what to expect. My guess involving graphics was somewhere along the lines of Gears of War 2 with more gray, and my guess involving plot was a similar "LET'S KILL SOME PEOPLE!!!!" sort of idea. How wrong I was.
This game FAR exceeded my expectations. When a game is started or loaded, the player begins in a marked spot atop a building and can proceed from there. Rather than being a linear series of missions, the player moves around a spot-on map of Manhattan filled with automobile traffic, pedestrians (many of whom are identical, but whatever), collectibles that resemble lights, challenges (called "events" in the game), and later on, hordes of zombies that seem to explode into tomato juice with the slightest tap of your Chuck Norris-like Prototype powers.
One of my favorite features was how beautifully the game flowed, or at least how the main character, Alex Mercer, did. The Sprint ability allows Alex to run up buildings, leap over cars, and plow through civilians and hordes of pedestrians/zombies effortlessly. One could prop the joystick in the forward position, hold the sprint button down, and just watch Alex run; he would continue his seemingly effortless free-running and eventually end up on the other side of Manhattan.
The plot, though some would call it sloppy, was actually quite interesting. Even more interesting was the way it unfolded: through Alex "consuming" the minds of those who had valuable information. There were 131 of these in total, and each held some missing piece of the puzzle. It was difficult finding these people though, and often times they might die in some zombie/military related freak accident. Be sure to use caution when finding them.
Aside from the storyline, one could try an event or two, where objectives include racing the clock, playing as the military, gliding well, consuming people, or just straight up killing stuff.
Overall, I recommend it A LOT. Go ahead and rent this great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Gameplay!

posted by Nick2012 (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Wow where to begin.

Free Roam - A huge map to run around on, couldn't ask for more there, and as you progress through the storyline you see that parts of the city are going from normal to utter mayhem, so theres always something to do running around the hugely expansive New York map.

Controls - Seamless, to say the least. Running up buildings gliding across a few city blocks, jumping 30 stories to the ground and smashing it sending cars and military and infected civilians flying outwards. And so many cool moves and abilities to keep you entertained to the very end!

Game play - Id have to say its like a fusion of Resident Evils storyline with Crackdowns game play style. Its awesome to be at the top of the food chain. You can sprint faster than a car through the streets automatically busting flips over or smacking anything in your way. And the pages of upgrades you can purchase for your character do wonders for customizing your character to suit your needs. And in addition to your giant arsenal of upgrades, you can hijack tanks and helicopters, hurdle vehicles at your enemies, or kill one then take their weapon and start firing back at them. These guys really thought of just about everything. And another neat feature they threw in to keep you interested is the ability to play the game fully upgraded from the start after beating it on normal mode once. A sweet addition as you won't necessarily get all the upgrades the first time around since some of the nicer ones cost a hefty sum of evolution points (upgrade currency).

Graphics - Better in many ways than games that are just coming out now! Definitely a Mature rated game though. The gore is sweet, and the character design clearly had a considerable amount of thought put into it. During the cut scenes in between game play you can really stop to appreciate the detail that went into making this such an all around entertaining game!

10/10 A must play game for all intense action junkies!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Prototype

posted by deadgame (CHICO, TX) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ah yes nothing like a good old bloody and gory time with mutant freaks and marines, and secret organizations! Oh and a shape shifting homicidal mad man who is a complete virus thing. Prototype puts you in the shoes of the shapeshifting B.A Alex Mercer parcial victim in the blacklight virus. Not going to give it away or anything but Prototype is definetly worth a rent. but some bad parts are the grahpics cool designs on Alex's powers but with boring and bland textures and repeditive structures such as building and people/marines but that shouldn't dull the awesome open world expirience that is Prototype!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game For Casual Gamers

posted by ProdigyGFX (AUBURN, GA) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

39 out of 60 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I've been excited about this game for well over the past 3 months. I have been keeping a heavy eye on all the rumors and everything about it and all in all. It's a great game for those who don't pick out it's flaws and just play it for what it is.

Many reviews on this game is overall very picky or doesn't cover the overall essence of what the game tries to portray. Of course I've read IGN's review but then Gamespot's as well as others and had mixed feelings about how the game will turn out. So I did what everyone else would do. Buy the game and try it yourself.

IGN's game review was right in some ways. I do agree the game could use some polish and it would have been great. But some factors, they pointed out was being way too picky in my taste.

The game's storyline is decent. I mean it's pretty much no good or bad way to complete the game. It's "Hey, someone screwed me up. Time to get revenge and kill everyone in my way". And that's what makes this game great. The fact you can actually just walk up to someone and kill them with not much consequence is a great feeling.

Story 8/10

The graphics aren't overtop or groundbreaking. I will say they are better than the Hulk game made by Radical to begin with. It's nothing that should effect the overall playthrough of the game.

Graphics 7/10

Now if you played Hulk: Ultimate Destruction. Think of it but the main character is a super mutant who manipulates organic matter into many forms to get the job done. The side missions are great but of course they get a bit old after a few hours of gameplay. I was hoping a bit more variety in the overall side missions. There will be a few weird difficulty jump moments but it's something to overlook.

Gameplay 8/10

All in all, this is a game that is pleasing and satisfying and don't judge it based of other reviews but try it yourself. I believe everyone had a few high expectations for the game. But it delivered on most aspects. So I recommend this game to the casual player

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure Fun

posted by bluedevil9 (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

28 out of 44 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Prototype is not subtle. It's about putting you in control of an awesomely powerful shapeshifter and throwing everything from an army of soldiers, hordes of infected monsters twice your size, tanks, and gunships at you. Usually all at once.

Prototype is fundamentally a brawler, with the open world and RPG-like upgrade elements thrown in to keep things interesting. And as such it succeeds: combat is chaotic and entertaining, and by the end you have a ridiculous number of over the top superhuman powers with which to annihilate foes. Want to kill that tank over there? Use your claws to send biomass underground, shooting up a giant 10 foot spike from below. Run up the side of a building and use your hammerfist to elbow drop it from 6 stories up. Use your whipfist to latch on to a gunship, hijack it, and rain missles. Or just walk up to it with your 8 foot long blade arm and hack it to pieces.

The utter lack of subtlety also means some more refined elements are left out. The graphics are fine but not stunning. The plot is fine, but don't expect moral dilemmas--Alex is memorable for his sheer destructive power, not as a movie character. The story is completely linear; no doing missions for multiple people. Minigames are hit-or-miss, and stealth elements are fun but feel tacked on (hey, our base commander just jumped 30 feet in the air and ran up a skyscraper, nothing to see here). The difficulty is uneven, and closer to action titles like Ninja Gaiden or Devil May Cry than GTA or Saint's Row.

Overall, Prototype provides a distinctive and enjoyable gameplay experience. Open world games tend to be hybrids, alternately featuring driving, shooting, exploration, etc. Prototype is different: it does a few things really well (combat), and the rest is meh. Fortunately, those few things are really, really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing, Just that

posted by Moneyshot9 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

22 out of 37 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I love the gameplay of this video game, I like how you continue-for lack of a non-spoiler term- in the main goal of the game, This game has beautiful graphics and a huge world than can be mostly destroyed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply GREAT Game

posted by vadikunc (ITHACA, NY) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I get bored with games pretty fast. There are not many games that kept my interest high enough so I could play them till the end (that is why I rent games instead of buying them).
Let me just say that I played "The Prototype" till the end. It is a really great game! It doesn't even convey a feeling of a game, you feel more like you are in a movie and every single decision you make is affecting the whole city of New York. The game has all attributes to keep engaged: intrigue, global crisis, cool fights, tremendous visuals, unimaginable forces and abilities at your disposal, the whole city at your disposal, etc...
Buy this game or rent this game, you gotta play it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game but could be better

posted by lonelyff29 (LEWISBERRY, PA) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I played this game as soon as i recieved it in the mail. After watching all the screen shots and the videos I couldn't wait to open it up and play it. Sadly I was dispointed a bit. Thankfully not as much as other games. I would say the game is worth 9 out of 10. The story line is great but the missions are harder then normal, even on casual level. Your main goal is to save the city from yourself. lol go figure. Your find out near the end of the game that your worse enemy becomes your best chance to save the city. Your also learn alot of things about yourself.

I will tell you this some of the side missions are the same as well as your abilitys could be hightened up alot more. Other then the few things the game itself is good. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome game!!!

posted by track164 (MEADOW VISTA, CA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

13 out of 22 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This game ranks on my top ten list. So many things to do and alot of gameplay time to do it in. It's like the Hulk times 100% crazy man. People that say this game is the same thing over and over are wrong. Plus anyway what game do u know thats not the same thing over and over again. But for sure you must try this game and if you dont like it well its your loss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding Game!

posted by f3173ras (FRANKLIN, TN) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

14 out of 24 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

There are so many good things i could think to say about Prototype, it came out on my birthday and i was counting the days until its release, I could not recommend this game highly enough. From fantastic graphics, to outstanding gameplay and control format. I would go ahead and buy the game, I still haven't beaten it and its been like 7 hours that i've played. The free play mode is probably one of the best things they could've done for this game, because you have so much free lance ability and choosing your tactics in which to slay the enemy (or civilians... it makes for some good, and quite awkward situations when your parents walk in and you and a friend are laughing at the dismantled corpses of some random, but very skittish, civilian). Over all, i would have to give this game a rating of 5/5, and would say not just to rent this game, but buy it immediately.

-f3173ras

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could have been Amazing, settles for good

posted by Gametheory (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Overall, while i enjoyed playing this game, i cannot help but say i believe it could have been so much more.

Gameplay 8/10

The game has great combat and it always is exhilarating and fun but their are a few problems that really hurt it a little for me. The first being that there are some points in the game seemed designed deliberately to frustrate you more than test your skill. There are points where enemies are litterally just thrown after you wave after wave and while i didn't give up, there were times i almost said screw this game.

The second problem is that even though the combat is fun, having some of them that require you to push X and B at the same time, while keeping your finger on the left trigger, is absolutely stupid.

And in the end, i didnt find myself using many of the combos any ways. And while there are a good amount of weapons, i basically used 2 all game as the others just didnt seem to get it done.

Graphics 7/10

The graphics in this game do not make it unplayable by any means and they really never bothered me. However, i must at least acknowledge the fact that they were sub-par. But i never base playing a game on graphics any ways.

However, what definitely took me out of the game at times was the fact that every building explosion was the exact same and they look pretty comical.

Sound 9/10

Really cannot find much wrong with the sound. Weapons all sound great and the voice acting isnt bad either.

Story 7/10

It's a servicable story, and it is without a doubt behind Infamous when making you care about the characters. The story is coherent, its just basically exactly what has been done a million times before. The ending leaves a lot to be desired.

Overall 8/10

When it comes down to it, Prototype is a great game that could have been amazing. For any one who enjoys action games, you have to at least give this game a shot. However, Infamous is the better of the two and if you are stuck between them, Infamous is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PROTOTYPE IS VERY GOOD!!!! Worthy Of Buying

posted by GROUPI3 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This Game Is Like If U Took Spider Mans Skills, With Gta Missions Then Get Some Infected Life Forms From Resident Evil AND Assassian's Creeds Stealth And Put It Into One Awesome Amazing Game ....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

really fun

posted by kballz (GERMANTOWN, MD) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

15 out of 27 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

great game really enjoyable. I got it and seriously played it for 5 hrs straight it was that addicting to me with all the powers and the way you can just destroy people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic

posted by Gnarly13 (LUBBOCK, TX) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

First off holy snikes can you SAY FUN I mean i cant remember ever enjoying a game this much it is fantastic in anyway imaginable. So much going on world is actually pretty big considering you run like 40mph so much destruction and blood and so many powers what more could you ask for...?well maybe some dlc in the future. Prototype has raised the bar for so many games now with no slow down in frame rate or any flaws ive seen. Makes your forget about other open world games like GTA.
Gameplay 10
graphics 9.5
sound 9
controls 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is SICK

posted by PhRoZyN311 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Definitely worth the rent and buy. Lots of great upgrades and variety. Fighting is awesome, and the consuming of characters makes the game interesting. A great new SUPER CHARACTER who blows away any other super hero game (Spiderman was lame...). Only about 2-3 hours into it, and still having a BLAST! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Prototype: A good concept poorly executed.

posted by GamerJH (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

14 out of 26 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I first read about Prototype in it's worldwide debut in GameInformer magazine. I was excited about the new game play options and the unlimited powers the protagonist would be given.

I was hoping for some mix of Assassin's Creed, Spiderman, and Grand Theft Auto all with an increased level of intensity. Instead, what I ended up playing was a complete let down of a title.

Don't get me wrong, the game had ambition. The story is interesting, most of the in-game concepts are cool (disguising..etc.), and on paper all of the abilities of the character sound super fun.

Unfortunately, that is about all that is good about Prototype. The controls nearly made the game unplayable. I guess the best way to phrase it is that the controls were too loose. Oftentimes I'd scale a building and instead of stopping at the top like I intended I'd simply leap off the other side or in some different direction entirely. The game could have been great if the production value had been on par with some of the aforementioned video games.

The game play was choppy with the constantly interrupting cut scenes. The npc's were repetitive and boring and most of the in-game "events" were so inconsistent with the story that it pulled me out of enjoying the experience. Whilst figuring out the past of this power enigma, he'd stop to compete in some foot race atop the city canopy. These events should have been comparable to the side missions in Red Faction:Guerrilla. The side quests may've been repetitive, but, they made sense in the story.

I don't know. I was really looking forward to playing this game and I end up giving it a resounding THUMBS DOWN! Play Red Faction, its a much better title and a much better gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was great... was... til halfway through.

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When you start playing this game you love it. It has that spiderman feel to it while still being unique. You go along with the game loving it and enjoying it. It's not easy but it's not too hard. I played on normal and really thought this was going to be one of those really good games you love and tell your friends about. It was until they decided to shove difficulty down your throat.

Difficulty, it's one of those things developers never get right. What is difficulty? Do we add more monsters? Do we give them more life or give you less life? Do we make them do more damage? Well the developers of Prototype decided to do all of the above. I wish I had played on easy because apparently normal decides to instantly become impossibly difficult once you reach a certain stage of the game. No it's not gradual at all, it just happens.

It's around when you lose your powers. Suddenly the game starts throwing 8 tanks 4 guys with missile launchers and a strike team at you. How do you complete your mission with 20 rockets coming at you every second? You don't because you have to run away and find people to consume so you have health again. This game never rewards you with health when you need it and it will throw as many guns, big hitty things, and monsters every second it can.

The thing I hate about this game the most is the inconsistency. Sometimes I can dodge an attack and jump then attack myself but sometimes the buttons just don't seem to work. Maybe I'm being unfair but it seems to me that it has become a trend to hit the stupid button halfway through developing a game and make the last part suck so much you don't want to finish it. I find myself having a hard time just putting the game down as I do like it but I hate it so much I cannot possibly play without getting angry like it just stabbed me in the back.

By the way, you don't regenerate like the game says. At least, I never have. Wait all you want, the health bar never goes back up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game, from start to finish.

posted by Ethaven (STARKVILLE, MS) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off, I just want to say - I don't understand why everyone downs on this game... including the "User critics". This game was amazing. From start to finish.

Pros:
Amazing events, that are challenging, while still being fun. Being too upgraded while doing some of the earlier challenges make them a bit more challenging because you can go "too fast".

A++ Storyline, one of the best story lines I've played in a game for a LONG time.

Being able to disguise as anyone is awesome, and the Patsi system is hilarious.

Hijacking never gets old.

Voice-acting was amazing, you really felt the emotions of everyone, including the poor SOBs you were cutting to ribbons.

Easy was easy, Normal was good to start as for veteran players, and Hard was a good challenge.

I could go on and on... but to wrap it up. They did a superb job on this game and you can tell they did everything in their power to make it a top-notch game.

Cons:
Co-Op got scratched.
Being able to co-op with a buddy (even if you had to beat the game first) would be awesome. That way you get their finely polished Single player and then go back and kick the tar out of everyone as two players.

Should have moved the Tutorial to a separate part of the game then the storyline. But doesn't hurt the game at all.

All in all - I give it a 10/10, I think it lived up to the hype and delivered a lot of what they promised. Minus the Co-Op.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very fun, but not perfect

posted by Drumrguy (TUALATIN, OR) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

11 out of 23 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

I bought this game on a whim when one of my buddies said it was awesome. And yes, while it's a really fun and satisfying game there are some flaws I noticed almost right off the bat.

Probably the biggest is the graphics. They're definitely on par with next gen consoles. But it seems like they could've been polished up a little more. With games like Assassins Creed and Gears of War we gamers have gotten spoiled with amazing graphics and sometimes its hard to settle for less.

Let me say the flaws in Prototype are in no way a deal breaker in deciding whether to rent or buy this game it's certainly a must play. With all the over-the-top action and all the cool stunts you can do like running up the sides of buildings this game is sure to provide hours of raw, visceral fun. Also having the ability to shape shift into ANYONE in the game is awesome too. Put Prototype in your Game-Q right now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Got bored quick

posted by King4day (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

It's rare when I can't stay involved in a game, but this is one of those times.
On the Normal Difficulty, it was a lot harder than I expected.

Nothing wrong with the graphics but the story really drags. This to me was the killer.

I had just finished Spiderman: Web of Shadows, and maybe I'm comparing it to that (which isn't fair to prototype), but Spidey (which is also a sandbox game) is better by leaps and bounds.

I guess this is worth the rent, but you may be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PROTOTYPE

posted by OMIGOSH (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

prototype is a awesome game. my brother loves it. but if anybody says its dum and thinks my brother is dum there dum except my friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse